Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2010 Dublin Marathon- Sub 3 mentored thread

1101112131416»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

Misty and Robinph both got sub 3 - well done lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

To those who succeeded, well done guys. To those who didn't, your time will come I'm sure of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭liamo123

kaymin wrote: »
    I should be in the pub instead of on the internet but the only thing I could think of when I finished was getting my leg elevated and wrapped in ice.

Here's a summary of my race:

Started a bit back from the 3 hour pacers so I slowly worked my way upto them by the 6 mile mark. Didn't feel comfortable - legs were heavy and not fluid like they should be at 6:45 pace. Very concerning at such an early stage.

Kept with the pacers upto mile 9 but my leg muscles and joints started aching - I knew then that sub-3 was out. Went through halfway in 1:30 but felt really tired and sluggish.

Focused on running within myself but my pace got slower and slower. Runners streamed past me - this didn't bother me - my priority at this stage was to finish. Pace drifted between 7:30 to 8 mins or slightly above per mile from here to the finish.

Injured leg was a little sore from the start but gradually got worse as time passed. The pain was probably masked somewhat by all my other aches - I feel it now though.

Eventually collapsed across the line in about 3:14:30 - happy to get under 3:15. Couldn't have gone any better on the day. I was just glad to finish. The absence of running for the past 4 weeks and the on-off training for the month of September certainly showed.

I don't want to repeat todays experience - if I'm not right for a marathon in future then I'll be calling off my attempt. Thanks to the masseurs etc at the end who made some of the pain go away!

Where to from here? Didn't break 3 hours so I'll be back to achieve that target - not any time soon though. Plan is to take two months off running to heal and then start training in January for Ballycotton 10. I'll figure out the next marathon to target around then aswell.

Ecoli - many thanks for your training programme and advice - I improved leaps and bounds during the first 10 weeks of the programme that I followed.

Elfoyzer / Dono - I hope your races went well today. Apologies for not being around for a beer after the race.

Misty - it was good to bump into you on the course - hopefully you achieved your target - likewise everyone else on boards targetting sub-3 today.

1st time poster on this thread..Bad luck Kaymin but there will b plenty more marathons to go sub 3 in....Let the injuries heal up and give it a lash then.. It will happen

As per my report on Dublin Marathon thread I must again thank the 3hr pacers..They were fab and I can safely say there's no way I would have gone sub 3 without their assistance..Fair play lads ye were great...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭smmoore79

kaymin wrote: »
    I should be in the pub instead of on the internet but the only thing I could think of when I finished was getting my leg elevated and wrapped in ice.

Here's a summary of my race:

Started a bit back from the 3 hour pacers so I slowly worked my way upto them by the 6 mile mark. Didn't feel comfortable - legs were heavy and not fluid like they should be at 6:45 pace. Very concerning at such an early stage.

Kept with the pacers upto mile 9 but my leg muscles and joints started aching - I knew then that sub-3 was out. Went through halfway in 1:30 but felt really tired and sluggish.

Focused on running within myself but my pace got slower and slower. Runners streamed past me - this didn't bother me - my priority at this stage was to finish. Pace drifted between 7:30 to 8 mins or slightly above per mile from here to the finish.

Injured leg was a little sore from the start but gradually got worse as time passed. The pain was probably masked somewhat by all my other aches - I feel it now though.

Eventually collapsed across the line in about 3:14:30 - happy to get under 3:15. Couldn't have gone any better on the day. I was just glad to finish. The absence of running for the past 4 weeks and the on-off training for the month of September certainly showed.

I don't want to repeat todays experience - if I'm not right for a marathon in future then I'll be calling off my attempt. Thanks to the masseurs etc at the end who made some of the pain go away!

Where to from here? Didn't break 3 hours so I'll be back to achieve that target - not any time soon though. Plan is to take two months off running to heal and then start training in January for Ballycotton 10. I'll figure out the next marathon to target around then aswell.

