Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Retro Shops/Bargains/Auction Links

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

That's a spectacular tribute. What a collection though, I'd love all 255. Though I wish they made Darius ships and bosses.

I want a Lego King Fossil! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 34,456 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I ****ing HATE this ebay seller. He keeps making repros of rare Megadrive games and not listing them as such. In the end I search for something, see the photo, shout 'OH MY ****ING GOD!!' almost buy it, and then see his name.

http://www.ebay.com.au/sch/tanoka81/m.html?hash=item43abb89ee1&item=290643812065&pt=UK_PC_Video_Games_Video_Games_JS&_trksid=p4340.l2562

I think I'll report all his auctions.

edit - I wrote ebay an email reporting his auctions and why they are bootlegs.

Got the following message -

Thank you. Your report has been sent.
    Please note that we cannot respond to you with the result of our investigation due to privacy rules.

Translation -

Thank you for your report,

However we are going to do absolutely nothing and pretend it's due to privacy rules.

:(

If other people could click on his username and report his listings I'd really appreciate it! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,848 ✭✭✭Steve X2

o1s1n wrote: »
    I ****ing HATE this ebay seller. He keeps making repros of rare Megadrive games and not listing them as such. In the end I search for something, see the photo, shout 'OH MY ****ING GOD!!' almost buy it, and then see his name.

http://www.ebay.com.au/sch/tanoka81/m.html?hash=item43abb89ee1&item=290643812065&pt=UK_PC_Video_Games_Video_Games_JS&_trksid=p4340.l2562

I think I'll report all his auctions.

edit - I wrote ebay an email reporting his auctions and why they are bootlegs.

Got the following message -

Thank you. Your report has been sent.
    Please note that we cannot respond to you with the result of our investigation due to privacy rules.

Translation -

Thank you for your report,

However we are going to do absolutely nothing and pretend it's due to privacy rules.

:(

If other people could click on his username and report his listings I'd really appreciate it! :)

Done.

I see he got a couple of back feedback comments from people who bought the stuff thinking it was legit.

Master of the Universe

Thanks a mil!

Almost bought his Death and Return of Superman a few minutes ago thinking I'd come across a great find. I'd be raging to have a bootleg sent out in the post like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

also reported :)

How bad are the bootlegs?

Do the look perfect and everything until you open them up and look at the chips?

Master of the Universe

Well looking at the The Death and Return of Superman -

The inlay looks to be too dark. On closer inspection in person, I'd imagine the printing quality wouldn't be anywhere near factory standard.

Here's the bootleg -

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/DEATH-AND-RETURN-SUPERMAN-SEGA-MEGADRIVE-GENESIS-MEGA-DRIVE-RARO-RARE-/290643812065?pt=UK_PC_Video_Games_Video_Games_JS&hash=item43abb89ee1

Real version to compare -

http://www.ebay.de/itm/SEGA-Mega-Drive-The-Death-and-Return-of-Superman-NEUWERTIG-/180766181721?pt=de_entertainment_games&hash=item2a16810959

The 'booklet' is just a 1 page colour print of the cover, and then a 1 page black and white print of the controls.

The cart label looks to be printed well. But if you were to open it up, I'd imagine it would be a mess of wires and eeproms!

If you bought one you'd know instantly.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭readyletsgo

Hi, selling some GB/C, GBA games, a Gameboy Color and a Zelda SP if anyone is interested. See my Adverts link accross, cheers :-)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,180 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dr Bob

Well looking at the The Death and Return of Superman -

The inlay looks to be too dark. On closer inspection in person, I'd imagine the printing quality wouldn't be anywhere near factory standard.

Here's the bootleg -

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/DEATH-AND-RETURN-SUPERMAN-SEGA-MEGADRIVE-GENESIS-MEGA-DRIVE-RARO-RARE-/290643812065?pt=UK_PC_Video_Games_Video_Games_JS&hash=item43abb89ee1

Real version to compare -

http://www.ebay.de/itm/SEGA-Mega-Drive-The-Death-and-Return-of-Superman-NEUWERTIG-/180766181721?pt=de_entertainment_games&hash=item2a16810959

The 'booklet' is just a 1 page colour print of the cover, and then a 1 page black and white print of the controls.

The cart label looks to be printed well. But if you were to open it up, I'd imagine it would be a mess of wires and eeproms!

If you bought one you'd know instantly.
    Saw he Had Slapfight MD , got happy , remembered they were overpriced bootlegs , got sad...

Master of the Universe

Saw he Had Slapfight MD , got happy , remembered they were overpriced bootlegs , got sad...

Same thing happened to me AFTER reporting all his stuff. Almost got caught out a second time :(

On the subject of Megadrive gear, here is the absolute MOTHERLOAD of dev hardware. Remember those really cool Mega CD dev units? Two of them in this lot. As well at **** loads of other stuff.

Collection only though :( or else you can organize your own courrier.

I'm very tempted to bid and try to convince a mate to drive over!

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=120827570624&ssPageName=ADME:B:SS:US:1123

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 15,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=120827570624&ssPageName=ADME:B:SS:US:1123

I would for the price of the ferry trip, one of those dev units and a bag of chips.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 15,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

Thought this might interest some of you, US 3DS

• Registered Users Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭Jack burton

Same thing happened to me AFTER reporting all his stuff. Almost got caught out a second time :(

On the subject of Megadrive gear, here is the absolute MOTHERLOAD of dev hardware. Remember those really cool Mega CD dev units? Two of them in this lot. As well at **** loads of other stuff.

