Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2010 Dublin Marathon- Sub 3 mentored thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Time: 09.30

Meeting Place: Papals Cross

Session: 1 Mile Easy, 1 Mile MP, 2 miles easy, 2 miles MP 3 miles easy 3 miles MP 2 miles easy 2 miles MP 1 mile easy 1 mile MP (total 18 miles)

Roll call

donothoponpop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,552 ✭✭✭kaymin

Session: 1 Mile Easy, 1 Mile MP, 2 miles easy, 2 miles MP 3 miles easy 3 miles MP 2 miles easy 2 miles MP 1 mile easy 1 mile MP (total 18 miles)

Roll call

donothoponpop

Can't make it unfortunately. Have a slight tear in my peroneal tendon. Physio cleared me to run 6 miles today and 8 miles tomorrow and then back to the physio on Monday. Doesn't sound like the worst injury to suffer so hopefully I'll be back to normal training sometime this week.

Have a good run!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭ELFOYZER

Roll call

donothoponpop
    ELFOYZER

Hey Kaymin - hope you recover soon, will run as fast as I can in your honour!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

kaymin wrote: »
    Can't make it unfortunately. Have a slight tear in my peroneal tendon. Physio cleared me to run 6 miles today and 8 miles tomorrow and then back to the physio on Monday. Doesn't sound like the worst injury to suffer so hopefully I'll be back to normal training sometime this week.

Have a good run!

Hopefully a speedy recovery. Though given the fact that you are back running so quickly is positive and you will be back in no time. Take it handy as you have been going great so far and are still well on track

Week 12 summary
    Name|Previous best |No. of Sessions completed|Mileage this week | Total Mileage to date |
    donothoponpop|3:10|||457
    smmoore79| 3.10||| 143
    Speedy44|3:26| | | 214|
    kaymin|n/a|||529
    ELFOYZER|3.29|5|55|534
    cunavalos|n/a|||120
    Schnellimbiss |n/a|||approx 125|
    Bloody Nipples|3.15|||236|

Summary for week:

Monday - rest

Tuesday - 3,2,1 x2 session (8:20, 8:10, 8:09, 7:12, 7:02, 6:56; 8:09, 8:13, 8:24, 7:11, 7:08, 6:53, 8:25 cooldown mile )

Wednesday - Half Marathon course v.easy (avg 8:33 mile pace)

Thursday - 6 mile easy ( 7:58 mile pace)

Friday - Rest (planned another easy 6 miler but couldn't make it)

Saturday - 5 mile rec (well - meant to be recovery pace but a sudden downpour changed that plan)
    Stretching - 30 mins

Sunday - 18 miler E + MP with ecoli and Donothoponpop.
    Great session this morning. I'd planned on running at 7:15 pace as I didn't think I'd have it in me to stick with 6:51 pace. And when the lads agreed to take it onto the hills in the park against my wishes to keep it on the flat loop, my heart sank even further. But in spite of this the boys gave great encouragement and support along the way and I managed to keep in touch with them throughout, although the hills were a killer:eek:
    Great pacing e-coli, and tremendous effort donothoponpop, you're well set.
    Mile Splits - (Plain = easy pace, Bold = MP)
    8:06, 6:49, 8:03, 8:04, 6:51, 6:46, 8:21, 8:05, 7:59, 6:48, 6:45, 6:56, 8:26, 8:07, 6:56, 7:17*, 8:51, 6:58
    * = Kyber Hill
    Cheers fellas, couldn't have done that without ya;)

Week 12 summary
    Name|Previous best |No. of Sessions completed|Mileage this week | Total Mileage to date |
    donothoponpop|3:10|6|56|511
    smmoore79| 3.10||| 143
    kaymin|n/a|||529
    ELFOYZER|3.29|5|55|534
    cunavalos|n/a|||120

Summary for week:

Monday - rest

Tuesday - 8 miles hilly

Wednesday - 8 easy

Thursday - 12 miles, 2x(3easy, 2MP, 1HMP) 8:34, 7:39, 7:49, 6:39, 6:28, 6:15, 3@9:18av, 6:48, 6:50, 6:22

Friday - 6 easy

Saturday - 4 easy

Sunday - 18 miles @7:33 av,
    Splits:
    8:07, 6:50
    8:03, 8:04, 6:50, 6:40
    8:24, 8:03, 8:07, 6:43, 6:39, 6:44
    8:41, 8:05, 6:49, 6:57
    9:12, 6:46

Another good week, topped by a great session in the Park today. You're a very good motivator and trainer ecoli, I'm lucky to be part of this group. And ELFOYZER, you're a lot stronger and faster than you thought you were, todays run should prove that to you.
    Starting to feel like sub 3 is within my grasp!

