Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*Limerick GAA news/discussion thread*

• Registered Users Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Would prefer Dempsey to king but glad to see rotation at least - good

Downes and dowling in the right lines - good

Allis will move out so we're already set up for a 3rd midfielder - good

Would prefer tomas ryan as an out an out 3rd midfielder though rather than having jimbob or reidy coming deep.

Who's our second choice CB?

Mixed view... good to see King, unsure about O'Loughlin. Not against him or anything, just think it's a little odd he's being included now when they were looking at Condon as a full-back earlier, and we still have Richie Mc. Wouldn't mind seeing Condon flanked by the two Na Piarsaigh lads if McCarthy is out of form.

And Allis is never going to stay inside, but would think he'll move to half-forward rather than midfield, but maybe. I'd actually like to see Allis sweeping around that area as Hannon might. Leave two men inside. Hopefully one of the more mobile players goes up against Tannian, as I think Tannian will beat Jim Bob.

No idea who our 2nd centre-back is...you'd imagine Dodge, but how can you tell?

Harsh on Murphy imo. I'd have started him.
    francozola wrote: »
    Don't know what to make of the subs:
    16. Aaron Murphy (Hospital/Herbertstown), 17. Stephen Walsh (Glenroe), 18. Mark Carmody (Patrickswell), 19. Richie McCarthy (Blackrock), 20. Dan Morrissey (Ahane), 21. Alan Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh), 22. Thomas Ryan (South Liberties), 23. Michael Ryan (Doon). 24. William Hickey (South Liberties), 25. Thomas O Brien (Patrickswell) and 26. Tommy Quaid (Effin).

Doesn't seem to be much of a forward threat to be had.
    Is Tobin injured, surely a better option than Ryan/Quaid to be on the subs.

Is Richie Mc no longer flavour of the month?

Pretty clear we will line up with Allis as a third man midfielder. Who knows they may surprise us all and go a two man full forward line of Downes and Dowling, bring out Mulcahy at half forward and have Allis roam.

One thing we need is 99-100% accuracy from free taking.

Tobin is surely injured.

McCarthy might have a knock...

I wouldn't mind seeing that (2 NaP men inside) but I think Downes is needed at half-forward because we won't have many ballwinners there.

And Dowling should deliver accuracy from frees, in fairness to him, he is normally very reliable. Should be a good contest.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

.o grady hasnt the pace for 9 but supfer reading and hurling and played at cenre back.Thats why he will be centre back.Ryan is yere pace and runner in the middle.

Turned the game the last day there though... you'd wonder whether Ryan has the application for this level. I really hope he does.

I think most people would like to see Dodge tried at centre-back but TJ and O'Grady seem to be set on Wayne. Bit mad really that they haven't tried anyone else.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Fireball07 wrote: »
    Turned the game the last day there though... you'd wonder whether Ryan has the application for this level. I really hope he does.

I think most people would like to see Dodge tried at centre-back but TJ and O'Grady seem to be set on Wayne. Bit mad really that they haven't tried anyone else.

When. Hickey and hannon back?

Who knows with Hannon now, new injury... I doubt we'll see him before the Championship.

Hickey was June, I think... be hard-pressed to get a starting spot too.

• Registered Users Posts: 819 ✭✭✭glasagusban

I like the look of that team more than any other team used in the league so far. Presumably we'll be playing with a two man full forward line and Allis will be out around half forward?

King finally getting a run at corner back where I'd like to see him start come summer. Versatile player who I rate highly, I think that's his position at this level. Dempsey must be wondering what he has to do to get a game. O'Loughlin full back again, big chance for him. I hope/presume this is due to injury to Richie and not that he's out of favour. I would still see Condon as the back up full back but this a chance to change that. Same half back line as the whole league, not a fan of that but management have fairly nailed their colours to the mast with these three. Downes at wing forward is unusual. No doubt he can play there but if he's in the half forward line I'd have him centre where he can be involved more and run at goal. He's probably our biggest goal threat so I'd prefer him at 11 if not on the inside line. Presumably our ff line will be dowling and mulcahy. If not it'll be interesting to see if Allis can make a fist of corner forward, it's a position up for grabs. We'll see where dowling is at too.

A real shame about Hannon. Hopefully it's not a major setback.

Can't forget the footballers, have a vital league game away to Offaly. If they lose, they're probably going to be relegated. It really is must-win.

Team named:

1. Donal O'Sullivan
    2. Colm Moran
    3. Johnny McCarthy
    4. Mark O'Riordan
    5. Mike Sheahan
    6. Paudie Browne
    7. Pa Ranahan
    8. Tom Lee
    9. Iain Corbett
    10. Gearoid Hegarty
    11. Danny Neville
    12. Seanie Buckley
    13. Eoin Hanrahan
    14. Ger Collins
    15. Ian Ryan

Bench:
    16. Brian Scanlon
    17. Sean O'Dea
    18. James O'Meara
    19. Stephen Lucey
    20. John Riordan
    21. John Galvin
    22. Micheal Brosnan
    23. John Mullane
    24. Cian Sheehan

Lots of changes, not sure what to make of the starting lineup. Would be surprised if they started like that, they've made lots of changes before every game to date. Lucey should probably be starting in defence, and Galvin in midfield, although if both have fitness doubts, then it may be more understandable.

But we've only named 24 players and O'Carroll, Phair, Fitzgibbon, Treacy, Phair, McCarthy and Noonan aren't even named on the bench- I'd expect some of them feature. Still no sign of Eoghan or Derry O'Connor; or Bobby O'Brien.

Doubt Iain Corbett will start midfield, need ballwinners in that area- if it was that starting lineup, then Hegarty or Buckley may drop back. Wouldn't be surprised if we went with 2 men inside- Ryan and Collins, with Boris Hanrahan coming out to the half-forward line to help inject a bit of pace. Danny Neville is a good player, hopefully he can get a space to get on the scoresheet.

Defenders are all good individual players, but as a unit, have had a few problems, when run at directly with pace, Lucey can act as a plug to that hole, so I'm a bit surprised he hasn't started. I'd expect Johnny McCarthy to pick up Niall McNamee.

Offaly are pointless, and haven't looked great, but we can't underestimate them. Need to be clinical and hopefully it will be enough to stay up, because I don't much fancy our chances of beating Cavan next weekend.

Looking at the Galway team named:

Colm Callanan; Fergal Moore, Ronan Burke, Johnny Coen; David Collins, Iarla Tannian, Daithi Burke; David Burke, Padraig Brehony; Aidan Harte, Niall Burke, Niall Healy; Jonathan Glynn, Conor Cooney, Cathal Mannion.

No Joe Canning, no Damien Hayes, no Andy Smyth, no Gearoid McInerney, no Jason Flynn... I wouldn't be surprised if there was a change or two to the team, but Canning is carrying an injury apparently.

It's not a team that would strike fear into the hearts of the opposition, but there are some good hurlers though. Johnny Glynn is an absolute beast, a great ball-winner... if they play him at centre-forward, he'll be a big test for Wayne, if they play him inside, he'll be a big threat. I'd nearly have selected Richie Mc for his aerial ability alone, he rarely lets a man catch a clean ball.

In Cooney, Burke, Harte, they have forwards with talent but who have often failed to deliver at the highest level. Cooney has been on free-taking duties this year and has actually stepped up a lot... and while Niall Burke hasn't stepped up at senior level as some may have thought, no one in Limerick is going to forget how he absolutely destroyed our U-21s in 2011.

Mannion is a very good hurler, very lively player; and Niall Healy has been superb in pretty much every game, they'd be the main threats imo and I wouldn't be overly confident about nullifying them with the way we've defended, particularly if they can feed off the big men- Glynn and Cooney.

Defensively, Ronan Burke seems to have solved their full-back problem, Iarla Tannian hasn't quite solved the centre-back problem and can be exposed by a mobile centre-forward. Daithi Burke is a very good player, who is growing into his role at senior level and the corner-backs are solid, although Coen may be better out the field. Keeper is good but puckouts can be targeted imo.

On paper, I think we're good enough to win definitely... on the field is another matter completely. At our best, I do think we're a better team than Galway, but the only time we've showed anything like our best this year is 50 mins with 14 men against Cork and maybe the 2nd half against Antrim. In Downes, Dowling, Mulcahy... we have three top forwards on the pitch, we have Paul Browne in unbelievable form in midfield and we have the likes of O'Brien, O'Mahony, Condon who are tough, experienced backs. If we play smart hurling and show intelligence in our movement and distribution, we'll win. I'm not sure we will do that though.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭paddy no 11

Think we win this (by 2)

separately bit of a rumour about a dispute in camp, might return to it after todays game (might be total ballix too)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭chases0102

Limerick toothless. Galway emptying the bench with a bit to go.

Gone miles back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭Hanalei

Not looking good at the moment. Cork today showing they are 1A class and Limerick showing that they are not.... Looks like Waterford will be joining us in 1B next season.

What an absolute disaster of a game that was. The tactics from the management were just inept, and the inactivity on the touchline was just shocking. How can two intelligent men like TJ and Donal O'Grady look at that game and persist? I know we didn't have much in the way of subs, but change it up a bit.

I'm really annoyed over that, I'll post in detail later, but Galway are just leagues ahead at playing the kind of game that we want to play. The touch of the Limerick players is way off where it should be, the tactics aren't up to scratch at the moment, and it doesn't look like we a secondary plan or anything.

Cork's poor campaign ended in promotion and they stepped it up today by all accounts. Offaly lost to Antrim today, and we couldn't even hold onto a lead against them to go up...... Galway best us handily and that has to be the wake-up call we need to change things around. Because the players are there.

The only saving grace for this sporting weekend, which has been a disaster, is that the footballers beat Offaly by a point and that's enough to keep them in Division 3 for another year. Left it late, but that's mission accomplished.

Lots to work on, we shouldn't be getting hammered by a weakened Fermanagh at home, and Roscommon also beat us handily enough but we did well to dig deep against Wexford and today against Offaly, were unlucky not to beat Sligo; and now we can play with the pressure off against Cavan who have a 100% record. Just give it our best shot, see what happens.

First things first - there is no reason Richie mac shouldn't be on the team, if the management have an issue they need to sort it out. He's the leader of the team and a physical player but traits were lacking today.Cop de fcuk on everybody.

We were annihilated in terms of physicality, Slower, weaker, simply miles behind.

We made massive mistakes in terms of selection and tactics and paid the price, management at fault. King is not a corner back. Defending 101 in the full back line is "stay the right side of your man" about 3 times in the first half king was the wrong side, one of those led directly to the penalty and we went from 3 points up to giving away a soft penalty and the match went with it.

Allis at corner forward, really? Everyone thought we were set up for a 3rd midfielder, and we did change galway were already 6 points up, galway left the extra man back and sailed to victory. Scandalous from the sideline.

Our CB had a nightmare today and we haven't tried anyone else all season.

The short passing was a disaster, skills and touch miles off.
    Simply a massive amount of work to be done.

Quaid - 2 saves, but the puck outs were poor, 2 over the sideline a 3rd straight to their CF contributed to the 2nd half meltdown, doesn't have murphys distance and the short passes aren't snappy enough, the receiving player should be catching them chest high not rising them off the ground, its supposed to be a "fast puck out"

king - not a corner back imo

POL - done ok, but McCarthy has to start

Condon - one of our consistently good players

POB - OK

Wayne - terrible touch, poor decision making, comprehensively beaten

GOM, one or two mistakes but was good that aside

Browne - good player but not all went his way today

DOG - the interception was brilliant and had some other good moments but 3 wides and one awful hand pass........

Downes - can take a score certain starter, but also dropped balls cold ala DOG/wayne

Jimbob, our best player on the day

Reidy - tried hard got a score, ok

Graeme done well to get a few scores, ridiculous in the 2nd hald when he was marked by 3 men and had no pass option!!!! still scored,

Good frees, didn't receive a good pass all day

Allis - not a CF, doesn't fight hard enough for me

Dempsey only positive contribution from the bench (take note management)

