Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Stationmaster

Benbecul97 wrote: »
    Got sorted with decent tickets, but it's such a shame that half-way line tickets are held back 'til 3 days before the game. You get punished for purchasing your tickets early. Unfortunately the muppets in GAA administration will never learn.

The upper hogan wasn't meant to be open - demand for tickets over the last few days caused them to open it. I'd imagine it means there'll be 50k plus at it if the whole stadium is open.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

The upper hogan wasn't meant to be open - demand for tickets over the last few days caused them to open it. I'd imagine it means there'll be 50k plus at it if the whole stadium is open.

I think Saturday is expected to be over 50k and Sunday over 70k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Stationmaster

Clareman wrote: »
    I don't know what happened when I copied and pasted from excel into the table function on here so here's a image
    XdyPwP0.png

In round 1 there was 24,490 at Clare's match, round 2 13,736, they didn't have a round 3, round 4 20,782 and in round 5 18,803, that's a total of 77,811 at Clare matches for an average attendance of 19,453. I added in another couple of columns to show the population of each county and then expressed the total attendance as a percentage of the population. Almost 2/3 of the population of Clare attended Clare games this year, that's some bandwagon.

Did you forget the smily face at the bottom of your post!!??

If you keep going with posts like that Donald Trumps PR team will be onto you for a job....

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Did you forget the smily face at the bottom of your post!!??

If you keep going with posts like that Donald Trumps PR team will be onto you for a job....

When I said I did, I meant I didn't, naturally :pac::D

It's all about the spin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭BloodyBill

I like the spin and I like President Trump. The time and effort put into that grid shows your passion and interest for the small ball. The only issue I have with the grid is that it doesn't take into account the likes of Limerick City where rugby is the main sport. While many great hurling supporters come from the city it's really the Western division that form the backbone of Limerick support.
    How come Ennis has such a poor hurling culture in comparison to similar sized towns in other parts of the country?

BloodyBill wrote: »
    I like the spin and I like President Trump. The time and effort put into that grid shows your passion and interest for the small ball. The only issue I have with the grid is that it doesn't take into account the likes of Limerick City where rugby is the main sport. While many great hurling supporters come from the city it's really the Western division that form the backbone of Limerick support.
    How come Ennis has such a poor hurling culture in comparison to similar sized towns in other parts of the country?

Limerick City has the All Ireland Club champions from 2016 and the runners up from 2018, yes there are other sports but there's also a great hurling culture, Cork has a lot of football as well, a lot of counties has competing sports. Clare's historical hurling background would be east of the county, does that mean the west should be discounted?

Ennis's hurling "culture" is a disgrace in my opinion, for a town as big as Ennis to only have 1 senior club is bad enough, but the fact that that club was Intermediate not too long ago is worse. Eire Og has put a lot of effort into righting things, for example they won the Under 14 A this year, but they were Under 14 B last year, they shouldn't have dropped down. In the past 30 years Eire Og has won the county championship once and appeared in 2 other finals, that's not a great return for any club, the club with the largest pick and (in my opinion) best facilities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,507 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

So what are Clare's chances to win ?
    Although the bookies have Galway as strong favourites, I'm feeling quite optimistic.
    I like that the management tend to change things up. We of course can't match Galway aerially, so will need to use a lot of quick low ball, something this team can and I expect will do.
    Even the likes of Conlon or Duggan could struggle to win high ball against this Galway team, so we need to be prepared for it.
    Clare won't ever fear Galway, and with Tony Kelly and Shane O'Donnell showing glimpses of form, I think we can win.

Conference call hell means I've loads of time on Excel today.

Everyone in Clare knows that hurling only started in 1995, anything before that doesn't count :)

There's been 23 championships since then, below is a breakdown of winners, sorted by Senior Winners, Runners-Up, Under 21

1VcdyYa.png

So what are Clare's chances to win ?
    Although the bookies have Galway as strong favourites, I'm feeling quite optimistic.
    I like that the management tend to change things up. We of course can't match Galway aerially, so will need to use a lot of quick low ball, something this team can and I expect will do.
    Even the likes of Conlon or Duggan could struggle to win high ball against this Galway team, so we need to be prepared for it.
    Clare won't ever fear Galway, and with Tony Kelly and Shane O'Donnell showing glimpses of form, I think we can win.