Hey lads having a bit of trouble accessing next weeks training plan. Will get it put up in the morning. Tomorrow is a well earned rest day anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,725 ✭✭✭kennyb3

Great session lads and some savage training, fair play to you's

Week 12 summary
    donothoponpop|3:10|6|56|511
    smmoore79| 3.10||| 143
    kaymin|n/a|27||556
    ELFOYZER|3.29|5|55|534
    cunavalos|n/a|||120

Great running Elfloyzer / donothoponpop. Seems like we're going in opposite directions judging by how our respective training is going. Another poor week for me on the running front....

Summary for week:

Monday - 20 miles - about 7mins per mile

Tuesday - Rest

Wednesday - 12km kayak

Thursday - Physio. Kayak session - 1 upto 8 and back down.

Friday - Rest

Saturday - 7 mile run

Sunday - 12km kayak. Was supposed to run 8 miles but leg was hurting again. Physio tomorrow so I'll see what the verdict is. I expect I'll have to rest the leg for the first half of this week at a minimum.

||
    Monday|Rest
    Tuesday|8 miles easy
    Wednesday|7 miles easy + 4 X 200m strides
    Thursday|6 miles easy
    Friday|2-3 miles recovery (or OFF)
    Saturday|Dublin Half Marathon
    Sunday|6-8 miles easy

How the bodies today?

Here is this weeks plan nothing too hectic with the race so hopefully be fresh enough. If anyone is not doing the race you can PM me and i will send on a non race week training plan

ecoli wrote: »
    How the bodies today?

Hey ecoli, feeling surprisingly 'grand' today. Had considered a recovery 4 miler but had to work late:mad:, maybe it was just as well. Going to stretch well with some core work tonight instead.

Looking forward to an 'easy' week ( >40 miles :eek:)

Weather looking good for Saturday too:cool:

What did the physio say Kaymin?

Went to the physio on Monday - he recommended that I run for a few days and then to call him tomorrow to discuss how it went. He'll give his advice then re: whether I should race the half or not. So I did roughly 11 miles yesterday and 11 miles today. Leg feels very odd - can feel a constant dull nervy pain in my left leg. It's not getting worse though (at least i don't think so).

I'm running terrible at the moment - I'm hoping its down to the physio session - I don't think my muscles have recovered yet. Am thinking I'll run 7 miles before the half marathon before joining in - I'm not feeling upto racing all out and I'd like to get a long run in after missing last weekends long run. Hopefully I can stick in with yis and the sub 1:30 pacing group. Am needing a bit of a confidence boost!

Went to the physio on Monday - he recommended that I run for a few days and then to call him tomorrow to discuss how it went. He'll give his advice then re: whether I should race the half or not. So I did roughly 11 miles yesterday and 11 miles today. Leg feels very odd - can feel a constant dull nervy pain in my left leg. It's not getting worse though (at least i don't think so).

I'm running terrible at the moment - I'm hoping its down to the physio session - I don't think my muscles have recovered yet. Am thinking I'll run 7 miles before the half marathon before joining in - I'm not feeling upto racing all out and I'd like to get a long run in after missing last weekends long run. Hopefully I can stick in with yis and the sub 1:30 pacing group. Am needing a bit of a confidence boost!

You'll be grand Kaymin - 48hours to go and thats a long time in recovery terms and it sounds like you're well on the way if you can knock out 11 milers.
    Hope to meet up with ya at the 1:30 pacers before the madness starts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,514 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Sticking with the 1:30 pacers sounds like a good idea, but not so sure on the 7 miles beforehand, particularly with a potential injury. Why not do the half at 1:30 pace, and if your legs feel untroubled, do the 7 miles as a warm-down afterwards?