• Registered Users Posts: 165 ✭✭francozola

Quaid - Good saves, swept up well behind POL. Short puck are a disaster waiting to happen regardless who's goalie.
    King - Was happy to see picked, in hindsight perhaps throwing him in to start against 1A opposition. Perhaps better outfield, corner back a specialist position.
    POL - Out of depth, grand physically but poor on the ball.
    Condon - Best back on show.
    POB - Alright but not one of his better distribution days.
    Wayne - The wing looks like he's only position. The difference between him and Tannion on the ball was immense. Amazing management haven't tried anyone else out. Would give DO'G a go there.
    GOM - Typical performance.
    Browne - Not one of his better days but he has been propping DO'G in midfield all league campaign.
    DOG - Poor, in overall play. Position change may bring about better performances.
    Downes - Good performance, took the fight to Galway. Could have had 3 goals in the first half.
    Jimbob - Excellent, best player for Limerick.
    Reidy - Found it tough against 1A opposition, but the potential is there. Did well in general. Has vision, a wicked side step and will continue to grow.
    Graeme - Played well but smothered in second half.
    Dowling - Missed a couple of frees but in second half he was up against it as it didn't suit him.
    Allis - Not a CF, really odd decision to play him there in first half.

Terribly disappointing performance. Hard to see where the team go from here.

Okay, calmed down a bit. Here's my post-mortem, excuse the length (I imagine it will go on a bit).

We started well enough. The players looked well up for the game, fell behind to 2 points, but we got the next 5 or 6 points and looked sharp. Probably unlucky not to get a goal... Dowling's free came off the post and was flashed over the bar, Allis drove an angled shot just over and Dowling's 21-yard free was only narrowly over. We started with Allis at corner-forward which was a surprise, but it was the only time in the game where our forwards were really on top... Dowling got out in front once or twice, Downes and Jim Bob's direct running was causing problems. Galway had an extra man back in defence the whole time, they had Tannian and Harte both playing as centre-backs as far as I could see, one of them would drop behind and sweep, the other would pick up the man.

It was a good start, but then Galway started to cut through our defence at ease. They were winning every breaking ball... Brehony impressed me a lot, he came onto the ball at pace and ran at the heart of our defence. Healy & Burke did similar and Johnny Glynn was a real handful, he's a much better hurler now than he was even last year, even when he didn't win the ball clean, he held it up for an onrushing player to break onto it. I don't know who was at fault, it's something for video analysis really, but they were winning every breaking ball. And the goal chances started to come; we were doing the last-ditch defending very well, Browne and Dodge both did class hooks/blocks and Quaid made a fantastic save or two, but the goal finally came from a penalty.

And after that, we never really looked like winning. We were overplaying the ball at times, the pressure of Galway forwards was good, and we didn't have a free man enough times. The puck-outs started to go wrong, few went over the sideline, a few were dropped by the corner-backs/wing-backs and the half-forwards weren't winning it really- Downes wasn't utilised enough at all.

At half-time, I thought we had a chance if we could start well, but Galway were the ones who started well and they were completely dominant in the 2nd half really. Our touch was terrible, players weren't able to get the ball into their hands quick enough, loads of stray handpasses, short passes blocked down... couldn't win primary possession, therefore there were no frees, while Cooney was landing everything. They could have got another goal, but Quaid made another great save, he had a fine game in terms of shot-stopping and is still a commanding presence around the square.

But when we went to a 2-man full-forward line, it was a disaster. We had 4 lads milling around the half-forward line, none of them were winning the ball clean really. And then the passing inside was woeful, Mulcahy is never going to win a ball that's fired straight at him when he's marked by a corner-back, he's not physical enough. And then Dowling surrounded by 3 or 4 players and he's not the quickest either, you couldn't really blame him. I'm surprised they didn't put Downes in full-forward at some stage... the 2-man full-forward line didn't work at all. So many aimless balls hit to no one, which is supposed to be the complete antithesis to the style we're playing! The running and overlapping of our players isn't good enough really, in comparison to Galway anyway, who had corner-forwards peeling off and making diagonal runs the whole time.

We had nothing on the bench really, especially in an attacking sense. William Hickey is a committed player, but he's not a top intercounty forward. Dempsey was very good when he came on, but I couldn't understand why he came on for Browne, and Carmody did okay but hit one terrible ball to no one. But I'd have had Richie Mc on for sure, I'd have had Seanie Tobin in, Tom Ryan maybe..... but I'd have just re-arranged the shape of the team.

