Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Print discussion thread

• 20-10-2010 2:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭

The SU paper looks really well!

Not entirely in agreement with PrivateEye's article but I was never going to be :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    Don't get anything there. It's a stinky kip.
    Don't forget cold. The entire ground floor of JH is freezing with all the doors always open.
    Jakkass wrote: »
    The SU paper looks really well!

Not entirely in agreement with PrivateEye's article but I was never going to be :P
    Where can I get it? How much is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭squishykins

Oooooh is the paper out? Where can I gets it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Ms. Koi

Daemos wrote: »
    Don't forget cold. The entire ground floor of JH is freezing with all the doors always open.

Where can I get it? How much is it?

all over arts block for definite, if not in the su itself.
    ITS FREE!!!

Damn, so much for my plan of camping in the library for the rest of the day so :p Unless I find a copy here too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Love the fact the paper gets dropped in to the Iontas Building, love the look of it too so a big thumbs up. The leading article is poor though.

The delicious irony of it is rather disappointing. The SU know by word of mouth of several attacks yet ask people not to spread unsubstantiated rumours because there are no Garda statements. The bits about that, including the whole last paragraph could have been left out. The mention of a rape with no qualifiers makes it seems like drag-into-an-alley type attack which is frightening as f*ck, but an attempted rape can also happen at a party when a girl is drunk off her ass and a lad thinks he's getting the go ahead. One is clearly more sinister and worrying, one less so (both are wrong, obviously).

Also not fond of the digs yer man got in on the Gardai. I'm not a Garda, and I do think Maynooth needs a full-time post but to essentially say if they bothered to look they'd find something is just bullsh*t. He didn't get faces, he was on Parson street which you'd swear is O'Connell street by him saying "It's hard to miss a fight". I spent 5 years in Maynooth, many nights I walked home on Parson Street and over Bond Bridge with not a soul to be seen. There were no cameras and no motives. Where does he think they should start investigating? Door to door enquiries, maybe shake down the local scumbags and get a name? This isn't the USA :confused:

The verbatim quotes including the word "like" were a bad idea, they can be left out. When I speak I tend to look for acknowledgement by popping in a "yeah?" every now and then. It's a habit, it adds nothing to the quote therefore I wouldn't expect when I give a quote for it to contain my yeah?'s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

Yeh, it's excellent but the leading article is ****e as TouchingVirus pointed out. Used to teach Gavin though so shocked to see he was beaten up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Absolutely, he has my sympathy. Nobody deserves to be set upon by a group of lads. A friend of mine was attacked randomly like him just over a year ago on the Rathcoffey road but he only got a few punches and a bloody nose. It's digraceful to be honest.

A few other mistakes - the bit about the 'riot' on Main street was included twice. Once by Schmick and once by Rob. Pick an article and stick with it, no need to repeat yourself especially since Rob was going on about how they were stuck for space for other articles :o

Speaking of repeating, an entire question was repeated in the article on Taxi drivers too. :o

And I'm not just picking up on the negatives, the poor lighting map is an excellent idea, the mix of culture with local news and student news is the best I've ever seen from the SU too. So there are positives, but more work needs to be done :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

Re: the front article. We have a bit more detail now, and we don't have permission to talk about some of the other incidents - and I'm not going to publish something against a student's will for the sake of shifting a few papers.

I can tell you now though that this day last week a student went into Mizzoni's to order a pizza and, while waiting for it to be ready, went to take a whizz down a side lane. Two lads set upon him, stole nothing, and he's now hospitalised undergoing facial reconstruction. So you can see how if that was you and I put it in the paper against your wishes you'd be pretty pissed off. (We have since gotten permission for that story, in fact the family want it spread around massively).

The attacks are numerous and pretty serious. The Gardaí themselves in the town are great but we need more - Kildare has the lowest Garda per person ratio in the country by quite a margin (don't have the exact figures in front of me now, I'll post them if anyone wants them though) and Maynooth again seems to be substantially low.