No doubt people on other threads will be saying that we're planning a home coming already but I'm hopeful. It's huge having Clare back in Croke Park, hopefully the team can perform. We need ALL our players to play to the best of their ability. The biggest fears I have is how we'll cope with Galway's physical size (average height of 6"1), how our scoring from distance will go and if we'll get/take any goal chances.

Given the height differential, I'm guessing we'll start David Fitzgerald ahead of Morey for this one ?

I'd imagine it's more likely that Kelly will be brought back to the half backs to sit between half backs and midfield. Our subs hopefully will come on and pick up a lot of scraps, as the game goes on hopefully it'll get less structured which will suit us more, hopefully.

I know we haven't played in Croke Park since 2013, but i'm thinking when was the time before that. Was it 2007 when we lost to Limerick, or am I missing a game ?

I'd imagine it's more likely that Kelly will be brought back to the half backs to sit between half backs and midfield. Our subs hopefully will come on and pick up a lot of scraps, as the game goes on hopefully it'll get less structured which will suit us more, hopefully.
    No we need Kelly closer to the opposition goals. We need lads who can shoot picking up the scraps from the Galway back line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭tototoe

BloodyBill wrote: »
    This is a tad embarrassing. All Clare posters want to do here is talk about parking. Why do Clare supporters not take the train if you are so concerned. Also a genuine question..how come Clare supporters never hang around after a game..It's like watching an exodus. Most other Munster counties hang around and enjoy the after game stuff. Clare are usually back around the 'badlands ' of mid Clare before other counties have left the stadium environs.

Not from my experience of it . They weren't made very welcome in PUC after the game the last day,😉 but loads around after Limerick game, Munster final etc. Loads watching the other game in the dome in semple as well.

I know we haven't played in Croke Park since 2013, but i'm thinking when was the time before that. Was it 2007 when we lost to Limerick, or am I missing a game ?

2010 when we lost to Dublin

No we need Kelly closer to the opposition goals. We need lads who can shoot picking up the scraps from the Galway back line.

I agree, Kelly should be bursting from centre forward picking off points and going for goals, but he isn't playing there for us and I'd imagine management are terrified of Cleary being exposed by Canning so they'll put something in place to protect him.

Cleary needs to go centre back. I can see Clare putting up a real performance but I can't see them winning. Malone isn't up to it and will be exposed and the size issue is a big problem for Clare.
    However Podge and Colm Galvin (Clare's most important player) are in form. Kelly for all his talent isn't a creator or passer. His pass to Reidy for the goal earlier in the season is the first decent pass if seen him give. I think there's goals there for Clare. Imagine a Shannonside All Ireland. It would be manna from heaven.

Meant Cleary needs to go full back.

Cleary goes to full back and then any time he makes a mistake/out of position it's a goal, he stays at center back and it's a point. It's too late now to change our center/full back around unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭letowski

It's hard to say how I feel for Saturday's game. There's a nice buzz to be back in Croke Park on Sunday but it's tempered with the fact we are up against a superior team, that is in many ways, taylormade to exploit our biggest weaknesses. That said I am expecting Clare to put in a good performance and give Galway a serious test, I'm just not sure we will be good enough.

I think looking at it, to win, we will need to be hitting 26 points plus against a strong Galway backline. To be honest though, I don't think this Clare forward line is given enough credit for how productive it has been this year. In ALL of their six games this year, they have hit over 26 points which is excellent. I think in the form lines of the likes of Kelly, O'Donnell and McGrath maybe have made it out that the forward line in some ways has been inconsistent, but we genuinely have a excellent forward line.

And I have to say, I'm very much looking forward to seeing them back in Croke Park. Clare can give Galway a serious test up front, as our attack is predicated on speed and movement, something that Croke Park facilitates. This will suit all six players but none moreso that Kelly and Podge who have put in some outstanding displays of movement and shooting in the stadium. Its a good solid back line Galway have, but this will be a different sort of test for them. They won't be up against an attack like Kilkenny where their halfback line can attack everything played in front or on top of them. Or Wexford where they only play 4/5 forwards. A players like Harte and McInerney won't have high balls rained down on top of them and instead, will be tested how good they can move tracking runs facing towards their own goal. Also, Clare won't be making a hero out of John Hanbury like KK did either, we shouldn't have any intentions hitting high balls in on top of him on SOD. I think if our touch and movement is on point, we have the ability to hit a good score. But if it's not, and Galway's halfbacks are able to impose themselves on the game, which they can, we goosed to be honest. We obviously don't stand a chance taking on the Galway's back line physically.