Good suggestion except the thought of continuing for another 7 miles after crossing the finish line doesn't appeal at all! I'd rather run the risk of pulling out of the half marathon having done the 7 miles before the start.

I've just discussed with my physio and he thinks my plan is alright as long as I don't start racing the half. Depending on how I feel I might run it at 1:27 / 1:28 which is still way over my original target of sub 1:21. Two days for my leg to improve further so I'm optimistic!

Be thankful for small mercies:) That's great that your physio reckons you're good for a long run again, thankfully just a minor blip in your great training.

On another matter, I caught a mild cold from my daughter over the past few days. Its nothing too bad- mild joint pain, sniffles, sore throat- but I'm wondering how best to approach the half tomorrow, with a view to the bigger picture. The last thing I want is to kill myself running hard with a cold, and be wrecked for next weeks training, but I don't know if its severe enough to warrant cotton wool.

My plan had been to go all-out for 1:25/1:26, but options are to run with the 1:30 pacers, and get in a confidence-building 13 miles at MP, or help with pacing one of the slower bands, and tack 5/6miles on at the end for an LSR. Any opinions?

Be thankful for small mercies:) That's great that your physio reckons you're good for a long run again, thankfully just a minor blip in your great training.

On another matter, I caught a mild cold from my daughter over the past few days. Its nothing too bad- mild joint pain, sniffles, sore throat- but I'm wondering how best to approach the half tomorrow, with a view to the bigger picture. The last thing I want is to kill myself running hard with a cold, and be wrecked for next weeks training, but I don't know if its severe enough to warrant cotton wool.

My plan had been to go all-out for 1:25/1:26, but options are to run with the 1:30 pacers, and get in a confidence-building 13 miles at MP, or help with pacing one of the slower bands, and tack 5/6miles on at the end for an LSR. Any opinions?

I hear ya Donothoponpop and Kaymin, I've been having a weird week too -

Managed an easy 8 miles tuesday, 6 mile 'brisk walk' with OH on wednesday, 6 miler steady yesterday BUT - I'm eating rings around me:eek:. I'm putting it down to pre-race nerves for sure. ( what was that you said - every extra kg = + how many minutes????)
    With high expectations and all the 'what if's...' knocking around in your head and a bit of a dose on ya, sure it's no wonder the head's all over the place.

Good advice given to me this week was to begin with the 1:30 pacers and after 3-4 miles, if you're feeling good, then slowly pull away from the pacing group. Nothing too crazy, just slowly bite away at the sub 1:30 target.

Now, Man up, take your lemsip and I'll see you with the 1:30 pace group tomorrow;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,514 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

If you go out with the 1:30 pacers, at least you're guaranteed* a 13 mile PMP run. A 13 mile PMP is a fantastic result at any stage of training. OK, not quite the LT/Vo2 session that ecoli probably had in mind, but still a fine result. Pacing one of the slower bands would be just junk miles. A short slow LSR, and should only be considered if you're still sick and not showing signs of recovery. Just my 2c. Teacher (ecoli) knows best!

* Not actually guaranteed!

If you go out with the 1:30 pacers, at least you're guaranteed* a 13 mile PMP run. A 13 mile PMP is a fantastic result at any stage of training. OK, not quite the LT/Vo2 session that ecoli probably had in mind, but still a fine result. Pacing one of the slower bands would be just junk miles. A short slow LSR, and should only be considered if you're still sick and not showing signs of recovery. Just my 2c. Teacher (ecoli) knows best!

* Not actually guaranteed!

Think Krusty makes a good point here and input always appreciated. The plan for this week is being a down week with the focus being around PMP to faster pace and i think turning to a slower pace is not conducive to the overall plan. This week is about lower mileage with focus on pace there will be other weeks with the focus no mileage

Thanks lads, that's settled then. So no LSR, I'll go out with the 1:30 guys, and either stick with them, or push on (dropping back is not an option ;)).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Speedy44

Thanks lads, that's settled then. So no LSR, I'll go out with the 1:30 guys, and either stick with them, or push on (dropping back is not an option ;)).

man, everyone seems to be getting hit with this damn cold. I also picked it up from my daughter. As I siad though on another post, I think that we have got ourselves to a level of fitness that 'hopefully' we will recover fairly quickly. I went from feeling like sh*t on Monday to getting 3 good days under my belt since then.