Collection only though :( or else you can organize your own courrier.

So getting that, we could make our own MD and MCD games? :D

Master of the Universe

I would for the price of the ferry trip, one of those dev units and a bag of chips.
    So getting that, we could make our own MD and MCD games? :D

If it goes for anything less than €300 I think we should organize a road trip. :pac:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,104 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

If it goes for anything less than €300 I think we should organize a road trip. :pac:

Some haul of kit that. You reckon it might go that high considering he has no idea if anything actually works? As you always say, retro items not used for years can be a bad thing. :(

Andrew76 wrote: »
    Some haul of kit that. You reckon it might go that high considering he has no idea if anything actually works? As you always say, retro items not used for years can be a bad thing. :(

Why doesn't he just plug the bloody things in and test them.
    He says he has all the power supplies etc.

Or maybe he did test them and they're all knackered so went with the old "working last time i checked".

Aye, surely if you want to maximize the sale potential you'd check whether the item works or not. I'd read it like he's either too damn lazy to check or they're knackered, either way not worth putting any serious bids on.

Master of the Universe

Oh wow, remember the dude we reported on ebay?

Hello Oisin,

Thank you for writing to us to report the member "tanoka81" for listing
    unauthorised copies of video games. I understand you'd like them
    reprimanded for being dishonest and listing counterfeit items, so I
    appreciate the chance to assist you further with your concern.

Oisin, let me assure you that I have forwarded your email to the
    appropriate department who will be reviewing the information you've
    provided. You should be hearing back from them soon, as they're best
    qualified to respond regarding your report.

Before we take action, we'll consider the circumstances of the alleged
    offence and the member's Feedback profile, as well as any previous
    warnings or offences. To be fair to all members, we won't take action
    unless the complaint can be proven with certainty.

Please remember that not all actions that we may take will be visible to
    you. Breaches of eBay's listing policies can lead to consequences that
    range from issuing the seller an informational alert, ending the
    listing(s), moving the listing(s) to a more appropriate category, a
    temporary suspension, an indefinite suspension or terminating the
    membership.

As it's important that eBay maintains member privacy, we can't share
    details of the action we take on another member's account. This is an
    eBay principle which protects the privacy of all our members.

Oisin, thank you again for your email, we greatly appreciate your help
    in keeping eBay a safe and reputable place to trade. If I can be of any
    further help, simply reply to this email.

Kind regards,

eBay Trust & Safety

Oh wow, remember the dude we reported on ebay?

Hello Oisin,

appreciate the chance to assist you further with your concern.

provided. You should be hearing back from them soon, as they're best
    qualified to respond regarding your report.

Before we take action, we'll consider the circumstances of the alleged

membership.

in keeping eBay a safe and reputable place to trade. If I can be of any
    further help, simply reply to this email.

Kind regards,

eBay Trust & Safety

That's a fair response I reckon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

Hello Oisin,

appreciate the chance to
    in accordance with our customer service handbook I suppose I have to assist you further with your concern.

provided
    pressing delete as soon as it arrives. You should won't be hearing back from them soon, as they're best
    qualified
    don't care to respond regarding to your report.

Before we take action press delete, we'll consider the circumstances of the alleged

membership.

in keeping eBay a safe and reputable place to trade
    you giving us a good laugh during lunch. If I can be of any
    further help, simply reply to this email email my mate Danny, he's hilar and mad for the craic!

Kind regards,

eBay Trust & Safety

FYP. :pac:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,180 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dr Bob

keithgeo wrote: »
    This sort of carry on really annoys me.. someone bought one of the meg2s rage where selling for 80, now has it up on adverts for 250 quid. even using the same image rage posted!!

http://www.adverts.ie/other-consoles-games/sega-mega-drive-ll/1171464
    sigh cheeky fecker relisted it after it was pulled , its now up for 200....

Master of the Universe

Steve SI wrote: »
    That's a fair response I reckon.

Far better than I was expecting. Really interested now in seeing what these guys say when they contact me.

Fingers crossed they'll offer me a job in videogame related fraud prevention :pac:

And no surprise he changed the Rage pic to a stock one. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 10,533 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

Far better than I was expecting. Really interested now in seeing what these guys say when they contact me.

Fingers crossed they'll offer me a job in videogame related fraud prevention :pac:

Not a hope.

They will give it to yer man instead, like Catch Me if You Can.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

God loves a tryer and I'm still blocked from replying to him!! Obviously the truth hurts, €200 for a Megadrive 2! He has some brass neck.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 5,381 Mod ✭✭✭✭Optimus Prime

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

This one looks like a real collectors item...

A Nintendo Woo console! :)

I nearly fell off my seat when I saw this one!

http://www.adverts.ie/other-consoles-games/woo-console-inc-wires-etc/1181253

Probably should be in Dreamer of the Year thread as well seeing as he/she/it wants 200 yoyos for it!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭readyletsgo

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    This one looks like a real collectors item...

A Nintendo Woo console! :)

I nearly fell off my seat when I saw this one!

http://www.adverts.ie/other-consoles-games/woo-console-inc-wires-etc/1181253

Probably should be in Dreamer of the Year thread as well seeing as he/she/it wants 200 yoyos for it!

:rolleyes: hahaha, wft is a Woo? Cant change the ad title either can ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

:rolleyes: hahaha, wft is a Woo? Cant change the ad title either can ya.

Maybe he meant Poo? Ya know like, wii...& poo?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

As i said he'd really need to WOO somebody if he hopes to get €200 Yo Yo's