Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Post for everyone who QUIT evil fags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Love2love

I'm 3mts off them after smoking 20 benson a day for 20 years. Tried loads of things even the e-cigarettes and the champix is really the only route that works if you follow the course. Go for it. Stop pretending.

Champix is not the ONLY route that works. I used a e-cig and went from ex-high nicotine to zero in 6 weeks and then stopped using that. She is vaping not smoking and she taking in 400 less chemicals for doing so.

I do understand what you mean about swapping one addiction to another. To be honest, I found it quiet easy to stop using the e-cig but I think I kept it in the back of my mind that I was only going to use it temporarily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 ezryder

Heard today that cigs might be going up to €15 for a pack of 20 and just realised that this will be the 1st budget that i dont care if they do!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭bhovaspack

I am off the dirty feckers for just over 36 hours now. I would say, without exaggeration, this is about my thirtieth attempt in fifteen years, and my fourth serious attempt this year. Have been off them for longish periods (up to a year) before but really want to knock them on the head for good this time. Wish me luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

bhovaspack wrote: »
    Wish me luck!

Good Luck!!

Read the Allen Carr book, I read it about 48 hours in, it helped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Shazanne

Sorry Shazanne but from having friends on e-cigarettes I don't think your finally a non smoker as your still smoking. It's not like you fully stopped, your still getting nicotine and your still putting something in an out of your mouth. Your still addicted to the habit of smoking with e-cigarettes.
    I stopped using champix, i'm fully off smoking the nicotine and the habit. I think it's the only way to go. I'd ditch the e-cigarettes get some champix and give up the nicotine and the habit for good. Your six months on the e-cigarettes, still wasting money, still taking nicotine and still smoking something.
    I'm 3mts off them after smoking 20 benson a day for 20 years. Tried loads of things even the e-cigarettes and the champix is really the only route that works if you follow the course. Go for it. Stop pretending.

You have absolutely no idea how difficult it was for me to take the step I took when I quit. Nor do you know how difficult I had found previous attempts, although others on here might as I have written about them.
    The e-cig has worked for me and is working for many, many others. To be told to "stop pretending" at this point is a bit of a kick in the teeth to be honest as I am so thrilled to have come this far.
    Good for you if you have stopped Champix - I am doing it my way and am weaning down the nicotine strength. And, as was explained above, I am vaping - not smoking - and there is a difference.
    This thread has always proven to be a great source of support and encouragement to everyone trying to give up smoking cigarettes - no matter how they choose to do so. And I have seen huge support for those who have tried and failed and gone on to try again. Let's try and keep it that way!

Well done Shazanne - and thanks for explaining the e-cigs to me.

Imho you have quit. I dont see how using the e-cig is any different to using patches or any other nrt. Its still quitting!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭abacus120

ezryder wrote: »
    Heard today that cigs might be going up to €15 for a pack of 20 and just realised that this will be the 1st budget that i dont care if they do!!!!
    15 euro,good god!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

Sorry Shazanne but from having friends on e-cigarettes I don't think your finally a non smoker as your still smoking. It's not like you fully stopped, your still getting nicotine and your still putting something in an out of your mouth. Your still addicted to the habit of smoking with e-cigarettes. Stop pretending.

You're talking out your ass man. She's not smoking anything. (I'm presuming poster is 'she').

She's still addicted to nicotine for sure but that won't kill her. It's the smoking that does the damage.

I say good on you and vape away Shazanne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 ezryder

6 months today...can't BELIEVE I've made it this far!!!

ezryder wrote: »
    6 months today...can't BELIEVE I've made it this far!!!

Whoopee!!!! Well done you!

Cruising through my fourth day sans cigarettes. As I posted here previously, I have made many, many attempts before. For some reason, I know this time I'll do it.

On two or three of my previous attempts, I have felt this level of certitude, but then have stumbled by letting my guard down after several months off them. That will be my biggest challenge this time, I think, assuming the next few weeks go well, and I really believe they will.

