Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Etape Hibernia - August 22 2010

• Registered Users Posts: 261 ✭✭Magilla Gorilla

Positives- Very well-marshalled, good route, closed roads, great local support even at 7.00 a.m., good organisation at start and finish (see below though).

Negatives- Ridiculous pinch-point before starting pens, signs in miles, poor road surfaces in many places (though no potholes), lack of proper food at stops (not a biggie for me personally), too much nonsensical bumpf in e-mails.

Overall, I'm not sure I'd do it again. If the organisers take note of the comments and act, I'd certainly be tempted. I made a weekend out of it so 54 euro was not a deal-breaker, but it was very commercial and lacked the friendliness of club-run events. No traffic was great though. Black mark to the B&Bs who wouldn't do a basic breakfast, but my landlady did in fairness.

• Registered Users Posts: 304 ✭✭mickmcl09

For me this event was not the norm in terms of what we are used of for Sportifs.
    - Was it or was it not a race? For me it was, quite alot of guys were are their limit to such an extent that they weren't able to acknowledge the support of the locals and general conversation among the riders was far less than your typical sportif. So lacking in the 'Fun element' that one associates with partaking in the cycle itself,
    and what was the point, it's not like there were points for your licence at stake.
    - Lack of sambos etc. ie what we are used of
    - The serious and competitive nature of some riders. I was coming out of lahinch behind a chap from clonard and suffering with some cramp when he pulled one side and told me to do a bit of work. I politely said sorry I'm suffering from cramp and not in a position to work much. His reply 'F*^K off and don't wheel suck my wheel'. On that point may I say thank you to the Blarney rider for backing me up and telling the guy to calm down. I saw others where guys were edging for position to protect themselves from the wind but not much I have to say.
    - Poor value for money in general - jerseys, food, goody bag, the points have been made already.
    - I can't say that some of the Englishness bothered me too much. I think it was simply a lack of planning / thought from the organisers and simple to rectify for next year.
    - The commercial element for me has created the biggest problem for the organisers and they will have to battle hard to get a lot of repeat participants for next year. Point already made in an earlier post in terms of the €54, commercialism, marketing and the cost of 'extras'.

On a positive note.
    - Very well marshaled.
    - Great support from the locals
    - Good atmosphere at the finish

BUT WILL THAT BE ENOUGH TO DRIVE THE EVENT ON TO FUTHER SUCCESS?
    IMO, they have work to do for next year to bring this event to the standard set by the Burren Tour, The Kilkenny and The Sean Kelly to name only 3.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,667 ✭✭✭WolfeIRE

• Registered Users Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭ashleey

I too was astounded by the competitiveness and didn't find many peletons but everyone was nice though. We joined a group and I said 'mind if we tag on and we will take our turn at the front?' and got no abuse. It would be good if there was a competing timed amateur event to put sky on their toes? The road surface was abysmal in places and not up to standard. I'm glad I used my alu bike and felt for some lads on their expensive machines. The number of punctures was unbelievable. Not sky's fault and the race marshalls, even the English ones were really helpful as were the cheering residents of clare who deserve special applause in return. It certainly didn't have the feel of a charity 100k but we knew that. Right? Any rider who tells another to fack off has no place in such a ride. Looking forward to cycling with mr jawgap again sometime. A gent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭High Nellie

I can't believe the negativity in some of these messages. It was a superbly run event - probably has something to do with the 'Britishness' (a mate of mine compained that the event began on time and and he was rushed! The fifty quid was great value) - I've paid 30 quid at plenty of crappy 'tours' at home.

Also read the article from the clare paper linked above and note the involvement of several local agencies. Good work from the Irish and the English surely? We love each other really

• Registered Users Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭cantalach

I can't believe the negativity in some of these messages. It was a superbly run event - probably has something to do with the 'Britishness' (a mate of mine compained that the event began on time and and he was rushed! The fifty quid was great value) - I've paid 30 quid at plenty of crappy 'tours' at home.

