Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2010 Dublin Marathon- Sub 3 mentored thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭ELFOYZER

Speedy44 wrote: »
    1st 5 miler = 6:53/mile avg, 2 min walk
    2nd 5 miler = 7:05/mile avg, 2 min walk
    3rd 5 miler = 6:06/mile avg - (Collapse!!!)

I am resigned to the fact that I will not break 3 hour in DCM,

After a session like that, I'm not sure why you think you will not break the 3hrs? To be able to do 5mls at 6:06 pace after doing 10mls at mp is great going, and points to some serious endurance

Sorry Speedy - typo on the last 5 miler. Should have read 7:06 NOT 6:06.
    Must preview posts in future, tut, tut, tut.......:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Week 15 summary
    Name|Previous best |No. of Sessions completed|Mileage this week | Total Mileage to date |
    donothoponpop|3:10|4|39|632
    kaymin|n/a|||586
    ELFOYZER|3.29|4|45|674

Summary for week:

Monday 6 EZ

Tuesday rest

Wednesday 3x3miles on track, circa 6:23 pace (maybe a bit faster)

Thursday rest

Friday 5 EZ

Saturday rest

Sunday 5,4,3,2,1, @ MP. 18 miles in total

Bit of a warm up, then lash into these. First set of five only starts to hurt at 3.5 miles in.
    5 @ 6:44 average. Splits:6:48, 6:49, 6:45, 6:45, 6:35
    Jog, take a gel (to get used to them), then next set of 4, through forest. Garmin messed up with trees, so I'm judging pace of honest effort.
    4 @ circa 6:45 average.
    Jog, next three. No real problems, hang in there for the last mile.
    3 @ 6:38 av. Splits 6:34, 6:44, 6:35.
    Jog, next two. These hurt, I was fighting through the pain from early on.
    2 @ 6:40 pace. Splits 6:47, 6:33.
    Jog, get the last one done. Wrecked, but it actually went by quick enough.
    1 @ 6:37

A very mixed week. I was busy, and had family stuff at the weekend, so missed a couple of the easy runs, and had to shunt others (Sunday's was actually done this morning, but I want to box it as last week). The milage is way down from where it should be, but I did two of my hardest sessions, the 3x3, and the 5,4,3,2,1. Marathon pace (6:50) seems doable now, six weeks ago it was daunting. There's still work to do in the taper, but I'm happy with the progression so far.

Didn't really expect to have progressed as much during this program, if you'd have offered me this level of fitness at the start, I'd have bitten the arm of you:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,552 ✭✭✭kaymin

Week 15 summary
    Name|Previous best |No. of Sessions completed|Mileage this week | Total Mileage to date |
    donothoponpop|3:10|4|39|632
    kaymin|n/a|2|15|601
    ELFOYZER|3.29|4|45|674

Summary for week:
    Disaster of a week....

Monday - Rest
    Tuesday - 8 miles easy - 7:06 mins per mile
    Wednesday - 2 mile w/u, 2 x 3mile HMP, 2 mile walk
    Efforts were 18:30 and 18:59. Supposed to do 3 efforts but my leg became very sore after the second effort. Really frustrated - pace was 20secs per mile off what I was doing a month ago and I felt terrible this time. Couldn't run for the warm down because my leg was too sore.
    Thursday - rest
    Friday -rest
    Saturday - Leg is still sore so I settle on not running for a week. Buy a racer and go for a 70 minute cycle.
    Sunday - Go for approx 3 hour cycle - heart rate really low so I'm not sure how beneficial this was.

Today - leg is still sore to walk. I don't think cycling is doing it any good. So it'll be kayaking from now on. I'm really really doubtful for the marathon. If I make it to the start line I'll be heading off with the sub-3 regardless - no doubt I'll suffer really badly. Just waiting on my physio to return my calls....

Sunday 5,4,3,2,1, @ MP. 18 miles in total

Bit of a warm up, then lash into these. First set of five only starts to hurt at 3.5 miles in.
    5 @ 6:44 average. Splits:6:48, 6:49, 6:45, 6:45, 6:35
    Jog, take a gel (to get used to them), then next set of 4, through forest. Garmin messed up with trees, so I'm judging pace of honest effort.
    4 @ circa 6:45 average.
    Jog, next three. No real problems, hang in there for the last mile.
    3 @ 6:38 av. Splits 6:34, 6:44, 6:35.
    Jog, next two. These hurt, I was fighting through the pain from early on.
    2 @ 6:40 pace. Splits 6:47, 6:33.
    Jog, get the last one done. Wrecked, but it actually went by quick enough.
    1 @ 6:37
    Great run - looks like its all coming together.
    ELFOYZER wrote: »

I am resigned to the fact that I will not break 3 hour in DCM, and that's alright - in fact, a bit of a relief that I can admit that to myself.
    However, I'm gonna push as hard as I can towards the 3 hour mark and am really looking forward to race day.