Yeah, I actually started a thread here somewhere about my fears of that happening. Id never tried to quit before, this is my one and only quit. But I was/am terrified at how easy it would be to fall back into the same trap. I dont really drink that much so hopefully I wont do anything stupid through alcohol. I dont think Ill do anything stupid through sobriety!! Well Ill try not to.

Best of luck, youre doing great!

Yeah, I actually started a thread here somewhere about my fears of that happening. Id never tried to quit before, this is my one and only quit. But I was/am terrified at how easy it would be to fall back into the same trap. I dont really drink that much so hopefully I wont do anything stupid through alcohol. I dont think Ill do anything stupid through sobriety!! Well Ill try not to.

Best of luck, youre doing great!

Thank you!

Two of my previous relapses have been the result of big nights out on the brew, though I rarely have more than one or two myself these days, so hopefully it won't be a problem.

My other major relapse (after 10 months smoke free) was actually embarrassing, and I struggle to explain it even to myself. I saw somebody smoking in a movie, it put the idea in my head, and I went out to buy cigarettes :eek:

Hopefully I've developed a bit more cop-on since then, but just goes to show that they can strike you when you least expect it ...

Oh totally, there are so many stories about it happening.

Besides what happens when drunk, I think the best way to be thinking about it is that if a serious urge comes on and you make your mind up youre going to buy cigarettes - tell yourself to WAIT til the next day or later on or something. Hopefully a wait will allow rationality to resume - thats my plan anyway!!!

I havent been that close yet, but my mindset is one of terror of ever slipping, because I know one slip would have me right back where I was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Shazanne

You're talking out your ass man. She's not smoking anything. (I'm presuming poster is 'she').

She's still addicted to nicotine for sure but that won't kill her. It's the smoking that does the damage.

I say good on you and vape away Shazanne.

Thanks so much for that - I really needed to hear it:)
    Am away for a few days in the West of Ireland with my OH and two dogs and have been running on the beach with the dogs without feeling as though my lungs would explode!!!! Am thrilled!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,128 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

On my 3rd day off them now. The last two days have felt like a hangover with cravings included. Better today but coughing a lot and feeling indigestion? I'm smoking about 12 years with one 6 month gap about 8 years ago (Very traumatic experience put me back on them). A bit apprehensive about going out for drinks and a future weekend away, not because I think I'll give in but because I'm worried I won't be able enjoy myself like I used to? I definitely drank more when I quit the first time so need to keep an eye on that too. Overall though feeling very positive about the non-smoking future :)

I'm going to wait a few weeks but I want to sell my leftover tobacco (I smoked rollies). Have about 10x50g pouches worth at least €50, anyone got any ideas? Might throw an ad up on donedeal if they allow it?

Better today but coughing a lot and feeling indigestion?...........A bit apprehensive about going out for drinks and a future weekend away, not because I think I'll give in but because I'm worried I won't be able enjoy myself like I used to?

Oh yeah, I was a bit like that the first few days, didnt know if it was from the quit or something else. Just pop a few rennie, its only temporary. You could be producing stomach acid from feeling a bit anxious?

You will be able to enjoy yourself I promise. Stopping smoking has increased my enjoyment of a night out or a holiday. No more stress of having to have a cigarette!! You start realising after a short time that it was actually more stressful having to smoke.
    I'm going to wait a few weeks but I want to sell my leftover tobacco (I smoked rollies). Have about 10x50g pouches worth at least €50, anyone got any ideas? Might throw an ad up on donedeal if they allow it?

Honestly? Just bin it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,128 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

Honestly? Just bin it.

I dunno I think I'd feel better if I got money for them, kind of like a reward?

Your good health is all the reward you need!!

Of course sell by all means but personally Id be more inclined to bin it as a sort of symbol of freedom from the evil weed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭battser

so I am 60 Days off the cigs. It feels very good I must say. Don't worry about it and rarely even think about them thankfully. The perks with fitness and health just speak for themselves its hard to even describe it.

