Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How did Dublin become such a ****hole?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

At last, someone who knows Canadians....can you please tell me if the South Park depiction of them having a two part head is accurate. My friend says it is but he´s a bit of a chancer and I´m not sure that I believe him. So what´s the deal?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Trevor451 wrote: »
    Dublin would be a great city if we could get rid off all the scumbags :cool:
    Spot on Trev. Deep stuff buddy. You're obviously a very wise man. Also Fair City would be a great programme if we could get rid of all the actors.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,993 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Pighead wrote: »
    Spot on Trev. Deep stuff buddy. You're obviously a very wise man. Also Fair City would be a great programme if we could get rid of all the actors.

There would have to be actors to get rid of.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

The only people who don't know how shíte dublin is, are the ones who were born and live there.

I wasn't born here, i do live here, and Dublin really isn't all that bad.

Lets get serious here people.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Wait. We're allowed to troll here?

Ok. Dublin people are the scum of the Earth. They have the largest amount of dole bums in the country. They are nothing but the scum of the Earth. I say we wipe Dublin out and make Cork the capital.
    Dubs are only West Brits anyway. Sure who needs them? They all walk around in pyjamas and go shoplifting when they are not banging up.
    I hate being associated with them. They make me ashamed to be Irish. I'd rather be English than be associated with those West Brits.

I'm leaving this country right now. Feckin' Dubs. Treating our P.M. like scum just because he had a few drinks. If it was Bertie who had those drinks they wouldn't have said anything. It's just 'cos he's from Offaly.

Feckin' Dubs. They're all on the dole. Us real Irish people work for a living. All they do is have 40 kids each so that they can get a council house and live off the state. They're only knackers. The lot of them.

Is that enough, or should I have a go at the North/South divide?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I love Dublin - loved living there. I don't get the Dublin-hating.

Yes, post requires analysis of northside/southside divide.

And this I agree with:
    Terry wrote: »
    I say we wipe Dublin out and make Cork the capital.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

I wasn't born here, i do live here, and Dublin really isn't all that bad.

Lets get serious here people.

I wasn't born in Dublin (i.e. "Southside rosie" =/= D4 rosie), I lived there until a few months ago, and Dublin city center is pretty bad compared to other European cities. I've lived in US cities with much higher crime rates, but Dublin city center, especially east of O'Connell street and just west of Christ Church can feel very sketchy, and the general lack of police presence doesn't help.

Like I said, I love Dublin, but ****: who wants to trudge through open air heroin markets on their way to work every day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Every time I see a puddle of puke on the ground I can make out Dublin in it

Terry wrote: »
    Is that enough, or should I have a go at the North/South divide?

The North/South divide is a fallacy designed to distract you from the West Brits being close to the sea man, closer to the Motherland that is Engerland.

I wasn't born in Dublin (i.e. "Southside rosie" =/= D4 rosie), I lived there until a few months ago, and Dublin city center is pretty bad compared to other European cities. I've lived in US cities with much higher crime rates, but Dublin city center, especially east of O'Connell street and just west of Christ Church can feel very sketchy, and the general lack of police presence doesn't help.

Like I said, I love Dublin, but ****: who wants to trudge through open air heroin markets on their way to work every day?

Is it not more possible that you just have a more prejudgemental view of people in Dublin due to any subconscious social bias you may have picked up?

Not being a dickhead, just asking.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭Swampy

Sick of Dublin naysayers. Go fu*k yourself op and your canadains.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

Why do people get so touchy whenever somebody criticises Dublin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Why do people get so touchy whenever somebody criticises Dublin?