This is also my fifth year in Maynooth and, in terms of number and frequency of attacks, this is a new beast. We're not used to this in Maynooth.

Personally, and this is just me, I think that there is a serious need for an increased nighttime Garda presence in Maynooth. Oh, and we'll actually be following up on what we said on pp20-21. This is day 1.

Speaking of repeating, an entire question was repeated in the article on Taxi drivers too. :o

Bah! /slaps forehaed.

Entirely my bad.

Oh, and thanks for the nice comments in general. Now we know exactly how it looks on paper, and we know what printing margins we have and the type of paper and certain tints and other nerdy stuff we can give the next issue a lot more personality and style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

Only a quick glance through it today but it looked good, well structured layout and mix of articles. Will give it a more thorough read through tomorrow but so far so good. The only fault I saw was that Caoimhin (Cultural Officer) was labelled as Pat Byrne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭mp3guy

I'm unsure how beneficial it is to specifically highlight areas of the campus that are low security. That's just asking for trouble.

Yup, there's a few things like that. (And, make no mistake, they make me crazy...) but hopefully for the next issue there'll be none. Now that we don't have to build it while we're writing it we can focus way more on content. The goal for the next issue is 0 mistakes - including spelling mistakes.

Those borders on p9 also aren't supposed to be there. And, for the record, the march is on Nov 3rd, not "Novth".

But all these mistakes are purely my own in the process of assembling it - the writers themselves all did a great job. (as for the repeated article in the SU "condemns piece"... I didn't think anyone would actually read it)

But we're at 43K words in this issue and growing. Anyone wants to join the team drop me an email at communications@nuimsu.com

mp3guy wrote: »
    I'm unsure how beneficial it is to specifically highlight areas of the campus that are low security. That's just asking for trouble.

Potential rapist in ability to read paper shocker is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

mp3guy wrote: »

Not at all. It's a way of pointing out to the university authorities that things need improving.

Exactly.

Not pointing out danger spots would be way worse, would be failing to protect students. I know it has been difficult for the SU to get across how serious these attacks and how everyone has to be aware, but from a glance at the paper they have gone about warning people in the right way.

It can be argued both ways. It's currently an asset to any "criminal" who sees it.

How many criminals read the Print? How many criminals just ask around and find out these things anyway?

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    How many criminals read the Print? How many criminals just ask around and find out these things anyway?

Criminals is a loosely defined term. You can't tell me that a big map of the hot spots (or dark spots in this case) isn't "useful" for certain illegal activities.

No, it's extremely useful. I'm on my way out now.

I agree that it could be used by any thug to their advantage. However: I believe that making these flaws as public and open as possible puts the university in a position where they have to improve them if they're serious about providing a safe campus. All these problems are fixable - you'll notice that all the comments are along the line of no camera, bad lighting, etc. We've highlighted the places that can be improved, and quickly. Security black spots that are locked to infrastructure (I.e. the field) and cant really be fixed are not highlighted.

We did it with the help of some security staff who obviously wish to remain anonymous - they take their job and the safety of students incredibly seriously and they, more than most people, want to see these issues fixed. Great guys.

Also open to ideas for next issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭seriousfizz

So will The Print be floating about the place? Or do I have to hunt someone down to get a copy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Think this deserves it's own thread for various discussions.

Well done Rob and co. The improvement over last year is great.

Oh, and thanks for the photo you used.......bastard.

Music nerd.

Also, Keith Broni and Conor O Brien and Aileen Donegan deserve some serious kudos.

Serious kudos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭mickstupp

Found it yesterday evening. The paper looks great. A good read through too. Miles better than that other yoke. Congratulations to all involved. Very impressed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Thwip!

rob any chance there'll be a copy available when i get up the nooth this sunday? wanna keep up to date with the college during the year

Funny to think we get this great paper for free, when you have to pay to read cr4p like the Daily Mail :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Seren_

Took a quick look at the paper this morning when I saw it lying on our couch, it looks great! However, I think it'd look a bit better if there were borders at the top of the page, under where it says "News" etc.... Although that's probably just me being pedantic and stuff :o

Well done to everyone who had a hand in making it though, hopefully it'll prove it to the haterz :D

Yeah, we weren't sure how our margins were gonna turn out I.e if we went too close to the side of the page the printer might have just cut loads out. But now we know exactly what space we have and, not having to be so careful, can really give it some personality :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭cython

Love the fact the paper gets dropped in to the Iontas Building, love the look of it too so a big thumbs up. The leading article is poor though.

The delicious irony of it is rather disappointing. The SU know by word of mouth of several attacks yet ask people not to spread unsubstantiated rumours because there are no Garda statements. The bits about that, including the whole last paragraph could have been left out. The mention of a rape with no qualifiers makes it seems like drag-into-an-alley type attack which is frightening as f*ck, but an attempted rape can also happen at a party when a girl is drunk off her ass and a lad thinks he's getting the go ahead. One is clearly more sinister and worrying, one less so (both are wrong, obviously).

Also not fond of the digs yer man got in on the Gardai. I'm not a Garda, and I do think Maynooth needs a full-time post but to essentially say if they bothered to look they'd find something is just bullsh*t. He didn't get faces, he was on Parson street which you'd swear is O'Connell street by him saying "It's hard to miss a fight". I spent 5 years in Maynooth, many nights I walked home on Parson Street and over Bond Bridge with not a soul to be seen. There were no cameras and no motives. Where does he think they should start investigating? Door to door enquiries, maybe shake down the local scumbags and get a name? This isn't the USA :confused:

The verbatim quotes including the word "like" were a bad idea, they can be left out. When I speak I tend to look for acknowledgement by popping in a "yeah?" every now and then. It's a habit, it adds nothing to the quote therefore I wouldn't expect when I give a quote for it to contain my yeah?'s.

The one other issue that I have with this is the delay in disseminating information on the assaults to students. Obviously anything in the Print was finalised at least a few days ago, in order to get design done, and off to the printers, so given the seriousness of these assaults, surely it would have been prudent to sent out an all students email with whatever information could be confirmed at that point, if not before, when the information was confirmed?

I appreciate that not all the content contained therein lends itself to such a medium, but giving indications of where the assaults took place up to now (especially as they are so spread out) as has been done now would probably have more impact to many people using those routes than the general message from before, as well as making people in other areas think twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭rcaz

Loving the paper! A few people seem to dislike the idea of having a newspaper instead of a magazine? I've got mine on my chair next to me right now, and it looks and feels a lot more important than last year's magazine did. I read last year's magazine for a bit of a laugh, this paper looks and feels professional. Even for that, I think it's a success.

Haven't read through it yet, though I really liked Seán's piece on 4'33". I would say that the massive picture of Gavin Brady's injuries on the cover is a little sensationalist and maybe a little crude, but that could just be my personal thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭chillian17

Just to answer a few peoples questions, you'll find them all over campus, but mostly around the arts block, John Hume building and the SU. And they're completely free too. There's loads of copies of it so whoever it was that asked about getting one on Sunday, that should be no problem.

EDIT: also glad to hear everybody really enjoying it. I have heard that in past years it hasn't been great, so I'm delighted for the improvement! Big big big props to banquo for this, among some others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭CORaven

Any chance of an online edition?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭The guy

I'm very impressed by it, it's much better than the spoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭leopoldbloom

cython wrote: »
    The one other issue that I have with this is the delay in disseminating information on the assaults to students. Obviously anything in the Print was finalised at least a few days ago, in order to get design done, and off to the printers, so given the seriousness of these assaults, surely it would have been prudent to sent out an all students email with whatever information could be confirmed at that point, if not before, when the information was confirmed?

