Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Take Me Out - Irish Version [ATTN: Please read Mod Note in OP)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Ya big child ya!

Bet the guys would queue up around the bleeding block for a date with someone who talks like that, off to the bleeding chipper for some burgers and maybe a shopping trip to lifestyle sports for a second date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

This thread is full of win so I'm going to give this a look in a few minutes and make my mind up on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

OK I've given this a look and it's pretty trashy stuff. I was watching Superman I and II on TCM recently and the show reminded me of the bit when General Zod and the other two are being grilled by Jor-El. It would have made the show more entertaining actually if after 'lights out' a giant diamond crystal thingy came down and carried the poor chap off to the Phantom Zone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Andgiekay wrote: »
    im not the blonde girl but we all had a laugh on it, you are all entitled to your opinions but you tell us that the girls are all too picky, if we threw ourselves at the guys you would call us easy, we cant win. its entertainment, what more do you want,? its just alot of hypocricy, get to know the girls first. if you were on a show like that you wouldnt just take the first thing that comes out the door. the guys are lovely, we got to know them very well and they gave as much as they got. i think all the girls were amazing to go on a show like this it takes alot of guts to be put in the public eye so excuse us for standing up for ourselves.

Girl i wouldnt worry about it,its petty insecure attitudes on here about it.
    If it was 30 guys on there could you imagine the stuff and the lights out.
    The sister of this show in England they blacked out on guys for having close family ties.:confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

caseyann wrote: »
    Girl i wouldnt worry about it,its petty insecure attitudes on here about it.
    If it was 30 guys on there could you imagine the stuff and the lights out.
    The sister of this show in England they blacked out on guys for having close family ties.:confused:

the whole point that you have completely failed to grasp is that they would never make the show with 30 guys because there is a perception forwarded by people like you that the guys would be too cruel or brutal or whatever, the subtext suggests that the ladies would be far classier, more dignified and sensitive..................therefore the whole premise that the show is built on is complete and utter bollox and people are entitled to call the double-standard when it is so patently obvious there on the screen in front of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Elysium

I have to say the one thing that i really noticed was just how different ppl's taste and 'types' are, between both the girls and the boys... everyone had complete different preferences..really opened my mind into the way we think...

oh and Elanor (small really pretty blonde one) isnt foreign...she's from cork :)

donfers wrote: »
    the whole point that you have completely failed to grasp is that they would never make the show with 30 guys because there is a perception forwarded by people like you that the guys would be too cruel or brutal or whatever, the subtext suggests that the ladies would be far classier, more dignified and sensitive..................therefore the whole premise that the show is built on is complete and utter bollox and people are entitled to call the double-standard when it is so patently obvious there on the screen in front of them

I never said cruel or brutal:confused: why are you putting words down i didnt use?
    I mean who wants to go out with a guy who has a flipping comb over? Not really anyone that would have put me off straight away.It was first show two girls walked with two guys what more do you want.
    You know as well as i do if guys went on that show they would make their mind up about a girl by her look straight away and wait to black her out out of politeness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭The After Hours Troll

You know as well as i do if guys went on that show they would make their mind up about a girl by her look straight away and wait to black her out out of politeness.
    Just like the girls then eh?

Hypocrite much?

Just like the girls then eh?

Hypocrite much?

Case point ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Andgiekay

Case point ;)

exactly, if it was the other way round things would be the same, so no point really in going on about it,,

and ya the blonde one, is eleanor, from cork. shes a really nice girl, my best friend, we were both on the show and she is not common or trashy or anything like what everyone is talking about and neither am i...

none of the girls were trashy, they just enjoyed themselves..when in rome.

everybody just had a really good time, and we would do it again in a heartbeat

donfers wrote: »
    jesus, is there some campaign by the girls on the show to put the tv forum boardsies in their place?