I was wondering how long it would be before the positivity brigade showed up to douse any flames of criticism, no matter how valid it might be.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

As has been pointed out already, the two people who mentioned the Britishness are British.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,345 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

having just come back from france watching the tour de l'ain what amazed me was they ran a sportive before the race :eek: (the pros finished around 5pm the sportive started at 9am). they took down the timing barriers a few hours before the race - it ran on every stage

just for a bit of comparison !

• Registered Users Posts: 243 ✭✭ktz84

having just come back from france watching the tour de l'ain what amazed me was they ran a sportive before the race :eek: (the pros finished around 5pm the sportive started at 9am). they took down the timing barriers a few hours before the race - it ran on every stage

just for a bit of comparison !

How did they manage to run a "leisure" event so close to a race? I would imagine it wasn't that inclusive (leisurely).

• Registered Users Posts: 526 ✭✭✭WakeyTyke

Probably feeling a bit grumpy because I had a disappointing run, due to quad strain, and had the indignity of being beaten by some of my tri friends:o, but thought it wasn't a patch on the Tour de Burren.

The four 'feed' stops were a complete joke (remember Lisdoonvarna:)). The first stop was at the foot of a steep climb:confused:, and the second was almost invisible and very missable.

For those complaining about the state of the roads you should be thankful that Clare CC have actually done extensive resurfacing of parts of the route, some as recently as the last few weeks. Hopefully they will continue repairing other sections before next years Etape.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,345 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

ktz84 wrote: »
    How did they manage to run a "leisure" event so close to a race? I would imagine it wasn't that inclusive (leisurely).

didnt look like it ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 82 ✭✭thehangtenguy

Agree with most of the criticism posted above, but overall i enjoyed the event. It was first time doing a sportif over 100KM and am chuffed i made it into the top 300 :). Nice weather and made a point of saying hello to lots of the local spectaters who lined the route. Killer headwind after lahinch was tough and i found myself on my own between here and spanish point.

Regarding the roads: we were visitors, what about the poor locals who have to live with them? That's who I feel for.

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭buzzingnoise

Whole thing left alot to be desired.
    Cost was extortionate.
    Road surface was brutal and the number of punctures was excessive.
    Food stops were a joke. Had it rained, it would have been a disaster.
    Attitude of staff was poor.

Locals were great craic, fair play but nothing to do with Sky Etape.
    Weather was grand but again nothing to do with Sky.

All in all, would I recommend it?
    No, not unless it was your first ever sportive and/or you were particularly worried about traffic.

Was feeling ripped off but made my money back in zipvit gels. Going to open an eBay Store!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭spyderski

Guys, didn't think the surface was that bad at all. Better than most roads in Wicklow or Wexford. No Potholes, and many recently patched sections. Its probably better than I expected for country roads on the west coast.

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭buzzingnoise

spyderski wrote: »
    Guys, didn't think the surface was that bad at all. Better than most roads in Wicklow or Wexford. No Potholes, and many recently patched sections. Its probably better than I expected for country roads on the west coast.

I should have brought a mountain bike too!
    The road was so lumpy that my cassette was shaken loose!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,504 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

I should have brought a mountain bike too!
    The road was so lumpy that my cassette was shaken loose!

Not a problem with the road I'm afraid.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭michael196

two funny things, did anyone notice ?

on the second stage after the first feed point, farmer on the right with his landcruiser entering a field, after having obvioulsy driven to the field on the closed road, guess the auld lad didnt get the email !!!

back on the motor way near limerick , heading for the tunnel, on the motorway dual carraige way, another guy in a land cruiser heading towards me in the fast outer lane, of the direction I was heading ! I noticed cars pulled in immediatly, i guess to call the boys in blue !

I enjoyed the etape, i came accross no abuse, I worked some and pulled over when i got tired, i acknowledged the locals as much as possible, the scenary was beautiful, the weather was fine, the wind stayed put and didnt change direction. I bypassed 2 feed stations to stop at the third, and I stooed in Spannish point, remember the lad on the oileann pipes.

I traveled with a lad and found ourselves at separate starting times, that we just re-organised ourselves. Discovered my wheel has a buckle, and luckily I had no punctures. did not sleep the night before, room too warm, people in corridor woke me up. I would do it again and my companion wants to do the caledonian as well. didnt know there was hot food at the finish. a local gave me water when i took on too mcuh gel at one stage, and the zig zag accross that damned hill got annoying !

