Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Stationmaster

Gaatalk wrote: »
    Ha Championship due to start in August why didnt it start in April wasnt that why April was a closed intercounty season! Inagh Kilnamona thats 2 different parishes/clubs is it? What a cod! Its strange how keen ye are on the auld club winter cod of stuff and yet will still be late october or november b4 co final playedðŸ˜
    Wherè would one b going yet Cork and counties like them can run off their club championship
    in conjunction with the intercounty championship!!! No wonder Clare finding no new senior players!! Too much molly coddling of clubs going on. Going play without yer county players or county players going play with clubs.

You're a great addition to this thread.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

I was talking to someone in the county board earlier, there's an expectation of ~15k of an attendance on Saturday, the team are going down on Friday night, 1 of the reasons is that the guards can't guarantee a quick passage across the city on Saturday because of a festival that's on down there.

The word cluster**** comes to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

Actually looking for advice as not too familiar with PuC at all.

Heading down from Adare after a wedding Saturday morning - I will go early to avoid any panic etc but looking for advice on where to park as want to get back onto M8 as quickly as possible after the game to get home in time to see my club play in Senior Championship.

Any advice really appreciated.

I'm a neutral obviously!!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

With traffic and festivals and roadworks I'd be relying on Google Maps to get me there in the morning of the match. Coming from Adare I'd be more likely to go via West Cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭pakie ed

Heading down from Adare after a wedding Saturday morning - I will go early to avoid any panic etc but looking for advice on where to park as want to get back onto M8 as quickly as possible after the game to get home in time to see my club play in Senior Championship.

Park in Cork Con Rugby grounds at Douglas side. 8€ 1st in first out policy very near Motorway and the Tunnel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭Reputable Rog

People could always drive as far as Mallow and train it in. €4.50 parking for the day at the station. Station on Limerick side of the Annabella roundabout and handy for getting away afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

People could always drive as far as Mallow and train it in. €4.50 parking for the day at the station. Station on Limerick side of the Annabella roundabout and handy for getting away afterwards.

Long trek from the station to PuC??!??

2.9km or 36 min walking. From Kent station to the pairc . Not bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Gaatalk

Please can there be a bit of commonsense here and not hysteria about the match on in Cork!
    Are ye all bandwagoners asking how to get to Cork!😊 and where to park in Cork!😊 Its hilarious reading the discussion on it and nothing about the game itself. Id presume some bandwagoners even still would have been to Cork some point in their life! There would not be as much rubbish and hysteria about this even in the 60's when people cycled to matches! Are Wexford talking this nonsense can be sure they are not! At the end of the day the game is on Munster for Clare so Wexford probably got the shorter straw!! Very negative whinging almost like its cool to debate the trip to Cork! Did anyone go to Cork in the 90s for the memorable games between Clare and Tipperary or have ye short memory how ye got there or are ye all born after the 90s! Pure sign of bandwagon talk going on here. Drive yer car on the N20 straight down to Cork and park on the quays and walk into PUC! Why complicate it with this nonsense.
    If a chip on shoulders like this Saturday Wexford will have Clare beaten b4 the game throws in and I have a feeling Davy feels the same!!!
    Now any more negative hysterical banter about how to get to the game!
    Come on the Banner. Let the knowledgable people talk hurling while the bandwagoners talk about how to get to Cork where to Park where to go to the toilet where to Booze and so on and so on I think il snooze how boring 😔😔😔😔😔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭Slieve Gullion

Gaatalk wrote: »
    Please can there be a bit of commonsense here and not hysteria about the match on in Cork!
    Are ye all bandwagoners asking how to get to Cork!�� and where to park in Cork!�� Its hilarious reading the discussion on it and nothing about the game itself. Id presume some bandwagoners even still would have been to Cork some point in their life! There would not be as much rubbish and hysteria about this even in the 60's when people cycled to matches! Are Wexford talking this nonsense can be sure they are not! At the end of the day the game is on Munster for Clare so Wexford probably got the shorter straw!! Very negative whinging almost like its cool to debate the trip to Cork! Did anyone go to Cork in the 90s for the memorable games between Clare and Tipperary or have ye short memory how ye got there or are ye all born after the 90s! Pure sign of bandwagon talk going on here. Drive yer car on the N20 straight down to Cork and park on the quays and walk into PUC! Why complicate it with this nonsense.
    If a chip on shoulders like this Saturday Wexford will have Clare beaten b4 the game throws in and I have a feeling Davy feels the same!!!
    Now any more negative hysterical banter about how to get to the game!
    Come on the Banner. Let the knowledgable people talk hurling while the bandwagoners talk about how to get to Cork where to Park where to go to the toilet where to Booze and so on and so on I think il snooze how boring ����������

I would have given you a like for that post but for your avatar. I will laugh at you though for the mongolisation of subsequent posts. Lolzers :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭Slieve Gullion

It's just the way it is mate, people reach out here for some advice. Some reach out just for the sake of reaching out, something to do on their computer. Where's the harm?

