Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭Reputable Rog

Any idea of when ticketing details will announced.
    I have mixed feelings about the replay, whilst Thurles is my favourite venue I feel Clare play much better in Croke Park.
    If Cork and Limerick can't be separated today I wonder what happens next?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭junebabies

The boys did us proud!!
    Issue nxt day will be tickets. Over 54 k yesterday and thurles only takes 45 k . Much prefer Thurles myself but agree Clare play better in Croke park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

Great game yesterday. No one gave Clare a chance, but after that horrific opening 15 minutes they got their act together and were more than a match for Galway. Thought our defence looked reasonably comfortable in the second half, whilst Galway looked very vulnerable. The likes of Kelly, Duggan, Fitzgerald, Clear running straight through them from deep. Disappointing that we didn't win it to be honest.

One thing that occurred to me after the game is the large number of scores we gifted Galway. We were picking out their players with puckouts and clearances in the opening 15 minutes. Canning scored a sideline that came from a poor sideline ball for us. The goal was shocking, 3 Clare players back couldn't deal with the situation. A free given to Galway right from the throw in at the beginning of extra time. In comparison, I think we had to work a lot harder for our scores. I don't think many of them came directly from silly Galway mistakes. In a way, that bodes well for us for next week. If we can eliminate some of those errors whilst keeping our work rate and intensity up we can beat them. Hard to tell whether Thurles will be an advantage to us or not. Clare well used to playing there, but they seem to play their best hurling in Croke Park.

Fair play to the lads yesterday. They certainly did us proud.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,507 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Weren't semi final replays always played at Croke Park in the past ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,507 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

The minor footballers are leading 0-8 to 0-3 at half time v Galway in Tullamore.
    Could be a shock on the cards here.....

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

The minor footballers are leading 0-8 to 0-3 at half time v Galway in Tullamore.
    Could be a shock on the cards here.....

They lost unfortunately

https://twitter.com/GaaClare/status/1023566874947342336

• Closed Accounts Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Sycamore Tree

Wonder what the story is with the injuries to G.McInerney and Canning
    I am fairly certain both are out for the replay. GerryMc certainly. Canning has a small chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,565 ✭✭✭finbarrk

BnB wrote: »
    Stayed up till now watching the full match after driving home and the durty durty durty fupping cursed sky plus recording ran out at the end of the first half of added time.

Well FUPP IT anyway
    Same here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,565 ✭✭✭finbarrk

I wonder which terrace will we have the next day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

BnB wrote: »
    Stayed up till now watching the full match after driving home and the durty durty durty fupping cursed sky plus recording ran out at the end of the first half of added time.

Well FUPP IT anyway

You should always record the following programme in case of added time. I have learned to my cost.

You can download on catch up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭opinionated3

finbarrk wrote: »
    I wonder which terrace will we have the next day?

I'll be heading to killinan end anyway. That's always our end in recent years so I ain't changing. Just waiting to see now when tickets are on sale...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭letowski

Some game yesterday, my nerves were shot! Incredibly tense , edgy game. It was real case of deja vu there for McCarthy's score like Domhnaill's one in the 2013 AI. Like the line ball hit out wide.. Clare working the ball up the field.. got it to the loose back to finish, it was great composure again by the team under the highest pressure you can put a team under. Fair play to the kid too.

Overall, looking back at the game, we were quite lucky in many respects to be level at the end of regulation. Galway had a number of close ones that went to Hawkeye, Touhy had to pull a great save and then throw himself at two other chances and also Coen should have won it for them at the death. But Clare deserve enormous credit from pulling themselves back in the game under the worst possible start. And while I have in some games been quite critical of the management over the last 2 years, their plan B when everything was failing to move Galvin back was the changing of the game, so that was excellent from them.

I suppose we are going to be hearing people over the next week questioning whether we 'lost the chance' yesterday to beat Galway, but to be fair, it doesn't feel like that at all. I think we are grateful to still have another chance to take Galway. If Galway are missing McInerney and Canning, their huge losses. At the end of the day, it's going to come down to who can play the game on their own terms. If Galway can impose themselves physically on Clare, dominate the puckouts and get good direct ball inside, they will win, and win well like they were doing after 16 minutes. But after those 16 minutes, the game broke up and became much looser which suited us more. I think Galway will win next week as they will be better prepared for how Clare move and work the ball. But I'd still give us a solid chance nonetheless, we have alot of scope for improvement especially in our handling and stickwork. Another shout out again to our bench, Fitz, McCarthy, Shan and Ian Galvin with all very notable contributions at crucial stages. Absolutely delighted for Shanagher, I had a feeling all week he could do something and he did. Just to note, we have to be accommodating Ian Galvin at the very very least 20 minutes because he is consisting bringing a huge amount to table. Fitz also must be in the running for a starting place, though they will probably start Malone I think again.

The Clare squad on the whole have made some massive strides since last year. I suppose 3 things that were hampering us the last few years were goalkeeping errors, ill-discipline and free-taking, all of which we excellent today. And of course our workrate and heart has been brilliant. To get the chance to play Limerick in an AI final would be an incredible opportunity for our county and supporters. But we are going to have to find another gear again next Sunday because Galway are going to be properly ready this time.

