Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Breakfast with Ray (Foley) and Jay [Cork's Red FM, 6am-9am]

• Registered Users Posts: 900 ✭✭✭IUA14

Well according to Ray they did inherit her, she was a producer on the previous breakfast show, he said it on the show a couple of weeks back. There is a Dennis who works in 98FM aswell in the production side of things because he is usually the guy back at base when they do live shows, I remember that from being at Foley's Free Money Minute at the Sugarclub.

If you listen back to a Today FM podcast and then right after listen to a recent one you can hear the change, even in Ray's voice and accent. They gave Dublin a fair slagging on the old show and the random stuff they did on that show like appealing for someone to call them in from a tiny town in Roscommon to see how many cars drove by...I think the audience for the show now is families and kids and people on the way to work. Back in Today FM it was students and people in the 15-34 bracket so different audience requires a different show I guess.

I don't think we can compare then to Chris Moyles who had 8 million+ listeners...different markets. Thats my point, they are doing the best they can in the constraints they have on a local station. Today FM is also a commercial station so I think that part of it isn't as important. The fact is they jumped aboard a slowly sinking ship and have managed to not just steady the ship but put it back on course so from a management point of view they wont want to change something that is clearly working for the station as a whole.

Honestly I still love the show, yes some features annoy me but I would much rather listen to Ray and JP than any of the other ****e on the air in the mornings.

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭stannis

Did the top brass at 98FM really think that people listen to Foley for box-ticking through various competitions and cringeworthy pieces like the Kids Bit? He's at his best doing his own thing, skewering radio cliches, aided and abetted by JP, Adelle, Nordy etc! On a recent NTN podcast I think JP said that going to 98 was a big mistake so I bet Ray agrees.

• Registered Users Posts: 285 ✭✭SparklersJo

Odd show today - lots of repeating going on. That interview with Kodaline earlier was one they've played before, and the Kid's Bit was a repeated one too.

And since when do they do tributes to celebrities who have passed away? When Tony 'T-Bone' Fenton passed away, they talked about it and shared some nice/funny stories, but today, for Bill O'Herlihy, they're playing a song and an old interview and all. Seems out of character for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,628 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Is there a problem with podcasts this week ? Can't download yesterday's one.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,811 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

Odd show today - lots of repeating going on. That interview with Kodaline earlier was one they've played before, and the Kid's Bit was a repeated one too.

And since when do they do tributes to celebrities who have passed away? When Tony 'T-Bone' Fenton passed away, they talked about it and shared some nice/funny stories, but today, for Bill O'Herlihy, they're playing a song and an old interview and all. Seems out of character for them.

Well with Fenton he was a former colleague and friend, and I think most of the country is in mourning for O'Herlihy, someone they had both met with and interacted with. Only a few weeks ago even.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 67,874 Mod ✭✭✭✭L1011

stannis wrote: »
    He's at his best doing his own thing, skewering radio cliches

He is a radio cliche. Has been for quite some time.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 24,773 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

L1011 wrote: »
    He is a radio cliche. Has been for quite some time.

He really is going through the motions isn't he.

There are flashes of brillance every now and then but that's when they go off script as such and have the banter between themselves.

Ideally you've like to see the show go in a more creative direction and less formatted but as someone else pointed out with two young kids and such early starts, you can see why the show has become stale and more formatted.

He clearly doesn't have the same amount of disposable time to put into the creative process of the show compared to when he was in Todayfm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭soc160

IUA14 wrote: »
    Its nothing to do with vetting callers, I can tell you for sure they don't, I texted in and they called back and put me straight on. And they have had many callers who are no craic and as boring as can be on like your man on Eh Yeah Ok yesterday. The point is that it is a different market...Foley has for sure had to dilute down himself for the breakfast show to appeal to a Dublin audience and I think people outside Dublin got his humour more at Today FM when he could be himself. He said recently that their aim is to be the "least annoying breakfast show in Dublin" which says it all really.

I disagree that they are not fighting for their show or station...the lads have done so much and were effectively the force that has turned 98FM around from haemorrhaging listeners to making solid gains. Ray came up with The Best of Dublin Awards which as an idea has worked, the music is better on 98 these days since they took over (albeit still not my cup of tea), and he seems intent on making 98 a force again. He mentioned on a recent NTN podcast that they have so much more to do on the show now than they did at TodayFM. They went from a 2.5 hour show (essentially 2 hours when you take out news etc.) that started at noon so they could come in at 10 and get stuff done for it, to now doing a 4 hour show (3.5 hours live) which starts at 6:30 in the morning so they can't really do much planning before shows and when your up that early...with two young kids and other things going on I' sure its hard to find the energy to be innovative. When you consider that and then the fact its Ray and JP and Suze on their own that work on the show given that Deeno is news and Adelle has whole other role there you really can't be expecting miracles. Given the dynamic at TodayFM were the four of them (Ray, JP, Ann and Adelle) were good friends which came across on air and was great craic for listeners, now its mostly Ray and JP with Suze as producer (who they inherited) so the dynamic is bound to be different.