It's back to the drawing-board now, we know how far off the pace we are. And it's very far. If Offaly and Laois didn't tell us, then today did. We seriously have to work on the movement of our forwards, the puckouts should be a lot better, too many of our players don't like they're able to play the type of game we are trying to. I'm not saying that hit-and-hope long balls are the way forward either, they certainly didn't work today. Finding men in space is key...... but our players don't seem to move into space enough. I hope we turn it around, I really do..... Tipp looking to be stepping it up a bit, and they'll blow us away if we play like that. But we have 2 months to sort ourselves out, let's hope it's enough. O'Grady and TJ aren't fools, let's hope they're not stubborn either.

Fireball07 wrote: »
    Okay, calmed down a bit. Here's my post-mortem, excuse the length (I imagine it will go on a bit).

We started well enough. The players looked well up for the game, fell behind to 2 points, but we got the next 5 or 6 points and looked sharp. Probably unlucky not to get a goal... Dowling's free came off the post and was flashed over the bar, Allis drove an angled shot just over and Dowling's 21-yard free was only narrowly over. We started with Allis at corner-forward which was a surprise, but it was the only time in the game where our forwards were really on top... Dowling got out in front once or twice, Downes and Jim Bob's direct running was causing problems. Galway had an extra man back in defence the whole time, they had Tannian and Harte both playing as centre-backs as far as I could see, one of them would drop behind and sweep, the other would pick up the man.

It was a good start, but then Galway started to cut through our defence at ease. They were winning every breaking ball... Brehony impressed me a lot, he came onto the ball at pace and ran at the heart of our defence. Healy & Burke did similar and Johnny Glynn was a real handful, he's a much better hurler now than he was even last year, even when he didn't win the ball clean, he held it up for an onrushing player to break onto it. I don't know who was at fault, it's something for video analysis really, but they were winning every breaking ball. And the goal chances started to come; we were doing the last-ditch defending very well, Browne and Dodge both did class hooks/blocks and Quaid made a fantastic save or two, but the goal finally came from a penalty.

And after that, we never really looked like winning. We were overplaying the ball at times, the pressure of Galway forwards was good, and we didn't have a free man enough times. The puck-outs started to go wrong, few went over the sideline, a few were dropped by the corner-backs/wing-backs and the half-forwards weren't winning it really- Downes wasn't utilised enough at all.

At half-time, I thought we had a chance if we could start well, but Galway were the ones who started well and they were completely dominant in the 2nd half really. Our touch was terrible, players weren't able to get the ball into their hands quick enough, loads of stray handpasses, short passes blocked down... couldn't win primary possession, therefore there were no frees, while Cooney was landing everything. They could have got another goal, but Quaid made another great save, he had a fine game in terms of shot-stopping and is still a commanding presence around the square.

But when we went to a 2-man full-forward line, it was a disaster. We had 4 lads milling around the half-forward line, none of them were winning the ball clean really. And then the passing inside was woeful, Mulcahy is never going to win a ball that's fired straight at him when he's marked by a corner-back, he's not physical enough. And then Dowling surrounded by 3 or 4 players and he's not the quickest either, you couldn't really blame him. I'm surprised they didn't put Downes in full-forward at some stage... the 2-man full-forward line didn't work at all. So many aimless balls hit to no one, which is supposed to be the complete antithesis to the style we're playing! The running and overlapping of our players isn't good enough really, in comparison to Galway anyway, who had corner-forwards peeling off and making diagonal runs the whole time.

We had nothing on the bench really, especially in an attacking sense. William Hickey is a committed player, but he's not a top intercounty forward. Dempsey was very good when he came on, but I couldn't understand why he came on for Browne, and Carmody did okay but hit one terrible ball to no one. But I'd have had Richie Mc on for sure, I'd have had Seanie Tobin in, Tom Ryan maybe..... but I'd have just re-arranged the shape of the team.

It's back to the drawing-board now, we know how far off the pace we are. And it's very far. If Offaly and Laois didn't tell us, then today did. We seriously have to work on the movement of our forwards, the puckouts should be a lot better, too many of our players don't like they're able to play the type of game we are trying to. I'm not saying that hit-and-hope long balls are the way forward either, they certainly didn't work today. Finding men in space is key...... but our players don't seem to move into space enough. I hope we turn it around, I really do..... Tipp looking to be stepping it up a bit, and they'll blow us away if we play like that. But we have 2 months to sort ourselves out, let's hope it's enough. O'Grady and TJ aren't fools, let's hope they're not stubborn either.

