If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

'The Gathering'

12346»

Ian Beale wrote: »
    Will the figures be posted when they are totalled up?

Will the figures from last year be posted up?

Or at the very least one of the SU explaining why they aren't telling us?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Abdul Abhaile

I'll definitely raise the matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Why not try emailing them?

Or dropping into the SU and asking them directly?

Using an unofficial channel seems a little like shouting for the sake of it.

Why not try emailing them?

Or dropping into the SU and asking them directly?

Using an unofficial channel seems a little like shouting for the sake of it.
    MaynoothSU wrote: »
    i12_boards.iepromisekept.JPG

Promise kept. PM us or email us at communications@nuimsu.com for any questions, suggestions or trouble you're having.

*Rob

Also I have asked people in the SU, never got a straight answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭mp3guy

Who's talking about last year?

It bombed last year, why do it again?
    A lot of people poured their hearts and souls into this event for no personal gain other than the satisfaction of knowing they had worked their arses off for the students who elected them. If you want to pi$$ all over their parade then feel free but do so in the full knowledge that you are aiming at people who gave up countless hours to attempt to put on an epic days entertainment for our students. Was it perfect? Of course not. Did everything go according to plan? No it didn't. If the SU wanted to just have some craic for the "clique" then there are ways to do it that would cause us a lot less stress.

Why did they commit so much to something that was obviously not attracting that much enthusiasm from the get go? All I remember upon the announcement of the second gathering was groaning. Considering it bombed last year, I was surprised that I didn't see any sort of student survey asking if a strong majority actually wanted to see it again. It shouldn't have been a challenge to get students to go to this and get them interested (which it obviously was), that's a red flag from day one.
    If you think you can do better then feel free to run for election. If not, you're just another bitter eternal student with a problem for every solution. Grow up.

The point of electing someone means I don't have to do things myself. I elect someone who represents what I want the most.

If this years gathering was a solution, what was the problem? The fact it also failed last year?

You seem to be making excuses to justify the whole thing. And by saying "If you think you can do better" you're also evoking pangs of "You can't criticise it if you can't do better yourself", which is completely ridiculous.

Though I did get the day off lectures, so whatever :pac:

King Mob wrote: »
    Also I have asked people in the SU, never got a straight answer.

Have you PMed or emailed them? That's the 'official' outlet they're talking about. There's NO WAY in hell this whole forum/thread is an official outlet for students to post grievences about the college and expect responses form the SU. That's just ridiculous. That's what the SU email and the fecking SU building itself is for.

Go, ask Ian Russell. Don't leave till you get an answer.

Have you PMed or emailed them? That's the 'official' outlet they're talking about. There's NO WAY in hell this whole forum/thread is an official outlet for students to post grievences about the college and expect responses form the SU. That's just ridiculous. That's what the SU email and the fecking SU building itself is for.

Go, ask Ian Russell. Don't leave till you get an answer.
    Again:
    Boards.ie will become an official channel for NUIMSU.

So one poster asked if they'd be posted here, and I asked if last years ones would be as well or at least a good explanation on why not.
    What's the issue?
    Someone from the SU has said they'd look into it.

And yes, I've asked a member of the SU personally, I didn't get a straight answer.

King Mob wrote: »
    Someone from the SU has said they'd look into it.

And yes, I've asked a member of the SU personally, I didn't get a straight answer.

Best of luck there.

The internet is anonymous, you can be ignored or arguments can go round and round in circles. For example:
    Boards.ie is not an official NUIMSU channel.

See what I did there?

Now, go do whatever you want, I couldn't care less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 MaynoothSU

kingmob wrote:
    i12_boards.iepromisekept.JPG

He's got me there! When an official report is finished on The Gathering it'll be presented here.

*Rob

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,418 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Ahhh it's nice to look in from afar, love how defensive some of the pro SU people are on here. Especially loved the if you can do better run for election argument that's always trotted out. Fact of the matter is, some people want to go to college to learn/party/waste time/generally not run for SU, this does not mean that can't criticise what they see in front of them. Quite an arrogant attitude to have tbh, also the classy grow up comment probably will inspire people to vote for you.

Also lol at the internet is anonymous comment/go do what you want it's my ball and i'm going home, a truly constructive argument that encourages open debate right?

Gathering bombed last year, and it seems no lessons were learned. I could have gone again this year but the insipid line up coupled with "thou shalt leave once thou enters" really stifles things. Granted it may have been enforced by the college but then you really need to re think the event, not plough ahead blindly and hope it'll be ok on the night.

