Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

You are not a f*cking DJ. You’re an overpaid, untalented, cake-throwing c*nt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭SteoL

Im asking this to all posters on here. What would you think of a company which sacked (or even brought disciplinary measures against) an employee for testing positive for cannabis? Let's say the employee is never stoned at work and carries out their job as good as anyone else.

Well personally I don't agree with it being an illegal substance so wouldn't be too impressed with such a company. Also don't find anything wrong if someone tokes in work.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

SteoL wrote: »
    Well personally I don't agree with it being an illegal substance so wouldn't be too impressed with such a company. Also don't find anything wrong if someone tokes in work.
    If you needed brain surgery, you'd have no problem with the surgeon havin a spliff beforehand?

A slight bit more thought may be required I think....

joker77 wrote: »
    If you needed brain surgery, you'd have no problem with the surgeon havin a spliff beforehand?

I'd be more concerned if they'd had a bevvy tbh. Spliff relaxes ye, I perform better myself if I've had a j. So yes, wouldn't have a problem with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭ianuss

I would have a big problem with someone smoking during work - no matter what the job was. It's the same as drinking during work as far as I'm concerned.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

the really scary thing is that as far as substance abuse in the workplace goes, doctors(especially the older ones) are bloody awful for it.
    The British Medical Council were requested by interns to bring in random drug testing (yes you are reading that correctly - the young doctors wanted drug testing brought in to stop the old guys messin).

• Registered Users Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

I'd be more concerned if they'd had a bevvy tbh. Spliff relaxes ye, I perform better myself if I've had a j. So yes, wouldn't have a problem with it.
    Fair enough.

So it relaxes you. No affect on concentration then?

I'd wager if you were in the position, you mightn't have such a flippant attitude.

Fair enough.

So it relaxes you. No affect on concentration then?

Sat and passed my exams (Leaving Cert and college) while stoned. Memory today wouldn't be the best though ;)
    I'd wager if you were in the position, you mightn't have such a flippant attitude.

Probably right. Hopefully I'll never require brain surgery though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Android 666

SAeroosly lads,, II walays dreeink aadnn smuk in wwoork and id nevir dose me aaany ham…

• Registered Users Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

I'd go along with the depends on the job view even though I can see holes in that logic from 500 paces. I'd be very uncomfortable if my favourite airline pilot had a few spliffs on a Sunday night and then got up and flew me to Berlin the next morning. He may not be stoned on the job but his head is elsewhere. At the same time I'd be cool with most professions.

I'm not great on folks being stoned on the job purely because of health and safety reasons where people have to operate machinery or drive HGVs or anything that involves coordination and movement or working in a sweet shop.

anyone else think the streamed new Kalkbrenner album sounds just a little too safe? I'm almost a fanboy since Zeit but this sounds sort of like Berlin Calling out-takes. Or am I just being a cranky old bastard, as usual?

• Registered Users Posts: 583 ✭✭✭cranky bollix

old gregg wrote: »
    anyone else think the streamed new Kalkbrenner album sounds just a little too safe? I'm almost a fanboy since Zeit but this sounds sort of like Berlin Calling out-takes. Or am I just being a cranky old bastard, as usual?

dont know anything about kalkbrenner, ive only heard his name about a million times.

any links to this new album or anything else worth a listen

Jeez, I hope not. I'm going over to Fabric to see him next week. I purposely haven't listened to any of his stuff in ages so I can bask in his awesomeness.

dont know anything about kalkbrenner, ive only heard his name about a million times.

any links to this new album or anything else worth a listen
    Well this is his preview of the new album.

ianuss wrote: »
    Jeez, I hope not. I'm going over to Fabric to see him next week. I purposely haven't listened to any of his stuff in ages so I can bask in his awesomeness.
    and I'd love to be going too and for sure it will be excellent either way. He'll put on an epic show. Remember, it's just as likely it was me :p

Well this is his preview of the new album.

and I'd love to be going too and for sure it will be excellent either way. He'll put on an epic show. Remember, it's just as likely it was me :p

Fairly underwhelming stuff :(. Hope it sounds better live.

of course you can!

Buddhism is not a religion, it is an Education :)

No it's not a religion, it's a totally cool way to hang out with fascists and be homophobic.

http://zenbuddhism.tribe.net/thread/4597a19e-c253-4589-acf7-9f8a98965c2d

http://poplicks.com/2006/04/is-dalai-lama-homophobe.html

And the Free Tibet campaign sucks donkey’s balls as well:
    A curious phenomenon among the Free Tibet sympathisers is the number of them either professing to be Buddhist or at least speaking of their great admiration for Tibetan Buddhism. This smacks of orientalism. They are romanticising a selected group of 'Eastern' people who are singled out as more spiritual and holy than 'us', sanctified by their oppression, and yet somehow not suitable for, ready for, or perhaps deserving of, the kind of secular democracy that these Western liberals demand for themselves. I would have a lot more sympathy for the Free Tibet enthusiasts who I have met if they simply argued for Tibetan self-determination rather than expressing great admiration for someone who gained their position by being selected as the reincarnation of a former leader.