Ecoli - many thanks for your training programme and advice - I improved leaps and bounds during the first 10 weeks of the programme that I followed.

Elfoyzer / Dono - I hope your races went well today. Apologies for not being around for a beer after the race.

Misty - it was good to bump into you on the course - hopefully you achieved your target - likewise everyone else on boards targetting sub-3 today.

Hard luck Kaymin. I had a similar experience. Didnt feel right from the start and had to stop at half marathon point coz of left knee/glute. Theres always early next year fo r another stab at sub 3 somwhere in Europe. Hopefully fully fit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,552 ✭✭✭kaymin

smmoore79 wrote: »
    Hard luck Kaymin. I had a similar experience. Didnt feel right from the start and had to stop at half marathon point coz of left knee/glute. Theres always early next year fo r another stab at sub 3 somwhere in Europe. Hopefully fully fit!

Thanks - hard luck to you too. Yeah, I'll be back for more hardship, at least until I break this 3 hour duck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Smiley Laura

ELFOYZER wrote: »
    Just in case I forget when I'm sitting on my ass all day tomorrow -

BEST OF LUCK and run like the wind ( not like you have wind:eek:)

Race Number 3366 - I'll be sporting my Dunboyne AC singlet (white with a blue band), with white under armour l/s top, and my usual baseball cap.

See you all at the 3 hour pacers

3366, I took in your bag when you were handing it in! I was working at the baggage stations. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

3366, I took in your bag when you were handing it in! I was working at the baggage stations. :D

Think the guy was in a rush after the race for a flight ill leave him a PM just in case he misses this post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Right lads now that the race day highs and the hangover blues have settled time for a bit of reflection and feedback regarding the training plan so lads when ever you have a time bit of feedback would be much appreciated:

What worked:

What didnt:

What needs to be changed:

Most beneficial sessions:

Least beneficial sessions:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

What worked:
    The program. PMP came down to where it should be, during this program. I noticed some spikes in my fitness levels during the last few weeks, due to the intensity of the training.

The fact that you were on hand to explain things was very useful. I felt better prepared going into this marathon than any previous ones.

What didnt:
    Me on the day:)

I *think* there needs to be a 22mile LSR. I'm only saying this because I blew up; if I hadn't, I'd have been quite happy with the scope of the long runs we did. The couple of 17 or 18 LSR's in retrospect might have been more useful to have the final 6 at PMP, (although training would suffer in the days after).

I guess I'm saying stamina needs to be worked on, but again, this is skewed by my personal experience, so is not scientific.

The 54321 was great for confidence, as was the 12321 we did in the park.

Can't think of any.

Thanks a million ecoli for doing this mentored program, its been fantastic. I'd have loved to go sub 3 for you, just didn't happen on the day. I'll give it another lash some other time, and the best compliment I can pay to your program is to say I'll use it again, very little I'd change at all.:)

I can just comment on the first 10 weeks of the programme since I didn't follow it for the critical 8 weeks upto marathon date.

What worked:
    Gradual build up of mileage in the early weeks through easy paced sessions.
    Spacing between hard sessions ensured I was fresh for the key sessions
    Semi-rest day before and rest day after long runs meant the long runs were quality and I had sufficient recovery time afterwards.
    Enjoyed the tempo sessions especially the 3 miles efforts - variety of paces in the session meant the miles passed without noticing and despite a fast overall average pace.
    Regular feedback and encouragement
    Group training sessions - although I didn't make any of them I think I lost out by not making them.
    Weekly topics for discussion - it was informative to share opinions / experiences.

What didnt:
    Recovery runs - I think I did only one recovery run. I prefer to go for a walk to the shop rather than tog out for a 4 mile gentle run. Just a personal thing.

Can't think of anything that needs to be changed really. The programme worked for me - I knocked over 2 minutes off my pb for 5 miles and over 3 minutes off my pb for 10 miles. After the 10 weeks I felt I was ready to break 3 hours.
    It might be useful to cover running technique - difficult to do when coaching over the internet I know. I've been told that changing your natural running technique is a recipe for getting injured.