Faceless internet users (you will never meet I hope) having such an affect on your fragile egos - well here is some news; don't go on a tv show watched by 350,000 people if the opinions of strangers bother you so much

judging by the comments of some of the girls from the show on here I'd say many of the opinions voiced in this thread were pretty accurate so thanks for proving our point even further

Nothing wrong with standing up for yourself. if you are entitled to your opinion we are entitled to respond. i just dont think anyone was prepared for the reaction is all, nobody knew what to expect, i think all the girls ae handling themselves pretty well,

exactly, if it was the other way round things would be the same, so no point really in going on about it,,

and ya the blonde one, is eleanor, from cork. shes a really nice girl, my best friend, we were both on the show and she is not common or trashy or anything like what everyone is talking about and neither am i...

none of the girls were trashy, they just enjoyed themselves..when in rome.

everybody just had a really good time, and we would do it again in a heartbeat

Hey i know some of the girls on the show :D
    And i also know one in particular on the show she is quite quiet and reall nice girl,who i reckon thought feck it i will take a chance,And i think fair play to you's and good luck.
    Oh did you find anyone on show :D

Hey i know some of the girls on the show :D
    And i also know one in particular on the show she is quite quiet and reall nice girl,who i reckon thought feck it i will take a chance,And i think fair play to you's and good luck.
    Oh did you find anyone on show :D

cant really tell u that hun, but i can tell u it was alot of fun, im not on it just yet, but everybody was lovely, you cant really judge a guy on the show alone, not enough time to get to know someone i think,

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

Well, maybe i'm thick...but i still see alot of insults being thrown out....just in a different way, guess if you avoid direct words like bitch or slut the mods deem that OK!

cant really tell u that hun, but i can tell u it was alot of fun, im not on it just yet, but everybody was lovely, you cant really judge a guy on the show alone, not enough time to get to know someone i think,

So the whole premise of the show is bollocks then eh? :rolleyes:
    You freely admit none of the girls get to really know the guys but happily put lights out for any old cobbled reason, yeah........

So the whole premise of the show is bollocks then eh? :rolleyes:
    You freely admit none of the girls get to really know the guys but happily put lights out for any old cobbled reason, yeah........

you get to know the guys as much as u can in the time u have, but yes i admit i have judged guys straight out and turned off my light, but come on, you have to be attracted to someone, if u really honestly think we should just all leave our lights on for the guys and let them decide whats the point in that, its not a crime, if ur not interested in someone or not attracted to them, there is nothing u can do, u are asked why u turned ur light off and u give an answer, if people think thats mean well thats just the show, same as the english version, look im not trying to start any arguements here but thats just my point of view

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭Aldito

I can't believe the snobbery and cockiness of these girls, there's only a couple of decent ones out of the whole lot. Typical irish birds, so far up their own arses.

Only sound one was the first girl, who went out with the fitness guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,633 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Well, maybe i'm thick...but i still see alot of insults being thrown out....just in a different way, guess if you avoid direct words like bitch or slut the mods deem that OK!
    Well then report the posts where you see them.. we're not robots filtering through posts. Instead of being critical, why not be helpful?

For what it's worth - from what I've read so far, the insults seem to be more a generalised statement of the girls, and not scathing personal attacks.

I've no problem with this.. it's when we start getting comments on people's sex life and appearance, then I draw the line!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 mimz2010

TAKE ME OUT ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭nicklauski

I haven't been back on the thread since Friday night. Oh how much I've missed. Great stuff. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Elysium wrote: »
    I have to say the one thing that i really noticed was just how different ppl's taste and 'types' are, between both the girls and the boys... everyone had complete different preferences..really opened my mind into the way we think...

oh and Elanor (small really pretty blonde one) isnt foreign...she's from cork :)

May as well be foreign.