http://www.physicsroom.org.nz/log/archive/10/lama/

• Registered Users Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

and be homophobic..............................And the Free Tibet campaign sucks donkey’s balls as well:

Hmmm, it seems that being gay is a no no but beastiality is fine:D

I wont be converting to buddism or any other religion regardless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stomprockin

A wise man speaks because he has something to say, a fool because he has to say something. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stomprockin

No it's not a religion, it's a totally cool way to hang out with fascists and be homophobic.

http://zenbuddhism.tribe.net/thread/4597a19e-c253-4589-acf7-9f8a98965c2d

http://poplicks.com/2006/04/is-dalai-lama-homophobe.html

And the Free Tibet campaign sucks donkey’s balls as well:

http://www.physicsroom.org.nz/log/archive/10/lama/

can't believe i spend most of my lunch hour reading that :)

I Liked this response though
    The author compiles from different (sometimes dubious) sources and offers a mix which implies there could be something wrong with Tibetan Buddhism or suggesting there would be a relation between Tibetan Buddhism and fascism and even the nazis—even if this is not said directly.

To establish the facts correctly:
    1. There is a tremendous amount of myths and wrong statements about the so called and non-existent "Nazi Tibet Connection." If one fishes in those muddy waters some of the mud might stick to the reader, but this is not the fault of the Tibetans but the reader and those who propound such falsities.
    2. Though some Nazis indeed showed interest in Tibet and some Nazis with a lot of fantasy see a connection between them and the Tibetans and even the Dalai Lama, these ideas are their ideas, these ideas are not shared by Tibetans and most of them do not even know about their existence. So one should not mix Western confusion of some Nazis with what the Tibetans think.
    3. The official title of the Schäfer expedition was not “SS Schäfer Expedition” but “Deutsche Tibet Expedition Ernst Schäfer.”
    4. It is wrong to say that the SS financed this expedition—which btw was a scientific expedition, though Himmler tried to use it for his own purposes. Reliable research show that Schäfer, a Zoologist with a PhD, "raised the funds of his expedition by his own efforts, albeit with the support of the “Ahnenerbe.” He received the sum of 30,000 Reichsmark (RM) from the DFG.76 The final statement dated November 15, 1940, shows that the Public Relations and Advertising Council of German Business (Werberat der deutschen Wirtschaft) made the largest contribution, of RM 46,000. In return for supplying reports for the newspapers Völkischer Beobachter and the Illustrierter Beobachter, their publisher Eher Verlag paid the sum of RM 20,000; RM 7,000 came from the Foreign Office, and a further RM 6,500 from private donors including Brooke Dolan. The costs totaled RM 112,111, of which the greatest expenditure, RM 12,119, was to be for the ethnographic collection. Only the contribution from Himmler’s “circle of friends” was the financing of part of the hasty return flight from India—the leg from Bagdad to Berlin—as the outbreak of war became imminent." (Engelhardt 2008: 77)
    5. Harrer was a member of the SS, this is true, but this was unknown until 1997, and unlike what the sensation seeking press wrongly claimed, Harrer was in no was an evil Nazi. Researcher Brauen (see: "Dreamworld Tibet", 2005) makes clear that Harrer was not involved in any war crime, and this his diaries (which are not available for the public) indicate in no way that he had racist or anti-Semitic ideas. He says: (freely translated): "In no passage of his diaries ... there is a passage which indicates him to be a National Socialist." Brauen states that Harrer could be portrayed as an opportunist but not that type of convinced Nazi the press wrongly portrayed him.
    6. Harrer met the Dalai Lama after the war in Spring 1950 and their contact ceased about October 1950. The "teaching period" of Harrer to the Dalai Lama was mainly in June-August 1950. All assumptions he could have influenced the Dalai Lama with Nazi ideology are unproven and very unlikely assumptions of some conspiracy theorists.
    7. Since the Dalai Lama has no Nazi concordant ideas there is no need for him to distance from these. One should also not fish in the muddy waters of the Shambala Myth conspiracy theorists without understanding its background properly. As a start see Berzin's "Holy Wars in Buddhism and Islam: The Myth of Shambhala": www.berzinarchives.com/web/x/...11.html
    8. Since Harrer is a human being who had not expressed Nazi ideology there is no need for the Dalai Lams to distance from him or these assumed Nazi ideas some imply to Harrer.
    9. The Beger issue is a bit more complex. That he was invited was just to a lack of knowledge of his background. But one should also think about the fact that there is no need for a holy being to reject people who have a dubious past; to do so might be the policy of "political correctness" but not of a Bodhisattva or one who follows the Bodhisattva's ideal.

