Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saorview Content Speculation

• Registered Users Posts: 788 ✭✭✭Souriau

The Cush wrote: »
    Is that an MHEG-5 onscreen message?

I wonder if we'll have similar for RTÉjr/RTÉ1+1?
    Yes, when change to this channel. you are face with a black blank screen then about 5 seconds later the red background come up with text info.
    As you can see on the 3rd picture where I press the info button and if you see on the bottom right corner, it says MHEG

Souriau wrote: »
    Taken after 19:00
    Program Number: 7/4349
    PCR on PID 241 (0x00f1)
    PMT Version: 8
    Service name: BBC THREE
    Logical channel number: 7
    Stream Type: 0x02 MPEG-2 Video
    Elementary Stream PID 241 (0x00f1)
    Stream Type: 0x03 MPEG-1 Audio
    Elementary Stream PID 242 (0x00f2)
    Elementary Stream PID 246 (0x00f6)
    Stream Type: 0x06 ISO/IEC 13818-1 PES packets containing private data
    Elementary Stream PID 245 (0x00f5)
    Stream Type: 0x05 ISO/IEC 13818-1 private_sections
    Elementary Stream PID 249 (0x00f9)
    Stream Type: 0x0b ISO/IEC 13818-6 type B
    Elementary Stream PID 620 (0x026c)
    Elementary Stream PID 621 (0x026d)
    Elementary Stream PID 650 (0x028a)
    Elementary Stream PID 651 (0x028b)
    Elementary Stream PID 652 (0x028c)

Program Number: 70/4669
    PCR on PID 8191 (0x1fff)
    Service name: CBBC Channel
    Logical channel number: 70
    Elementary Stream PID 622 (0x026e)
    Elementary Stream PID 623 (0x026f)

Program Number: 16832
    PCR on PID 201 (0x00c9)
    PMT Version: 7
    Service name: BBC FOUR
    Elementary Stream PID 201 (0x00c9)
    Elementary Stream PID 401 (0x0191)
    Elementary Stream PID 402 (0x0192)
    Elementary Stream PID 601 (0x0259)
    Elementary Stream PID 209 (0x00d1)
    Elementary Stream PID 306 (0x0132)
    Elementary Stream PID 307 (0x0133)
    Stream Type: 0x0d ISO/IEC 13818-6 type D
    Elementary Stream PID 310 (0x0136)
    Elementary Stream PID 301 (0x012d)
    Elementary Stream PID 302 (0x012e)
    Elementary Stream PID 303 (0x012f)
    Elementary Stream PID 304 (0x0130)
    Elementary Stream PID 305 (0x0131)

Program Number: 71/16960
    PCR on PID 8191 (0x1fff)
    PMT Version: 9
    Service name: CBeebies
    Logical channel number: 71
    Elementary Stream PID 308 (0x0134)
    Elementary Stream PID 309 (0x0135)
    Elementary Stream PID 311 (0x0137)
    Taken before 19:00
    Program Number: 7/4349
    PCR on PID 8191 (0x1fff)
    Service name: BBC THREE
    Logical channel number: 7
    Elementary Stream PID 620 (0x026c)
    Elementary Stream PID 621 (0x026d)

Program Number: 70/4669
    PCR on PID 241 (0x00f1)
    Service name: CBBC Channel
    Logical channel number: 70
    Elementary Stream PID 241 (0x00f1)
    Elementary Stream PID 242 (0x00f2)
    Elementary Stream PID 246 (0x00f6)
    Elementary Stream PID 245 (0x00f5)
    Elementary Stream PID 249 (0x00f9)
    Elementary Stream PID 622 (0x026e)
    Elementary Stream PID 623 (0x026f)

Program Number: 9/16832
    PCR on PID 8191 (0x1fff)
    Service name: BBC FOUR
    Logical channel number: 9
    Elementary Stream PID 306 (0x0132)
    Elementary Stream PID 307 (0x0133)
    Elementary Stream PID 310 (0x0136)

Program Number: 71/16960
    PCR on PID 201 (0x00c9)
    PMT Version: 10
    Service name: CBeebies
    Logical channel number: 71
    Elementary Stream PID 201 (0x00c9)
    Elementary Stream PID 401 (0x0191)
    Elementary Stream PID 402 (0x0192)
    Elementary Stream PID 601 (0x0259)
    Elementary Stream PID 209 (0x00d1)
    Elementary Stream PID 308 (0x0134)
    Elementary Stream PID 309 (0x0135)
    Elementary Stream PID 311 (0x0137)

@Souriau

How are the BBC3/4 and CBBC/CBebbies channels carried within the Freeview DTT muxes?

