Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cowen to address the nation

• Registered Users Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

Yes, they all have it except our national broadcaster. It's not even on teletext yet. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,523 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Overheal wrote: »
    YOU LIE!

Just like Biffo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

steo87 wrote: »
    Out of the country so can't watch it on tele...anyone know if the RTE website is showing this? And if so, anyone have a link? Can't find it on the webiste

It looks BBC is the most reliable source. That in its self is annoying. I trawled the RTE site and found no mention of Cowen talking to anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭ragg

pithater1 wrote: »
    No sign of anything, watching Sky News at the moment, seems like there is a small crowd milling outside the gates of Leinster House though.

I'm thinking of taking a day off and going on a bit of a riot tomorrow.
    I think dragging cowen out of leinster house and stripping him naked in front of the worlds media will embarress him enough to resign

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Ok, it's past the time.

RTE1 - Some talent crap
    RTE2 - Some other Shite.
    TV3 - Again some other crap.
    TG4 - A documentary about Gaelgoir Lesbian whales
    BBC1 -some other crap
    BBC2 - Documentary about World War 2
    The Allies Won -Horray !
    ITV (see TV 3)
    Channel 4 -some other crap
    Channel 5 - [/Vomit]

But it's not the crap we're looking for.

FYP !

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Ok, it's past the time.

RTE1 - Some talent crap
    RTE2 - Some other Shite.
    TV3 - Again some other crap.

But it's not the crap we're looking for.
    Thats the minor crap - before the major crap! :(

• Registered Users Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

He's either resigning (Unlikely) OR announcing the bailout.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭dirtyghettokid

what a load of crap! there's nothing on the radio either

call for a revolution in ireland group on facebook said radio or TV

trust rte to keep playing a ****ing talent show while people gather in front of the dail........

• Registered Users Posts: 5,776 ✭✭✭up for anything

We've been sold down the river. He's just going to break the news assuring us that it's in our best interests and that the government know what they are doing. Sounds familiar. :mad:

From RTE website:

Lenihan: Ireland to apply for rescue package

The Minister for Finance has confirmed that Ireland will be applying for a financial rescue package from the EU, the International Monetary Fund and the European Central Bank.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

The Minister for Finance has confirmed that Ireland will be applying for a financial rescue package from the EU, the International Monetary Fund and the European Central Bank.
    Old old news...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭baldbear

RTE 2 has a programme about Crocodiles catching it's pray and RTE 1 has Irelands got Talent!

This reminds me of the time the Russian entered Germany and Hitler played Glenroe on the Telly pretending everything was grand.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭jpfahy

We've turned the corner (again)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,776 ✭✭✭up for anything

Old old news...

Oh I'm cut to the bone. The Irish mammy is always the last to know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

he is announcing that he likes guinness to the nation and that all is well..

and he has a 4 year plan to see that he will only ensure the finest hops are used for st james gate brewery.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

He's just announcing the new national anthem :D

• Registered Users Posts: 164 ✭✭livdmg

:confused: nothing happening as of yet

• Registered Users Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭Nforce

Statement to be within the hour now...according to BBC

http://atdhe.net/watch-bbc-news.php

Sorry folks...I don't have any control over RTE's programming :o

• Registered Users Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭BEASTERLY

We've been sold down the river. He's just going to break the news assuring us that it's in our best interests and that the government know what they are doing. Sounds familiar. :mad:

From RTE website:

Finally! Woooohooooo! Finally something interesting happens with the Irish economy.

3 years of waiting for this promised ''recession'' was getting tiresome.

Come on the IMF , let's go kick some union arse:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Guarantee you it's directly after the All Ireland Talent Show. Can't believe they'd actually wait for the show to finish to make an announcement. Amazing really.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

He'll wait til the X Factor starts and hope nobody will watch it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭Kiki10

If that liar comes on tele it will be to tell us "nothing to see here" I dont think anyone should put a shotgun in his mouth do, he should be garroted.
    Id watch that on the news?

But then again he was democratically elected... by who do???

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

They are probably trying to sober him up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Grindylow

Sure he hardly expects me to miss the X Factor to listen to his bullshoite!

I'd rather watch Katie Waisel sing her sing-off song. >.>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭ragg

SantryRed wrote: »
    Guarantee you it's directly after the All Ireland Talent Show. Can't believe they'd actually wait for the show to finish to make an announcement. Amazing really.

he better talk quick, reeling in the years is due on :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

We should add a poll to this giving options of a few possible things he will say just to see who gets it right & for the craic.

I'd like to say we should have a little wager on it but that would be bad taste really wouldn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭Kiki10

They are probably trying to sober him up
    His easier to understand drunk!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

Delayed @ dinner until 8pm. After two years, we should consider ourselves privileged.

Typical of Cowen to give a state of the nation address, and tell no one.

Yet again, we have to get our info from the BBC.

To paraphrase Gogarty, fcuk you RTE, fcuk you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭alex73

Noel2k9 wrote: »
    Sure he hardly expects me to miss the X Factor to listen to his bullshoite!

I'd rather watch Katie Waisel sing her sing-off song. >.>

Cowen and Katie have a lot in common. no matter how much we hate them, they still keep hanging on.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,093 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

ragg wrote: »
    he better talk quick, reeling in the years is due on :eek:
    You mean the show that reminds you of better times?

• Registered Users Posts: 37 Javiero

Hes legging it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!