Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

who are the rubberbandits?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Dean Roche

zuroph wrote: »
    and the award for failing to understand satire goes to...

*drumroll*

252-10-1-1293997128CxB7xt.gif

I know what satire and humour is, it’s just that we don’t need those two thicks making a joke about Irish crime culture and giving the retarded menace in this country something to revel in... In addition those two thicks have a hatful anti British pro IRA song, but then again anti British feeling is noting new in Ireland, too pig thick and ignorant see the venom and knife cutting hostility it puts across to the British. The sickening hypocrisy of all this is they are more Irish in the UK than what they are in Ireland itself! a country the Irish always ran to when all fails in the republic. Just imagine the outrage if the British had a duo in the “mainstream” that realised an anti Irish song, just think all the hypersensitive Irish nerves it would hit! Whinge Whinge race laws I wager! It’s ok in Ireland to have pro murdering maiming IRA and British hating songs, its all enjoyed and justified in the minds of many Irish out of noting but sheer ignorance.

The rubberbandits are stupid period, with their stupid culchie milk churn accents spouting crap and additional anti British crap trying to sound good; all they are is an other addition to what’s making me and other right minded people in this country become more and more ashamed to be Irish as time goes on.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

Dean Roche wrote: »

I know what satire and humour is, it’s just that we don’t need those two thicks making a joke about Irish crime culture and giving the retarded menace in this country something to revel in... In addition those two thicks have a hatful anti British pro IRA song, but then again anti British feeling is noting new in Ireland, too pig thick and ignorant see the venom and knife cutting hostility it puts across to the British. The sickening hypocrisy of all this is they are more Irish in the UK than what they are in Ireland itself! a country the Irish always ran to when all fails in the republic. Just imagine the outrage if the British had a duo in the “mainstream” that realised an anti Irish song, just think all the hypersensitive Irish nerves it would hit! Whinge Whinge race laws I wager! It’s ok in Ireland to have pro murdering maiming IRA and British hating songs, its all enjoyed and justified in the minds of many Irish out of noting but sheer ignorance.

The rubberbandits are stupid period, with their stupid culchie milk churn accents spouting crap and additional anti British crap trying to sound good; all they are is an other addition to what’s making me and other right minded people in this country become more and more ashamed to be Irish as time goes on.

I'll let the rubberbandits explain why you're an idiot here
    We have been getting some feedback that UP DA RA is
    offensive to Irish Republicans. I want to clear this matter up.
    Up DA RA is a piece of satire. It Satirises armchairrepublicanism. It was written from the point of view of the type of eejit who is liable to have Tiocfaidh ar la tattooed on his arm while wearing a Manchester united Jersey. It was personally inspired by a gentleman I knew who spray painted C.I.R.A on a bus stop, believing that the acronym stood for Constitutional Irish Republican Army. The writing technique implemented inUP DA RA is known as The unreliable Narrator. This is a narrative mode used by the writer to best communicate the intended message. This unreliability canbe due to psychological instability, a powerful bias, a lack of knowledge, or even a deliberate attempt to deceive the reader or audience. Some lovely examples of this technique can be found in the song Rednecks by Randy Newman

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=-W8WmkH...

or in the satirical piece A modest proposal by Johnathan Swift.
    http://www.uoregon.edu/~rbear/modest....

So if you listen to UP DA RA literally, without exploring its subtext then it is wide open for misinterpretation. As its author, I wrote the song for a 21st century audience who are very familiar with postmodern Irony. Also, any song whereby the narrator threatens to chase the Queen of England around a field with dog **** on the end of a golf club should generally be taken with a pinch of salt. For example, If you were walking down the road and a man who talks to himself and smells heavily of piss tells you that you can use old condoms as currency, would you then save all your used condoms and try and buy a jumper with them in River Island.?? Probably not, because the
    mans view of society is unreliable.
    Up DA RA is intended to educate through the use of humour, because humour is a damn fine way to get your message across to someone without shoving your views down their throat. If it means even one armchair republican picking up a history book and actually understanding why they call themselves Republican then the song is a success. I personally find the level of ignorance and lack of knowledge amongst some people who call themselves republican to be offensive. It is offensive to the memory of the Irish men and women who gave their lives for basic civil rights. Armchair republicans attach themselves to a romantic image of the I.R.A brandishing Kalashnikovs as a way of making themselves look and feel tough, when it suits them. They will loudly state how they hate the brits yet have no problem supporting English football or more commonly, mimicking every aspect of British chav culture and absorbing it into their identity. I also get a bit annoyed with the student types who wear Che Guevara T-shirts without having any real interest in socialism. The T-shirts just look cool, thats it. UP DA RA has received a positive response mostly, I take this as evidence that an awful lot of people are just as annoyed with armchair republicanism as I am, because its insincere, and insincerity is a particularly annoying human trait.