Different PIDs, VPIDs etc.? Blank screen when the other is on-air or on-screen graphic/message or info bar message?
    Here are more pictures of BBC3 & BBC4 off-air with MHEG

• Registered Users Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭warlikedave

rte 2 HD has its first event folks - the magners league grand final will be in Hd according to rte's own advertising on their channels....shall be quality i hope :D

• Registered Users Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

rte 2 HD has its first event folks - the magners league grand final will be in Hd according to rte's own advertising on their channels....shall be quality i hope :D

Interesting as TG4 are also showing same.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭warlikedave

Elmo wrote: »
    Interesting as TG4 are also showing same.

They as in TG4 wont be able to broadcast it in HD though or do they have the capicity on the mux to offer the same? Personally I serously doubt it but ye never know.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,481 ✭✭✭✭The Cush

They as in TG4 wont be able to broadcast it in HD though or do they have the capicity on the mux to offer the same? Personally I serously doubt it but ye never know.

No spare capacity on Mux 1. If there was spare capacity, TG4, as a PSB would have to go through the same Departmental approval/consultation process that RTÉ2 did 6 months ago to broadcast HD content as required by the Broadcasting Act.

If TV3 want to be there after the public launch they gotta pay.

Next weeks RTÉ Guide (out today) has an article on the launch of Saorview next weekend. The article confirms the the 2 big games on Saturday will be in HD - the Champions League and Magners League Finals.

It also lists TV3 and 3e as available on Saorview and includes their Saorview epg numbers in the listings. Transmission and distribution contracts must be sorted.

I was just pointing out that TG4 are also broadcasting the game.

Next weeks RTÉ Guide (out today) has an article on the launch of Saorview next weekend. The article confirms the the 2 big games on Saturday will be in HD - the Champions League and Magners League Finals.

It also lists TV3 and 3e as available on Saorview and includes their Saorview epg numbers in the listings. Transmission and distribution contracts must be sorted.

Interesting. You would think that they might do the same to their online listings. Will RTÉ News Now also get a listing panel? Or a press release on the Saorview website. Or a special RTÉ TEN NEWS, or give aways, or you know more information. :( Suppose I will just have to buy the Guide.

5eiv5e.jpg

34obmsp.jpg

5eiv5e.jpg

34obmsp.jpg

So no separate listings for RTÉjr or RTÉ News Now? even in the digital section. Anyway I won't need to buy the guide thanks.

So no separate listings for RTÉjr or RTÉ News Now? even in the digital section.

No separate listings for RTÉjr or RTÉ News Now in the Guide.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭ftakeith

No.

28th May 2011 as per RTE Guide article is when Saorview begins

ftakeith wrote: »
    28th May 2011 as per RTE Guide article is when Saorview begins

Yes, I'm aware of that. I posted the article yesterday - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=72370628&postcount=278

Also it officially launches this Thursday, 26th May - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=72384817&postcount=284

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,469 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

Interesting that they still use the name NTL, rather then UPC in the guide.

No spare capacity on Mux 1.
    Here is a snapshot of Mux1
    from my understanding 0x0fff is spare capacity, and looking at the chart, I think is just less than 3%.
    Interesting to see RTE2 HD is using over 30% while other TV channels are just between 4% to 11%.

RTE1 0x044d
    RTE2 0x044e
    TV3 0x044f
    TG4 0x0450
    News 0x0451
    3e 0x0452
    7 0x0453
    8 0x0454

Souriau wrote: »
    Here is a snapshot of Mux1
    from my understanding 0x0fff is spare capacity, and looking at the chart, I think is just less than 3%.
    Interesting to see RTE2 HD is using over 30% while other TV channels are just between 4% to 11%.