The last sentence is the important one ther
    francozola wrote: »
    Quaid - Good saves, swept up well behind POL. Short puck are a disaster waiting to happen regardless who's goalie.
    King - Was happy to see picked, in hindsight perhaps throwing him in to start against 1A opposition. Perhaps better outfield, corner back a specialist position.
    POL - Out of depth, grand physically but poor on the ball.
    Condon - Best back on show.
    POB - Alright but not one of his better distribution days.
    Wayne - The wing looks like he's only position. The difference between him and Tannion on the ball was immense. Amazing management haven't tried anyone else out. Would give DO'G a go there.
    GOM - Typical performance.
    Browne - Not one of his better days but he has been propping DO'G in midfield all league campaign.
    DOG - Poor, in overall play. Position change may bring about better performances.
    Downes - Good performance, took the fight to Galway. Could have had 3 goals in the first half.
    Jimbob - Excellent, best player for Limerick.
    Reidy - Found it tough against 1A opposition, but the potential is there. Did well in general. Has vision, a wicked side step and will continue to grow.
    Graeme - Played well but smothered in second half.
    Dowling - Missed a couple of frees but in second half he was up against it as it didn't suit him.
    Allis - Not a CF, really odd decision to play him there in first half.

Terribly disappointing performance. Hard to see where the team go from here.

Almost identical to what I wrote, the problems are clear, management need to buck their ideas up and solve them.

Player-for-player: (I pretty much concur with paddy and franco)

Quaid- I thought he did well. Some really top class saves, swept up well. There's nothing wrong with short puckouts, some of them were excellent... but they can't be telegraphed as they were at times. No excuse for hitting them out of play either and should have used Downes more.

King- Very disappointed with him, he was off the pace tbh, and was lucky to stay on the pitch for so long. Bit sloppy in possession too, which isn't really usual for him. Just never got close to his man.

O'Loughlin- He's no Richie Mc, put it like that. He's big and strong, but he struggled all the same, and in possession his skills wouldn't be at the same level. Maybe it's a case of inexperience at this level, but I wouldn't be playing him in the Championship.

Condon- He was superb, what a player he is. A real leader, brings physicality and skill. Almost wasted in the corner, because he's a fine hurler, but at the moment, he's holding us together back there. The best of the backs easily.

O'Brien- He was okay, nothing spectacular. He drops into space nicely, generally uses the ball well. Gave a few bad ones today, and maybe could have been stronger under the high ball. Would love to see him midfield though, he attacks very well.

Wayne- He brings physicality, a committed spirit and when he goes to man-to-man he is good. But tracking runners isn't his strong point and he can be very loose in possession. They were pouring through the middle at times today, and it's baffling how we haven't tried anyone else in the whole league campaign. It's not all Wayne's fault, but he's not the best centre-back in the county by any stretch of the imagination.

Gavin- He did pretty well. The left-hand side of our defence was the stronger of the two, he swept up well and generally used the ball better than most. I'd be very tempted to move him to centre-back if the management don't fancy Dodge, and Hickey's not back.

Dodge- A mixed bag, a couple of really good things, he moved into space well, made a couple of fantastic blocks/interceptions, but then these were nearly always followed by a terrible handpass or gifting the ball away. Hit a few bad wides too, which you'd expect him to score. Does he cover enough ground at this level? Some of those midfielders were coming through from midfield and when he was back, he did well, but was he always there? He's a good player but I'm not sure he can last 70 mins in the middle anymore.

Browne- He tried his heart out, as he has for the whole league. Things didn't always go his way today, but I still thought he was better than most. Would never have taken him off, he runs and he runs and he runs, and he's the one player who fits into this style perfectly.

Downes- He's a fantastic player... when he runs at a team, he'd strike fear into the heart of any defence. Won frees, scored a few nice ones but wasn't used as a ball-winning option enough, which is surely the reason he was moved out to the wing. 2nd half, he tried to do things all on his own and hit a few bad wides. Could sense his frustration, but he should be smart with his hurling even when we're losing. Still, you could only wish that all our fowards were Downes.