Our neignbour came over yesterday and said that I look terrible :eek:.
    When I asked her to elaborate she said that I look very gaunt, I said that's how real runners in the midst of marathon training are supposed to look :D

I've decided not to run tomorrow. My leg still pains me to walk. I'm going to give it 4 or 5 days of not running in the hope it will clear up. Bummer but that's running for you. I'll do a few kayak sessions instead. Enjoy the race tomorrow!

Sorry to hear that Kaymin, hopefully the few days rest will do you good. You won't loose much between now and then.

Just heading out the door, less than 2 hours to 'Hammertime'

Week 13 summary
    donothoponpop|3:10|||511
    smmoore79| 3.10||| 143
    kaymin|n/a|||556
    ELFOYZER|3.29|4|30|564
    cunavalos|n/a|||120

Summary for week:

Monday - Rest

Tuesday - 8 Mile easy

Wednesday - 6 mile brisk walk + 40 min core/stretch (not counting walk in mileage - thats just cheating!)

Thursday - 6 mile steady.

Friday - 1mile easy, 1 mile MP, 1 mile easy = 3 miles

Saturday - Half Marathon 13 miles*

Sunday - Rest

*Mixed feelings on this one. New PB (Wayhay!) but didn't break 1:30 (Boo-Hoo!)
    Bit of a family crisis Friday night with a nephew being rushed to hospital (He's grand now T.G) and didn't bunk down til 3:30am and kinda tossed and turned until the alarm went off at 7.
    Fast forward to 10am - shake hands with Donothoponpop and stick like glue to the pacers. Everything grand up to mile 11ish but the e-coli and Krusty started to drift away. Pushed as hard as I could through the glen and was making progress towards ecoli ( who was hanging back to encourage me and others on) but then he bolted forward to Krusty and up to where he should have been pace-wise. I pushed as hard as I could but there was nothing left. I could see there was at least 40-50 secs between me and the red baloons as they crossed the line.:(
    Frustratingly enough my garmin read 21,31km !?!?!?
    Splits were -
    6:51, 6:53, 6:52, 6:53, 6:43, 6:44, 6:53, 6:51, 6:50, 6:49, 6:51, 7:07, 6:58, (+1:34 for 395mtrs) = 1:30:47
    Looking at the positives,
    - new 10 miler pb = 68:18 (69:52 in 10 miler 21st August)
    - new half PB = 1:30:47 (1:34:00 in Kildare Half)
    - I managed 13 miles at MP:cool:
    Many, many thanks to Krusty and you coach for the pacing job on the day. Not much chat from me and missed ya blowin chunks at the end - ha, maybe that's another positive - I didn't puke me ring up!

Headed straight to Cork for an overnighter with family and am just back so no chance of a run tonight, but will run 6 miles easy tomorrow.

Raring to go now - onwards and upwards ....

Week 13 summary
    donothoponpop|3:10|2|20|531
    smmoore79| 3.10||| 143
    kaymin|n/a|||556
    ELFOYZER|3.29|4|30|564
    cunavalos|n/a|||120

Felt tired at the start of this week, under the weather towards the end, and the upshot was I only got two runs in, 7 steady on Wednesday, 13 at MP on Sat. I was happy with how the pace run went for the half, felt strong albeit with a cold. Probably the best result is that my legs feel rejuvenated. Talking to one of the 1:30 pacers (kiwirunner), who says that marathon trained muscles suffer micro-tears during training, and its a balancing act between training more, and letting the damage repair. After some heavy milage for the past few weeks, this week was a godsend for healing.

I'm taking a bit of confidence out of running 13 at MP, on tired legs (you should too ELFOYZER). The step-back week has been a boon, ideal timing (and ideal timing to catch a cold- that's my immune system boosted for another while). Ready to put in the hard work for these next few weeks, and then bring the pain on Oct 25th.

