Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off-Topic Thread

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

marko93 wrote: »

I'd have to say neither TBH, if you forced me to pick one I wouldn't pay €60 for an measly etra 50MHz odd core clock on the EVga, and the price premium for either of those 4GB edition GTX 770s is extremely steep.

Honestly if you are spending up and around €400 from a site other than OCUK, and wnat a card with more than 2GB you really really should be looking at r9 290s, you could have a Windforce (review) delivered for €390 from HWVS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭Gumbi

marco_polo wrote: »
    I'd have to say neither TBH, if you forced me to pick one I wouldn't pay €60 for an measly etra 50MHz odd core clock on the EVga, and the price premium for either of those 4GB edition GTX 770s is extremely steep.

Honestly if you are spending up and around €400 from a site other than OCUK, and wnat a card with more than 2GB you really really should be looking at r9 290s, you could have a Windforce (review) delivered for €390 from HWVS.

I missed that they were 4GB, anyway, point still stands. You're in 290 territory at that stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,009 ✭✭✭WhiskeyGoblin

Evident I know feck all this :P

I'm just afraid I'll have the same problems with a 290, one of the OCUK responses was AMD were having driver issues across the 200 series!

Evident I know feck all this :P

I'm just afraid I'll have the same problems with a 290, one of the OCUK responses was AMD were having driver issues across the 200 series!

I don't think there's such an issue. Just get the latest beta driver and you should be fine. Some people are having black screen issues but that's on reference models mostly (of the r9 290/290x series) and to do with cheap Elpida RAM I believe.

Gumbi wrote: »
    I don't think there's such an issue. Just get the latest beta driver and you should be fine. Some people are having black screen issues but that's on reference models mostly (of the r9 290/290x series) and to do with cheap Elpida RAM I believe.

Well I'll have to wait to see what OCUK do, I'm definitely in the 14 days for full refund. Just slow to reply.

Having a quick look on Dabs no, I didn't realise how close the Toxic was to the 290(in this case the Gigabyte Windforce)

The noise of the reference card is also an absolute no go.

Well I'll have to wait to see what OCUK do, I'm definitely in the 14 days for full refund. Just slow to reply.

Having a quick look on Dabs no, I didn't realise how close the Toxic was to the 290(in this case the Gigabyte Windforce)

The noise of the reference card is also an absolute no go.

The noise has been overstated IMO, but I would still highly recommend getting a non-ref card. Yep, the 280x toxic is pretty exp, you'd be we'll off going for a Windforce 290 from Hardwareversand at that price point.

Gumbi wrote: »
    The noise has been overstated IMO, but I would still highly recommend getting a non-ref card. Yep, the 280x toxic is pretty exp, you'd be we'll off going for a Windforce 290 from Hardwareversand at that price point.

Ordering from dabs is an extra 10er, incase I turn into Bad Luck Brian again, what's Hardwareversands return policy like, have you any experience with them?

Use these links to save a few quid more:

http://geizhals.de/gigabyte-radeon-r9-290-windforce-3x-oc-battlefield-4-edition-gv-r929oc-4gd-ga-a1049158.html (BF 4 Edition)

http://geizhals.de/gigabyte-radeon-r9-290-windforce-3x-oc-gv-r929oc-4gd-a1049151.html (No BF 4)

Order from Hardwareversand for 19 euro shipping.

Or order from Dabs, they are an Irish company so dealing wth them might be quicker and easier, Hardwareversand are slow with emails and seeing as they ship from Germany it might take longer for returns to be processed (having said that, Dabs are probably ordering from Germany - see the ordered upon request note) but the extra few bob might make the ease of customer service worth it for you.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

An apparently genuine leak going around of Valve slides demonstrating the L4D2 plantation level as reconstructed in the Source 2 engine.

http://www.valvetime.net/threads/source-2-left-4-dead-2-prototype-screenshots-leaked.244266/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I've a ref 290 that I got for 260 before Christmas, best value card I've ever owned - noise is loud, admittedly, but I'm one of those who doesn't really care, and the card hasn't let me down so far.

Also dribbled a little over those Source 2 L4D maps.

I've a ref 290 that I got for 260 before Christmas, best value card I've ever owned - noise is loud, admittedly, but I'm one of those who doesn't really care, and the card hasn't let me down so far.

Also dribbled a little over those Source 2 L4D maps.

Remounting the cooooller with some aftermarket thermal paste like MX4 can cut a good few degrees (and consequently fan speed) from your card :). How'd you pick it up for so cheap? Have you overclocked it at all?

I think I'll try Dabs, I've had dealings with them before and I found them to be great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,615 ✭✭✭Revoker88

Seaaan wrote: »
    Don't mind too much, still near maxed out with nice frame rates. Going to get the 280x.

In regards to the monitor, which 1 am I to get? Ive done a bit of research on them but would like first hand experience! Just how nice are they over 1080? (I'm already convinced though)

If you look on the catleap thread there is a post from me a page or to from the end with what I think you have to do to pick a monitor from the qnix's available. If nothing else might help you narrow the list.

