Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

Funny game yesterday in that we played quite well, got great scores, and as others have said, a few players answered some of their critics too. Having said all that, that win was probably as much down to Wexford's atrocious shooting and decision making as it was our good play. They missed 2 or 3 scoreable chances early in the game that kept the score at 1 point a piece. There was also a period in the 2nd half where they hit 3 or 4 wides in a row that were either down to poor shooting, or poor decision making. They hit a number of short passes directly to a Clare man around midfield throughout the game too - I think Tony Kelly got a point out of one of them. I'd have been tearing my hair out if I was a Wexford fan yesterday, mainly because Clare themselves have put in a lot of performances like that over the years.

Nevertheless, It's great to be back in Croke Park. I think everyone having Galway as hot favourites will suit us. I think Croke Park will suit a lot of our players too - some great performances there from the likes of O'Donnell, Kelly, Podge etc. back in 2013. We put up another big score today as well which is encouraging. I think we will have to get a goal or two against Galway though to be in with a shout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭Speakerboxx

Clareman wrote: »
    Ah here, aren't you very sensitive, I didn't think snowflakes would survive the recent heatwave. Don't worry I don't think anyone is looking past Galway, no one is getting onto Ciaran McDermot asking his to write a new tune.

They are your words not mine. You can take what you want from it but what you said is what you said. I am quoting what you said. You beat Wexford and straight away you are talking of winning the All Ireland. You say you aren't looking past Galway but secretly you are. Reality check needed first.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

They are your words not mine. You can take what you want from it but what you said is what you said. I am quoting what you said. You beat Wexford and straight away you are talking of winning the All Ireland. You say you aren't looking past Galway but secretly you are. Reality check needed first.

If we win 2 games we are champions, if my aunt has balls she'd be my uncle, if United win all their games they'll win the league, if I get the lotto numbers right I'll be a millionaire. There's a big difference between looking to an All Ireland final and saying "if".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭Speakerboxx

I can't wait either, to be in the last 4 is MASSIVE for us, 2 games and we're champions.

The above is what you actually said. There was no "if" in that.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

The above is what you actually said. There was no "if" in that.

Fair enough, apologies if I seemed to be jumping the gun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭BnB

Funny game yesterday in that we played quite well, got great scores, and as others have said, a few players answered some of their critics too. Having said all that, that win was probably as much down to Wexford's atrocious shooting and decision making as it was our good play. They missed 2 or 3 scoreable chances early in the game that kept the score at 1 point a piece. There was also a period in the 2nd half where they hit 3 or 4 wides in a row that were either down to poor shooting, or poor decision making. They hit a number of short passes directly to a Clare man around midfield throughout the game too - I think Tony Kelly got a point out of one of them. I'd have been tearing my hair out if I was a Wexford fan yesterday, mainly because Clare themselves have put in a lot of performances like that over the years.

Nevertheless, It's great to be back in Croke Park. I think everyone having Galway as hot favourites will suit us. I think Croke Park will suit a lot of our players too - some great performances there from the likes of O'Donnell, Kelly, Podge etc. back in 2013. We put up another big score today as well which is encouraging. I think we will have to get a goal or two against Galway though to be in with a shout.

That pretty much sums up my own thoughts exactly. Clare played well throughout and very well in patches. The most pleasing part was a few good performances from key players like Kelly, SOD, Davey Mac and Podge.... all of whom we need to be hurling at the top of their game if we are to make any impression on this serious Galway team.

But, finally back in CP after a few years lost watching SOD in a one man FF line getting the shoite kicked out of him up and down the country. (NOT SoD's fault)

On a related note...... Wexford were very limited yesterday. Their decision making and shooting was terrible. Where have we seen that before ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Twiceasnice97

Sorry lads, Iv been distracted for a few weeks?? Where is the super fan from the last week gone??