(ps Kaymin, you're right to be cautious at this stage. Your training has been phenomenal, there's still a good 4 weeks left for solid work, its all about hitting the starting line fit and rearing to go).

ELFOYZER wrote: »

Mine read 13.28 miles (21.37km). Its all about your racing line, I know I took quite a few corners wide, and it all adds up (even allowing for GPS discrepancy). Bear in mind the marathon will be even worse, so you may need to pace for a 26.4 mile race (or the pacers will- sub 3 for 26.2 is between 6:52 and 6:53, so 6:51 pace should be enough to compensate for a wider racing line). Check out the pacers forum for a lot of interesting discussion on same.

ELFOYZER wrote: »
    Week 13 summary
    donothoponpop|3:10|||511
    smmoore79| 3.10||| 143
    kaymin|n/a|||556
    ELFOYZER|3.29|4|30|564
    cunavalos|n/a|||120

Summary for week:

Monday - Rest

Tuesday - 8 Mile easy

Wednesday - 6 mile brisk walk + 40 min core/stretch (not counting walk in mileage - thats just cheating!)

Thursday - 6 mile steady.

Friday - 1mile easy, 1 mile MP, 1 mile easy = 3 miles

Saturday - Half Marathon 13 miles*

Sunday - Rest

*Mixed feelings on this one. New PB (Wayhay!) but didn't break 1:30 (Boo-Hoo!)
    Bit of a family crisis Friday night with a nephew being rushed to hospital (He's grand now T.G) and didn't bunk down til 3:30am and kinda tossed and turned until the alarm went off at 7.
    Fast forward to 10am - shake hands with Donothoponpop and stick like glue to the pacers. Everything grand up to mile 11ish but the e-coli and Krusty started to drift away. Pushed as hard as I could through the glen and was making progress towards ecoli ( who was hanging back to encourage me and others on) but then he bolted forward to Krusty and up to where he should have been pace-wise. I pushed as hard as I could but there was nothing left. I could see there was at least 40-50 secs between me and the red baloons as they crossed the line.:(
    Splits were -
    6:51, 6:53, 6:52, 6:53, 6:43, 6:44, 6:53, 6:51, 6:50, 6:49, 6:51, 7:07, 6:58, (+1:34 for 395mtrs) = 1:30:47
    Looking at the positives,
    - new 10 miler pb = 68:18 (69:52 in 10 miler 21st August)
    - new half PB = 1:30:47 (1:34:00 in Kildare Half)
    - I managed 13 miles at MP:cool:
    Many, many thanks to Krusty and you coach for the pacing job on the day. Not much chat from me and missed ya blowin chunks at the end - ha, maybe that's another positive - I didn't puke me ring up!

Headed straight to Cork for an overnighter with family and am just back so no chance of a run tonight, but will run 6 miles easy tomorrow.

Raring to go now - onwards and upwards ....

Sorry i couldnt get you under the mark but given circumstances two PB s is a great result fair play you are well on track. back to hard slog this week as we hitting the final straight of the hard training now hopefully will give you the extra lift you need to get you over the line

Right lads hopefully the legs are okay cos back with a bang this week

||
    Monday|Rest
    Tuesday|8 miles easy
    Wednesday|4 miles (easy), 4x3 min hills+ cool down
    Thursday|12 miles (easy)
    Friday|5 miles easy
    Saturday|8 miles PMP
    Sunday|18 miles easy

Mine read 13.28 miles (21.37km). Its all about your racing line, I know I took quite a few corners wide, and it all adds up (even allowing for GPS discrepancy). Bear in mind the marathon will be even worse, so you may need to pace for a 26.4 mile race (or the pacers will- sub 3 for 26.2 is between 6:52 and 6:53, so 6:51 pace should be enough to compensate for a wider racing line). Check out the pacers forum for a lot of interesting discussion on same.

Totally agree. I'm more pi**ed off with myself for not bearing this in mind during the run. No arguements about the length of the course. Its just that I could have taken a few hundred less steps on a better racing line and may have had the strength to catch e-coli and Krusty to hit the target, although it was a bit tight/congested on the corners. But Hey, lesson learned!