Anyways, still the best thing on Irish radio!

It's interesting to see the tide turn a bit against them, despite making gains in Audience, small ones over time, the Hardcore fans like the ones here can see it's going stale. The idea to bring in the secret sound, is probably from higher up but Ray would slag any other DJ for doing that, it's a sound that sounds like a stapler every time and is just another prize puller.

It's never fair to compare them to Today FM which was different or from the NTN stuff which is them in a free role, you can hear what they are capable of in the first segment and on NTN, I just think they need more control to do different things, but having said that, a more generic show is gaining in listeners.

I wouldn't give Ray the credit you give him above either, the last 3 years have been turmoil for 98 really and they have changed remit a lot, now they are best music mix. He isn't responsible for muisc there, they have changed PD and assistant PD, it was a top down decision by the looks of it and whoever is scheduling the music is responsible.
    Same with the awards, would have been a joint decision, although he may well have conceived the idea. Personally I think it's a load of ****e, why do I care who has the best coffee or who the best bus driver is....

I mean, if you look at other stations it seems more innovative, Fm104 are number 1 and they seem to do new competitions every week, rarely is it the same format like 7 days, they are in the same boat as Ray and JP, have families too. Ray has the talent to be better, I think he's hamstrung by the station and the format slightly.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 14,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Hands down the best segments remain the first link of the show, the link where they talk about what they're going to do that day and the paper link with Adelle. They're so good at more long-form stuff, but tbh we all knew they weren't going to be able to do that as much at 98.

I'm still a bit behind in podcasts, but they seem to be doing an interview in the 9am hour every morning. This is a cool idea, but I just wish the interviews leaned slightly more towards the upbeat happy stuff, and less towards the D'Arcy-esque misery-porn (again, I'm behind, so possibly this is how it developed over the last month or so).

Haven't reached the Secret Sound yet, but tbh it's a bit disappointing to see a segment like that coming on. It probably wasn't their call, but it's exactly the type of crap I really hoped they could avoid at 98 because it's just so generic.

Eh, Yeah, OK needs to be taken out back and let die with what remains of its dignity.

And at this point, is ANYONE still enjoying the Kids' Bit? Like, it feels like just the same thing over and over and over and over and over and over... Instead of doing it five days a week half-heartedly, why not do it once a week, make it a longer more diverse segment, and give out a decent chunk of prizes...

I dunno, I still love the show,but I do find myself forwarding through segments like Eh, Yeah, OK just so I can get to more meatier stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 33 corcaigh_abu

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Hands down the best segments remain the first link of the show, the link where they talk about what they're going to do that day and the paper link with Adelle. They're so good at more long-form stuff, but tbh we all knew they weren't going to be able to do that as much at 98.

I'm still a bit behind in podcasts, but they seem to be doing an interview in the 9am hour every morning. This is a cool idea, but I just wish the interviews leaned slightly more towards the upbeat happy stuff, and less towards the D'Arcy-esque misery-porn (again, I'm behind, so possibly this is how it developed over the last month or so).

Haven't reached the Secret Sound yet, but tbh it's a bit disappointing to see a segment like that coming on. It probably wasn't their call, but it's exactly the type of crap I really hoped they could avoid at 98 because it's just so generic.

Eh, Yeah, OK needs to be taken out back and let die with what remains of its dignity.

And at this point, is ANYONE still enjoying the Kids' Bit? Like, it feels like just the same thing over and over and over and over and over and over... Instead of doing it five days a week half-heartedly, why not do it once a week, make it a longer more diverse segment, and give out a decent chunk of prizes...

I dunno, I still love the show,but I do find myself forwarding through segments like Eh, Yeah, OK just so I can get to more meatier stuff.

In fairness, the kids bit can be hilarious when they're trying to be funny rather than just 'going through the motions'. Anytime they're pretending to be stupid (are you smarter etc) or hurt are just sh1te ideas.
    I can't remember what exactly the overall concept was but I remember one week they were asking questions and setting up hilarious answers coz the kids didn't really understand it, e.g. what does Status Quo mean?
    a) the existing state of affairs, especially regarding social or political issues
    b) old men rocking out and partying all night
    c) something else with humorous undertones

That was good radio.

• Registered Users Posts: 456 ✭✭Obrieski

They should kill 2 birds with 1 stone and combine the kids bit with ah yeah ok! 😄

• Registered Users Posts: 1,436 ✭✭✭Chip Whitley

I enjoy the kids bit to hear them skirt around adult issues and being stupid like corcaigh said. I don't feel the show is quite stale yet. Stale to me was Dermot & Dave towards the end of their run on 98. They are doing the same features now but on a nation scale has helped freshen them up.

