Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Etape Hibernia - August 22 2010

• Registered Users Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭cantalach

Moflojo wrote: »
    Eh, they only survived the shipwreck. Once they got ashore they were executed by the local chieftain, who considered them invaders.

Our bad...

Without wanting to go off on a tangent, the local 'chieftain' had a 'Sir' before his name...I think that speaks for itself.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

I found it a really enjoyable day out and a pretty unique experience: I was surprised by how much I enjoyed the lack of traffic, it felt almost serene at times and meant I took in more of the scenery than normal and I love being able to use the full width of the road on descents. The management of the actual cycling aspect of the event was excellent – great marshalling and we got out of the start area very smoothly (though I just made it to pen A in time – thought the pinch-point was going to make me miss the start).

I had planned to ahead to go non-stop so had sambos stuffed into the jersey and was delighted to have them. Stopped for literally under a minute at one of the food stops to take on water and tried a woeful Zipvit gel. I wasn’t going to be lounging around at food-stops on this event like at some other sportives (for me this is a different category of event), but there’s still no reason why they couldn’t have had sandwiches, brack and bananas there so I could’ve stuffed those in my jersey instead of lugging food around with me. Feckin put the sandwiches in a Zipvit wrapper if you want, but it’s a glaring omission for me.

I probably wasn’t the only one that seriously underestimated the difficulty of the route: it was quite undulating and had a lot more bumps than I had expected and the wind just made it much more difficult. So it was a great challenge and though I was cursing it around the 70-80km mark when I was riding solo for long periods, it’s a course I look forward to doing again. I see someone mentioned they changed the route – that explains a lot as I couldn’t figure out why my Garmin lost the course route for a good while. I’d managed the calorie intake much better this time than in previous events and I felt strong for the last 35km and was delighted to make it home in 4:26 for 82nd spot after a 4-man 400m sprint that was easily one of the most enjoyable moments I’ve had on the bike.

+1 on the Clare crowd comments: fair play to ‘em. Can’t believe so many got up early to support us and I made a point of waving as much as I could and appreciated the encouragement on the sections where I was digging deep. There was no free hot food at the finish by the way, not sure where that notion came from, only free thing was water and small pieces of Zipvit protein bar (better than their gels), though the medals were of decent quality I suppose.

I’m always amazed at the lack of critical thinking skills displayed by so many of the ‘ah shure can ya not just focus on all the positives and not be causing trouble by pointing out how the event can be improved?’ brigade, but you get them after every event and on this thread to. Pointing out things can be improved is not inconsistent with saying that, on balance, it was a great event (which for me it still was). We know Etape Hibernia read this thread, so the feedback will be heard and if you don’t give the feedback, things won’t get better, if you do, there’s a chance the event may be improved. Positioning Saturday registration with photo ID as a requirement when it clearly wasn’t was a very poor move and meant the likes of ROK_ON couldn’t make it even though he’d paid – a boardsie could easily have picked up his reg pack for him if this was communicated in advance.

The commercialism did get on my nerves a little but on the other hand it was a very professionally run event so I’m ok with that. I’m not quite sure if I’ll do it again, am tempted to do the An Post Burren tour instead, but I think Race-day registration and providing some real food along the way are the main things that need to change in order to make this an excellent niche-event. 7am start is a reasonable time as it minimizes the impact of the closed roads on the locals. If there are positive signs that they are taking the feedback onboard, I’ll be back next year as I did love the closed-road experience.

• Registered Users Posts: 31,025 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

@FrankGrimes: thanks for the tow out of Lahinch, that headwind was brutal. If you liked that finish you should really start racing - you'd be easily able for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭Moflojo

I think on the balance of things the comments about the event have been pretty spot on. There were very few people that didn't enjoy the event as a whole and most of the issues raised have been valid.
    The support from local people was incredible, there was even a house just outside Spanish Point where the residents were actually offering cups of tea. It took me a couple of takes before I realised they were being sincere and I was gone past by the time I did, then spent the next 15km cursing myself for not stopping for a mug!
    I think Zipvit can give up on trying to sell their 'blackcurrant' flavour gel. It's the most vile, rancid substance that has ever passed my lips. It was the only thing that did more psychological damage to me than that cursed headwind from Black Head to Spanish Point.
    Feed Stations were a bit of a joke, not nearly enough stuff for everyone, and the lack of some substantial food had everyone feeling fairly aggrieved leaving the Spanish Point stop. I think this is partly down to the event not being organised by a local cycling club; most local clubs go out of their way to make a good impression at their own event. Perhaps a local club could be given a role in the organisation of the event next time?
    I don't think anymore needs to be said about registration, the view on that should be clear to the organisers at this stage.
    Overall I had a great weekend in Clare, and I'm pretty sure I would do this event again. With some positive alterations to the set-up I would definitely do it.

Lumen wrote: »
    @FrankGrimes: thanks for the tow out of Lahinch, that headwind was brutal. If you liked that finish you should really start racing - you'd be easily able for it.

