Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mrs Brown's Boys

• 29-12-2010 6:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭

Really RTE, really?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Colmo52

mloc123 wrote: »
    Really RTE, really?

It's actually the BBC.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b00x17n9

Rte are just showing it, they didn't make it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

Brendan O'Carroll always makes me feel uncomfortable whenever he's on tv, there's something just not quite right about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Colmo52 wrote: »
    It's actually the BBC.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b00x17n9

Rte are just showing it, they didn't make it.

That at least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

looks like every other single thing that brendan o'carroll has done, pure ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

With a trailer they usually show the good bits, well if thats the case me thinks this is going to stink big time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

Anyone watching this ? How the BBC took this on ill never know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

This abortion is on my telly now, Christ above.

I think that had Hitler targeted O'Carroll and his fans then his actions would perhaps been looked upon with as benefiting humanity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭ashyle

I flicked it on at the ad break, pretty woeful stuff. He tasered himself twice. Ha. (I have found the Mrs Brown stuff funny on occasion)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Universal actually own the world wide rights, so expect it to appear on many networks and on DVD. It was made in BBC Scotland, and edited in London. I watched last night and thought it was ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Lump wrote: »
    Universal actually own the world wide rights, so expect it to appear on many networks and on DVD. It was made in BBC Scotland, and edited in London. I watched last night and thought it was ok.

It was a repeat. Not funny the second time. It won't be Fr. Ted. I think RTÉ might have stayed away but people would be all talking about how wonderful the BBC are for commissioning it.

The one that was on last night was the new series wasn't it?

Lump wrote: »
    The one that was on last night was the new series wasn't it?

No RTÉ and BBC both broadcast it during the summer as a pilot.

Oh right

Elmo wrote: »
    No RTÉ and BBC both broadcast it during the summer as a pilot.

It was an updated version of the pilot shown last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Skuxx

None of the stuff in that show last night was new material! I have the Mrs Brown DVD's and I had seen it all before. Some of the DVD's are 4 or 5 years old so I was expecting something new at this stage!

Colmo52 wrote: »
    It was an updated version of the pilot shown last night.

Ah i was thinking some things changed. Not for the better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭StereoLove

mloc123 wrote: »
    Really RTE, really?

What p!sses me off is that they said it was a new series, but the episode they showed last night, they showed about a million times before

StereoLove wrote: »
    What p!sses me off is that they said it was a new series, but the episode they showed last night, they showed about a million times before

They had it on once before and the series starts in full AFAIK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Onthe3rdDay

To be clear, the original pilot was shown twice on RTE1 (at least). Last nights was a new episode which mostly contained material from the pilot.

It's not my cup of tea but I give a tip of my hat to O Carroll for getting his projects on air with the BBC.

How unfortunate for the BBC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,018 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Brendan O'Carroll always makes me feel uncomfortable whenever he's on tv, there's something just not quite right about him.
    That's because he's an Irish Mensa member who couldn't get a well-paid job or qualification because of his working-class background so he turned to comedy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

alan1990 wrote: »
    None of the stuff in that show last night was new material! I have the Mrs Brown DVD's and I had seen it all before. Some of the DVD's are 4 or 5 years old so I was expecting something new at this stage!

Oh Jesus no, they walk among us :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

He got the show AFAIK on the basis of the fact that he brought the stage show to the UK, and the people took to it.. especially the Scots..

I seem to be in the minority here in that I think it's funny... The dialogue is certainly crude, the acting not exactly brilliant, and the storylines are simplistic... but I think the one liners are good.. And there were enough cheap laughs to put it well ahead of RTE's other "comedy" productions.

The BBC series is six episodes AFAIK, and that episode has certainly been shown on RTE before.. Like other posters I think that they have used up a lot of the good lines on the first episodes.. But we will see.

He got the show AFAIK on the basis of the fact that he brought the stage show to the UK, and the people took to it.. especially the Scots..

I seem to be in the minority here in that I think it's funny... The dialogue is certainly crude, the acting not exactly brilliant, and the storylines are simplistic... but I think the one liners are good.. And there were enough cheap laughs to put it well ahead of RTE's other "comedy" productions.

The BBC series is six episodes AFAIK, and that episode has certainly been shown on RTE before.. Like other posters I think that they have used up a lot of the good lines on the first episodes.. But we will see.

