Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭robbiezero

washman3 wrote: »
    To be honest, no team would've faired any better than Clare tonight.
    Waterford were simply unbelievable all over the pitch.

Are you joking?
    Very few teams in the country would have performed as badly as that in the second half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

robbiezero wrote: »
    Are you joking?
    Very few teams in the country would have performed as badly as that in the second half.

Performed as good as they were allowed. Clare simply couldn't bet ball to their dangermen. If Shanagher got the same supply that Bennet/Curran got he would run riot too. Waterford's 8 and 9 were outstanding.
    Sometimes you just have to give credit where its due.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭RichFTW

Clareman wrote: »
    Throwing the hurley at a player after making a mistake for a goal, f**k off, if it was under 14 you'd take him off, here it's 1 of the senior players.

This isn't going to be pretty watching.

I was at the back pitches in Flannans years ago and Davy Fitz was training a team there. Was around 2000/2001 ish so I'm not sure what team it was but they were doing that running drill where you run in two's in a line around the pitch with the two at the back sprinting up to the front of the line when the whistle sounded. Anyway Davy was there throwing hurleys at the guys at the back full force if he thought they weren't trying hard enough! Always think of that memory when flying hurleys are mentioned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

washman3 wrote: »
    Performed as good as they were allowed. Clare simply couldn't bet ball to their dangermen. If Shanagher got the same supply that Bennet/Curran got he would run riot too. Waterford's 8 and 9 were outstanding.
    Sometimes you just have to give credit where its due.

Don't think there is anyone trying to take any credit away from Waterford, but there is no taking away from the fact that Clare lay down and gave up long before the finish.

Waterford have a serious team but so do Limerick who should take care of our boys handy enough tonight which would set up a mouth watering Munster Final with the winners being long odds on to win the AI.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

http://www.clarechampion.ie/fitz-lashes-out-at-local-media/

I find it very amusing that Fitz is complaining about journalists without a hurling background and the press officer who declined to comment probably never played hurling past primary school and wouldn't have much have hurling background.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Just had a look at the Clare Hearld GAA section, strangely enough no reference to anything that was said in their GAA section and they do see to be a bit "Davy Friendly", although that might be me just being paranoid, at least their chief sport's correspondent is a good hurling man (think he still lines out for Newmarket).

Their "founder and editor" may have a ever so slight bias however http://clareherald.com/author/markpdunphy/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,511 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

RichFTW wrote: »
    Davy was there throwing hurleys at the guys at the back full force if he thought they weren't trying hard enough! Always think of that memory when flying hurleys are mentioned.

Sssshhh

Don't be giving away our motivational techniques, there could be posters from rival counties on here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,508 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

http://www.clarechampion.ie/fitz-lashes-out-at-local-media/

I find it very amusing that Fitz is complaining about journalists without a hurling background and the press officer who declined to comment probably never played hurling past primary school and wouldn't have much have hurling background.

i taught himself and peter o'connell had put there differences to one side after a 10 page interview in the clare champion at old ground last year, dunphy is not from connelly and not "west" clare of course so it makes him a more credible journalist ,

joe o'muircheartaigh is the son of probably the most famous gaa commentators/reporters in the history of the game , but as stated by joe cooney , he is a dub with kerry parents so obviously knows nothing about the game

what interest's me the most is pat donnellon's views on cooney's comments , of course he is entitled to have no say either , i wonder if they meet each other in kilkishen over the week how would the conversation go

i taught himself and peter o'connell had put there differences to one side after a 10 page interview in the clare champion at old ground last year, dunphy is not from connelly and not "west" clare of course so it makes him a more credible journalist ,

joe o'muircheartaigh is the son of probably the most famous gaa commentators/reporters in the history of the game , but as stated by joe cooney , he is a dub with kerry parents so obviously knows nothing about the game

what interest's me the most is pat donnellon's views on cooney's comments , of course he is entitled to have no say either , i wonder if they meet each other in kilkishen over the week how would the conversation go

Differences were put aside and he was willing to give a nice long interview to a local paper and he has the owner of (probably) the biggest local news site as his press officer, how does he think the local media are out to get him?