'Twas good to meet a friendly face at what was the lowpoint for me and we got into a nice rhythm. The morale was fully restored when I was head down at around 90km ploughing along thinking I was solo without realising a group of 8 had joined me...as they passed I recognised Sean Kelly and he gave me a nod and said 'good pull, now jump on the back there'. Instant morale boost and I pushed hard to stay with them for 5km or so but then they hit the accelerator on a longish hill and I paced myself instead of risking blowing up trying to stay with them. I reckon Sean takes it handy the first part of these events to socialise and then has some fun on the latter part. Part of my motivation for the last 35km was seeing how much I could limit the gap to that group by and was happy enough to stay within 4mins.

The sprint was great craic - involved a fairly cocky lad that had gotten under the skin of both spyderski and myself at different points and he went for the line as soon as he saw the 400m sign so it felt good to crease him in the sprint. That sprint did get me wondering about how much craic there might be to be had in racing.

I'll start another thread (cos a search didn't show up much), but I'd like to find out more about what racing entails and then see if it might be a good fit, maybe for next season.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,504 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

I'll start another thread (cos a search didn't show up much), but I'd like to find out more about what racing entails and then see if it might be a good fit, maybe for next season.

Not much to it: go out, have a chat, cycle hard, curse your bad luck or lack of ability, go home and eat a lot. Rinse and repeat.

Honestly you would be well suited to it, racing in Ireland is less about looking like you might give Rasmussen a run for his money at a weigh in and more about having power. Which you have. Most of the races are on pretty flat courses and if you have the engine to get into a break and stay away you are sorted, there are no 25km alpine climbs.

I should say this is my first year like a lot of people here, so this is only my own observation. There is a lot to be said for being smart and conserving energy for when you need it, but that comes with the racing. As far as getting started, you should have no worries.

The official photos are up: http://www.sportcam.net/competitorsearch.aspx?mode=singlerace&RId=276

You can also download an image of your certificate and print it yourself, which is a minor thing but a nice touch. You can get that printed with a photo if you want but it's 19euro.

Prices are steep at from 12 euro (17 euro for the digital image which gives you flexibility on what to do with it), but there are some class shots. I reckon I've gotta get this one:

125357.png

• Registered Users Posts: 14,317 ✭✭✭✭Raam

The price for those photos is quite steep. As a sample, I put in a well known Boardsies surname. I can purchase all their photos, of which there are 12, for €46.

Contrast this with Sportograf who do the same for €16.99.

That said, Sportograf do vary their prices a bit, I think I paid 20e for 22 pictures of myself at the Nurburgring. Still less than half the price.

Yeh, there's no two ways about it, that's a hefty premium price they're charging. I'm in two minds, cos I do like collecting good on-bike shots whenever I can so I have them when I'm old and grey....but on the other hand I don't want to reward their pricing strategy.

Solution = we all chip in on one class action photo and then we just photoshop ourselves onto it!

Just did a quick check to see if Sportcam were bumping up the prices for the Irish market, but it looks like they charge same amounts but in GBP for UK events, so they're pricey across the board.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭ashleey

Check out seanie power on flickr. He has given me mine for nothing. I would like to email a voucher or something to him. If we all do that it will undermine sportcam

• Registered Users Posts: 27 volcanicash

i think the organisers deserve big thanks for a great event. i could only find very minor things to fault, not worth the mention. on the commercialism side, i didn't find it over the top at all. I've been turned off triathlons recently because of the ever increasing commercial nature of them. i much prefer the buzz around small size volunteer driven races. for the etape, i didn't feel bully-ied by a corporate machine in any way. sure, a lot of aspects were sponsor driven, but insignificant against having a really well run event. i hope its back next year exactly the same. i'll be there

• Registered Users Posts: 202 ✭✭garminguy

without going over any of the points made in earlier in the thread, the pros outweigh the cons for me , so i will be doing it again next year, especially if they improve on the goody bags.

• Registered Users Posts: 30 dtlibra

Great event, very well run. Seanie Power photos on Flickr excellent - for link, see above.
    The highlight for me was the reception we got from the ordinary local people right along the entire route.
    Roll on next year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Tackleberry

I'd a pretty surreal day myself, but for what it is, warts n all, I think it's a great addition to the calendar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Who's that handsome devil at 16 seconds in - looking cool and calm when he should've been practising changing tubes!!!:)

• Registered Users Posts: 21 Mr Yunioshi

My garmin is set to kph so I quite liked the mileage signs - I don't see this as much of an issue and it can be changed easily for the next event.

We found the marshalling to be friendly and helpful.

I loved the closed roads. I'm not going to have that too often and I really liked the quietness and all that extra room to manoeuvre.

We probably would have stayed nearby the night before in any case.

Mostly I just enjoyed an event that was different, that was in beautiful countryside (marred only by the littering of soooo many cyclists), a warm Clare welcome and the elation of finishing better than expected.