I support peaceful republicanism; I support all peaceful attempts to pursue justice where a community of any creed is downtrodden by an unfair and oppressive system. That includes Palestinians, the Travelling Community,and foreign nationals in Ireland. I am proud of my Irish history. My own grandfather was a member of the I.R.A in Tom Barrys flying column during the war of independence and he took a bullet for it too. However... while I understand my ancestral history of oppression and cruelty I have no interest in hanging on to hatred of the oppressor. If a child is born today, of English blood in London, I refuse to hold him responsible for the actions of his ancestors before he was born. So to anyone who thinks that we are being disrespectful to Republicanism? Well then you may as well call Edward Norton a Racist for the character he portrayed in American History X.

It doesnt give the scum something to revel in, it makes a mockery of them and will hopefully shame wannabe scum into realising that acting like that is pathetic.

You say you understand satire. I really doubt that.

RMD wrote: »
    Lawless Ireland? Get a grip man, this country could be a far lot worse. We're a safe haven compared to a lot of countries.

Ireland is only safer when you compare it to the black areas of the US, Mexico city, South Africa est. but for a European country Ireland is violent and has noticeable high crime rates for a small population of under 5 million natives . Most mainland Europeans that come to live in Ireland observe this. Drug dealing, crime gangs and street thugs are rampant, Dublin is particular bad, north Dublin in particular...What I meant by lawless is they are no laws for violent crime and hard dealing and gangs in Ireland, so called life sentences in Ireland for murder 10 -15 years maximum and for the most part the criminal will do half that sentence or even less. Crimes of violent assault, robbery, asbo est are a slap on the wrist not worth even mentioning!

The biggest crimes in Ireland is not having a TV license, parking on a double yellow or not having your motor tax up to date est. They have sent old age pensioners to mountjoy jail for things like that FACT. Ireland is not what you would call a safe country and don’t ever fool yourself into thinking it is. We don’t need the likes of the rubberbandits making a joke out of growing menace of Irish crime culture because it is no joke.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Ireland is only safer when you compare it to the black areas of the US, Mexico city, South Africa est. but for a European country Ireland is violent and has noticeable high crime rates for a small population of under 5 million natives . Most mainland Europeans that come to live in Ireland observe this. Drug dealing, crime gangs and street thugs are rampant, Dublin is particular bad, north Dublin in particular...What I meant by lawless is they are no laws for violent crime and hard dealing and gangs in Ireland, so called life sentences in Ireland for murder 10 -15 years maximum and for the most part the criminal will do half that sentence or even less. Crimes of violent assault, robbery, asbo est are a slap on the wrist not worth even mentioning!

The biggest crimes in Ireland is not having a TV license, parking on a double yellow or not having your motor tax up to date est. They have sent old age pensioners to mountjoy jail for things like that FACT. Ireland is not what you would call a safe country and don’t ever fool yourself into thinking it is. We don’t need the likes of the rubberbandits making a joke out of growing menace of Irish crime culture because it is no joke.

In that case, your problem is with Irish society and not with The Rubberbandits. It has already been explained, quite efficiently, not only that you are wrong but also exactly why your opinions are invalid. If you continue to rant like this despite having been proven wrong, I will have to ask you to take a break from the thread.

It doesnt give the scum something to revel in, it makes a mockery of them and will hopefully shame wannabe scum into realising that acting like that is pathetic.

As far as I can see the scum love it...

Making a mockery of them would be calling them retarded and inbreeded with lyrics slaging them off how incredible ugly and dim they are with their very low IQs and high metal illness rates in their retard factory housing blocks est. They won’t like that I tell ya! And even worse as I said the rubberbandits have a disgusting British hating and pro IRA song with very harsh lyrics look it up! and its in the mainstream! you call that satire I call you sick . Its no surprise a lot of Irish people like them.

In that case, your problem is with Irish society and not with The Rubberbandits. It has already been explained, quite efficiently, not only that you are wrong but also exactly why your opinions are invalid. If you continue to rant like this despite having been proven wrong, I will have to ask you to take a break from the thread.