Will have to think about and consider race strategy. I'm gonna be inbetween the 3:00 and 3:15 pace group - no man's land, just me, my garmin, my pace band, oh, and about 11,000 other marathon nutters!

I probably should set my sights lower aswell given my circumstances but I'm stubborn if nothing else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭asimonov

@kaymin, sorry to read about your injury - Maybe your easy miles are too fast - back off the pace until after the marathon - maybe 7:30's max on anything that's not a workout.

Kaymin- given how fast your times were, coming from a kayak base, you should have no problem if you focus on this for the taper. You did a 20 miler at sub 3 pace a fortnight ago! Keep the faith, that sub 3 (at least) is still yours for the taking.

Elfoyzer, you're within reach of 3:05, and who knows what magic will happen during the taper?

Looking forward to sinking a pint with you both after, come what may.

TAPER TIME! WHOO-HOO!

asimonov wrote: »
    @kaymin, sorry to read about your injury - Maybe your easy miles are too fast - back off the pace until after the marathon - maybe 7:30's max on anything that's not a workout.

Thanks for the advice - could be right - certainly my poor flexibility in certain leg muscles / tendons didn't help. I don't didn't feel under strain doing 7 min miles, though I know runners alot faster than me do their easy runs significantly slower.
    Kaymin- given how fast your times were, coming from a kayak base, you should have no problem if you focus on this for the taper. You did a 20 miler at sub 3 pace a fortnight ago! Keep the faith, that sub 3 (at least) is still yours for the taking.

Elfoyzer, you're within reach of 3:05, and who knows what magic will happen during the taper?

Looking forward to sinking a pint with you both after, come what may.

TAPER TIME! WHOO-HOO!

yeah I take some comfort from that 20 mile run - was only 8 days ago. If I could manage a long run next weekend then i'd be more optimistic but i'm only going to attempt that if I feel my leg is right (and not half right as has been the case for the last month).

Pint(s) sounds good! :) and with ecoli if he can make it.

kaymin wrote: »

yeah I take some comfort from that 20 mile run - was only 8 days ago. If I could manage a long run next weekend then i'd be more optimistic but i'm only going to attempt that if I feel my leg is right (and not half right as has been the case for the last month).

If I were you, I'd take that (8 day old) 20 miler with confidence, and let it carry you through to the day. There's repair work on your muscles needed in a taper, and its not really the best time to start squeezing in missed long runs.

Just my 2c, I can well understand you wanting to prove the optimism, but in any case you seem to correctly cautious about attempting the long run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭misty floyd

If I were you, I'd take that (8 day old) 20 miler with confidence, and let it carry you through to the day. There's repair work on your muscles needed in a taper, and its not really the best time to start squeezing in missed long runs.

+1 I'd do the same. I'd love a sub 3hr pace 20miler in the bag. Great stuff, best of luck with injury Kaymin.

I would have liked to have toughed out Ecoli's plans here but committing to it was another stress a few weeks back. Good luck with the Taper lads. The madness starts.

kaymin wrote: »
    Thanks for the advice - could be right - certainly my poor flexibility in certain leg muscles / tendons didn't help. I don't didn't feel under strain doing 7 min miles, though I know runners alot faster than me do their easy runs significantly slower.

Pint(s) sounds good! :) and with ecoli if he can make it.

Pints sound GREAT, but I fly out to Spain for a few days with the family at 5pm that day so it may not happen. Suppose the quicker I run the damn race the more drinking time I have! And there I was looking for motivation...

P.S. can't wait for the 8x800's tonight:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Pints sound GREAT, but I fly out to Spain for a few days with the family at 5pm that day so it may not happen. Suppose the quicker I run the damn race the more drinking time I have! And there I was looking for motivation...

Unfortunately i am the same as yourself i wont be able to stay too long that day as i have work in the evening however i should have enough time for the first drink (which is on me as coach:D)

Have to say lads all of you fair play you have been going great

@Kaymin sorry to hear about all the injury woes i know you feel trying to squeeze in another long run at this stage might help but my advice would be to leave it and let the body recover as best possible between now and then. Your training has me confident you can still break 3 regardless so i wouldnt worry too much with the 20 miler the negatives outweigh the benefits best to listen to your body

It's been a great program and you've been great support throughout. Just get us through the next 20 days coach...