Like everyone else, I prefer the Ray Foley Show when its Ray & JP just talking ****e but they need all that other fluff on a breakfast show. If in time, the listenership has increased dramatically, I could see them moulding the format of the show to something they'd prefer.

Completely agree. Gas craic at the start of the show just there with the lads ripping the piss out of Spin! I've enjoyed the show this week especially yesterdays hungover one.

I thought Friday's show was the best I have heard in a long time, it was brilliant! They really do thrive when things go wrong...the Eh Yeah Ok guest being difficult (that was hilarious), not being able to get through to the competition winner, and playing too much Foo Fighters. I also loved them ripping the piss out of Spin at the start!

Podcast Only stuff is back as of today...BRILLIANT! Ray, Jp and Adelle ****eing on like the old days...brilliant!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,436 ✭✭✭Chip Whitley

Also heard Ray say today that they had a meeting yesterday and Deeno floated the idea of getting rid of Seven Days. Ray seemed to agree, although I did laugh at the attempt at livening up the callers after the quiz just as they were hanging up. Cracked me up! Would be worth keeping it around for another week or to just to hear the lads get frustrated with it/the callers.

I listened to the podcast only bits on the way home yesterday with a big smile on my face.magicical stuff. Those three people are legends.

Yeah its been great having that back, missed Ray, JP, and Adelle just chatting away!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭NegativeOne

JP doing the traffic :the loose horses on the navan road have now been removed.

Ray: In what way are they loose? How forward of them!

Lengthy podcast only bit today...Ray and JP on their own this time but brilliant. They mentioned they may be bringing The Gauntlet back!

Also talked about differences between shows and what they miss about the old show...Ann...and what they dislike on the new show!

Lengthy podcast only bit today...Ray and JP on their own this time but brilliant. They mentioned they may be bringing The Gauntlet back!

Also talked about differences between shows and what they miss about the old show...Ann...and what they dislike on the new show!

Listening to the podcast only bit now and it seems the leaving todayfm thing would have happened whether we didn't want it to happen. I also don't think they will go back to todayfm at all.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 14,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Listening to the podcast only bit now and it seems the leaving todayfm thing would have happened whether we didn't want it to happen. I also don't think they will go back to todayfm at all.

Looking more and more unlikely. Which is a shame. Personally I think a schedule that went Foley -> Anton Savage -> D&D -> Louise and Ann -> Matt Cooper would be one of the best stations to listen to ever.

I really do not understand their disdain for Today FM in its current form at all.

I don't think they have disdain for Today FM but I think its more they don't feel it is being run as well as it was behind the scenes. I think since Willie O'Reilly left who they seemed to be close to things may have changed. But interesting hearing insight to their time there and them mentioning how big a loss Ann was to the show and how different 98FM is.

Also Foley mentioning that he is 7 years older now than his hay-day on lunchtime so it is natural things with the show would change but like us all here he seems a tad annoyed with the amount of "breakfast bits" they have to do which I guess is great for podcasters, like he said, its why they are doing podcast only again so they can actually have a proper chat. They don't seem unhappy there as some had thought.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 24,773 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

Listened to the podcast only bit myself last night, it was brilliant,surprised how long it went on for but like IUA14 said they don't seem to unhappy. Everytime someone mentioned they weren't happy with this that or the other Ray was like where's all this negativity coming from?

It's good that they admitted they don't like doing the breakfasty stuff and would rather chat and mess. It's clear he doesn't like the structure the show is currently in and I'd say at time the producers have it tough reigning him in. (This was especially noticiable on the Naked Breakfast to everyone in the crowd)

Another one today with a similar length and Ray, JP and Adelle! Really happy they are doing this again, far better than anything else there is to listen to out there!

JP's off next week, so just Raymond holding down the fort.

I think it's good to see them staggering holidays a bit. I mean, it's probably just a case Ray wants to save days off for later in the year or something and it mightn't have been planned specifically for the reason of keeping the show going, but I'm happy I'll still have me podcast to listen to next week. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 285 ✭✭SparklersJo

I was kinda surprised to hear how Ray spoke of Ann. I thought they were really really good friends. But when talking about the things he misses from Today FM, he said something along the lines of: "I miss Ann...to a certain extent..." I thought they were closer than that

I think you may have listened to something else or taken it the wrong way, they both said obviously they miss Ann about the old show and miss having her around...they also explained why she couldn't come with them...but their point was that they don't miss the old show or TodayFM, in fact they said the only thing they do miss was Ann and sleep.

On another note, listening to the show this morning, seemed like their meeting with the CEO and other yesterday may have annoyed them with all their "need to be great this morning" and "need to change it all around and be good" comments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

I think you may have listened to something else or taken it the wrong way, they both said obviously they miss Ann about the old show and miss having her around...they also explained why she couldn't come with them...but their point was that they don't miss the old show or TodayFM, in fact they said the only thing they do miss was Ann and sleep.

Why couldn't Ann go with them?