I’d love to know what he thinks of TK now and SOD

they were brilliant yesterday but that wouldnt invalidate comments regarding performances to date.
    yesterday has to be a baseline for performances nut a the top of a yo yo s swing

Yesterday was a good performance, out main players stood up to be counted after disappearing against Cork, they'll need to up the game again to play Galway but Galway won't be looking forward to playing a team with in-from forwards of SoD, Kelly, Podge, Conlon, Reid and Duggan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭small town girl

The last thing I want to do is stir up can of worms, but I thought Conor Cleary really improved his game v Wexford, by comparison to the Cork performance.

For some reason I've always liked him, no club or family connection!, and I thought he looked very hyped up yesterday as if he thought he had something to prove.

The last thing I want to do is stir up can of worms, but I thought Conor Cleary really improved his game v Wexford, by comparison to the Cork performance.

For some reason I've always liked him, no club or family connection!, and I thought he looked very hyped up yesterday as if he thought he had something to prove.

He did alright but that was because he had cover and wasn't be marked man to man, he's well suited to the sweeper system, him against Joe Canning is a scary prospect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭small town girl

He did alright but that was because he had cover and wasn't be marked man to man, he's well suited to the sweeper system, him against Joe Canning is a scary prospect.

I hadn't realised that would be the pairing (I love the game but I'm not an aficionado). That does sound like a challenge alright.

I'm prob a bit too soft but I was just pleased for him, it looked like he was very emotionally involved yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

I hadn't realised that would be the pairing (I love the game but I'm not an aficionado). That does sound like a challenge alright.

I'm prob a bit too soft but I was just pleased for him, it looked like he was very emotionally involved yesterday

People get on his back for lets say an awkward style but he is vital towards the cause both him and Malone , both seem to draw the blood of some Clare support but trust.me they were excellent yesterday and vital lads to have on the panel physically ,

I know Connor , he is a top man very sound guy. But both himself and his brother eoin with the footballers wear there heart on there sleeve when playing for Clare , they always get very excited after a win ,

But given Galways size he is going to be crucial the next day out

Pace is a worry but he has carried hie weight over the course of the championship , I would be more worried about his clearances against the likes of dathi burke and gearoid mac then who he is marking

dont ever be afraid to post on here , whether you feel you are an expert or a novice you are entitled to say what you like , particularly if it involves hurling or football :pac:
    last night we had a "school teacher" on his/her holidays with nothing to do but correct all of our posts for spelling errors :rolleyes:

trust me we would always prefer to see people like yourself more often on here then smart arse's that seem to think they know it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭innuendo141

As much of a balls it was getting to Cork on Saturday, the lads made up for it. Serious glimpses and flashes of brilliance in the first half, with an all round much better performance than Thurles.

Does anyone think we can actually get it together for 70+ minutes against Galway? If Wexford had been hitting those wides the way they should have, it would have been a very different day. We really should have won by a larger margin, had the first half performance carry over, but the dip along with Wexford finally waking up means there's a lot to go over in the 2 weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭tototoe

As much of a balls it was getting to Cork on Saturday, the lads made up for it. Serious glimpses and flashes of brilliance in the first half, with an all round much better performance than Thurles.

Does anyone think we can actually get it together for 70+ minutes against Galway? If Wexford had been hitting those wides the way they should have, it would have been a very different day. We really should have won by a larger margin, had the first half performance carry over, but the dip along with Wexford finally waking up means there's a lot to go over in the 2 weeks.

Anything can happen over 70 minutes, regardless of opposition imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,367 ✭✭✭letowski

Agreed, I though he was very solid yesterday on Chin and had a much improved performance from the Cork game. I was critical of him and Malone in that game, but they both put in good shifts. Cleary was a lot more physical against Wexford and we badly need him to bring that against Galway, but still I'd like him to impose himself more aerially, because he is a big lad and well able to pluck balls out of the sky.