Dont feel bad,i am sure them guys scan the girls and think oh i know who i want to pick me.Like when the guy canceled out the other girls and left the two he fancied from just looking at them and didnt know anything about the girls whos lights he switched off.:pac::p

you are the bomb!! haha thats exactly it, weather we like it or not, we are all like that, we choose who we find attractive, people do have different prefrences tho, who i might find attractive, umight not, everyone is different :)

So it's all about looks....fake and shallow Irish females.

you are the bomb!! haha thats exactly it, weather we like it or not, we are all like that, we choose who we find attractive, people do have different prefrences tho, who i might find attractive, umight not, everyone is different :)
    Exactly,Attraction either comes first sight or it grows with getting to know a person.If you are lucky enough to find the physical then the person attractive then on to winner and vice versa.:P If you havent got the latter opportunity you can only go on whats been given.Its a show and some people really are acting like they are the guys on the show.Maybe we found why few are whining here lol And the girls are acting like cats meowwwwwwwwwwwww ssssssssss :D
    I hope you found someone you like on the show :)
    You rock:cool: some back bone to go on tv in Ireland of all places :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭FrostyJack

I was at the auditions for this show (accidently, I wasn't taking part) and I saw most of the girls there and I said to myself how are any of these girls single, most of them are fairly good looking. I only knew one of the girls there, I didn't get to talk to her, but I know she is quite smart (and hot :D ) so I can't generalise like most here have, but from what I can gather most people went on this for a laugh and not to find "true love". I made a point to watch it and when I did it was cringefactor.com. I'm sure the editing (as mentioned before) didn't help people's causes but some of the girls came across a bit much, though it's hard to tell how much is a put on to go with the crowd. The one that kept going on about "size 12 shoes" would want to have a word with herself especially since I'm sure the guy already had size issues. I bet most of the "I don't like his shoes/trousers/hair girls" were just trying to put it nicely that they weren't interested, which is fair enough. I wouldn't go on it for all the money in the World, all the lights would probably be off before the lift opened fully. Can't wait for this weeks edition, it's like watching an accident, you can't just turn away :D

FrostyJack wrote: »
    I was at the auditions for this show (accidently, I wasn't taking part) and I saw most of the girls there and I said to myself how are any of these girls single, most of them are fairly good looking. I only knew one of the girls there, I didn't get to talk to her, but I know she is quite smart (and hot :D ) so I can't generalise like most here have, but from what I can gather most people went on this for a laugh and not to find "true love". I made a point to watch it and when I did it was cringefactor.com. I'm sure the editing (as mentioned before) didn't help people's causes but some of the girls came across a bit much, though it's hard to tell how much is a put on to go with the crowd. The one that kept going on about "size 12 shoes" would want to have a word with herself especially since I'm sure the guy already had size issues. I bet most of the "I don't like his shoes/trousers/hair girls" were just trying to put it nicely that they weren't interested, which is fair enough. I wouldn't go on it for all the money in the World, all the lights would probably be off before the lift opened fully. Can't wait for this weeks edition, it's like watching an accident, you can't just turn away :D

Now that is some fair criticism.She was a bit ott with the size 12 shoe thing and a bit thick with that comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭barochoc

Greatest show on TV so far this year. I never laughed so much in all my life. Balls of steel doesn't even cover it for one or two of the guys.

The girls.... well, very very very very very.......... (continue for another hour) fussy. I only liked the attitude of a few of the girls. The rest were waiting on something from a boyband who looked like he had cash to splash & just came from the saloon after a back, crack & .... you guessed it wax!

No wonder they were all single & plenty of them hadn't exactly got many years of youth (if at all any left) in them at all.

I won't be missing it next week for it was the fuel for one of the best nights of banter I've had in years. :D

Long live Take Me Out!!!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,640 Mod ✭✭✭✭dory

Finally saw the show last night. Very funny! Have to agree with some people here, the girls were being very fussy and mean. Typical - burn him before he burns me - ****e.

dory wrote: »
    Finally saw the show last night. Very funny! Have to agree with some people here, the girls were being very fussy and mean. Typical - burn him before he burns me - ****e.

Ergo...insecure and spiteful Irish female mindset :rolleyes: