If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

'The Gathering'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

I along with a lot of other people haven't bought yet but I'm going to ;) i105-107 is coming as well, gonna be pretty good :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭5Aces

i heard there is less than 1000 sold so there could be cheap tickets to be had on the day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭ciencin

is there a timetable released yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭catho_monster

LOL, one "bosca bia" does not a festival make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭Effluo

What!

They're playing Sidney Samson + Japanese Popstars at the same time?

That's well silly, everyone(well most) who wants to go to Popstars would also like to go to Samson.

IMO they should have put the like for like guys on one stage...
    This is a fail

The chapters should be playing on the stage as the main act and then stick Samson + Popstars in the Venue or at least at different times :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭Effluo

Well I bought mine on the first day and there were only 50ish of the cheap tickets left and they were the first 500 so I'd say more than 600 have been sold so far.

They were still only €30 well over a week from when they went on sale.

I asked then how many they had left at €30 and they said "not many" :(

Most of the people I know think it's too much money, the security will be strict(so no naggin in sock :pac:) and it will be just too expensive in general.

I know whenever I go to a festival it usually costs around €150-€200 between the ticket, food, random flashy objects and the beer + smokes of course.

It's a lot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭5Aces

so is there anyone here who knows for sure how many tickets have been sold?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Duddy

Oh Wow, whats this, the GAZILLIONTH all students email about the Gathering? WE GET IT ALREADY.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 662 ✭✭✭Liber8or

Duddy wrote: »
    Oh Wow, whats this, the GAZILLIONTH all students email about the Gathering? WE GET IT ALREADY.

Clearly someone is worried and wants to make sure everyone knows so everyone buys a ticket...

A good sign in my opinion! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭Ataxia

I probably wouldn't go if it was free, and I'm certainly not going to pay money to see a bunch of indie-pop* bands.

*I never quite understood this term, I thought indie meant alternative, while pop is the precise opposite of that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭sadie06

Ataxia wrote: »

* I thought indie meant alternative, while pop is the precise opposite of that.

As far as I know, indie originally referred to bands signed to an independent label.

sadie06 wrote: »
    As far as I know, indie originally referred to bands signed to an independent label.

It wasn't just that though, there was a kind of anti-corporate philosophy behind indie as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 Red_Niamh

If we didn't email, you'd complain that we're not giving you enough information... just. can't. win. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

IMO they should have put the like for like guys on one stage...
    This is a fail

I agree 110% on this.

I love the Popstars and have seen them more than a handful of times at this rate, and to be honest not keeping the electronic music to the one stage is short-sighted.

C'mon folks, its not too late!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,409 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Neosupervital is miles better than the rest of that line up.

Any chance we'll see these? It'd make me walk down for a few hours for sheer comedic value.

I'm quite sceptical about the whole thing. I honestly don't have the money that you would need for the day. Ticket 35, drink, food it would not be worth it!! I'm planning on doing a bit of study and going for a run and a puc around on the south campus...anyone who wants to stay as far away from the north campus is welcome to join!
    Maybe we could get a boardsie meeting going!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 mynamewastaken

apparently the dcu equilivent of "The Gathering" i.e "Wired" or something along those lines, with practically the same line-up, cost 25 euro for students and 35 for non studnets!

Grrr!!! I think we should have our own boardsie party!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭allandanyways

I am praying I won't be able to hear anything from the library, although I considered the proximity and I'm guessing I probably will hear the inevitable pounding of that Riverside bastárd.

You'll be in the library at 11pm :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭allandanyways

cian1500ww wrote: »
    You'll be in the library at 11pm :eek:

Cian, I'm always in the library* :cool:

*May not be true, I actually live in the Arts block. Me and the Library have a casual thing going on.

In all seriousness though, the feckin thing runs 12pm-12am so that's the whole fcuking day, there's no escape I tells ya! And before anyone says "Eh just study at home", you do not live in my house, you do not know how noisy it is. I actually still think campus during the Gathering will still be quieter than my house at any given time :mad:

I'll probably be studying then too...ICA for geography that I am determined to do well in!!

Cian, I'm always in the library* :cool:

*May not be true, I actually live in the Arts block. Me and the Library have a casual thing going on.
    *Feels bad because he hasn't stepped in the library since first year* :rolleyes:

I think the plan in my gaff is to play loads of Meshuggah really loud to drown out the **** music.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,907 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

I'm really lookin forward to this now. Just going through some Magic Number's songs to get me in the mood. :D

Looking forward to it as well.

Will there be a need for wellies ??

I'm excited too, woo woo.

I'll be seeing Private eye there, right? ;):p

I dunno about the wellies. I hope not.. mine are in the shed and it's cold outside...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,907 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

The stages are in the car park and in the Venue so no need for wellies.

It specifically says brings wellies on the website though... and not in a jokey jokey kind of way either...