Just going to say Paths To Freedom, it should have changed RTÉ Comedy :(

This show is no more than Kinnaskully in Dublin, actually it is worse. I think the only redeeming feature of this show is that the BBC produced it but then they also produce Casualty.

This show is no more than Kinnaskully in Dublin, actually it is worse.

ah no way.. Killinaskully/Mattie are probably the worst written shows on Irish telelvision.. They should be considered kid's TV at this stage...

I think some of O'Carroll's jokes are clever, some are very LCD, but there is enough to make it worth watching.. the first episode at least..

ah no way.. Killinaskully/Mattie are probably the worst written shows on Irish telelvision.. They should be considered kid's TV at this stage...

I think some of O'Carroll's jokes are clever, some are very LCD, but there is enough to make it worth watching.. the first episode at least..

Really your saying the same thing. Killinaskully is a childrens show, Mrs Brown's Boys go for the LCD at times.

From watching both they aren't all that dissimilar, in actually fact I would suggest to both RTÉ and BBC that the censor some of O'Carroll's more rude jokes as he is always funnier when he has to get around that censor, he is still brilliant on old "late, late" interviews, not one blue joke.

mrs_brown.jpg00023a24-314.jpg

However I will give O'Carroll a few more goes with this series before being entirely critical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

This show reminds me of the "When the Whistle Blows" - the sitcom that Ricky Gervais's character Andy Millman creates in Extras.
    While Gervais was taking the piss out of excruciatingly bad sitcoms O'Carroll obviously thinks his show is funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭Ratzo Rizzo

Utter garbage. And that contrived part where he gets up mid scene to get his handbag from the other room revealing (gasp!) the set and equipment is puzzling, not even remotely funny. The other strange thing about it is its American styling with that awful cliched incidental music that gets played between scenes. It really is pretty awful stuff. The only thing that could make it worse would be if Jason Byrne and Andrew Maxwell were in it... two individuals who are in clear contravention of any trade description act by calling themselves comedians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭hiscan

HaHa,ye I found that bit about him running through the set for the handbag very strange as well and speaking of sets,I know now where Dolores Molloys front room from Fair City went :D

Jason Byrne and Andrew Maxwell were in it... two individuals who are in clear contravention of any trade description act by calling themselves comedians.

I found Jason Byrne very funny on Up Close and Personal on Monday Night. He can be irritating at times all right.

As for the set I have a feeling that this wasn't shot in Ireland.

The other issue with this is the fact that the actors don't seem to be able to control their laughter.

Sorry I am giving this another chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭brousuka

Forced to watch this tripe the other night and couldn't believe how bad the supporting actors /actresses were, at least if you have a good support cast it could pull through this otherwise flat, disjointed so called comedy. O'Carrolls voice could have been better north Dublin as well, it sounded more Cavan/Louth for the most part. How on earth did the BBC commission this thing?!!!

btw lads, for all ye begrudgers out there.. He's been signed up for a second series... One of the cast was on with Mooney today and said that they just found out the good news...

I think it's good, not brilliant but better than any other Irish "comedy" that we have been given in the last five years... Well done to Brendan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭brousuka

btw lads, for all ye begrudgers out there.. He's been signed up for a second series... One of the cast was on with Mooney today and said that they just found out the good news...

I think it's good, not brilliant but better than any other Irish "comedy" that we have been given in the last five years... Well done to Brendan.

I'm not begrudging or anything like that, I just feel, like a lot of other people that this is crap entertainment, I will never watch it again at least on my own volition and if anyone else wants to watch it, well it takes all sorts to make a world etc. etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

nail, on the head, you.

i do think he must miss his mother or something, it's all very unsettling.

seen him years ago in Allies, playing the Rathmines Inn. crude, very crude, but kinda funny. but this madness? weird with a capital W

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

Utter garbage. And that contrived part where he gets up mid scene to get his handbag from the other room revealing (gasp!) the set and equipment is puzzling, not even remotely funny. The other strange thing about it is its American styling with that awful cliched incidental music that gets played between scenes. It really is pretty awful stuff. The only thing that could make it worse would be if Jason Byrne and Andrew Maxwell were in it... two individuals who are in clear contravention of any trade description act by calling themselves comedians.
    how does JB not know he's dreadful? how?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭ciarriaithuaidh

Brendan O'Connor might be a nice guy, dont have anything personal against him, don't know much about him. Anything he has ever done on TV makes me want to gouge my eyes out however. And as for the "Humour"? Its on the same sub-level as Killinaskully...possibly even lower.