I will say this, the thing about himself and Malone is that they are good players to have when we don't have the ball. Like I'm not hugely worried about Galway exposing them when they get the ball. OK Canning could trouble Cleary but he is HOTY and will trouble anyone no matter who we put on him, Cleary is as big and more-or-less mobile as Canning. The concerns I have is when Cleary and Malone have the ball. I feel, at the highest level and pace under pressure, they're vision and composure is lacking, as is their stickwork and shooting (infairness Malone took a good point on Saturday). Galway is the biggest challenge in hurling right now, and I don't think we can get away with a center back and midfielder turning over possession. They probably need to simplify their decision making more, especially Cleary who tried to force some passes against Cork. But I think he will learn from that day and hopefully improve, like he did against Wexford.

Having said all that, I would love nothing more that them to answer their question marks next Saturday week. I wouldn't dare fault them for effort or commitment (Malone is one of the hardest workers I think we have seen in recent years), so I'm hoping they fare well. And we need them to do well as their size is needed against this type of team we going to be playing.

I was harsh on Malone during the game on Saturday, especially near the end, he had a couple of bad wides and fouled the ball twice, but looking back he covered some amount of ground to get in possession.

I know I am getting well ahead of myself and have major saffron&blue glasses on AND there's a lot of if's but.....

If we can keep our concentration and our intensity up for the full 70 minutes we have a great chance. Galway are a physically big side but Limerick showed against Kilkenny yesterday that with the right ball the impact of physicality can be greatly reduced, I think we will need to keep everyone as far out the sides as possible with runners breaking through the middle to run onto ball. Unfortunately our half forwards and midfield have been found wanting on a few occasions this year, if the Galway half backs are allowed sit back in front of their full back like cleaning up ball and picking out balls to their forwards we'll be in for a long day. If we get on top we can't allow Galway back into it, we've allowed teams back into the game in every game, I know you can't dominate for the full 70 minutes but we can't let the heads drop. Our game management will need to be upped big time as well, we'll need to get fresh legs on before there's a mistake made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Evil_Clown

Tickets are up on tickets.ie
    Croker here we come !! :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Gaatalk

Look good to get the win v Wexford but the Wexford team were very poor compared to the Wexford team that beat Clare the 2013 All Ireland Champions in July 2014. IMO it was Wexfords wides that kept Clare ahead. Still the Clare backline was yet again found out! The goal was a fast one by Wexford right through the heart of the Clare Defence! The Clare defence and goalie almost let in a second goal immediately after to try loose it in style! We have a very very poor and erred defence and there was not pressure on Clares forwards last Saturday unlike against Cork. I rest my case I am delighted Clare won and hope and would love to see them yet win the all ireland but it wont happen even if Clare get over 30 points against Galway because the defence will leak as have been all year. It has to be addressed cant gloss it over.
    As for some of our forwards that we criticised and felt should be dropped fair play to them they had improved moments but overall they only played for patches again! They were not there to up it when Wexford scored the goal! They should have beem dropped prior to Wexford game but no the management I felt were too loyal to them again. Why was Jason Mc Carthy not given game time in the defence last Saturday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Gaatalk

I think the fact that Clare sought big support for fans to travel to the Munster Final left a sour taste in fans after when Clare collapsed the chance of a munster title in the 2nd half. Now I think some considerable amount of Clare fans may still not travel to Dublin for the semifinal either as the Munster Final disappointment is still fresh and Clare have only beaten a Wexford team that were very poor and wasteful on the day and despite this the Clare defence was breached by Wexford and it looked shaky briefly. As a result shrude fans will realise that management are not addressing still the weak defence and consequently wont waste their energy again so soon travelling to Dublin for a back door all ireland semifinal. They will most likely wait to see and maybe go to the final! There is a lot of nostalgia about Clares success in Croke Park but in the 90s Clare had great backs and again in 2013 they used a good sweeper system to concrete the defence. We have no defence this time at all they are so shaky and not able to track forwards running at them its unreal! Also the defence appear to have this nak of making timely falls or been stepped aside when the opposition goals.
    If I was scoring up the other end all day and backs were leaking scores easily id give it up! Not playing as a full 15 man team at all! That all said Come on the banner I somehow hope we win the all ireland with one of the poorest defences in Ireland! Maybe the defenders will play better in the Dublin air and hopefully prove us wrong but i would not hold my breath that they would.! Up the banner anyway.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Clare get to a semi final in Croker and I am away :(

Saturday was always about getting the job done. Saturday week is all about work, 15-20 that get on the field have to hook, block and use the ball wisely when we get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Stationmaster

Gaatalk wrote: »
    Look good to get the win v Wexford but the Wexford team were very poor compared to the Wexford team that beat Clare the 2013 All Ireland Champions in July 2014. IMO it was Wexfords wides that kept Clare ahead. Still the Clare backline was yet again found out! The goal was a fast one by Wexford right through the heart of the Clare Defence! The Clare defence and goalie almost let in a second goal immediately after to try loose it in style! We have a very very poor and erred defence and there was not pressure on Clares forwards last Saturday unlike against Cork. I rest my case I am delighted Clare won and hope and would love to see them yet win the all ireland but it wont happen even if Clare get over 30 points against Galway because the defence will leak as have been all year. It has to be addressed cant gloss it over.
    As for some of our forwards that we criticised and felt should be dropped fair play to them they had improved moments but overall they only played for patches again! They were not there to up it when Wexford scored the goal! They should have beem dropped prior to Wexford game but no the management I felt were too loyal to them again. Why was Jason Mc Carthy not given game time in the defence last Saturday?
    He wasn't on the panel saturday - I thought you knew what you were talking about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Stationmaster

I think the fact that Clare sought big support for fans to travel to the Munster Final left a sour taste in fans after when Clare collapsed the chance of a munster title in the 2nd half. Now I think some considerable amount of Clare fans may still not travel to Dublin for the semifinal either as the Munster Final disappointment is still fresh and Clare have only beaten a Wexford team that were very poor and wasteful on the day and despite this the Clare defence was breached by Wexford and it looked shaky briefly. As a result shrude fans will realise that management are not addressing still the weak defence and consequently wont waste their energy again so soon travelling to Dublin for a back door all ireland semifinal. They will most likely wait to see and maybe go to the final! There is a lot of nostalgia about Clares success in Croke Park but in the 90s Clare had great backs and again in 2013 they used a good sweeper system to concrete the defence. We have no defence this time at all they are so shaky and not able to track forwards running at them its unreal! Also the defence appear to have this nak of making timely falls or been stepped aside when the opposition goals.
    If I was scoring up the other end all day and backs were leaking scores easily id give it up! Not playing as a full 15 man team at all! That all said Come on the banner I somehow hope we win the all ireland with one of the poorest defences in Ireland! Maybe the defenders will play better in the Dublin air and hopefully prove us wrong but i would not hold my breath that they would.! Up the banner anyway.
    The only sour taste in Clare fans mouths was the venue choice Saturday. Even still Clare way outnumbered Wexford supporters. There will be another big Clare crowd Saturday week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭slegs

Look good to get the win v Wexford but the Wexford team were very poor compared to the Wexford team that beat Clare the 2013 All Ireland Champions in July 2014. IMO it was Wexfords wides that kept Clare ahead.

That Wexford team was beaten by about 20 points by Limerick in the AIQF. They were a much weaker team than Wexford 17/18

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Evil_Clown wrote: »
    Tickets are up on tickets.ie
    Croker here we come !! :D:D:D

Can't seem to get availability for kids tickets. On the mobile site anyway.

There'll be no problem with tickets for this 1, I'd a quick look earlier and there didn't seem to be a great selection available yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭opinionated3

finbarrk wrote: »
    Can't seem to get availability for kids tickets. On the mobile site anyway.

I'm open to correction on this but as far as I'm aware there are no juvenile tickets for Hogan and Cusack stand.

Had a look there, section 311 available now, that's in the corner, no thanks, I'll wait another week or so.