Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish people. What do foreign people think of us?

• Registered Users Posts: 890 ✭✭✭l3LoWnA

teacher30 wrote: »
    I do agree with you - parenting is so important and parents are a major influence on their childrens' behaviour. I have come across amny well-mannered Irish kids but sadly i've had encounters with many more of "the other kind"!! lol. Your children are a credit to you and their good manners will take them far in life. Please send them to my school!! :-) :)

My child is no better than any average Irish child though. She mostly has good basic general manners but she also has her moments, like any child. She's extremely confident and if she spots something wrong she will point it out, regardless (ie. she asked my aunt today why she was wearing sandals when it was raining) She creates the odd cringeworthy moment, but on the whole, I'm pleased with her manners so far :) Did you teach the same age-group in England?? Were you alot younger then? Maybe it's more to do with the age-group you are teaching now and your own age than the kids themselves? You teach teenagers *shudder* rather you than me! I know that once I passed 3rd year there was far more respect between teachers/students but from 1st year - 3rd year there was attitude and confusion all around!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭teacher30

l3LoWnA wrote: »
    My child is no better than any average Irish child though. She mostly has good basic general manners but she also has her moments, like any child. She's extremely confident and if she spots something wrong she will point it out, regardless (ie. she asked my aunt today why she was wearing sandals when it was raining) She creates the odd cringeworthy moment, but on the whole, I'm pleased with her manners so far :) Did you teach the same age-group in England?? Were you alot younger then? Maybe it's more to do with the age-group you are teaching now and your own age than the kids themselves? You teach teenagers *shudder* rather you than me! I know that once I passed 3rd year there was far more respect between teachers/students but from 1st year - 3rd year there was attitude and confusion all around!

I absolutely agree with you; upto 3rd year you have to be more "teachery" with the pupils and after that there is a more relaxed atmosphere...but still have to be on the ball!! :)

Yeah, i had the same age group in th UK. My school was very mixed b ut i must admit that i found the English kids easier to work with, but that was just my experience, another person might think the opposite!! :) lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Ricardo G wrote: »
    Shur if thats the case i can tell you 2 or 3 stories about Irish Kids.... lol theres good and bad kids everywhere, all i'm saying is English kids seem to have more manners than Irish kids. And its not stereotypical regarding foul mouthed parents in Ireland, spend a week in Tramore, Bray, Salthill etc on holidays if you'd like a sample

I can say the exact same thing about England and France and Germany and Spain and on and on of the families i have been around and their kids ;)

Typical to only listen to the bad when the good out weighs it.Only bad gets talked about and noticed more than the good.

pick pick pick lol

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 444 ✭✭RainbowRose81

Well, I have foreign friends and they like irish people and find them good but they think they drink too much and are foolish. One of my friends is italian, she didn't really like dublin so she left after a year, she didn't find much irish men that nice finding them hard to talk to etc. Well alot of irish men are quiet and women have to do all the work and italian women would be traditional, im not sure but im guessing. Well if i was a foriegner i would like ireland, the countryside, many of the people are good especially the older generations. but many got in to money and became greedy, materialistic and wern't conscientious and didnt use the moral compass as much as they would have liked. The foriengers think that irish culture is about drinking no its not, Ireland has a very rich culture of music, art literature. Drinking is sad whats drinking doing, getting drunk really pointless.

I absolutely agree with you; upto 3rd year you have to be more "teachery" with the pupils and after that there is a more relaxed atmosphere...but still have to be on the ball!! :)

Yeah, i had the same age group in th UK. My school was very mixed b ut i must admit that i found the English kids easier to work with, but that was just my experience, another person might think the opposite!! :) lol

I think alot of teachers and schools in Ireland EXPECT the worst from teenagers, I was an intelligent child/teenager but I received no respect from teachers whatsoever until Transition Year when everything changed. Was the ethos in the English school a little more geared towards respecting the kids opinions ideas and feelings? This may be what caused the difference, as I don't believe 12 - 15 year-olds get much respect from teachers in Ireland. (a massive generalisation I know, but going on my own experience)

Once, when I was 12 (in 1st year) I put up my hand and when the teacher let me speak I asked if I could close the door as there was a draft. She must have presumed I was bring cheeky, which I was not, I was just bloody cold and she angrily responded saying "why don't you stand in the door, and you can block the draft" (I was a 12 year old girl, fresh into secondary school, carrying some "puppy fat" and with massive confidence issues) Such. A. Bitch! I would never let her know, but the comment actually upset me so much, not because she was insinuating that I was overweight, but because she ridiculed me on front of my peers, on purpose and without reason. She too was overweight and I'd imagine, picking on a child made her feel good about herself.