Kaymin - let's be honest, you'd run a sub 3 in your sleep. It's in the bag buddy. Just get yourself right and drop a few ibuprofen on the big day.
    I'd love to say 'I ran a 2:59:XX in Dublin this year, but I was injured...' :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Speedy44

Well, its started. I lay in bed last night and my legs felt a combination of pins & needles and like I could go out and run a sub 3 now !

Then this morning I banged my knee of the dresser and screamed so loud the I think the folks in the local cemetary complained !

If I remember from last year, there's lots more of this stuff to come :rolleyes:

ecoli wrote: »
    @Kaymin sorry to hear about all the injury woes i know you feel trying to squeeze in another long run at this stage might help but my advice would be to leave it and let the body recover as best possible between now and then. Your training has me confident you can still break 3 regardless so i wouldnt worry too much with the 20 miler the negatives outweigh the benefits best to listen to your body
    Kaymin - let's be honest, you'd run a sub 3 in your sleep. It's in the bag buddy. Just get yourself right and drop a few ibuprofen on the big day.
    I'd love to say 'I ran a 2:59:XX in Dublin this year, but I was injured...' :rolleyes:

Thanks for your optimism - hopefully not misplaced! I did the hopping on one leg test this evening and I lasted no more than two hops. So I'll knock on the head the 20 miler I was half thinking of doing this weekend. I'm looking forward to doing the marathon without having run for the previous month :rolleyes:

Hey Kamin, (et al)

Heading out for a lsr on sunday at 9am from popes cross if it suits with a few buddies.
    Pace will be fairly casual (8 - 8:30/mile) ~ 15 miles or so, sticking in the park.
    Might see you there.

Hey Kamin, (et al)

Heading out for a lsr on sunday at 9am from popes cross if it suits with a few buddies.
    Pace will be fairly casual (8 - 8:30/mile) ~ 15 miles or so, sticking in the park.
    Might see you there.

Cheers. I'm committed to not running til race day so i'll be giving it a miss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Cooldog

Summary of week.

Mon = Rest
    Tue = 6 x 1KM 5.48 Pace Average
    Wed = 11 miles in 7.41 Pace
    Thur = 8 miles in 7.25 Pace
    Fri = 2 x 2 Miles in 6.18, 6.19, Pace
    Sat = 4 miles in 8.00 Pace
    Sun = 17 miles 9 Miles in 7.35 Pace & 8 Miles in 6.48 Pace.

Total 58 miles

Felt much better this week doing my easy and recovery runs slower. Bit drained after my long run, tank was far from fully empty.
    Hope the taper is going well for you all for DCM, no doubt the phanton niggles and cold like symptoms are starting to set in. Its all part of it ye have done the work and will be OK.

Week 16 summary
    donothoponpop|3:10|||632
    kaymin|n/a|||601
    ELFOYZER|3.29|5|38|712

Summary for week:

Monday - Rest

Tuesday - Track session - 1 mile easy, 3x10min(~6:20/mile) with 2 min rec jog, 2mile easy cooldown = 8miles total

Wednesday - 10 mile easy ( ~8:00 mile)

Thursday - Track session - 1 mile easy, 6x800m(6:00 mile) with 2 min rec jog, 800m cooldown = 6.5 miles total

Friday - 4 mile recovery ( 8:30/mile)

Saturday - REST

Sunday - 10 mile easy*

* had intended running 16 miles but was forced to stop at 10 due to tummy troubles. My own fault really, ate a curry last night, only myself to blame:eek:
    Dont feel to bad about not hitting the mileage, all the big stuff is done now. Just a question of staying healthy, sane and keeping things ticking over.

Yep Cooldog, battling a sore throat for the past week now!!!!!

2weeks to go now - it's gonna fly...

Monday|Rest
    Tuesday|8 miles easy
    Wednesday| 10 mile easy
    Thursday| 5 miles tempo @ HMP
    Friday|8 miles easy
    Saturday|4 mile recovery
    Sunday|13 miles easy

Monday|Rest
    Tuesday|8 miles easy
    Wednesday| 10 mile easy
    Thursday| 5 miles tempo @ HMP
    Friday|8 miles easy
    Saturday|4 mile recovery
    Sunday|13 miles easy

Gradual taper, eh???:D

While i have down 8 miles on two of the days these can be cut to six milers if people wish. Having too quick a drop of mileage can actually have an adverse effect so while there is a drop it is only close to 20% the more important thing is that the intensity in training has dropped

While there have been key sessions week in week out you key sessions this week are your nights sleep as these are the most important part. If you are feeling niggles or illness dont be afraid to cut runs short or add an extra recovery day

I am leaving this to peoples own discretion on how they feel they react best

Week 16 summary
    kaymin|n/a|||601
    ELFOYZER|3.29|5|38|712

Summary for week:

Monday - Rest

Tuesday - 90 minutes interval session on paddling / kayak machine

Wednesday - 60 minute kayak interval session including rest

Thursday - Rest

Friday - Rest

Saturday - 70km cycle - tough enough session when you're not used to cycling

Sunday - 12km kayak

Leg feels like it's getting better. If I keep myself from running til race day then there's no question of making it to the start line. Making it to the finish line will be the challenge!