Jim Bob- A super game from him, either him or Condon were the best players on the pitch. His scoretaking was excellent, he ran himself into the ground as usual. The best thing was when he got the ball into his hand and ran at their defence, opened them up a bit. Didn't get to do it as much in the second half and was nullified a bit, but he was the one really making it difficult for them. Got a lucky goal at the end too.

Reidy- He did okay, he works hard, but does he make enough of an impact? He reads the game well, but doesn't have the same power as Downes or Jim Bob, so when he tried to burst through, he was often held back or prevented from getting clear. Sometimes his touch let him down too. He's been a bright spark in the league but I'd say Hannon will replace him.

Mulcahy- Got no ball in the first half really, and the ball he got in the 2nd half was terrible. It was a lost cause really, he was totally outnumbered. Maybe his runs could have been better, but he did work hard to get a few scores. If they can't get the best out of Mul, we're fcuked though.

Dowling- Service was poor enough. Hit his frees well, bar one... but the 2nd half, again, like Mul, was a lost cause. 4 on 1 at times, he hadn't a hope. He's not the paciest of players so he's not really going to outrun a corner-back, and I don't really remember him getting a ball into his hand in the 2nd 35. A waste really.

Allis- A mixed bag too, drifted in and out of the game. I thought he looked dangerous enough early on, but he maybe lacks the physicality to compete against top corner-backs/wing-backs. When he does get the ball, he has pace and can pick a pass. Definitely more of a midfielder/half-forward, but when he came out, the lads were way too isolated inside, and he's not much of a ball-winner.

---

Dempsey- He was good, used the ball well, covered lots of ground. Would try him in the corner.

Not going to judge Carmody or Hickey really.

Think what is most concerning is how we lose our shape/run of ourselves in the second half of games, it just seems there's a lack of concentration/leadership etc.
    At one stage in possession I think there was no one inside the 45 line. Players filling space but with no role.
    Against Wexford it happened and was papered over by bringing Downes out to the half forwards.

Limerick were one of the last counties to get a management structure in place, are we paying the price for that now?

Agree with that, reflecting on it again, we were annihilated physically that was the overwhelming reason for defeat, looks like we need about 6 weeks in the gym

• Registered Users Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

The writing was on the wall when Limerick failed to win that vital game against Offaly (who are now facing further relegation) and also struggled against Laois. It is as they say back to the drawing board but with almost 9 weeks without a competitive game before cship and the journey to Thurles.......it will take a miracle to win that match. Suppose there is the possibility of Hannon, Hickey and McCarthy back but the lack of competitive games against top opposition is a massive drawback.:mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

Think we win this (by 2)

separately bit of a rumour about a dispute in camp, might return to it after todays game (might be total ballix too)

what rumour is this?

sure limerick can't go more than a year with some kind of bust-up, is it to with Richie Mc?

Agree with that, reflecting on it again, we were annihilated physically that was the overwhelming reason for defeat, looks like we need about 6 weeks in the gym

Physicality was a problem, but I was more worried about our touch. I mean... you can get physicality, but players dropping simple balls, not being able to rise the ball cleanly, not controlling the ball on the stick properly... that's not good enough at intercounty level really.

And I'll say it again and again- movement from the forwards. Not good enough, especially in comparison to Galway.

donfers wrote: »
    what rumour is this?

sure limerick can't go more than a year with some kind of bust-up, is it to with Richie Mc?

From what I've heard it is to do with Richie Mc.

Agree with you there Fireball, re forwards movement

Well, this is all very negative, last thing we need is another bust-up :/

For something a bit more positive, short report from the Leader about the footballers win:

http://www.limerickleader.ie/sport/limerick-sport/limerick-footballers-beat-offaly-to-ensure-division-3-survival-1-5969486

By all accounts, we dominated for most of the game, but it still came down to very late to actually win it. John Riordan came on as a sub to get a late goal to win it, John Galvin heavily involved, he also came on as a sub. Apparently Boris Hanrahan was by far our best player- scored 0-8, 0-3 from play and would definitely appear to be the best find from the league. Ger Collins went out to centre-forward and did well, the midfield were strong and it's good that we were able to grind out the victory in the end, despite not always being clinical.

We're staying up, that's as good as we could have hoped for. Brudair has done a great job so far. I was not in any way positive at the start of the year but he has changed my outlook. He's brought in new players, he's got some of the older ones to commit... still loads of things to work on; but considering the team is an aging one generally, and missing some key younger players, he's done well. Not sure we know what our strongest fifteen is yet, but let's hope we put in a good showing against Cavan.