You’re deluded; most republican supporters love that song, just look and the utube comments for hell sake! But then again why wouldn’t they with lyrics like that! Whatever you said they are no justification for them lyrics, no bullsh*t excuses here.

Just imagine if the British came out with an anti Irish song in the mainstream the Irish would whinge and certainty won’t take it as satire, the Irish can dish out their sick sense of humour but can’t take a dose of their own.

Imagine if some brit made a mainstream parody and joke song about Cromwell trying to make the Irish civilised? The Irish would not like that one bit and it would go to the European courts and race laws fact!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Dean Roche banned for two days for ignoring an on-thread warning.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,207 ✭✭✭hightower1

While the rubberbandits themselves seem to want to stress the point at every possible oppertunity that they are ceribral in some sense they base all of their talk of context and subtext on the mistaken fact that scum and in fact most of the general populous understand and "get" context and subtext.... in fact most dont.

Personally I couldnt give two s**ts about the rubberbandits, they have the stiink of "fad" all over them and we will not be talking about them in 6 months time.

• Registered Users Posts: 433 ✭✭The_Dave

hightower1 wrote: »
    they have the stiink of "fad" all over them and we will not be talking about them in 6 months time.
    They've been around in many guises for many years at this stage, they may not be as big in 6 months time, but hey they've had time in the sun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭vkid

People are entitled not to like them. Lots of people think they are utter crap and are not happy about what they are doing and they're entitled to that view. they are not wrong in holding that opinion. Peoples opinion being discounted as invalid with " you just don't get it" and "its been explained to you" is a load of crap imo.

The whole satire/irony argument, if you have to keep explaining it to people then it kind of fails imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Jofspring

Personally I couldnt give two s**ts about the rubberbandits, they have the stiink of "fad" all over them and we will not be talking about them in 6 months time.

They are around about ten years so certainly not a fad. Even though in saying that i think there may not be much left in them now that everyone knows who they are it takes away from the joke a bit and there is only so long any kind of comedy act can last.

And Dean the people who are posting comments like that on youtube are the people the rubberbandits are talking about and are clearly proving the rubberbandits right by loving this song.

It like me writing a song about the government being a bunch of eijits and Brian Cowen turning around and saying he thinks its a brilliant song.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Jofspring

vkid wrote: »
    People are entitled not to like them. Lots of people think they are utter crap and are not happy about what they are doing and they're entitled to that view. they are not wrong in holding that opinion. Peoples opinion being discounted as invalid with " you just don't get it" and "its been explained to you" is a load of crap imo.

The whole satire/irony argument, if you have to keep explaining it to people then it kind of fails imo.

Nobody said people aren't entitled not to like them. The arguement being made for not liking them is a false reason though. Saying they are pro IRA and promoting a scumbag culture is not what they're about so people are just dis proving these points and getting lame responses.

• Registered Users Posts: 753 ✭✭✭badboyblast

Anyone that thinks these guys won`t be around are fooling themselves, they are reinventing themselves all the time, new tracks, TV..... they `ll just keep them coming and fair play to them.

Jofspring wrote: »
    The arguement being made for not liking them is a false reason though.

People judge it on how they see and perceive them. No-one can say they're wrong for that. Its their opinion and they're entitled to it.
    If you have to explain the whole thing, its all the one imo.

I don't know what to make of them myself. Some stuff is funny, some is a bit OTT.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dannyriver

You’re deluded; most republican supporters love that song, just look and the utube comments for hell sake! But then again why wouldn’t they with lyrics like that! Whatever you said they are no justification for them lyrics, no bullsh*t excuses here.

Just imagine if the British came out with an anti Irish song in the mainstream the Irish would whinge and certainty won’t take it as satire, the Irish can dish out their sick sense of humour but can’t take a dose of their own.

Imagine if some brit made a mainstream parody and joke song about Cromwell trying to make the Irish civilised? The Irish would not like that one bit and it would go to the European courts and race laws fact!

Hi Dean I just want to say that I think it's unfair banning you from the site for simply expressing an opinion. Also you seem smart enough so I assume you ve just been misguided as to what the bandits are about. Take a listen to the UP DA RA song again closely and you ll see how you ve been mistaken, it s basically about people who claim to be big RA heads but its all for show and based on very little knowledge of Irish history. The bandits are clearly multi cultural and progressive in their outlook and have been for years. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

He wasn't banned for expressing an opinion. He was banned (for two days) for ignoring the fair warning of a mod.

