Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 452 ✭✭BannerBarry

Clareman wrote: »
    I'd like to think no-one has a problem with David Fitzgerald the person, as the GAA persona yes a lot of us have "issues" but as a person I'd like to think we all wish him all the best.

Fingers crossed it's only a precaution. We wish him the best and a very speedy recovery. Great GAA servant that he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 meathhurler48

I'm sure all Waterford GAA people wish Davy all the best. Infuriating at times but still a true hurling man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,306 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

I'm sure all Waterford GAA people wish Davy all the best. Infuriating at times but still a true hurling man.

Yeah hopefully its not too serious and he makes a full recovery , still a young man. Might be a better option to take a year out of management next year if serious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭letowski

Yeah concerning news about Davy given he has had precedent heart trouble. I hope the guy is fine and it is not serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,517 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

i imagine fitz wont be on the line sunday . its not the ideal way for any team to prepare for a game . most important thing is that he has a speedy recovery . genuinely feel an element of guilt for calling for his exit at times . it looks likely he will probably be asked to take a break from the game at the end of the seasolyat this stage

i imagine in years to come . clare suporters will be seen as mad to call for the head of a man that has won so much both as player and manager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,516 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

There are also many who are not calling for his head.

I'd say it'll take a brave man to keep Davy away from the sideline on Sunday.

Sundays is a huge game.
    A first league title in nearly 40 years, and a minimum of All-Ireland semi final could be put down as a good year.
    Defeat to Galway would be very disappointing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

Davy returning to sideline on Sunday could give the players some extra motivation to win the game for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭opinionated3

Tbh I've stood up for Davy on a number of occasions but even my patience has its limits. I believe if they lose on Sunday that is the end of the road for him with this team. Might be time for a new face with fresh ideas. Having that said if they win they head for croker and this team love croker......

i would give us a serious chance of going all the way should we win sunday , croke park has always favored us that bit more then thurles , i sopose the the fact that so much was riding on this one game could be one of the reasons behind fitz taking ill . you would have to wonder if ger loughnane regrets those comments now , he ended up putting more pressure on his own county then galway in the end

word on the footballers is podge will lose out to keelan sexton for the game in salthill , if true it is the right call sexton had a great 40mins after coming on for podge , on top of that he seemed to pick up an injury in the later stages of the game in sligo last week which i personally taught would rule him out

big big qustion marks hang over this game , the sound bytes dont sound too good coming out of roscommon since the end of the league they have lost a number of players to work/travel commitments and one or two key players have just vanished of the rader altogether , there was no sign of dirmuid murtagh or donie shine on the panel for the connacht final last week , and looking how much they struggled against galways midfield you would have to expect to see some changes this week

while a lot has been made about the 6 day turn around it is only 24 hours less then clare's , and with both teams on there 3rd straight game in as many weeks i imagine there were more pool and physio sessions done rather then training sessions

huge chance for us for the first time to have both teams make croke park at the business end of the championship , and a win Saturday would also act as a huge impetus on the hurlers on sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭Hibrasil

Story in The Irish Examiner that Davy is due to be released from Vincents Hospital tomorrow (Friday) - 2 stents inserted!:):):)

Hibrasil wrote: »
    Story in The Irish Examiner that Davy is due to be released from Vincents Hospital tomorrow (Friday) - 2 stents inserted!:):):)

great news yes but a sideline for a senior championship game 2 days later is nowhere for a man after heart surgery ..... however nothing surprises me anymore :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Davys Fits

One wonders which would be worse for Davys heart...Watching the match away from thurles with little control over events or on the side line. Davy likes to be in control, that is evident in how he plays his team.

Davys Fits wrote: »
    One wonders which would be worse for Davys heart...Watching the match away from thurles with little control over events or on the side line. Davy likes to be in control, that is evident in how he plays his team.

there is no way you could ask him to go down on the sideline , if he is there id say he will be in the stand neither is good for him though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭letowski

I would imagine he would be allowed into the dressing room before and at half time to give his messages to the team. The issue really is actually being on the sideline. We see him at puck outs screaming instructions and other things. I can't imagine any doctor would allow a person to be involved in such a high octane sport like huring after having two stents in his artery 5 days previous. Especially when you you have a person as emotionaly charged as Davy.
    I think just for this one, Davy might be better off on the stand, absolutely nobody would any issue. He has 26 (I think) members in his backroom team, lads like Kinnerk and DOG know what they are doing. Besides its the players that have to perform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,245 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

It depends on how the stents were inserted. There are some pretty non invasive ways to get them in these days without the long painful recovery period you get with open heart surgery.

http://www.medicinenet.com/coronary_angioplasty/page6.htm

I wouldn't be shocked to see him in the stands without an undue risk to his health. In fact, it's possible that he could be on the sideline

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,516 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Akrasia wrote: »
    It depends on how the stents were inserted. There are some pretty non invasive ways to get them in these days

I've heard it said that Davy actually wears his heart on his sleeve , if true then presumably the surgery was non invasive

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Whatever about the individual I think it's absolutely brilliant that a 40 something is able to get medical diagnosis and action so quickly, less than a week from going for a check up to getting our after stints, not too long ago it would go non-diagnosed and he'd just get a heart attack mowing the lawn or something, fair play to everyone involved.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,089 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

I'd say he'll definitely be in the stands but side-line would be a no go I'd imagine. Don't want to risk a collision with a player running for a loose ball or that sort of thing

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 144 ✭✭blazermel

word on the footballers is podge will lose out to keelan sexton for the game in salthill , if true it is the right call sexton had a great 40mins after coming on for podge , on top of that he seemed to pick up an injury in the later stages of the game in sligo last week which i personally taught would rule him out

big big qustion marks hang over this game , the sound bytes dont sound too good coming out of roscommon since the end of the league they have lost a number of players to work/travel commitments and one or two key players have just vanished of the rader altogether , there was no sign of dirmuid murtagh or donie shine on the panel for the connacht final last week , and looking how much they struggled against galways midfield you would have to expect to see some changes this week

while a lot has been made about the 6 day turn around it is only 24 hours less then clare's , and with both teams on there 3rd straight game in as many weeks i imagine there were more pool and physio sessions done rather then training sessions

huge chance for us for the first time to have both teams make croke park at the business end of the championship , and a win Saturday would also act as a huge impetus on the hurlers on sunday

Donie Shine is on the panel - came off the bench and scored 2 points on Sunday. Diarmuid Murtagh is still there but for some ludicrous reason is not making the matchday 26 - a lot of Ros people - myself included would not agree with him being left off when he's fully fit. Clare are coming in under great momentum and I feel the psychological scars from such a non performance from our lads last week will be too difficult to recover from in less than a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭cnoc

Whatever about the individual I think it's absolutely brilliant that a 40 something is able to get medical diagnosis and action so quickly, less than a week from going for a check up to getting our after stints, not too long ago it would go non-diagnosed and he'd just get a heart attack mowing the lawn or something, fair play to everyone involved.

Strange you should say that about getting a heart attack mowing the lawn. Lat Sat night a neighbour of his dropped dead doing the lawn.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

cnoc wrote: »
    Strange you should say that about getting a heart attack mowing the lawn. Lat Sat night a neighbour of his dropped dead doing the lawn.

It's an unfortunately too common occurrence, small bit of physical activity can but a heart under pressure and if there's and underlying issue it can be fatal.

blazermel wrote: »
    Donie Shine is on the panel - came off the bench and scored 2 points on Sunday. Diarmuid Murtagh is still there but for some ludicrous reason is not making the matchday 26 - a lot of Ros people - myself included would not agree with him being left off when he's fully fit. Clare are coming in under great momentum and I feel the psychological scars from such a non performance from our lads last week will be too difficult to recover from in less than a week.

i imagine it will be very hard for roscommon to motivate themselves after last week for the remaining championship , but i do expect a backlash tomorrow , i cant see how they would just roll over and die in the same fashion as last week , the selection process at times seems baffling , is there in house stuff going on that's disrupting things or is it bad management ? the rumor's of players leaving camp is rife down here now too now , dose'nt sound like a happy camp since the new york game

for us its bonus territory at the moment , we are in a similar place to where roscommon were maybe 2 or 3 years ago using the league and qualifiers as a springboard with a relativity young team , we dont and probably wont have the strength in depth like ye have to rotate a squad
    it is all progress at the moment , if we did win we would struggle at the next level especially against kerry in croke park , we put up a fairly decent score against them in kilarney earlier in the year but we were well beaten , i cant call how tomorrow is going to pan out or who is going to win , had roscommon had a better championship i would be a lot more worried about or chances though

Roscommon are a Division 1 team and Clare are a Division 2(ish) team, if it was a normal game you'd expect Roscommon to do a job on Clare and they should/could have won the first game against Galway so I don't expect a bad Roscommon team, overconfidence if anything could be Clare's downfall.

I'm hearing that Podge will be held as a sub, not cause of the hurling but because Sexton's performance the last day, the toss tomorrow could have a lot to do with the result, Clare seem to be a second half team and if there's a gale blowing in Galway it'll make it a very 1 sided affair.

If I was a betting man I'd say Clare by 2 points.

This just popped up on my Facebook feed, hard to believe it's 24 years ago

Roscommon are a Division 1 team and Clare are a Division 2(ish) team, if it was a normal game you'd expect Roscommon to do a job on Clare and they should/could have won the first game against Galway so I don't expect a bad Roscommon team, overconfidence if anything could be Clare's downfall.

I'm hearing that Podge will be held as a sub, not cause of the hurling but because Sexton's performance the last day, the toss tomorrow could have a lot to do with the result, Clare seem to be a second half team and if there's a gale blowing in Galway it'll make it a very 1 sided affair.

If I was a betting man I'd say Clare by 2 points.

first 20 minutes the last day were very poor by our standard's , in fact the same could be said for the game against laois the week before , but the wind was strong in sligo , the team playing against it were doping balls short from 45 yards out

keelan had an excellent game after he came on for podge , so he deserves his start again . to have podge , shane mcgrath , enda coughlan coming off the bench will be huge for us in the second half too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Dean should have just shot himself :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

I'm going for Roscommon as fellow Connacht county but that was a great goal by Clare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Way more exciting to watch than our hurlers anyway.
    Super performance so far. Need to keep working and running straight at the Roscommon defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

Harsh red for Roscommon. Refereeing in GAA, especially football, is quite poor.