• Registered Users Posts: 378 ✭✭gagomes

Well, I have foreign friends and they like irish people and find them good but they think they drink too much and are foolish. One of my friends is italian, she didn't really like dublin so she left after a year, she didn't find much irish men that nice finding them hard to talk to etc. Well alot of irish men are quiet and women have to do all the work and italian women would be traditional, im not sure but im guessing. Well if i was a foriegner i would like ireland, the countryside, many of the people are good especially the older generations. but many got in to money and became greedy, materialistic and wern't conscientious and didnt use the moral compass as much as they would have liked. The foriengers think that irish culture is about drinking no its not, Ireland has a very rich culture of music, art literature. Drinking is sad whats drinking doing, getting drunk really pointless.

Sadly, but what I see the more I walk the streets of Dublin (or Galway, for that matter), are Guiness and Jameson ads; It's not the ads about James Joyce, Oscar Wilde, Riverdance or Dubliners (unless I happen to be in a library or music shop). In other words, Irish have cultivated a culture around drinks and drinking, so now it's a bit late to pretend otherwise and try to call attention for other side aspects of this country.

As a foreign in this country who considers it his favorite country (more than home country) I find that if you're not into drinking, there's very little to do. You'll also not gonna be able to socialise or 'ave the craic as much as if you drink. This is possibly one of my largest pet peeves about Dublin. There's little social avenues for non-drinkers. And by non-drinkers, I mean by those who don't drink heavily or to the subtle point of 'happiness'. For instance, one night I was in the temple bar and drinking a glass of vodka and this irish lad came to me and asked me "Is that drink water?" but almost cracking himself up. So what if it was water, less brownie points for drinking something without alcohol?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭IzzyWizzy

One thing that bugs me to the core is "you are English?" or "are you English" whilst on holidays in Spain..... Went there for a week a fortnight ago and was asked god knows how many times ! Not that i have anything against the English but why foreigners always assume you are English is beyond me :(.

So...you speak English and you go to a place frequented by English tourists, and you wonder why people think you're English? Really? If you hear someone speaking French, do you think they're probably Belgian or Swiss, or do you think they're French? It's just natural for people to assume you're from the most obvious country, usually the one whose language you're speaking, it's nothing personal. Scottish and Welsh people get the same thing in Spain, Canadians in Mexico get people thinking they're Americans etc. It's not that easy for non-native speakers to tell the difference between accents.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

IzzyWizzy wrote: »
    So...you speak English and you go to a place frequented by English tourists, and you wonder why people think you're English? Really? If you hear someone speaking French, do you think they're probably Belgian or Swiss, or do you think they're French? It's just natural for people to assume you're from the most obvious country, usually the one whose language you're speaking, it's nothing personal. Scottish and Welsh people get the same thing in Spain, Canadians in Mexico get people thinking they're Americans etc. It's not that easy for non-native speakers to tell the difference between accents.

Its annoying that your automatically assumed English!! Thats the point i'm making, is it hard to ask where someone is from rather than assume ?????

But they are asking??? They ask "are you English" and presume you'll respond saying either "yes" or "no, I am..." etc

If you met a Canadian would you say "where are you from" ?? I bet most Irish people would ask them are they American rather than "where are you from"? It's just what people presume, it's nothing to get angry about.

Its annoying that your automatically assumed English!!

The thing is, you speak ENGLISH!!! You could avoid the problem by becoming fluent in our native language and refusing to speak English on foreign soil, therefore avoiding being mistaken as English?!?

l3LoWnA wrote: »
    I think alot of teachers and schools in Ireland EXPECT the worst from teenagers, I was an intelligent child/teenager but I received no respect from teachers whatsoever until Transition Year when everything changed. Was the ethos in the English school a little more geared towards respecting the kids opinions ideas and feelings? This may be what caused the difference, as I don't believe 12 - 15 year-olds get much respect from teachers in Ireland. (a massive generalisation I know, but going on my own experience)

Once, when I was 12 (in 1st year) I put up my hand and when the teacher let me speak I asked if I could close the door as there was a draft. She must have presumed I was bring cheeky, which I was not, I was just bloody cold and she angrily responded saying "why don't you stand in the door, and you can block the draft" (I was a 12 year old girl, fresh into secondary school, carrying some "puppy fat" and with massive confidence issues) Such. A. Bitch! I would never let her know, but the comment actually upset me so much, not because she was insinuating that I was overweight, but because she ridiculed me on front of my peers, on purpose and without reason. She too was overweight and I'd imagine, picking on a child made her feel good about herself.

Hi there. Sorry i went to sleep after my last post last night!

Some teachers are down right nasty, and that experience you had with that teacher is unforgiveable. I had a PE teacher who was just the same. She called me fat, a wolly, stupid etc. and i've never forgotten it. I met her in town in a bookshop about two yrs ago. I asked if she rememebered me. She said 'no'. That was my chance! I said: Well, i remember you. You used to call me "bla bla bla..."... and i've never forgotten it. Glad to hear you've retired, you were a nasty piece of work! ... She nearly fell over but i felt great after it. She was mortified. Teachers can make a big difference in the life of a kid and they can damage people too :(

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 20,650 CMod ✭✭✭✭amdublin

caseyann wrote: »
    My kids every where they go are wanted by everyone else and consider mine better mannered then theirs abroad they are adored.