I appreciate that not all the content contained therein lends itself to such a medium, but giving indications of where the assaults took place up to now (especially as they are so spread out) as has been done now would probably have more impact to many people using those routes than the general message from before, as well as making people in other areas think twice.

The SU sent out an all student email last week, and heavily used facebook for that entire week to get people to walk home in groups. Reporting incidents is best for a paper. Warning and counselling caution is what we did, to avoid any repeats if at all possible.

Furthermore, if we said Bond Bridge and Parsons Street are dodgy - what's to make someone in Lawrence Avenue think twice about walking home alone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭hypersquirrel

The SU sent out an all student email last week, and heavily used facebook for that entire week to get people to walk home in groups. Reporting incidents is best for a paper. Warning and counselling caution is what we did, to avoid any repeats if at all possible.

Furthermore, if we said Bond Bridge and Parsons Street are dodgy - what's to make someone in Lawrence Avenue think twice about walking home alone?

I didn't get that e-mail and the only things I've seen recently on facebook are about the student march and the Halloween bar ex. On one day there were numerous warnings about not walking home alone but from what I can tell they were not mentioned again and no other information was released. Obviously for legal reasons there isn't a huge deal that can be said but put simply if I did not check my facebook on that particular day I would not have known anything about it.

I think the point that was being made was that by saying the attacks were spread all over everybody would be on alert no matter where they were rather then thinking ah sure it only happened on such and such so I'll be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭squishykins

I didn't get that e-mail and the only things I've seen recently on facebook are about the student march and the Halloween bar ex. On one day there were numerous warnings about not walking home alone but from what I can tell they were not mentioned again and no other information was released. Obviously for legal reasons there isn't a huge deal that can be said but put simply if I did not check my facebook on that particular day I would not have known anything about it.

Whatever about facebook but there definitely was an e-mail sent out and it said all students at the front so I'm assuming it was sent to all students :P
    Also everyone who's living on-campus was talked to, I don't appreciate the way they got us all together (I was in the shower when the fire alarm went off -_-) but I got the message loud and clear...

It was sent on the 11th October, item 2 in the list.

There was plenty of stuff up on Facebook as well, make sure you are friends with Maynooth SU and a few of the clubs and societies. They keep you clued up on the majority of stuff happening on campus and what to be aware of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Quinzy

Paper looks great guys :D But what's up with the Archery photo? The guys were made pose for about 30 seconds at full draw, which is not easy to do, and then a blurry photo of people who aren't staff members was used instead?

Sorry about that. The truth is that because it was the first issue we literally had to build the paper as we were placing content. I know the photo you're talking about, it's a good one, I'm sure I can place it in the next issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Quinzy

Cool cool, just wondering- seemed like a waste of a good and difficult pose, glad you're using it!

Who's your photographer, juts out of curiosity?

There are a few, each for a different section. I think the one that took that photo was Lisa. She's great, she gets some really good snaps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭wonton

anyone know if the old piano rooms can be used tomorrow?

Doubt it man, usually closed on the weekends and bank holidays.

Still, you could try asking security, I've always found them helpful with regards to the practice rooms and logic.

Wait a min.....jesus man, wrong thread or what!? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭wonton

Doubt it man, usually closed on the weekends and bank holidays.

Still, you could try asking security, I've always found them helpful with regards to the practice rooms and logic.

Wait a min.....jesus man, wrong thread or what!? :D

no, i thought the opening times of the piano rooms might be a good topic for the front the cover of the next print.

There are a few different angles you could take, like..

"are the piano room opening times responsible for global warming?"

but anyway, wrong thread posting aside :P, i asked in the office(forgot to ask about bank holidays) and they said the old piano rooms are opened on saturday.

ugh, i just dont fancy getting the bus to maynooth for nothing.

Ring the college tomorrow, get put through to security and ask them before you head then. Prob best plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭Effluo

online version plox

Tomorrow's job. I fundamentally disagree with those online paper readers though, it just doesn't suit the medium. Hopefully most of it will be online by this time tomorrow, have to see how long it takes!