Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

You are not a f*cking DJ. You’re an overpaid, untalented, cake-throwing c*nt.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Wow, amazing the way it shunted the thing around, I thought the back wing would have just broken off. Imagine being in the front of that jet and being flung like that! Ouch!

I wonder who got the blame? I'm guessing the jet was not far forward enough, the A380 would usually follow a strict path while taxi-ing (sp)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

I couldn't even click the link cos my flying anxiety would kick into overdrive and I'd be forced to up the xanax dose for next months flights :(

• Registered Users Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Can't watch the clip cos I'm work, but on the subject of plane related "incidents", did anybody see the photos of the English UKIP politician Nigel Farage when the plane he was in crashed while he was doing electoral promotion? He survived the crash but it was scary stuff.

for the love of the divine baby jesus and his blessed virgin mother, would people please stop talking about plane crashes, I'll be like Keith frickin' Richards going through Dubtown airport from all the benzos I'll have to swallow :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭ianuss

Note to self - don't steal when the worlds media is watching you

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Can't watch the clip cos I'm work, but on the subject of plane related "incidents", did anybody see the photos of the English UKIP politician Nigel Farage when the plane he was in crashed while he was doing electoral promotion? He survived the crash but it was scary stuff.

Just read about it now - very lucky escape alright. Don't read this Gregg http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/politics/article7117971.ece

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

I was on a flight a few weeks back and just as it was approaching the runway in Dublin airport, the feckin thing goes full throttle back up into the air - I mean the runway looked just below and off we went again up into the air at what seemed like top speed... people were just sort of looking at each other, probably hoping someone would offer up a reason as to what had happened! Eventually as we were up at a much higher altitude, the pilot announced that there was another plane on the runway so he had to go up again. I have to say, the older I get, the more scared of flying I become!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

I was on a flight a few weeks back and just as it was approaching the runway in Dublin airport, the feckin thing goes full throttle back up into the air - I mean the runway looked just below and off we went again up into the air at what seemed like top speed... people were just sort of looking at each other, probably hoping someone would offer up a reason as to what had happened! Eventually as we were up at a much higher altitude, the pilot announced that there was another plane on the runway so he had to go up again. I have to say, the older I get, the more scared of flying I become!

That would scare the shíte outta ya alright, only time anything hairy happened on a plane was when we were coming into land in dublin & the wind was blowing hard, plane was being tossed about so much he was off trajectory (just thought i would throw in an aviation word) & had to pull up also to circle for another go at landing, not great but i was calm enough from the jameson:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭Clanket

I have to say, the older I get, the more scared of flying I become!

Defo. Have lost my nerve for flying the last few years and I loved it as a kid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭SteoL

LOL I'd sh!t meself alright if that happened.

And I think it is safe to say the older we get the wussier we become :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Android 666

I don't really get the fear of flying, besides the statistical proof that it's the safest way to travel if it does crash it's instant death - not going to be too much suffering and you'll probably be passed out anyways from lack of oxygen so happy days! Better than wasting your last days in a nursing home, pooing into a nappy if you ask me.

Not willing a plane crash mind…

That would scare the shíte outta ya alright, only time anything hairy happened on a plane was when we were coming into land in dublin & the wind was blowing hard, plane was being tossed about so much he was off trajectory (just thought i would throw in an aviation word) & had to pull up also to circle for another go at landing, not great but i was calm enough from the jameson:D

I keep an eye now on the air hostesses to see how they are reacting, if they look worried then I know there is a problem!

Another flight actually back in about 2000 over to Cancun with my wife (or my then girlfriend as I was only 24) - it was with bloody Aeroflot and felt like I was boarding a 1970s bus. We had to stop over in Florida for refueling and they announced before we started to descend that steam might come from the air vents on approach - sure enough it started pumping out of the vents and was still frightening regardless of having being made aware. Ah the days of the celtic tiger and jetting off to tropical destinations...

• Registered Users Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

SteoL wrote: »
    And I think it is safe to say the older we get the wussier we become :P
    That's why they send young guys to fight in wars. Too dumb to realise how dangerous it is. Plus they've a lot less to lose.

I don't really get the fear of flying, besides the statistical proof that it's the safest way to travel if it does crash it's instant death - not going to be too much suffering and you'll probably be passed out anyways from lack of oxygen so happy days! Better than wasting your last days in a nursing home, pooing into a nappy if you ask me.