Tempo sessions such as the 3 mile efforts (x 2 or 3)
    I'm sure the hill run session were also very beneficial if difficulty is anything to go by!

Recovery runs
    Easy 8 miles - felt I was just going through the motions but I appreciate that not every session can be a key / hard session.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭ELFOYZER

Hi Guys,

Just back last night. Stiff, sore muscles, toenails, etc have just recovered now. DCM is no more than a memory now, but a good one - great day!

Brief race summary -
    Arrived early and lined up just behind 3hour pacers (shook hands with D'pop who looked confident and well up for it!)
    First 2 miles - big mistake. Adrenalin took over and was running within 100m of 3 hr pacer group. (for a brief moment I considered 'going for it' but I took hold of myself and backed down.) I think this definitely cost me in the latter stages of the race.
    Just before the park I met a girl from my running club and we ran together right up to mile 15. My pace was hovering around 7:00 - 7:20/ mile.
    I was looking at 3:10 finish. But from mile 15 I started to feel uncomfortable, legs got real heavy at 16 miles, pace dropped to 7:35. Stomach started to play up ( gels were repeating on me - yuk!) Think I hit toilets at mile 18 ish. Must have lost a min or two here but felt grand after the break and started to run at 7:15 pace.
    Made varoius deals with myself that if I kept pace I could make it home on 3:15. Shock of my life to see d'pop in big trouble in clonskeagh but even greated disappointment at (hearing!) seeing Krusty lead the sub 3:15 group past me in ballsbridge.
    Tried everything to stick with them but it was no use, I had nothing left. Just tried to limp home, with pace now at 8:05 mile.
    Stopped in Pearse Street for 30 secs to stretch calves - finish line felt miles away, it was the weirdest feeling - my body was telling me to 'stop' and my head was saying 'no way - finish this mother f**ker!'
    Shuffled on and looked up to see 3:16:xx on the clock - new pb - big smiles and punched the air.
    I revised my target from 3:06 to 3:10 to 3:15 all in the space of just 3 hours or so. (Just wondering how much of this was psycological too.)

Savoured the moment for a minute after finishing, met a few from my running club and had a brief chat before changing quickly and jumping a taxi home to get ready to go to the airport.

Some great running out there last monday and great support on course too which helped. Kaymin and D'pop there will definitely be a next time!

Thanks e-coli for all your efforts and support. Thanks to you I have a 10 mile, half and full marathon pb's. Next time I'll be sure to buy you that well deserved pint.;)

What worked:
    The program was excellent, tailor made to the 10 miler and half marathon which fitted perfectly with my plans too.

What didnt:
    I wasn't as consistent as I should have been in training, missing or juggling sessions may have cost me here

My committment to the training schedule.

Defo 1,2,3,2,1 session in the park with you and D'pop.

Don't believe there was any

Not sure what I'd add. I kept stretching up reasonably well and as a result had no major lay-offs. Recovered reasonably well - within 3 days or so.
    really enjoyed the training and would do the same again, only next time I'd have a better base level done to start from. ( I went from 30 miles pw to ~50miles p.w on week 1. Whilst I managed this jump, it may have been too much to ask and may have compromised my potential)

Hey Kamin,

looking at the race video- we walked past eachother in the finish area!
    I'm 3366 and I believe thats you 3347?
    Gas.

ELFOYZER wrote: »
    Hey Kamin,

looking at the race video- we walked past eachother in the finish area!
    I'm 3366 and I believe thats you 3347?
    Gas.

Yeah that was me - took me ages to limp my way out of the finish area. Good to hear you've recovered so quickly - I think it will be January at least before I'll be fit to run again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Running Fool

Hey - great reading. This hasn't be resurrected since 2010? or is the plan used archived all together anywhere?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

Hey - great reading. This hasn't be resurrected since 2010? or is the plan used archived all together anywhere?

I think there is a general sub 3 support thread in existence. Can't link it from the phone.