I wouldn't call it a bust up, more a difference of opinion if you will.
    I would take it with a pinch of salt though (if it's true at all), surely someone like O'Grady and his man management should be able to resolves issues like this.

Yeah, what Brudair has achieved must be considered a success, gives the platform to build upon. Seems that comeback against Wexford was the key result in terms of staying up.

• Registered Users Posts: 819 ✭✭✭glasagusban

Fairly back to the drawing board then so. We have shown nothing so far to suggest a modicum of improvement from last year bar the master stroke of starting Downes. O'Grady showed serious deficiencies in his previous tenure and TJ hasn't shown anything to ever to suggest he is up to this so I don't know where the improvement will come from. The team have gone backwards from last year, training is not great, fitness appears to be an issue and at least two players are too fat for hurling.

The first half was pleasing. Some decent play. Then we went in at half time and didn't come back out at all.

Quaid - Good but puck outs are a problem. He regularly knocks a couple over the sideline and throws some to the opposition. Shorter puck outs need to be direct to the receivers hand or it all slows down and we're dispossessed, not to the ground in front them. This is a problem.
    King - He's far better than he showed today, seemed to get a serious dose of nerves. He did a few things well, I still think he's an intercounty corner back, god knows if he'll get another chance now. Tough day.
    O'Loughlin - Big and strong but Condon is our back up full back and we should have brought Richie on in the second half.
    Condon - Our best back.
    Paudie - Cleaned. Couldn't handle the physicality of Glynn.
    Wayne - Thought he had a good first half, second was poor. Can't understand why we have tried no one else here.
    Gavin - Good.
    DOG - One memorable class interception robbing the ball off a Galway players hurl. 3 big wides, he's been doing that all league. I'm doubting whether he's up to midfield for summer and it's frustrating not seeing him get a run at 6.
    Browne - very good, again. Taken off after shipping a knock.
    Downes - The only problem with downes is we need him at wing forward to win ball, at centre forward to run at defence, and inside to be a scoring threat. Three more Kevin Downes's to go with Hannon and Mulcahy and we'd be grand.
    Ryan - Great first half but faded along with everyone else, Tannian was good at the same time. Gives everything. One class point from the sideline and a wonder goal at the end.
    Reidy - Some really good moments. This league due to injuries etc he got great exposure and it'll bring him on. One for the future.
    Allis - Good but fades in and out.
    Dowling - I've been a supporter but FFS He may as well be sitting on the sideline and trot on for the frees for all the use he is. Never mind the starting team, the only reason to keep him on the panel is that they might get him to train a bit.
    Mulcahy - Delivered. Our second quality forward.

Carmody and Dempsey were both good when they came on. Surprised at Dempsey midfield but he did well. They kept him ****ing waiting to get any chance this league and he only came on cause Browne got injured.

Management - What the **** are they at. Early in the second half we were crying out for changes. King, and Paudie were being cleaned, O'Loughlin looked very shaky, Wayne was being overrun and Dodge was at nothing at midfield. Once Glynn tossed Paudie aside like a rag doll I'd have thought we'd switch Wayne onto him as our only back with a chance to stand up to him physically and Dodge might have brought some calm to the centre.

Please god Hannon is ok and comes back. Hickey and Breen even if on one leg each should walk back into the team.

Management have been very slow to react in every game.
    Standing on the sideline or sitting on the bench with your hands in your pockets isn't the way to manage a game.

If we're going to be relying on getting Hannon, Hickey and Breen up to speed coming back from injury we'll need a miracle, considering players who have been training since last November still aren't up to it.

It's a very frustrating situation, last year after Dublin in the 1B final, I felt there was little hope we'd beat Tipp.
    After today, I have no confidence that we will even show up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭Hanalei

Criticisms of management for being slow to make decisions, that was an inevitable consequence of this "joint manager" experiment. It's easy for most managers to make a quick decision in a game because he doesn't have to seek agreement with an equal, decisions have to be jointly made between TJ and DO'G.

Going to need a miracle between now and June to even get back to the level we were at last year. We were supposed to push on from last year, surely last year isn't going to be the peak of this team??