I don't like take off, find it hard to look out the window and the ground becoming further below - then through the clouds with turbulence etc, don't mind so much once up and cruising. I fly pretty often and this fear has happened more lately than anything, must be age - plus I think the fact that you've no control, I know its a safe method of travel and stats prove that but if something did go wrong, you are completely in the hands of the pilot.

funny thing is, my concern about flying came after travelling all over the world as a kid and adult and never having a bad experience. It came about while I was leaving on my honeymon (to Venice) and I heard some scrote behind me saying something along the lines of 'my dad's a pilot and he says if that bolt falls out then the wing will come loose'. Logic tells me this is bullcrap. However. Ever since then I've insisted on xanax and red wine on flights.

I still fly all over the gaff and have yet to have an actual threatening experience. If something like what Scuba has described happened then I'd likely have a spontaneous bowel release and accompanying melt-down. I jest not. The very act of typing this has my heart racing and I'll likely be out to the quack for extra xanax before flying to Berlin again next month. Still, it's never gonna beat me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭Clanket

For me it's the thought of the time you have between knowing it's going down and actually crashing. That would be the worst period of time possible.

Clanket wrote: »
    For me it's the thought of the time you have between knowing it's going down and actually crashing. That would be the worst period of time possible.

But realistically, it's only going to be a couple of minutes at most. What's a couple of minutes between friends…

old gregg wrote: »
    However. Ever since then I've insisted on xanax and red wine on flights.

Ahh ye, thats the reason for the xanex & red wine when flying, of course;);)

I only ever took ecstasy because i felt nervous going down the steps into the basement of the ASYLUM cause it was dark:D;);)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭SteoL

I only ever took ecstasy because i felt nervous going down the steps into the basement of the ASYLUM cause it was dark:D;);)

LOL :D

I only ever took it because the Reiki wasn't doing any good for my sinuses…

frickin' well. just like the only reason you'd take speed is cos you can't afford the bus fare and are in a hurry :p

I only ever took it because the Reiki wasn't doing any good for my sinuses

Wasnt evver into snorting E's meself:p

• Registered Users Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

Would people be up for a thread where we put up our discogs collections & wishlists, and people can sell vinyl they don't want to other people that are looking for them?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

not to be a knocker frankie, but why not just use discogs itself for this?

I'm reminded of the time I faced a herd of charging Rhino during an ambient gig out on the Serengeti.

Has anyone else ever faced certain death and lived to tell the tale?

I'm reminded of the time I faced a herd of charging Rhino during an ambient gig out on the Serengeti.

I once stood on the very edge of the roof of the hotel in the centre of rathmines at 7am mad out of it on loads of doves looking six storey straight down, i also stood on the edge of a pier at about 4am with no barrier where the river that exited from onshore went booting out to sea on a couple of penguin acid with some major trippy sounds on a radio,

Do they count:D

I once ate too many potatoes in a restaurant. I was so bloated I thought I would die… I'm okay now.

I've had a couple of really near misses with cars on country roads but that's about it I think. Haven't wet myself yet…

Did you know that for a lot of people public speaking ranks higher than a fear of death? What's that about? Admittedly my midlands accent means that most people can't follow what I'm saying so they can't tell if I'm making a fool of myself but I really never understood that fear at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

My closest near-death experience was when I was 20. Driving up the strawberry beds hill by the angler's rest around 6:30 in the evening. Shelbourne were playing some match in the Uefa cup or something so the whole pub was just infested with done-up micras and scangers in soccer jerseys.
    As I pass the pub I notice some fella up the road pulling the bricks off the wall. Before I know what's going on, he's running towards the car and chucks one point-blank at the windscreen at the driver's side. It goes over the car (because of the angle of the hill) and hits the bonnet of the one behind. Then he threw the second one in the back window while chasing me along. If I hadn't dropped gear and put my foot down about a microsecond before he would have got me with this rock of a thing (it's an old stone wall that he pulled them from).

I drove to the top of the hill with my adrenalin at the highest level I think I'll ever experience while he was trying to drag the fella out of the car behind me. He managed to lock the door and follow me up the hill. Rang the guards, and they caught him about 200m away down on the chapelizod side of the hill. They gave me and the other driver an escort down the hill to identify him in the van.

Just a sadistic piece of random violence by a guy who was deliberately out to harm someone seriously.

Don't know for sure what happened after that, but I was told I would only need to show up in court if he pleaded not-guilty. Never heard anything about it since.

Freaky bloody experience though.