This is just your opinion.

Chances are people are just being polite telling you what you want to hear.

amdublin wrote: »

Sorry for you,you would be mistaken,they praise them in school for their manners also for their personalities,Very proud of them and who they are.:) Called bringing them up right :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 20,650 CMod ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Sorry for you,you would be mistaken,they praise them in school for their manners also for their personalities,Very proud of them and who they are.:) Called bringing them up right :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Well they either say these things to her or they don't - opinion doesn't really have anything to do with it.

Have you ever seen a really bold child and the mother is oblivious to it. People saying things like "eh, he's a right little character isn't he" and "oh he knows what he wants alright". The mother goes home to tell her partner everyone loved the kid. Everyone else breathes a sigh of relief that the child is gone and talks about what a bold brat he was.

Opinion based on what people said when they didn't mean a word of it.

I'm just saying like.

• Registered Users Posts: 365 ✭✭shofukan

The one question that constantly comes up more than any other when I'm abroad is 'Are you in the IRA?'

I think that says a lot about us..

Um... it says that the IRA are Irish and a lot of people abroad are ignorant. Mother of Christ, it just keeps on getting better...

Have you ever seen a really bold child and the mother is oblivious to it. People saying things like "eh, he's a right little character isn't he" and "oh he knows what he wants alright". The mother goes home to tell her partner everyone loved the kid. Everyone else breathes a sigh of relief that the child is gone and talks about what a bold brat he was.

Opinion based on what people said when they didn't mean a word of it.

I'm just saying like.

Hi amdublin
    Ha ha, oh iknow exactly what you mean! At parent-teacher meetings, i've learned to tell parents: "oh she's a great girl, a credit to you!" even if they're little *****. Most teachers tell parents that to get thewm off their backs! I do it anyway!!

• Registered Users Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Plenty have never heard of us and have no concept of where we are, in my experience.

Hi amdublin
    Ha ha, oh iknow exactly what you mean! At parent-teacher meetings, i've learned to tell parents: "oh she's a great girl, a credit to you!" even if they're little *****. Most teachers tell parents that to get thewm off their backs! I do it anyway!!

Thats unprofessional.And isnt helping the kids:rolleyes:

That's life :rolleyes: Parents don't want to hear the truth about their little darlings ;)

Fact.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Plenty have never heard of us and have no concept of where we are, in my experience.
    yep! alot of canadians thought it was near Australia from my experience

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭GizAGoOfYerGee

I´ve been living in Spain for 3 years.

I have to say that the majority of people I have met here are under the impression that Irish people are of Anglo or English decent and that both islands are one country. They often say "English people" or "England" to refer to everyone in the Isles.

It can be annoying at times, but in fairness, we speak the same, look the same and act the same, so one can´t really blame them for assuming these things.

I often speak Irish with two other friends over here (we all went to Irish school), and the Spaniards are always intriuged and are very open to learning more about the language and Irish culture in general.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

We're gradually gaining an English-style reputation abroad, and its not just scumbags who are misbehaving abroad. I was honestly shocked to read about the posher 'fee paying school' crew who were acting up when on their drunken holidays which daddy kindly paid for.

One of my friends was personally told by an on duty police man in Santa Barbera, California: 'We're sick to death of the Irish here, they create so much trouble here every summer. We'd love to get rid of you'...

Gone is the day when all this 'slainte have a nice day' bollox was the norm abroad. Perhaps its for the better too.

Hi amdublin
    Do your obvious misanthropic tendencies feature much in your day to day life? Fantastic attitude for a teacher btw...
    That's life :rolleyes: Parents don't want to hear the truth about their little darlings ;)

Fact.
    I'm sure something isn't a fact just because you say it is, no.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

A lot of foreign people I've met see us as a nation of heavy drinkers. That seems to be the most prevalent thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

The-Rigger wrote: »
    That reminds me of cashier in Budapest who got angry when i didnt speak to him:

'oh, that island off the coast of Europe'

Fact.

Fact when any of mine were bold in school i was told :rolleyes: as is any other mother and father told,thats called parent teacher meetings.
    Its then up to the parents how they want to take it.That's called a good teacher.
    Mine might be my little darling,but if they are any way bold i will deal with it.Anyway i dont care what your comments are i worked with kids from two different schools in space of five years and they were all decent polite and respectable kids.
    And don't insinuate my friends or relations lie to me because they dont,they are not back stabbing assholes.:)

Fact when any of mine were bold in school i was told :rolleyes: as is any other mother and father told,thats called parent teacher meetings.
    Its then up to the parents how they want to take it.That's called a good teacher.
    mine my be my little darling,but if they are any way bold i will deal with it.Anyway i dont care what your comments are i worked with kids from two different schools in space of five years and they where all decent polite and respectable kids.
    And don't insinuate my friends or relations lie to me because they dont,they are not back stabbing assholes.:)

You're entitled to your opinion. And I'm entitled to mine. And I'm entitled to express it.