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭weaselman

Pretty much agree with all the criticism that's been mentioned so far. We had to bust a nut to try to get to Ennis before close of sign-on but luckily a friend got there before us and I was able to give me address over the phone and he was able to pick up the registration packs. No goody bags left but from what I've heard they weren't really worth it.

I didn't even notice that the marshalls were on English reg bikes until a friend pointed it out. No problem with Uk people running the event, at least they have experience with it and things went smoothly. Great marshalling and very well sign-posted.

My biggest issue is with sign posting to both the registration area and the start line. Just followed other cyclists in the hope they knew where they were going. The closed roads were a novelty but even with them most people stayed to the left. The scenery was stunning. I don't think it's worth the entry fee so I might give the Burren tour a go instead next year

The spectators made the event for me though. Brilliant support from the people of Clare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭High Nellie

Just one note on the marshalling - a few riders went off the steep corners in the earlier part of the route and motorbike marshalls were stopped to help them - good. However, in one case, a very large motorbike was parked just at the most dangerous point of the bend, where the rider went off the road - bad (didn't display much experience on the part of the marshall).
    I like how 'calm' the motorbike marshalls were though - no boy-racer type driving that you sometimes get at races. I can't see what the problem is about the reg on the bikes or where the drivers happened to have been born!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,316 ✭✭✭lafors

Good review of the event....maybe I was a bit too harsh on it ;)

http://www.cyclosport.org/article.aspx?id=1575

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭High Nellie

Yes, and he gave a nice answer to those who might have though it was a more traditional Irish 'tour', with tea and barmbrack thrown in, and what the idea of an etape is. But you can't please everybody. He complains about not enough commercial stuff - most here complained there was too much. Another nice review here and he appreciated the huge logistical effort involved (see below).

http://magazine.bikeradar.com/2010/08/25/1437/

"The local authorities must have commandeered all the traffic cones in Ireland to achieve this feat as every side road, lay-by and driveway was coned off. A heroic feat of logistical planning and to be applauded as it provided a safe passage for all the riders the complete length of the course, assuming they stayed ahead of the broom wagon! Where the few roads left open crossed the route the Garda were stationed, holding up the traffic to allow us to negotiate these junctions without having to stop regardless of our speed, or lack of."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 2010pat

I did the Sky Ride cycle on Sunday last and found it very good and very well organised, compared to past events I have competed in.

From what I have read of these posts, nobody has yet to mention the excellent sports massage service on hand, both before and after the event. It was fantastic and really helped with the stiffness the next day. I've even heard that the winner, Phillip Colleran, had a pre-event massage! I wonder if it helped him in any way!

So, anybody avail of the physical theropy service? If so, what did ye think?

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 75,727 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Threads merged

Beasty

• Registered Users Posts: 155 ✭✭shg101

Another nice review here and he appreciated the huge logistical effort involved (see below).

"The local authorities must have commandeered all the traffic cones in Ireland to achieve this feat as every side road, lay-by and driveway was coned off. A heroic feat of logistical planning and to be applauded as it provided a safe passage for all the riders the complete length of the course, assuming they stayed ahead of the broom wagon! Where the few roads left open crossed the route the Garda were stationed, holding up the traffic to allow us to negotiate these junctions without having to stop regardless of our speed, or lack of."

"One of the casualties at this point was Dermot who experienced a blow out and ended up on the tarmac. Apparently unhurt he fixed his puncture only to turn his bike back over to find his saddle and carbon seat post snapped off. "

Yikes

Yes, and he gave a nice answer to those who might have though it was a more traditional Irish 'tour', with tea and barmbrack thrown in, and what the idea of an etape is. But you can't please everybody. He complains about not enough commercial stuff - most here complained there was too much. Another nice review here and he appreciated the huge logistical effort involved (see below).

I think he has a point about the commercial element - the reason it grated with me was because it was so "in-your-face" with lots of hard selling of stuff I didn't want and certainly didn't need.

I'd agree that a larger, more exhibition-like, commercial element would be better, with more than just one clothing supplier and nutrition supplier to browse. I wouldn't have minded seen maybe a couple of bike shops with their wares displayed, perhaps even a bike manufacturer or two with some bikes to test, etc.

Another nice review here and he appreciated the huge logistical effort involved (see below).

I saw a few of those Cycling Weekly shorts around. One of them was quite quick.

I got the impression that the CW participation was quite well "supported" by commercial sponsors, so they're hardly going to moan about that element of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 smiler12

i think you mean cycling plus.

smiler12 wrote: »
    i think you mean cycling plus.

Ah, my mistake. The shorts I saw were definitely Cycling Weekly, who were apparently a sponsor. That BR review is Cycling Plus, who were not a sponsor but got VIP treatment (according to the article anyway).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 smiler12

your'e right he did receive the VIP treatment and there was a few with cycling weekly shorts, but i thought it was a good review and i'd say that there were a few people caught out with the hilly terrain, i was a bit worried myself before hand as i was using 39/53 11-25 combo, but was happy with my ride and hope to improve it next year.