Congrats to everyone doing it. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭largepants

Been a while since I checked in here. Great to see the usual crew still hanging around. Even better to see a few new names thrown into the mix.

Off 'em nigh on 7 months now and jaysus it feels good. I'm a GAA fan and after last Saturday evening in Portlaoise I genuinely don't think I'll ever smoke again. If ever there was an occassion to smoke then that was it,

Anyway keep it going peoples. Ye are all flying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭siobhan.murphy

Im nearly 12 months off them now,still hard though,one piece of advice is the day you quit take up a sport straight away even walking as you will pile on the weight if you dont.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Lelbell

I know i'm over 7 months off them... I think the habit is the hardest thing to get over, your right though, get walking or take up exercise to replace it - i'm just back from a walk now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 team2

Hi all

Just checking in. I stopped the evil things in over 16 weeks ago. I can't say its been easy but I KNOW I WILL NEVER GO BACK. There have been a few tough moments but I have beaten the dam things in no small part to some of the comments I have found here. Keep the head up and stay positive the hard part is making the decision to quit...sticking to it is easier... NO MORE SLAVERY!!!!!
    Two things i found ereally good in the early days were 1) to check in here- to see that you are not alone and it can be done and 2) make a list of why you want to quit and keep it with you for those momemts of temptation when your judgement can become a little blurred. I found they helped focus the mind....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭dodgylegs

Love reading all the positive posts lads. Great to see so many people flying it & doing well after stopping.

Stopped 8 days ago. I've despised being a smoker for the last year. This is about my 4th quit this year. Was 6 weeks & 4 weeks stopped smoking & then smoked on nights out. Would be disgusted with myself the next morning but somehow I'd buy a box in the day or 2 after.

Anyway this time I'll just stay off the beer when I go out.
    J

dodgylegs wrote: »
    Love reading all the positive posts lads. Great to see so many people flying it & doing well after stopping.

Stopped 8 days ago. I've despised being a smoker for the last year. This is about my 4th quit this year. Was 6 weeks & 4 weeks stopped smoking & then smoked on nights out. Would be disgusted with myself the next morning but somehow I'd buy a box in the day or 2 after.

Anyway this time I'll just stay off the beer when I go out.
    J

I worried about this on my quit, so I just didnt drink for the first few months, except maybe 1 drink here and there when in a restaurant.

The first time I drank properly was April, and Id been off them since Jan 1 so Id really embedded being off them by then.

Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Love2love

6 months today!! :D:D:D:D:D

That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Lelbell

Love2love wrote: »
    6 months today!! :D:D:D:D:D

That is all.

Congrats! treat yourself to something nice today:)

Well made it through my first experience as a non smoking wedding guest. It was ok but there were a few pangs. Mostly I realised how much I used to use smoking as a sort of stop gap/time killing type activity to break up a long day. I didnt drink a huge amount either so that probably helped, although mostly the pangs came earlier in the day. There didnt seem to be a lot of smokers tbh or maybe I just didnt notice where they were going to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭floatwinner

Hello everyone

I smoked my last cigarette at 9.00pm on Friday night.
    I am 43 and have been smoking since I was 16, probably at least 20 a day from the age of 21.
    I have been taking Zyban for 12 days now which I think takes the edge off the cravings, also being able to smoke for the first week while taking them suited me, likewise being able to smoke reading the Allen Carr book which I did in one sitting on Friday helped too.

I know I'm only on day 2 but I think my biggest fear was being without cigarettes as my crutch rather than the physical addiction.
    As for sleeping I am waking during the night, but feeling relaxed today and looking forward to my 2nd day, of many I hope, smoke free.
    For anyone thinking of quitting I say talk to your G.P, set a date and go for it, if I can quit anyone can, never thought I could go without the evil cigs for an hour let alone 2 days!
    Sorry for the long post but this forum has given me so much so I just wanted to add my 2 cents.