I dont know if I could go back now to 1080p,the 27" inch of screen room while keeping the pixel density is great. Takes awhile to get used to playing at such a high resolution and a big screen but once you do its great

The MSI model gets decent reviews considering its price, I havent looked at the sapphire one. Check out a few reviews of both amd get the one which has the best overclocking potetial because you will want to overclock it to get the most from it, especially at 1440p

What case have you got? Also have to make sure it will fit in your case so that may be a factor

EDIT: There is also a club3d model in the BA thread, club3d had some of the best overclocking 7950/7970's so might be worth a look at a few reviews of it also, its €250 and the post in the BA thread has a €5 off voucher also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Seaaan

EoinHef wrote: »
    If you look on the catleap thread there is a post from me a page or to from the end with what I think you have to do to pick a monitor from the qnix's available. If nothing else might help you narrow the list.

I dont know if I could go back now to 1080p,the 27" inch of screen room while keeping the pixel density is great. Takes awhile to get used to playing at such a high resolution and a big screen but once you do its great

The MSI model gets decent reviews considering its price, I havent looked at the sapphire one. Check out a few reviews of both amd get the one which has the best overclocking potetial because you will want to overclock it to get the most from it, especially at 1440p

What case have you got? Also have to make sure it will fit in your case so that may be a factor

EDIT: There is also a club3d model in the BA thread, club3d had some of the best overclocking 7950/7970's so might be worth a look at a few reviews of it also, its €250 and the post in the BA thread has a €5 off voucher also

Grand so. I have a corsair 200r so space really isnt an issue. Saw the one on BA thread, wasn't too sure! Should I go for that so?

Have a look around online and see if you can find any reviews for it first, just to get am idea of how effective the cooler is and get a better picture of what to expect

Will do!
    http://item.mobileweb.ebay.co.uk/viewitem?sbk=1&nav=SEARCH&itemId=121114422949
    That? On mobile so eBay is obv being a bollocks

Will do!
    http://item.mobileweb.ebay.co.uk/viewitem?sbk=1&nav=SEARCH&itemId=121114422949
    That? On mobile so eBay is obv being a bollocks

Yeah thats the seller I bought from,they can be a bit of a hassle if you have to return it though for any reason. But ive no complaints so far.

One of the lads, Brian, got one (also perfect pixel for what its worth)recently and only ended up costing €260 incl customs.

Check out the seller he used aswell, I paid €310 with customs included for a non perfect pixel one. I was lucky, my one is a good example:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,534 ✭✭✭xtal191

What anti virus does everyone use?

Alright. Will check it out, I don't want to take risks with 300€ :D
    Club 3d one has dual link dvi-d? is that what I need?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

xtal191 wrote: »

I use "Dont be a stupid idiot" for the last 10 years or so. Works great.

MSE is all I use and ShadowHearths method of not being stupid on the internet.

But I won the South African lotto

Alright. Will check it out, I don't want to take risks with 300€ :D
    Club 3d one has dual link dvi-d? is that what I need?

Yeah dvi-d is ok as long as its dual link

Looks like the Club3D is gone or totally out of stock on HWVS now though:(

Was low stock earlier

Yeah dvi-d is ok as long as its dual link

Looks like the Club3D is gone or totally out of stock on HWVS now though:(

Was low stock earlier

Aw, that's a pity.. It had a nice back plate too :c

• Closed Accounts Posts: 678 ✭✭✭kevovek

This might be a long shot but I have a friend living in Thailand and I was trying to find out if Computer components are any cheaper over there? So far all I have found is this site http://www.invadeit.co.th/ and going by that the answer would seem to be no, but I thought I'd ask here and see if anyone has any idea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭glynf

Worked there for a few months 8-9 years ago, there were a few shopping centres full of electronics/IT gear, some good bargains to be had but a lot of knock off's about-especially software. At the I got a well spec'ed HP laptop for half of what it would cost here. You can also get a tax refund as your are a tourist, but I was lazy & left it too late.

I got the laptop in a centre near Siam sq. no idea of the name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭raymix

xtal191 wrote: »

ESS 7.0

I've seen what people are capable of with metasploit alone... and then there's kali

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 18,382 Mod ✭✭✭✭Solitaire

kevovek wrote: »
    This might be a long shot but I have a friend living in Thailand and I was trying to find out if Computer components are any cheaper over there? So far all I have found is this site http://www.invadeit.co.th/ and going by that the answer would seem to be no, but I thought I'd ask here and see if anyone has any idea?

Somewhat comparable, with lots more bargain basement stuff available, much of it of dubious provenance. You can get stuff a bit cheaper and there's some parts out there you cant get in the EU, but once you figure in shipping the savings evaporate. And then there's the fact that Thailand isn't an EU country for some curious reason... :p If your packages are intercepted you could expect a nice little several-hundred-euro bill from Customs to really ruin your day... :eek:

Aw, that's a pity.. It had a nice back plate too :c

Didnt even notice it had a backplate, thats a nice feature.

There is one listed for €250 but its a special item

Id go for the gigabyte windforce (revision 2.0) or the msi gaming. The gigbyte one is available with battlefield 4 for €278.(thats without using geizhals.de) You might even be able to sell BF4 and make a few quid back, the card is only €6 less without battlefield

You could also wait and see if you can grab one in a sale