As far as his opinion of the bandits goes - he is welcome to it but he clearly misses the point entirely.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,207 ✭✭✭hightower1

Jofspring wrote: »
    They are around about ten years so certainly not a fad. Even though in saying that i think there may not be much left in them now that everyone knows who they are it takes away from the joke a bit and there is only so long any kind of comedy act can last.

Sure if thats the case nearly every entertainment act cannot be a fad then seeing as most one hit wonders continue to exist in entertainment in one shape or form for many more years than the mainstream hear of them.

I have made the comparison earlier in this thread to the rubberbandits being the young persons dunbelievables seeing as they are comedy double acts poking fun at certain sub cultures and it still holds true. Dunbelievables were around before the rubber bandits so imo its simply a case of recycled ideas from them but thats only my opinion. The dunbeliveables are still touring but anyone who says THEY were not fads is lying to themselves. The comparisons between the comedic ideas of the bandits and the dunbelievables can be extended to the life cycles of their acts in mainstream media.

The defining feature of a "fad" act is that the act itself may continue on for years but in comparison have had only spend a short amount of that time in the mainstream media... trust me, the bandits fit the textbook definition of a fad act. I hope they enjoy and take advantage of it but that they are not naive enough to believe they are good enough to last in the mainstream.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,411 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Good statment Hightower, I think you are corrrect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Dafydd Thomas

I'm actually weak that everyone on this thread is from ardscoil ris. I just left last year, the bandits went there right? This has probably been discussed but I don't want to mound through 11 pages.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,717 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

While I 100% disagree with Dean's opinions, surely the above comment merited some form of action by another mod. It's only the 1st rule in the charter!

If you have a problem with a post, report it. The person it was aimed at didn't seem to take much notice of it. Commenting about the moderation of a thread within that thread is also against the Charter. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

If you have a problem with a post, report it. The person it was aimed at didn't seem to take much notice of it. Commenting about the moderation of a thread within that thread is also against the Charter. ;)

TBH I dont think DR read my post at all, just blindly continued insisting that it was a pro IRA song. :rolleyes:

Sure if thats the case nearly every entertainment act cannot be a fad then seeing as most one hit wonders continue to exist in entertainment in one shape or form for many more years than the mainstream hear of them.

I have made the comparison earlier in this thread to the rubberbandits being the young persons dunbelievables seeing as they are comedy double acts poking fun at certain sub cultures and it still holds true. Dunbelievables were around before the rubber bandits so imo its simply a case of recycled ideas from them but thats only my opinion. The dunbeliveables are still touring but anyone who says THEY were not fads is lying to themselves. The comparisons between the comedic ideas of the bandits and the dunbelievables can be extended to the life cycles of their acts in mainstream media.

The defining feature of a "fad" act is that the act itself may continue on for years but in comparison have had only spend a short amount of that time in the mainstream media... trust me, the bandits fit the textbook definition of a fad act. I hope they enjoy and take advantage of it but that they are not naive enough to believe they are good enough to last in the mainstream.

I'm posting the following not to argue with your opinion of the rubberbandits and their ability [which you are entiled to] but because I feel perhaps that you are ill informed as to their history and their influences.

First and foremost the defining feature of a fad is that something arises from relative obscurity and becomes popular very quickly and then disappears. The rubberbandits however have been around for 10 years [since they were 15 years of age] and were selected [due to their popularity] to play the midnight slot in the little big tent [capacity around 5000]at electric in 2009/10 long before 'horse outside' was released. Now the dog on the street will tell you that you do not get these slots unless you are mainstram Irish or an international act. Coupled with this fact is the further evidence of their popularity on facebook. By september 2010 [3 months before horse outside] they had 25,000 facebook fans, thats twice the amount that BellX1 have now and equal to the frames. [The bandits now have 125,000 btw] Therefore they already have been too popular already to be deemed a fad.

Second point: The comparison with the unbelievables is tenuous to say the least. Number 1 I can t remember the Unbelievables releasing songs where the musicianship and production were as important as the comedy. [Rubberbandits have a string of international record companys on their tale at the moment including Sony and Universal]

The bandits are influenced by the likes of Fr. Ted/Python/Flann O Brian/Marx brothers on the one hand and by the blues and early hip/hop on the other. South park and other more controversial material which they would have been aware of as teenagers is also clearly an influence.[in particular with the use of the plastic bag which gives them that cartoon quality that separates them from 'real people'] The unbelievables come from a tradition which would include Neil Tobin/Brendan Grace/even Jimmy O dea or Maureen Pottor but are also very good within that genre.

