Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Post for everyone who QUIT evil fags

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

I'll certainly be taking it easier but the lady who ran the seminar was adamant that you shouldn't change anything at all. If I find I'm thinking about smoking excessively I'll just go home earlier.

Whatever works for you. I wouldnt have been able to trust myself in the early days, I knew that Id weaken with alcohol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭HigsBoson

Trying for the third time this year, was off them for 10 and then 12 weeks since New Years. Both times it was having a few drinks that eventually lead me back onto them. This time I'm giving the drink a wide berth too. 6 days and counting, fingers crossed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Love2love

8 months today :D

Love2love wrote: »
    8 months today :D

Aw, well done!!! I was 9 months yesterday. Feeling good? I am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Shazanne

And I was 8 months last Thursday, 27th Sept! :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,566 ✭✭✭Vizzy

7 months on Friday (5th Oct):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,299 ✭✭✭DenMan

647 days for me now. That's 1 year, 9 months and seven days since my last smoke (December 24 (Christmas Eve) 2010) :D

DenMan wrote: »
    647 days for me now. That's 1 year, 9 months and seven days since my last smoke (December 24 (Christmas Eve) 2010) :D

Christmas Eve:eek::eek: What a day to pick!! I think of all the days in the years Christmas Eve or Christmas Day would be my last choice - fair play to you on such a brave move!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭rebeve

I went back on them after 12 years .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,128 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

rebeve wrote: »
    I went back on them after 12 years .

How did you manage that!?
    Maybe you start to take for granted all the benefits of not smoking, that's the only thing I can think of?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭MeIsGod

Im off them 4 weeks today doing ok considering i supervised 15 8 year old boys at a birthday party today - a real test! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭cloud_dancer

I'll certainly be taking it easier but the lady who ran the seminar was adamant that you shouldn't change anything at all. If I find I'm thinking about smoking excessively I'll just go home earlier.

Firstly a big hello, I'm new to boards!

I'm off the ciggies about 8 months and for the first month while I didn't stay off the drink completely I kept it to a couple in the house or max two drinks out in the company of non-smokers. To do otherwise would be putting myself right into temptation. Any attempt I'd made before was ended on a night out after a few drinks. On previous attempts I tried Allan Carr, hypnotherapy, inhalers, patches you name it. This last time it was cold turkey and lessons from how I'd failed in the past.

Even though the lady said not to change anything at all you still need to apply some common sense and give yourself the best chance possible. There's no point in making it more difficult for yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

i am just the 24 hours on the e-cig now, going ok, steady as she goes, hope not to fall

goat2 wrote: »
    i am just the 24 hours on the e-cig now, going ok, steady as she goes, hope not to fall

Best of luck with that :)

goat2 wrote: »

Hi. I am over 8 months off them now with the help of the e-cig! And am in the process of weaning off that now too. Believe me, if I can acheive that then anyone can. I loved smoking - really enjoyed it:o:o But I knew the time had come to stop. I found the e-cig the perfect "crutch" to get me there - nothing had worked before.
    Take it all one day at a time and roll with the cravings until they pass. Little by little you get there. Don't put huge pressure on yourself - I think that's the reason why people sometimes break.
    Good luck and if I can help with any e-cig tips etc just ask.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,299 ✭✭✭DenMan

Shazanne wrote: »
    Christmas Eve:eek::eek: What a day to pick!! I think of all the days in the years Christmas Eve or Christmas Day would be my last choice - fair play to you on such a brave move!!

Ha yeah I had two that night and haven't gone back on them since. Best time to give them up as it's the ultimate test. I got through the Christmas/New Years period and by the time January rolled in I was well on my way. Thank you! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 orlamcnevin

Hi All,

On day three today. Have to say it's tough but do-able so far!
    When I think of certain events or situations where I won't be able to smoke I get really daunted so I just keep sticking to the mantra of 'I won't smoke today'.

Seems to have worked so far. Using Champix to help me quit and I would highly recommend them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭allybhoy

Off them 9 days today, tough going but taking one day at a time, have an e-cig for when it gets really unbareable but im trying to limit myself from that aswell.

Ive been drinking twice and to be honest it was torture but i managed to avoid them. I think the trick is to stay away from the smoking area...a pitfall which has succomoned me before. I also had a long drive 3 hours + and on these drives the e-cig came in useful as I would smoke like a trooper before

You know, I must be really weird :eek::eek::eek: as I found that staying away from the smoking area or not going out side when out for a meal etc was only making me more aware that I didn't smoke! (Yep, she's weird I hear you say!!)
    I stopped by using the e-cig, so I continued my usual routine of going outside with friends (in the cold and rain), heading to the smoking area etc and that, in my mind, meant that little had changed except the fact that I was not smoking a cigarette. Changing everything would have been too much for me to handle in one go:(:o
    It just goes to prove that everyone is different and that what works for one may not necessarily work for another. So don't get despondent if your friends etc are all sailing along happily in their efforts to give up the weed - do it your way and in a way that you can handle and that doesn't stress you out. You will get there in your own time!!

When I think of certain events or situations where I won't be able to smoke I get really daunted so I just keep sticking to the mantra of 'I won't smoke today'.

That totally passes. You get to a point where you dont even think about them one way or the other in relation to events.

I think the mindset is the most important thing. A friend of mine gave up a couple of weeks after me (I quit Jan 1), and from the start we had different attitudes. I wanted to be free of the horrible smelly feckers. She knew that she shouldnt be smoking because its not good for you and its expensive. But she didnt truly hate being a slave the way I did.

She was supposed to quit Jan 1, but there was some excuse at the time. I just heard she is back smoking since July, after a stressful event. She used nrt to quit and took a long time to stop with the nicorette inhaler. On numerous occasions during the year she had expressed to me that she missed them, she had been so close to buying some etc.. I never felt any of that.

She doesnt seem to mind that she is back on them whereas Id be totally gutted!!!

So yeah, the mindset - thats the most important thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,566 ✭✭✭Vizzy

Shazanne wrote: »
    You know, I must be really weird :eek::eek::eek: as I found that staying away from the smoking area or not going out side when out for a meal etc was only making me more aware that I didn't smoke! (Yep, she's weird I hear you say!!)
    I stopped by using the e-cig, so I continued my usual routine of going outside with friends (in the cold and rain), heading to the smoking area etc and that, in my mind, meant that little had changed except the fact that I was not smoking a cigarette. Changing everything would have been too much for me to handle in one go:(:o
    It just goes to prove that everyone is different and that what works for one may not necessarily work for another. So don't get despondent if your friends etc are all sailing along happily in their efforts to give up the weed - do it your way and in a way that you can handle and that doesn't stress you out. You will get there in your own time!!

You think you are weird ?

I went cold turkey in March this year and I loved the smell of the cigs( still do) so I used to go out in the cold and the rain with no cigarettes.:confused:

I agree with you 100% about not changing too many things at the same time.I went to the pub after a few days and didn't have the slightest worry about anything else(mood swings,putting on weight etc) as I had enough on my plate trying to "beat the weed".

To anyone else out there currently in the throes of giving up,do whatever you feel comfortable with(e.g. go/don't go to the pub if that is what you are comfortable with) and as Shazanne says above ,what works for others may not work for you so "small steps" is the key to it and most importantly really wanting to give up( if you don't really want to,you will probably fail and I firmly believe that a half hearted attempt will probably do you more harn than good-harsh I know, but true)

That totally passes. You get to a point where you dont even think about them one way or the other in relation to events.

I think the mindset is the most important thing. A friend of mine gave up a couple of weeks after me (I quit Jan 1), and from the start we had different attitudes. I wanted to be free of the horrible smelly feckers. She knew that she shouldnt be smoking because its not good for you and its expensive. But she didnt truly hate being a slave the way I did.

She was supposed to quit Jan 1, but there was some excuse at the time. I just heard she is back smoking since July, after a stressful event. She used nrt to quit and took a long time to stop with the nicorette inhaler. On numerous occasions during the year she had expressed to me that she missed them, she had been so close to buying some etc.. I never felt any of that.

She doesnt seem to mind that she is back on them whereas Id be totally gutted!!!

So yeah, the mindset - thats the most important thing!

I had a very similar mindset to you. From the start I wanted rid of the ciggies from my life, I didn't want to be tied to them and believe me I loved smoking! I just had this turn around in my mind and was so determined to quit. Cold turkey was the best method for me. It's about 7 - 8 months now and I never think of them anymore. Don't miss them in any situation.

Don't miss them in any situation.

I feel exactly the same - just past the 9 month mark, roll on the rest of our lives free of the horrible yokes!

The way I feel now it's hard to believe I ever smoked. I actually feel sorry for people who have to go outside and smoke.

Ah isn't it great to be free! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 orlamcnevin

Day 4 and still going stong.

I have to say this site was a blessing yesterday.
    Literally a day of pure misery!

I feel now if I got through that, I can get through anything!

Thanks to everyone for posting on here, all you non-smokers are an inspiration.
    For everyone on the road to being a non-smoker...good luck to you.

'Just don't smoke today'

Yippee - Day 3 is the worst!!

Well done!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭celticcrash

Day 3 was hell for me. Hang in there and remember take 1 day at a time.

Day 4 and still going stong.

I have to say this site was a blessing yesterday.
    Literally a day of pure misery!

Thanks to everyone for posting on here, all you non-smokers are an inspiration.
    For everyone on the road to being a non-smoker...good luck to you.

'Just don't smoke today'

Keep going. It will get easier each day. Just remember a craving only lasts 3 - 5 mins and each day you'll get less and less cravings. You'll do great! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭biomech

hello fellow non smokers,
    day 3 for me, for some reason i woke up on saturday morn and thought what will i do today?...oh yes thats it ill give up smoking..have tried several times before but never really put my back into it, champix were like penny sweets for me. ONly difference they made was drive me bonkers.
    So first day back at work and im flying , am on stage one of the patches and feel strangly good already. Had cut down alot over the last few weeks with the patches (from 20/day down to 5) so cutting them out altogether was actually easier than i thought. Main side effect has been my sleep is all over the place. before i could sleep through a war and now i wake 5 times a night. but maybe only 4 times last night so a little better.
    Quitting is actually fun when you take it as a challenge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭GrizzlyMan

Day 4, yesterday was Hell. But very proud of getting this far cold turkey. I found this website helpful, theres also an app too.

http://www.exsmokers.eu/

one feature i found helpful was the panic button, when you get that craving, just click the panic button for numberous reasons why you shouldnt smoke.