But f*ck it, bring it on!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Meant to ask a few months ago what is the story with Oisin O'Brien. I thought he was back fit on the panel pre season (think he started awaterford crystal trophy game or whatever its called now) but seemed to disappear again before the start of the league proper.

marco_polo wrote: »
    Meant to ask a few months ago what is the story with Oisin O'Brien. I thought he was back fit on the panel pre season (think he started awaterford crystal trophy game or whatever its called now) but seemed to disappear again before the start of the league proper.

Yes, he was back on the panel after his cruicate knee injury early last year that kept him out for the rest of 2017 bar the Munster final (where he should never have played). He was back on the panel at the start of the year but it seemed his knee wasn't healed well and he left. He only then had the knee operation in May, the Club Clare put up a tweet. Hopefully we will see him back next year, he was always excellent when fully fit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Looking back at Duggan's point in the last 10 minutes. An hour of physical hurling already played, 3-4 Galway lads hanging off him and a score needed to level up the sides, still not a bother to him.

Truly incredible stuff.

https://twitter.com/officialgaa/status/1023259225424883714

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭WanderlustIre

Noveight wrote: »
    Looking back at Duggan's point in the last 10 minutes. An hour of physical hurling already played, 3-4 Galway lads hanging off him and a score needed to level up the sides, still not a bother to him.

Truly incredible stuff.

https://twitter.com/officialgaa/status/1023259225424883714

I've produced this on cold winter nights in Silver park, Naer a bother hahah

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Probably a different thread but I was a bit harsh on Galvin yesterday. Looking at the Sunday game again he was almost a constant on the highlight reel and setup a mountain of scores but I for some reason I mostly noticed the few loose passes in the flesh yesterday, I still felt he had played pretty well but in fact he was bordering on excellent in hindsight

I think he has alway been a great outlet for the team over the years and if he gets good ball it always sticks. Definitely gets a bit overcritisied not unlike say Horgan for Cork, but whatever has changed in the past few games in terms of the confidence to have a go for his own score long may it continue.

Edit: Somehow I was replying to a post from the future below :)

So where do you start with analyzing that one??!!

First off, very proud of all those players out on that pitch today. Left their hearts and soul on that pitch.

To come back from 9 points down against the all ireland champs was so impressive and every time they pulled away again we were able to drag it back again and again. Unbelievable effort.

Strange one as every player put in a huge effort and contributed positively to the outcome but pretty much every player made a silly mistake. We gifted them so many scores and had to work ridiculously hard for ours. Even things like John Conlon dropping a few high balls which he looked like he had in his hand.

Plenty more to analyze and discuss but leave that for the rest of the week.

Those duggan and SOD points :D

I have to say, if it wasn't for Duggan getting one of the best individual scores in Croke Park, we would be talking about Shane O'Donnell's first point, which was a beauty. I was in the Hill, like, his matrix-style leap to grab that ball at his ankles at full flight was stunning. Even with Hanbury on top of him. He got up shrugged off the challenge and hit an outstanding score. He really has shut up his critics since the Munster final. Great lad to have!

giphy.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

There were some cracking scores. Didn't Galvin land a monster point from way out the field at one stage as well?

I was above on the Hill and can't rightly remember when but he struck it in to the Davin end I think.

Noveight wrote:
    There were some cracking scores. Didn't Galvin land a monster point from way out the field at one stage as well?

Yes from a nice flick from Kelly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 codea

Does anyone know when tickets for the replay are on sale????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Stationmaster

codea wrote: »
    Does anyone know when tickets for the replay are on sale????

There's talks that there might be nothing on sale to the public until clubs are looked after first. Nothing official yet though either way.

I heard that the terrace tickets should be online/in Centra today, clubs are getting first crack at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭innuendo141

The event is up on tickets.ie but "The event you are trying to reach does not exist on our system because it either expired or it was never published." message so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

Noveight wrote: »

I was above on the Hill and can't rightly remember when but he struck it in to the Davin end I think.

He did. Duggan hit a lovely one from range too after catching a puckout. He got a nice one in the first half too where he bounced the sliotar as 3 or 4 Galway lads were chasing him. Tony Kelly hit a monster of a point too in the first half.
    letowski wrote: »
    I have to say, if it wasn't for Duggan getting one of the best individual scores in Croke Park, we would be talking about Shane O'Donnell's first point, which was a beauty. I was in the Hill, like, his matrix-style leap to grab that ball at his ankles at full flight was stunning. Even with Hanbury on top of him. He got up shrugged off the challenge and hit an outstanding score. He really has shut up his critics since the Munster final. Great lad to have!

giphy.gif

I've been quite critical of Shane O'Donnell at times but he was excellent on Saturday. With all the talk about Galway's physicality you would have expected this game to be one that O'Donnell would struggle to make an impact on. He really stepped up though when we were desperately needing scores. Fair play to him.

Who got the man of the match? They never announced it on the Sunday Game.