NB: Using regional accents and poking fun at certain sub cultures can be found in pretty much every sketch show on the TV from Tate's 'am I bovvered' to most of little Britan. It is not in itself a comedic genre.

Last but not least: your statement stating 'personally I couldn t give a **** about the rubberbandits'. I figure if that were true you wouldn t have felt the need to make the statement in the first place. It's like someone who s just told a lie following it with 'I swear to God'.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Hooked

Great post Dannyriver! Well said.

Been a fan myself since the beginning, septic tanks... Ahh woooahhh!
    Was watching the big fat quiz of the year Monday night and couldn't help but think Noel Fielding (and Russell Brand before him) was getting all the laughs for his abstract and surreal answers!

Reminded me of the bandits earlier work, melted toblerones (bank call), being trapped inside a very large cake (the wasp) and my all time favourite Darren World (scavanging with the dogs) claiming he existed more as electricity...

Do you know that buzzing noise pylons make... That's my uncle! Nearly died the first time I heard that one!

Ok, the bandits aren't everyones cup of tea, but they certainly ain't a 'fad'.

Just my Euro 0.02

Dannyriver wrote: »
    I'm posting the following not to argue with your opinion of the rubberbandits and their ability [which you are entiled to] but because I feel perhaps that you are ill informed as to their history and their influences.

First and foremost the defining feature of a fad is that something arises from relative obscurity and becomes popular very quickly and then disappears. The rubberbandits however have been around for 10 years [since they were 15 years of age] and were selected [due to their popularity] to play the midnight slot in the little big tent [capacity around 5000]at electric in 2009/10 long before 'horse outside' was released. Now the dog on the street will tell you that you do not get these slots unless you are mainstram Irish or an international act. Coupled with this fact is the further evidence of their popularity on facebook. By september 2010 [3 months before horse outside] they had 25,000 facebook fans, thats twice the amount that BellX1 have now and equal to the frames. [The bandits now have 125,000 btw] Therefore they already have been too popular already to be deemed a fad.

Second point: The comparison with the unbelievables is tenuous to say the least. Number 1 I can t remember the Unbelievables releasing songs where the musicianship and production were as important as the comedy. [Rubberbandits have a string of international record companys on their tale at the moment including Sony and Universal]

The bandits are influenced by the likes of Fr. Ted/Python/Flann O Brian/Marx brothers on the one hand and by the blues and early hip/hop on the other. South park and other more controversial material which they would have been aware of as teenagers is also clearly an influence.[in particular with the use of the plastic bag which gives them that cartoon quality that separates them from 'real people'] The unbelievables come from a tradition which would include Neil Tobin/Brendan Grace/even Jimmy O dea or Maureen Pottor but are also very good within that genre.

NB: Using regional accents and poking fun at certain sub cultures can be found in pretty much every sketch show on the TV from Tate's 'am I bovvered' to most of little Britan. It is not in itself a comedic genre.

Last but not least: your statement stating 'personally I couldn t give a **** about the rubberbandits'. I figure if that were true you wouldn t have felt the need to make the statement in the first place. It's like someone who s just told a lie following it with 'I swear to God'.

Do you work for / are you one of the bandits?
    You seem very defensive of them?

Do you work for / are you one of the bandits?
    You seem very defensive of them?

Naw just a huge fan from a long time ago. I do defend them though but only when I feel someone is misinformed or missing the point. :)

Fair enough, your posts are all bandits related and you seem to have an awful lot of facts and figures about them so was just wondering

To be honest whether they are a fad or not remains to be seen. No-one know the answer to that yet. Depends what they do next i suppose

• Registered Users Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Fair enough, your posts are all bandits related and you seem to have an awful lot of facts and figures about them so was just wondering

To be honest whether they are a fad or not remains to be seen. No-one know the answer to that yet. Depends what they do next i suppose
    if the bandits for some reason vanished tomorrow, it would still be impossible for them to be a fad, as they have been around too long. Sure they have attracted millions of part time fans due to horse outside going global, but so did metallica after "nothing else matters".

Yeah I only joined boards when I saw some of the nonsense being written about them by some of the heads on here. But as Ash Wiliams remark below states..they are long past being a fad.

apologies his comment above not below..