As for bandwagoners, sure what are you going to do? Life is a bandwagon and we're all guilty of it in someway or other. Some are young and naive and would get lost going down to the shop but rather than give out about them we should forgive embrace and cherish them, be proud of our county men and women. We're all stupid at the end of the day, we're only people after all. Rock on!!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

/Adds to ignore list

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭tototoe

pakie ed wrote: »
    Park in Cork Con Rugby grounds at Douglas side. 8€ 1st in first out policy very near Motorway and the Tunnel.

Certainly wasn't first in first out the day of the cork Clare game. Was a complete pain in the hole getting out of there. Stewards standing at the gate and a complete free for all on the field. Has that been sorted out?

tototoe wrote: »
    Certainly wasn't first in first out the day of the cork Clare game. Was a complete pain in the hole getting out of there. Stewards standing at the gate and a complete free for all on the field. Has that been sorted out?

OK I was late getting back to car and was parked back at the end of the grounds that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

Looks like an unchanged team for Saturday.

Just about to say that, it's a joke if there's isn't a change made, ffs about 6 players weren't good enough the last day surely 1 has to be dropped to wake everyone up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭letowski

Yep its a harder team to get off this team than to actually make it. I think Fitzgearld and McGrath are the only 2 players to be dropped, and this is going all the way back to the start of the league in January. Its actually quite amazing realy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

Has Mikey O'Malley played much in the championship at all? A lot of excitement about him back during the league.

letowski wrote: »
    Yep its a harder team to get off this team than to actually make it. I think Fitzgearld and McGrath are the only 2 players to be dropped, and this is going all the way back to the start of the league in January. Its actually quite amazing realy.

Be a good under 21 when they won the 3 in a row and you're set, the only players to be dropped are those who weren't on that team.

Has Mikey O'Malley played much in the championship at all? A lot of excitement about him back during the league.

The problem with him is what position to play him in, he's not a back or a forward and he's too small to be a back, he was badly exposed in the league when he was tried. I was at the Munster Club Intermediate final and I wasn't impressed by him then either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭supernova5

who is the Michael O'Leary named on the 26 man panel for the Wexford game?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

I don't believe that team will start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Stationmaster

supernova5 wrote: »

Michael O'Neill and Michael O'Malley - both Kilmaley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭supernova5

yes but according to hoganstand.com there is an Michael O'Leary also named, probably a misprint though

http://hoganstand.com/Article/Index/287785

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭thesultan

Park around Blackrock club grounds and walk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,504 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

tototoe wrote: »

I wouldn't recommend anyone parking there either , not cork cons fault.but the garda traffic plan in that area , if you're parking in that area park on the side of the to where you would normally park for a game in paric ui rinn , and give a few quid to the lads at the gate as you pass temple hill.road because they do put on a great spread and are a proud club , just the gards give them no chance at the moment with the traffic plan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

supernova5 wrote: »

If it's who I think it might be I wouldn't play him. He could be red-carded for giving lip to the ref, even foul-mouthed lip. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭tototoe

I wouldn't recommend anyone parking there either , not cork cons fault.but the garda traffic plan in that area , if you're parking in that area park on the side of the to where you would normally park for a game in paric ui rinn , and give a few quid to the lads at the gate as you pass temple hill.road because they do put on a great spread and are a proud club , just the gards give them no chance at the moment with the traffic plan

We were late enough getting out of PUC and it was still terrible. The stewards seemed to be having an argument with the gardai when we got to the gate about people only turning left coming out of there. All seemed so badly organised.

Anyway, will figure the parking out when we get there. Reckon it will be a small enough crowd in there.

I have a good feeling about today though. Hope I'm right. Hon the banner

Big day for the Clare hurlers today, lose and I feel that's the end of the road for a lot of the players, wouldn't be surprised if a lot of them didn't come back next year, especially those on the bench, win and they are into an All Ireland semi final against Galway in Croke Park.