Week 17 summary
    kaymin|n/a|||601
    ELFOYZER|3.29|4|32.5|747.5

Summary for week:

Monday - Rest

Tuesday - Track Session - 1.5mile warm up; 24 min tempo @6:17/mile avg, 0.5 mile cooldown (TOTAL - 6miles)

Wednesday - 10 miler easy (8:12/mile pace)

Thursday - Run home from work ~ 5.5miles @ 7:45 /mile pace

Friday - Rest*

Saturday - Rest*

Sunday - 11mile easy ( 8:15 mile)

32.5 miles this week, feels a little light compared to what I'd been doing. Unfortunately had two rest days due to work/life issues, but hey - it's taper time and the work is done.
    Not sure what's in store for this week but I'll be getting a sports massage to iron out the wrinkles and kinks on monday and hopefully stay injury and illness free for the next few days...
    Dunno about you guys but it was FREEZIN in the park at 8am, brrrrrrr.....

Week 17 summary
    kaymin|n/a|||601

Summary for week:

Monday - Rest

Tuesday - Rest

Wednesday - 16 x 4 minutes efforts on the kayak machine

Thursday - Rest

Friday - Rest

Saturday - 2.5 hour cycle

Sunday - 1 hour cycle hard

Only 3 training sessions this week but they were of decent quality. Tried jogging for a few hundred metres on Friday but the leg was still sore. Another week to heal some more so I'm still hopeful. No more hard sessions.

I've been looking at other marathon races in the coming months in case Dublin turns out a disaster (i.e. I don't break 3 hours) - a distinct possibility. Clonakilty (11th December) is a maybe.

]Week 17 summary
    donothoponpop|3:10|5|42|687
    kaymin|n/a|||601

Summary for week:

Monday - 7 mile steady w 8x 100m strides

Tuesday - 6 easy

Wednesday - 6 Hilly

Thursday - Rest

Friday - 2.5 miles tempo, 7 miles slow.

Saturday - Rest

Sunday - 13 LSR

Total 42

Nothing much to report, just keeping things steady. No niggles to worry about, so all systems go. Going to work on the mental side of things this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Cooldog

Mon = Rest
    Tue = 5 x 2 Minute Hills @ 6.25 Pace
    Wed = 12 Miles @7.23 Pace
    Thur = 8 Mile Tempo @ 6.13 Pace ( A little fast I know but I just put distance on the garmin screen and went by how I felt 5.55 last mile and still didn’t feel like I was working too hard.
    Fri = 8 Miles 7.37 Pace
    Sat = 4 Miles 7.50 Pace
    Sun = 19 Miles @7.23 Pace ( Meant to be 18 miles but mis-calculated a turn. Felt great on the run some tightness in the legs near the end but a rub out from the physio will sort that out. Very very tired after)
    60 Miles total. Another good week.

Hope the taper is going ok for you all, not long to go now, keep safe and well.

Right lads you will be glad to know that this is the end of having to put up with listening to me. Have to say lads you have done brilliant so far and i i know you are going to do brilliant next week. You have put in the work over the last 4 and a bit mornths now its time to reap the rewards.

Monday| Rest
    Tuesday|2x1 mile @ 10k pace
    Wednesday| 6 miles easy
    Thursday| 4 miles easy
    Friday|4 miles recovery
    Saturday| Rest
    Sunday| 2-3 miles recovery
    Monday|PB TIME

The main thing this week is plenty of sleep and wrap up well. Regarding food dont try anything to different. From about Wed i would suggest no red meat what so ever stick to the chickens and fish options your stomach will thank you for it during the race trust me

Other than that the best of luck lads and any question you have between now and then about anything you know where i am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭heffsarmy

From about Wed i would suggest no red meat

Curious to why you suggest this

heffsarmy wrote: »
    Curious to why you suggest this

Simply for digestion purposes as it takes up to three days to properly red meats as opposed to other foods which take around a day.

Have seen stomach cramps in the past run some peoples race