The same reason people get touchy when culchies are criticised
    People seem to want to belong to a tribe, the main reason being that they can differentiate themselves from other tribes

This applies to countries, regions, religions, scenesters, posh, poor etc

• Registered Users Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

ejmaztec wrote: »
    There would have to be actors to get rid of.
    You obviously never watch the show. Barry O'Hanlon is a brilliant and wonderful actor. He also looks like he's a lovely bloke and Pighead is seriously considering naming his first born after the man (Barry if it's a boy and Barrina if a girl). Pighead will defend that mans acting abilities till the day he dies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

The heroin problem has become huge within the last few months. The streets are flooded with it and it's getting cheaper by the day. Have noticed a few lads around my way getting caught up on it over the last while. Things are going to get a lot worse as drug programmes are closing down all around the country for lack of funding. There's one over there in Rialto that's been there donkeys years that's closing and that's going to push a lot of the gearbags up onto the streets of the city looking for bags. But tbh Dublin has always been a ****hole anyways. Have lived all over the World and Dublin rates pretty poorly imo.

Mister men wrote: »
    The heroin problem has become huge within the last few months. The streets are flooded with it and it's getting cheaper by the day. Have noticed a few lads around my way getting caught up on it over the last while. Things are going to get a lot worse as drug programmes are closing down all around the country for lack of funding. There's one over there in Rialto that's been there donkeys years that's closing and that's going to push a lot of the gearbags up onto the streets of the city looking for bags. But tbh Dublin has always been a ****hole anyways. Have lived all over the World and Dublin rates pretty poorly imo.
    You're just jealous because you weren't born in this great city. Every time I almost slip in a puddle of junkie puke my eyes well up with tears of pride.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

We're the most welcoming city in Europe according to Tripadvisor for 2 years in a row. Canadians are never happy, fúck 'em :pac:
    The only people who don't know how shíte dublin is, are the ones who were born and live there.

Same can be said about the country, the only people who don't know how much of a boring ****hole the country is are those who were born and live there.

Is it not more possible that you just have a more prejudgemental view of people in Dublin due to any subconscious social bias you may have picked up?

Not being a dickhead, just asking.

A bias against open-air drug dealing, screaming matches in the middle of the street, and getting asked for "tea" money from twitchy young men every five minutes? Perhaps.

I don't get why people are so sensitive about Dublin. I'm from Chicago, and if someone was like "Damn there are a lot of murders" or "Wow, it's so corrupt" I wouldn't be like "well **** off home then!". OK, well maybe I would, but they would still be right. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Dudess wrote: »
    Yes, post requires analysis of northside/southside divide.

And this I agree with:

Them feckin' Dubs. They don't even know where they are from.
    The ones on the South of the Liffey think they are from England. Have you ever heard them talking? They all have English accents.

When you go to Foxrock, Blackrock, Dun Leary, Clondalkin, Tallaght and the like, it like being in another country.
    They hate the GAA. If you wear a Meath jersey then they beat you up. Bunch of ignorant feckers. They all love the rugby too.
    I was in Ballybrack last week and some West Brit bastard kicked the crap out of me because I was wearing an Offaly jersey. He said that it was my fault that Bertie was not in charge any more. Then he made me snort loads of coke and go to one of them nightclubs where all the celebrities hang out. He said that it would make me realise that living outside So Co Du is only for losers, and that meeting Marty Whelan would make me a better person.

When we got there, we found that a bunch of knackers from Finglas had shown up. The bobbies (apparently this is how they are know in D2) gave those Blanchardstown knackers the beating they deserved. All we had to do was use our Castleknock accents and we were given a Bobby escort into the club.

Once we were insoide we hooked up with our compradres from Glasnevin and Tallaght. None of the Northside Knackers got in.

Ro from Crumlin supplied the coke. Then Anto from Blackrock arrived and tried to sell us some heroin. We told him that we didn't want any of his Northside scummer drugs and told him to go back to the Northsoide where he came from.

Then I got bored.

Honestly, when I lived and worked in Dublin for two years, I really did not see evidence of this cesspit of depravity it's regularly depicted as. And I don't recall ever feeling unsafe. That is the absolute truth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

You're just jealous because you weren't born in this great city. Every time I almost slip in a puddle of junkie puke my eyes well up with tears of pride.
    I was born in the Rotunda. I just know a ****hole when i see one tbh.

Honestly, when I lived and worked in Dublin for two years, I really did not see evidence of this cesspit of depravity it's regularly depicted as.