JA I don't think you can really suggest that I am begrudging anyone, it isn't about the fact he got a BBC commission.

Desperately tries to think of a good Irish Comedy from the last 5 years :) Your lucky Kinnaskully happened in the last 5 years, because I am sick of people mentioning the other 2 :)

JA I don't think you can really suggest that I am begrudging anyone, it isn't about the fact he got a BBC commission.

I wasnt picking on yourself or anybody as being the begrudger, lord knows I'm usually pretty bad myself.. I just find this watchable and it gives me a laugh. I thought other people would too, and I think the fact that a) the taxpayer isnt paying for it b) it's generating jobs for Irish people and c) he's actually taking the Queen's money .... (okay, stretching with this one :D).... I think people should give it a chance..

Brendan O'Connor might be a nice guy, dont have anything personal against him, don't know much about him. Anything he has ever done on TV makes me want to gouge my eyes out however. And as for the "Humour"? Its on the same sub-level as Killinaskully...possibly even lower.

Surely you mean Brendan O Carroll. :)

I wasnt picking on yourself or anybody as being the begrudger, lord knows I'm usually pretty bad myself.. I just find this watchable and it gives me a laugh. I thought other people would too, and I think the fact that a) the taxpayer isnt paying for it b) it's generating jobs for Irish people and c) he's actually taking the Queen's money .... (okay, stretching with this one :D).... I think people should give it a chance..

a) RTÉ are co-producing this
    b) All Irish TV shows provide Irish people with actual jobs not just sales jobs (no offence to sales people), also I am just wondering was this filmed in Ireland????
    c) I don't think the Queen of England pays the licence fee, The Irish President prob pays from both sides on this one (now who's stretching it :) ).

I think people should give Irish TV a chance. It doesn't matter if it is successful aboard, if it is well done, if it isn't so what. International TV is dominated by US, UK and Australian exporters. If the BBC can show Neighbours then they can show this. If they can produce Casualty they can produce this.

a) RTÉ are co-producing this
    Brendan said this also, but I'm not sure how much of an involvement they have, or percentage share.. I think it's mostly BBC :confused:
    b) All Irish TV shows provide Irish people with actual jobs not just sales jobs (no offence to sales people), also I am just wondering was this filmed in Ireland????
    it's filmed in BBC studios as far as I'm aware. Definitely in a studio, with a live audience anyway - that much I know.

Brendan said this also, but I'm not sure how much of an involvement they have, or percentage share.. I think it's mostly BBC :confused:

it's filmed in BBC studios as far as I'm aware. Definitely in a studio, with a live audience anyway - that much I know.

Prob is mostly funded by the BBC. Unusually for a scripted comedy its is an RTÉ Entertainment commission rather than an RTÉ Drama one.

It may have been produced in BBC NI and that is really stretching it.

Anyway RTÉ have had successful co-productions with UK channels before, e.g. Single Handed's last season with ITV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

I think it's filmed in Glasgow. Part of the reason the BBC commissioned this is because Brendan O'Carroll's shows are apparently very popular in Scotland. Can't remember where I read that.
    Anyway RTÉ have had successful co-productions with UK channels before, e.g. Single Handed's last season with ITV.
    The first three series of Single Handed were all RTE only afaik. I'd say with budgets becoming tighter there will be more co-productions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

I just saw the ad ad for this on TV and had to have a look at RTE player to see if, in 2011, this was actually happening. This is indefensible. A show like this would have been considered dated in the early 80s. Single-entendres based around the words 'come' and 'put in' etc were considered lowest-common-denominator amongst my friends when we were 13.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Im embarrassed this is going to be associated with ireland.

Brendan O'carroll is a scurge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,630 ✭✭✭Oracle

I feel the same about Brendan O'Carroll as I do about Kathleen Lynch. They're both comedy talent in need of good comedy writing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭Ratzo Rizzo

Oracle wrote: »
    I feel the same about Brendan O'Carroll as I do about Kathleen Lynch. They're both comedy talent in need of good comedy writing.

I don't know who Kathleen Lynch is but Katherine Lynch, if that's who you mean, is streets ahead of Brendan O'Carroll and his foul mouthed 'sit-com'...

Katherine Lynch.. is streets ahead of Brendan O'Carroll and his foul mouthed 'sit-com'...

Are you suggesting that Katherine Lynch is NOT foul mouthed.. I would consider her at least as bad..