At the back though, we have some major concerns. I'm not too high on some suggestions in Cleary going to 3 to take on Glynn. One of the reasons he has been struggling with form, is that he isn't imposing himself enough both aerially and physically at 6 (I can't remember one catch he has made in a while). Also, there's a good chance Galway will like to rotate, and a match up like say Cleary on Conor Cooney on the edge of the square would be very unfavourable to us. So then, would we have to move McInerney back to 3 again? It's messy and unsettling. I think Cleary on Canning, while not great for us, its not terrible as Canning is doing most of his work when he roams out the field anyway, in places we don't want our 6 to follow anyway. We have lads like Kelly and Reidy, as well as Malone's workrate that can close down Canning when he comes out. Still though, trying to counter Glynn is going to be a very difficult task. Even if McInerney can spoil the ball coming in, players like Mannion, Cooney and particularly Whelan are so good and coming onto the breaks. The management have to work out a strategy of some sort here, because if Galway are getting joy hitting direct ball inside, they will starting running up a big score like in the first half of the Leinster final replay. I think the best way is to try and sit your halfbacks and midfield as deep as is practical, and try to close down space and make the breaks inside scrappy for anyone to gain possession. It goes without saying, our backs have to meet the considerable physical and aerial challenge the Galway forwards will bring.

Overall I think we will struggle to hold the Galway forwards to a manageable score to beat at the other end. We definitely I think will need to get more goals to win. I'm very much looking forward to the game though, this is where we want to be, challenging the best. I think Saturday will be the indication of where this team is at right now after a bumpy season. I'm expecting them to play well and to give Galway a good test, but ultimately a couple of points short, hope I'm wrong!

Oh and Conlon v Burke should be great viewing.

But Shanagher make the bench instead of Corry which is brilliant news for the kid. Could be an impact sub maybe if sharp, I'm a big fan of his.

Sunday is going to be an awful tough shift for our forwards, not only are they going to have to be making runs in all directions looking for space but as soon as possession is lost they will have to be tacking the Galway backs to make sure they can't pick their clearance out, our backs just aren't good enough to have players either run at them or be contesting them 1 on 1 for the ball, it'll be the forwards jobs to make sure that no clean ball is cleared by the Galway backs.

letowski wrote: »
    But Shanagher make the bench instead of Corry which is brilliant news for the kid. Could be an impact sub maybe if sharp, I'm a big fan of his.

We are going to have to do something on Saturday that we haven't done to date, and that's make effective use of our bench, Croke Park is a huge pitch and players will have to cover an awful amount of ground, we'll have to get fresh legs on as soon as their needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Shanagher will definitely make an appearance I'd say.

We are going to have to do something on Saturday that we haven't done to date, and that's make effective use of our bench, Croke Park is a huge pitch and players will have to cover an awful amount of ground, we'll have to get fresh legs on as soon as their needed.

We have some impact though.

Something like:

Fitzgearld for Shanahan
    I. Galvin for Reidy
    McCarthy for Malone
    McGrath for O'Donnell

They can all bring something to the table. Shanagher maybe too, I don't now where he is at, but he is a big lad and a real handful.

We have some impact though.

Something like:

Fitzgearld for Shanahan
    I. Galvin for Reidy
    McCarthy for Malone
    McGrath for O'Donnell

They can all bring something to the table. Shanagher maybe too, I don't now where he is at, but he is a big lad and a real handful.

All those are great changes to really bring some spark into the game, but we need to be making a change around 50/55 minutes, not after 65.

Fully agree with this. Especially if we are chasing the game and need some scores, the management have to act swiftly.

Sunday is going to be an awful tough shift for our forwards, not only are they going to have to be making runs in all directions looking for space but as soon as possession is lost they will have to be tacking the Galway backs to make sure they can't pick their clearance out, our backs just aren't good enough to have players either run at them or be contesting them 1 on 1 for the ball, it'll be the forwards jobs to make sure that no clean ball is cleared by the Galway backs.

I'm nervous too of our puckouts. I'm expecting Galway to push up and be timbering Duggan. Getting enough quick, clean quality ball into our forwards is going to be tough.

Fully agree with this. Especially if we are chasing the game and need some scores, the management have to act swiftly.

Even if we're not chasing the game we can't let the game get away from us, against Cork we were in trouble all over the field and no changes were being made.