I thought the quays/East O'Connell street/Tara DART station areas were noticeably worse this summer than they were last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭ILA

I've been to cities through Europe and America, and none of them have anything similar to some of the destitutes that are to be found in Dublin. Like everything in Ireland, a lot of Dublin has a dingy and dirty feel to it that I haven't found elsewhere, apart from maybe Broadway in Seattle but that's just one small area of a city, not a whole city.

Obviously other cities have way more homeless people and street violence, but it just seems a lot more noticeable in Dublin. The UK seems to suffer from the same sort of problems, like parts of London, and Liverpool almost resemble the destitute parts of Dublin as do the people living in them. Must just be shared genes between both nations or something!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

I thought the quays/East O'Connell street/Tara DART station areas were noticeably worse this summer than they were last year.

If anything I think it's gotten better for the last 6 months or so, and I've gone through that area twice a day on the way to / from work.

Seems to be regular enough Garda sweeps nowadays, where they go down and move everyone on, search those who look dodgy etc, just giving them as much hassle as possible within the law. That area is always going to be bad though, AFAIK there's a clinic and needle exchange in the area, and it's a transport hub so it's easy for dealers.

You wont notice junkies or knackers when abroad because you don't know the signs to look for. We all know that junkies here are tracksuit wearing Dubs with thick accents, yet when I was abroad in America at a cousins house, he drove through what can only be described as a ghetto. Serious crack problem, lot of gang warfare, something like 2 shootings a week on average last year, yet it didn't look that bad, if anything I thought it looked safer than areas like Ballymun or Darndale. And when he was over here, he didn't notice a junkie problem, he just saw some rough looking lads with cans in his own words. It's not as if Dublin is the only place with a junkie problem.

Mister men wrote: »
    I was born in the Rotunda. I just know a ****hole when i see one tbh.
    Well I wasn't being serious.

Honestly, when I lived and worked in Dublin for two years, I really did not see evidence of this cesspit of depravity it's regularly depicted as. And I don't recall ever feeling unsafe. That is the absolute truth.
    Where did you live? Obviously that's an important factor.

RMD wrote: »
    If anything I think it's gotten better for the last 6 months or so, and I've gone through that area twice a day on the way to / from work.

Seems to be regular enough Garda sweeps nowadays, where they go down and move everyone on, search those who look dodgy etc, just giving them as much hassle as possible within the law. That area is always going to be bad though, AFAIK there's a clinic and needle exchange in the area, and it's a transport hub so it's easy for dealers.

From what I've read, they have cracked down in the last two months or so, but last June when I was commuting regularly into the city and had to walk from Connolly to the Grafton street area I was amazed at how brazen the dealers were. I've never seen anything like it.

RMD wrote: »
    You wont notice junkies or knackers when abroad because you don't know the signs to look for. We all know that junkies here are tracksuit wearing Dubs with thick accents, yet when I was abroad in America at a cousins house, he drove through what can only be described as a ghetto. Serious crack problem, lot of gang warfare, something like 2 shootings a week on average last year, yet it didn't look that bad, if anything I thought it looked safer than areas like Ballymun or Darndale. And when he was over here, he didn't notice a junkie problem, he just saw some rough looking lads with cans in his own words. It's not as if Dublin is the only place with a junkie problem.

I'm not from Ireland. I notice junkies and dealers in other cities, but - again - the level of brazenness in Dublin and the relative lack of police presence in the city center (until recently anyway) are shocking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 discovery 2

Sorry, lost you there boss right away when you took onboard criticsm of our capital. We love our Dublin. My kids go to college there and love it !& I from Daniels county too!!
    U should have put those so called friends on a one way ticket!
    Dublin is a vibrant city!

Where did you live? Obviously that's an important factor.
    Dublin 7, Dublin 4 (Ringsend, not "D4" :pac:), Santry, and Ranelagh briefly. So yeah, nice areas - but I worked in Dublin 1, junkieville apparently. I'm not saying I didn't see any junkies - of course I did - but it never affected me in any way.