RTE1 0x044d
    RTE2 0x044e
    TV3 0x044f
    TG4 0x0450
    News 0x0451
    3e 0x0452
    7 0x0453
    8 0x0454

This was RTÉ's multiplex plan late last year - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=69031541&postcount=14

rates.jpg

bk wrote: »
    Interesting that they still use the name NTL, rather then UPC in the guide.

Well they have just stopped calling it RTÉ Relays.

• Registered Users Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Machinehead

Since both test channels 7 & 8 don't have any EPG info from 7am tomorrow, would it be safe to assume that Saorview kick starts with RTÉjnr @ 7am with RTÉ1+1 to follow suit @ 7pm thereafter?

• Registered Users Posts: 395 ✭✭jamescc

i through that i guess we will find out at 7am

According to RTÉ's submission to the Dept the RTÉjr channel's start time will be 11:00 each weekday (no weekend service), moving to a 07:00 start time in Phase 2 (May 2012).

• Registered Users Posts: 395 ✭✭jamescc

According to RTÉ's submission to the Dept the RTÉjr channel's start time will be 11:00 each weekday (no weekend service), moving to a 07:00 start time in Phase 2 (May 2012).

I would love to find out what children start watching the TV at 11:00am and don't bother with it at the weekend, absolute joke.
    It reminds me of when rte would start up at 12:00 midday when half the day was gone.
    I am beginning to wonder if there was not a mandate from the EU, if rte/government would have gone digital at all.
    I would also wonder what our licence is paying for. But I am sure someone will tell me that.

• Registered Users Posts: 309 ✭✭PressTheButton

RTÉjr (test Service) and RTÉ One +1 (Programmes start at 19:00) on EPG.

Gone now! 'RTÉjnr' and 'RTÉ One +1' replaced with words: 'Test Service'.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭mossym

jamescc wrote: »
    I would love to find out what children start watching the TV at 11:00am and don't bother with it at the weekend, absolute joke.
    It reminds me of when rte would start up at 12:00 midday when half the day was gone.
    I am beginning to wonder if there was not a mandate from the EU, if rte/government would have gone digital at all.
    I would also wonder what our licence is paying for. But I am sure someone will tell me that.
    agreed..it's 7 am in the morning you want the kids to be able to chill out watching kids tv while you get to relax for a few more minutes, by 11am they're out and about, and no weekend is an absolute joke.
    we're 10+ years late in getting first HD broadcasts, i imagine if rte could get away with it they would never have made the move to digital. but don't question the license fees. something has to keep Joe Duffy feeding the housewives their daily dose of half truths and over exaggerated muck

Gone now! 'RTÉjnr' and 'RTÉ One +1' replaced with words: 'Test Service'.

Back again.

jamescc wrote: »
    A bit harsh! You could always look up the EPG and change the channel - cartoons on RTÉ TWO + TG4 right now. Not that I'm watching. :rolleyes:

Back again.
    You're right. Was afraid I was hallucinating - again!
    @ The Cush: You doing this??

• Registered Users Posts: 9,271 ✭✭✭Macy0161

A bit harsh! You could always look up the EPG and change the channel - cartoons on RTÉ TWO + TG4 right now. Not that I'm watching. :rolleyes:
    I think it's a bit stupid myself - they're making it more complicated than they have too in the mornings and not nailing down the RTEjr brand.

If they want to break the UK domination, they should just have the childrens channel and be done with it, and basically call RTE2 the simulcast of childrens channel.

Personally, we'll be using the old picnic in the playroom short term - if we can't get RTEjr, they'll be sticking with cbeebies and 5 for their morning fix while mammy and daddy get organised for work.

Again, not sure what the point of not doing weekends is - I'd hope to see that bandwidth utilised for something else if they're not going to run childrens programming.

This is one case where they have a pretty successful model to follow in Cbeebies. I haven't been too harsh on RTE on the whole project, but this smacks of a feck up to me on what should be a simple thing!