Way I look at this is : learn from it, take the good points and include in the irish organised events, i liked the timing thing, twas new for me.

I didnt get the commercial feel as 1). I was asleep, 2) we did not make all the stops. More irish staff next year yes, but the brits were our guests.

I did feel like being chapparoned in the start barriers by our guests, what would our ancestors say ?

Recommend Leinster loop, www.leinsterloop.com september 19th ,

I would not go back to the hotel I was at, even thoough it was the closest.

thought the road was typical of what you would see normally, maybe even a bit better !!! try woodenbridge towards arklow , and you are cycling 8 foot from the edge in the middle of the road as the surface is brutal. Cars not understanding why u are in the middle of the road along there.

anyone know how to get below 4 hours for next year? anmy bright ideas?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,391 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

michael196 wrote: »
    anyone know how to get below 4 hours for next year? anmy bright ideas?

Train harder :)

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

Guys I have sent an simple email letter to the editor of the Clare People and would ask as many as possible to do the same or to other Regional Papers just to let the People of Clare know how much we appreciated their support and that they stayed in their homes on a beautiful August Sunday.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Slideshowbob

<snip> organisers:

"Jo Dytch, spokesperson for IMG said: “Today represents a milestone day for mass participation events in Ireland considering this is the country’s first closed road non-professional cycle event. "

what about Stephen Roche GP for one - thats on closed roads!!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

That GP is pure racing, the etape isn't so you are comparing apples with oranges, not much sense in it.

• Registered Users Posts: 243 ✭✭ktz84

AstraMonti wrote: »
    That GP is pure racing, the etape isn't.

Was the Kellogg's Tour of Ireland not done on rolling road closures? Though it certainly wasn't closed roads for hours on end in the way this event was however I think I remember reading the blurb when it was running that they had rolling road closures.

Thanks michael196 for the info on the Leinster loop I live in Kilkenny so it's a done deal. Already it sounds better than the skyride re real food on offer. Good idea about the email to the clare paper too

• Registered Users Posts: 31,058 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

<snip>organisers:

"Jo Dytch, spokesperson for IMG said: “Today represents a milestone day for mass participation events in Ireland considering this is the country’s first closed road non-professional cycle event. "

AstraMonti wrote: »
    That GP is pure racing, the etape isn't so you are comparing apples with oranges, not much sense in it.

Yesterday was a race. SSB would have loved it. :)

Although my inner-Bob was a bit skeptical of the use of the term "race" throughout the promotional material and on the day, it was really closest in feel to a multi-sport "race" like a duathlon or triathlon. The commercial/professional elements are more normal in those, as are the timing chips and the overall feel (age categories, full results on website, "everyone is a winner" etc).

In the context of those sorts of events it was extremely well-run, perhaps with the sole exception of the congestion at the start which could have done with a little more thought.

Turning 135km of Clare countryside into a cycle lane for the day is no mean feat!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

Lumen wrote: »
    Yesterday was a race. SSB would have loved it. :)
    What I mean is in this event the average Joe could just sign up, pay the fee and do it. I am not sure that you can do that in the other races, eg SR GP.

Disclaimer: I do NOT want to drag this thread to the pointless debate is it a race or not!

• Registered Users Posts: 138 ✭✭Lashed

Did it in 5:09 according to the website. Unfortunatly this doesn't take into account the 2 punctures I got which must have taken at least 20 mins to fix.
    Overall I enjoyed the event and was happy with my time but will not do it again next year.

Scenic Route - Good
    Well Organised - Good
    Unexpected Good Weather - Good
    Closed Roads - Good

Level of Punctures - Bad
    Excessive Cost - Bad
    Registering Saturday only - Bad
    Sh1te Food Stops - Bad
    Distance in Miles - Bad
    Sh1te Goody Bags - Bad
    Englishness - Bad
    Commercial Aspect - Bad

As above the Cons far outweigh the Pros as is the general concensous from what I'm reading.

It will be interesting to see if the crowd is up or down next year as most people on here are saying they are not going to do it again.