Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford City Restaurants (2010 - Present)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

There's more chance of bin laden answering his phone id say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Look whos talking

The cove out in Tramore is lovley .....failing that you can get a daycent burger at mc donalds ...haha!

• Registered Users Posts: 8 thiadale06

Merchants Bar and grill as far i know from someone on the inside is closed down sad to hear but reading some of the comments on this it didn't really have much chance Waterford has a lot of Conisuors when it comes to dining out me thinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭dayshah

thiadale06 wrote: »
    Merchants Bar and grill as far i know from someone on the inside is closed down sad to hear but reading some of the comments on this it didn't really have much chance Waterford has a lot of Conisuors when it comes to dining out me thinks.

I don't think its the people of Waterford that are to blame. Some places are just badly run. Individually the different jobs of a restaurant are straightforward (but need skill), but putting it together, you really need the operations to be up to scratch.

To many places in Ireland (not just Waterford) don't bother train their staff. They think, sure all a waitress does is write a list of food, and then give it to them. There are some places that have dirty cutlery, something that can easily be solved by putting the washing machine on a higher temperature.

Most people don't realise when a place is well run, they just eat their dinner and relax.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

That's amazing if they're closed already. How long were they open for like?

I agree totally with you but all I'm saying is that some reviews can have a very negative affect on a business in these times I think people should take more of a cautious approach. I think Merchants from what I read had it all wrong which sadly brought about its closure was it 4 to 6 weeks max maybe free dinners going out most night's wouldn't help at all.

I've never seen a restaurant close so quickly. Something very fishy going on.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Something very fishy going on.
    No, mostly steaks I think......:D

I thought it was steak?

facepalm_implied_super.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 42 waterford1

How can a new business succeed when people won't give it a chance people are great for criticising restaurants when they leave but nobody has the balls to say it directly to the restaurant how can a place improve when the customers won't tell them about what they thought about there meal it's yet another closure for the city with the loss of more jobs !

waterford1 wrote: »
    How can a new business succeed when people won't give it a chance people are great for criticising restaurants when they leave but nobody has the balls to say it directly to the restaurant how can a place improve when the customers won't tell them about what they thought about there meal it's yet another closure for the city with the loss of more jobs !

Ok waterford1, you're generalising. Everybody gave it a chance. A good few of us even went in and tried to eat there. I also told them, directly, where I thought they were going wrong and what was wrong with my eating experience in there.

Your post is just another example of people on this forum thinking that we're all cynical begrudgers who won't support local businesses when in fact the total opposite is true. We actually get excited when new premises open...we spread the word about it and eventually (try to) become customers.

I think some local businesses need to man the fcuk up.

I agree with you on that. When opening a new business, they hardly only gave themselves 6 weeks leeway in terms of not making a lot of money. It would be lunacy to do so.

It was a nice location and a bar and grill type restaurant like...say scoozees in cork...would have done really well there. Such a shame.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭tonc76

Was it the same owners that originally opened Lemongrass, then changed it to Limeleaf and then rebranded as Merchants?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

tonc76 wrote: »
    Was it the same owners that originally opened Lemongrass, then changed it to Limeleaf and then rebranded as Merchants?
    Nope. Different people had Limeleaf.

Prime location depending on the term's of a lease agreement what would you put there that's the queation?

thiadale06 wrote: »
    Prime location depending on the term's of a lease agreement what would you put there that's the queation?
    Maybe an Indian restaurant? There's not enough of them along the quay! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,167 ✭✭✭hardybuck

Went for an Early Bird in Bodega this week, quite happy with the overall experience. This was actually my first time here, and would definitely go back.

For €25 you got three courses, with quite reasonable portions. I particularly liked the fact that they were pushing local and regional produce. I had a Blaa bread and butter pudding for dessert, someone else got a 'Tom Kearney Burger'. Instead of giving you bread with your starter they give you Blaas. I also had a bottle of Dungarvan Brewing Company Blonde Ale.

To summarise - nice spot for a midweek outing. Service was quite good, food was quite good as were the portions, menu had plenty of choice, good atmosphere.

• Registered Users Posts: 752 ✭✭✭jayboi

http://www.daft.ie/searchcommercial.daft?id=82968

There you go now lads a little business venture for ye.

jayboi wrote: »
    http://www.daft.ie/searchcommercial.daft?id=82968

There you go now lads a little business venture for ye.

Would that be considered a fair rent? I've no idea.

How long was the place running for? Pity they couldn't last the summer, I'd imagine that (and Christmas) must be the time when they make most of their money.

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭ThePinkCage

I thought the same people had the lot re limeleaf, bought out of franchise due to expense of it.

What's L'Atmosphere like to eat in? Heard good reports.

And there's 3 Indian restaurants on the Quay. What about a Mexican? Never been a Mexican in Waterford, though I think Goose's were along those lines.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,624 ✭✭✭wmpdd3

I would love Mexican. Even a few mexican dishes in any restaurant would be great. Are there any Mexican places near Waterford?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,581 ✭✭✭deisemum

I thought the same people had the lot re limeleaf, bought out of franchise due to expense of it.

And there's 3 Indian restaurants on the Quay. What about a Mexican? Never been a Mexican in Waterford, though I think Goose's were along those lines.

I've been to L'Atmosphere a few times and enjoyed it and thought it had a good menu and good value. I hadn't been in a while then went there with friends about 2 months ago and all of us were disappointed with it. The menu is very limited now and not great, the food was like nursery food you give a baby when starting it on solids, a lot of things blended and served in shot glasses. The service was hit and miss unlike our previous visits.

Flash tried to get The Old Stand and open it as a Mexican, but it never really worked out. That guy deserves tons of respect for what he has been trying to do in this town.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,581 ✭✭✭deisemum

I liked Paddy Gonzales and was disappointed when it ceased. I love mexican food.

Flash tried to get The Old Stand and open it as a Mexican, but it never really worked out. That guy deserves tons of respect for what he has been trying to do in this town.

Absolutely agree. He's always willing to put his money where his mouth is and try something. Usually does ok too so hopefully that trend continues. We need people like him.

On that topic, I havent heard anything about Escape in a long time. Does it have its own crowd that keep it going or could it be in trouble? And Revolution seems to do a steady trade with the food side of things during the day but the last time I was in there was about 10pm on a Friday night and there were about 8 people in there. Does it usually do better at night?

Last I heard it was closed completely. He's bought Oskars...just waiting for a licensing hold up to get sorted.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,006 ✭✭✭iseegirls

Last I heard it was closed completely.

Escape is closed, is it??

I always felt he should have kept Revolution the way it was. The front part now looks very bare in the daytime when having food - I rather the seats before, I just think those big booths are just too big and awkward.

Last I heard it was closed completely. He's bought Oskars...just waiting for a licensing hold up to get sorted.
    Is it Flash who has the Casino at the back of Revolutions as well?
    I heard he was trying to buy the Reginald/the Bowery/Axis Mundi as well, but that was a good while ago.