Rather than one large event, 2/3 big acts playing small intimate shows. This college had Rice and Bell X1(just 2 examples of gigs i know made money) playing gigs to packed venues on a much smaller budget and turning a profit. You need to know your audience better, and the sooner a new venue manager/bar manager gets in there the better.

lordgoat wrote: »

Also lol at the internet is anonymous comment/go do what you want it's my ball and i'm going home, a truly constructive argument that encourages open debate right?

No, it was designed to do the exact opposite? I'm surprised you didn't see that? Perhaps it was the height of your ivory tower disrupting communications?

:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

Drunky mod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭westdub15

i know a lad that works as a pr for hb and he asked if he could do an interview with a few of the bands and a certain event manager said it would cost 500 quid, got a few interviews for free from comedians and bands and was told to leave! i think a more compact event would work better, more like the trinity ball. Over 6-8 hours 2-3 decent headliners and combine all the class balls into one event might work better....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭rcaz

westdub15 wrote: »
    combine all the class balls into one event might work better....

Would that not ruin the point of a class ball though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭mp3guy

El Pr0n wrote: »
    Would that not ruin the point of a class ball though?

I agree here, the fact they're exclusive to the class is what makes them.

ye fair point...if the event has a future i think it should be promoted through classes, think a maynooth ball that everyone could go to would be fun though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Abdul Abhaile

ye fair point...if the event has a future i think it should be promoted through classes, think a maynooth ball that everyone could go to would be fun though!

We would gladly welcome student input on what events people would like for next year. This "Maynooth Ball" sound like an interesting concept. Would you suggest modelling it on the "Trinity Ball"? I only ask because as good an idea as it sounds, it is fraught with logistical difficulties. Any outdoor event with a capacity of over 4,999 requires planning permission. The Trinity Ball has a capacity of 8,000 which sells out but in order to break even charges a ticket price of €80 per person. Can you imagine the required ticket price for a similar event in Maynooth where 8,000=college population? Another key issue would be the late bar license, Trinity runs until 5am with the bars closing at 4am. Due to potential license objections it. Would be very hard to gain an external late alcohol license for the event.

I went to it this year and really enjoyed it!
    The bands I did see were brilliant, Ryan Sheridan, Mike Scala, Shouting at Planes, Kid Karate, Saw Doctors, Rubber Bandits...all brilliant!
    The lack of numbers there was disappointing for the bands I'm sure, but they were all brilliant. I didn't bother going to Mr. Hudson or the Coronas because I don't like them. I enjoyed myself and got to chat with Mike Scala and the legend guitarist/singer from Kid Karate afterwards...brilliant.
    I'm glad I went, had good craic with my mates and listened to some deadly music...good day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭rcaz

... planning permission ... potential license objections ...

We can't even get a RAG week anymore :p

We would gladly welcome student input on what events people would like for next year. This "Maynooth Ball" sound like an interesting concept. Would you suggest modelling it on the "Trinity Ball"? I only ask because as good an idea as it sounds, it is fraught with logistical difficulties. Any outdoor event with a capacity of over 4,999 requires planning permission. The Trinity Ball has a capacity of 8,000 which sells out but in order to break even charges a ticket price of €80 per person. Can you imagine the required ticket price for a similar event in Maynooth where 8,000=college population? Another key issue would be the late bar license, Trinity runs until 5am with the bars closing at 4am. Due to potential license objections it. Would be very hard to gain an external late alcohol license for the event.

I wouldn't suggest completely copying the Trinity Ball we couldn't compete on that scale. The Gathering is spread over 12 hours and a lot of lesser known acts play in the early hours, some money could be saved by starting the event later and spending the money on the headliners. The whole no coming and going thing definitely put people off as this meant they couldn't pop offo for some cheap drink then go back in. To be fair to the SU if they can organize the gathering they could probably organize something along the lines of the ball.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,418 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

I wouldn't suggest completely copying the Trinity Ball we couldn't compete on that scale. The Gathering is spread over 12 hours and a lot of lesser known acts play in the early hours, some money could be saved by starting the event later and spending the money on the headliners. The whole no coming and going thing definitely put people off as this meant they couldn't pop offo for some cheap drink then go back in. To be fair to the SU if they can organize the gathering they could probably organize something along the lines of the ball.

This. Basically with people not being allowed to come and go, the decision to keep it to a day long event was just ridiculous. What other event imprisons you in a venue after you giving them money to be there?

Much easier to slash the size of it and run it a straight concert with 2 decent support acts to one headline. Cheaper tickets, easier to manage logistically, cheaper to run, better acts, more people there...

At a time when there's never been more good Irish acts, never more good international acts touring, add that to the fact that prices for acts have come down a hell of a lot. It's amazing how badly this was run.

It was also put on way too close to the exams. I probably sound like I'm just giving out about it and apologies for that but fuc-king hell like...