Someone suggested in the discussion of this issue the German saying: "Show me your friends and I tell you who you are."—of course he meant, if the Dalai Lama has Nazis as friends he must be somewhat wrong or even a Nazi himself.
    If among the thousands of contacts the Dalai Lama has 2-4 are with respect to some former Nazis* taking to mind that the Dalai Lama has a lot of Jews as friends too, he must be either confused or a holy being. It is common for holy beings that they do not care too much about the past of humans but do what ever they can to help them. And it is also the case that a Bodhisattva or a holy being does not abandon any being, this is his vow—as it was pointed out already.

*It might be good to understand too that quite a lot of Germans and non-Germans were Nazis and there were a lot people who were members of the SS (due to different reasons and among them outstanding persons like the German writer Gunther Grass who also kept this issue secret as Harrer did), and if they were not opportunists or did this due to support their career but because they were convinced Nazis, those people might have changed too after the war, and if not they are an object of compassion as every body else is. There is a underlying axiom here: Once a Nazi, forever a Nazi—which of course is quite simplistic.

The problem I see with this article which is meant as "Food For Thought" is, that it rides on wrong assertions and the theories of some pseudo-historians and conspiracy theorists and that it includes untruths and exaggerates events. For a Buddhist forum I feel this to be inappropriate but it could be that the background is just too complex to be grasped by a non-historian who lacks the understanding of the complex background and the prevailing myths spread all over the internet, news and dubious publications.

For a more reliable approach, which can be found online, I can recommend Jigme Dungtak's article:
    tibettalk.wordpress.com/2009/1...-tibet/

However, without respected academic sources (e.g. Engelhardt, Brauen etc) one will continue to paddle in the muddy waters of pseudo-historians and this is not Food For Though but Food For Delusions or just undigested ideas...

More information based on the Dalai Lama's connection's with fascism:

http://www.larouchepub.com/eiw/public/2008/2008_10-19/2008_10-19/2008-18/pdf/69-71_3518.pdf

And the reply that you quoted suggesting we shouldn't swim in murky waters:
    If one fishes in those muddy waters some of the mud might stick to the reader, but this is not the fault of the Tibetans but the reader and those who propound such falsities.

Is such utter toss. Basically your man is saying if you read something that paints Tibet in a bad light, its your fault for reading it. Essentially it is saying that critical discourse is not only not to be encouraged but to be actively condemned as something that could taint its participants and its readers. What a crock…

Do you believe that Tibet should be handed back to a dictator? Do Tibetans not have the right to self determination? Do you believe that homophobia should be encouraged under the Dalai Lama's rule?

Actually, can this be moved to the off topic section - not trying to clog the non unz unz unz section.

http://www.larouchepub.com/eiw/public/2008/2008_10-19/2008_10-19/2008-18/pdf/69-71_3518.pdf

Is such utter toss. Basically your man is saying if you read something that paints Tibet in a bad light, its your fault for reading it. Essentially it is saying that critical discourse is not only not to be encouraged but to be actively condemned as something that could taint its participants and its readers. What a crock…

Do you believe that Tibet should be handed back to a dictator? Do Tibetans not have the right to self determination? Do you believe that homophobia should be encouraged under the Dalai Lama's rule?

Actually, can this be moved to the off topic section - not trying to clog the non unz unz unz section.

Wo there andy, i think you need a few sessions of meditation, crossed legs wrapped in a robe to release that simmering discontent:D

No discontent here, cynicism maybe but it hasn't done me any harm in the past.

cynicism maybe .

A direct by product of being locked in a wardrobe with 'hardcore you know the score' on repeat on your stereo with a bottle of water & a load of doves shíttíng on you :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,614 ✭✭✭es-cee

A direct by product of being locked in a wardrobe with 'hardcore you know the score' on repeat on your stereo with a bottle of water & a load of doves shíttíng on you :D

funny you should mention that key, a lad i was on a session with about a year ago, locked himself in a wardrobe while out of his head on mdma. thought every1 was laughin at him, think he was right :D

Where'd the new thread title come from? I preferred the last one even though I can't remember what it was. Damn that Mary Jane :mad:

Reefer Madness

• Registered Users Posts: 583 ✭✭✭cranky bollix

ianuss wrote: »
    Fairly underwhelming stuff :(. Hope it sounds better live.

agreed but its kinda hard to tell from the little snippets

can someone point me to some of his well known/good stuff

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

I've still to listen to Kalkbrenner, despite numerous mentions from Mr Old Gregg to do so! I've had a serious drought lately in terms of new music, funds just not stretching far enough at the moment and the credit card is having none of it.

agreed but its kinda hard to tell from the little snippets

can someone point me to some of his well known/good stuff

Check out the soundtrack to Berlin Calling

love this one too.....

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

I tried to move the posts and ended up with one big long feck off post that was becoming a new thread in itself, then I almost deleted this thread and finally all of boards, which was when I gave up with the task... I'll go back to chapter 93 in the mods handbook where from what I can remember they cover administrative tasks such as this.