2 weeks out from an All Ireland Quarter Final and he decides to go on national radio for an interview, how did he think this would be a good thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭Figerty

Differences were put aside and he was willing to give a nice long interview to a local paper and he has the owner of (probably) the biggest local news site as his press officer, how does he think the local media are out to get him?

2 weeks out from an All Ireland Quarter Final and he decides to go on national radio for an interview, how did he think this would be a good thing?

He will claim it was to take the pressure of the players. It's a low base of management strategies we are operating off.

Figerty wrote: »
    He will claim it was to take the pressure of the players. It's a low base of management strategies we are operating off.

I honestly don't think we have a strategy at this stage. The biggest thing he should be concentrating on now is figuring out his best team and subs, his substitution management in the last couple of years has been diabolic, last year he brought on players who had already been taken off, this year he brings on subs who didn't even have their boots with them because they were injured. I don't know the last time I heard/saw a Brian Cody interview that was a topic for discussion.

Actually, wouldn't it have been refreshing if instead of "they're all out to get me" that he came out with "We've a national league, all Ireland, loads of under 21s and Munster league medals in our pockets but at this stage we're just worried about Galway the next day, I know it can be frustrating watching us sometimes, but we're winning and we're doing out best to keep winning, hopefully our supporters will get behind us the next day and we can keep winning"

Sounds like you could be added to the PR team.. would you like to be number 33 in the backroom team?

There would have to be a lot more people asked before Fitz or his father would pick up the phone to me asking for help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭cosatron

Any chance even a small one that Davy will throw the handbrake off and go balls out 15 v 15 against Galway. I think it would be some spectacle. Galway Abu. I don't know where we're at. We hurled well for a bout 10 mins against kk but tailed off as usual.

cosatron wrote: »
    Any chance even a small one that Davy will throw the handbrake off and go balls out 15 v 15 against Galway. I think it would be some spectacle. Galway Abu. I don't know where we're at. We hurled well for a bout 10 mins against kk but tailed off as usual.

I would say that if we played a traditional positions format with tactics of support runners from midfield and a puck out strategy of aiming for the opposition wing backs we would beat any team in the country

That would be like, how we won the Ireland.....that could never work again¬!

Blackadder had it nailed...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cgy6Fcz7q0s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭cosatron

Ha. That's the way it looks from the outside. Ye have some serious hurlers but his just making a balls of them.

That would be like, how we won the Ireland.....that could never work again¬!

Blackadder had it nailed...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cgy6Fcz7q0s

It's how we beat Kilkenny in the semi final of the league as well, Fitz is so busy justifying his own existence by thinking up of stupid plans he's missing the fact that we've some of the best hurlers in the country at our disposal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

Davy is gas to be fair, a parody of a man if ever there was one, he constantly tells us he doesn't care what the media thinks, and then in the next breath is giving out about how unfair the media are and there always picking on poor Davy.

Getting pretty feckin tiresome at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭letowski

I think its because he is such an egotistical individual. He would say he doesnt care what people say, so he appears head strong, but the reality is he is poor at taking criticism. On so many occasions when we lose a key game Davy has refused any accountabilty and has blamed refs, media, clubs, etc. I think you are being generous, when you describe it as tiresome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Taking on the national media isn't always a bad thing, it can help foster the idea of a siege mentality in a positive way, but when your at war with the local boys, then you know there's a problem. I don't know a county where the local media isn't, on the whole, supportive of the county teams so I can't imagine it's much different in Clare. There's a fine line between over sensitivity and paranoia and not sure Davy has ever found the right side of it.

Big day for the footballers, they don't seem to do well as favourites and Markovitz Park isn't any easy venue to get a result but if they win today they're up against Tipp or Galway/Roscommon for a spot in the quarter finals, this is a brilliant opportunity for us

Taking on the national media isn't always a bad thing, it can help foster the idea of a siege mentality in a positive way, but when your at war with the local boys, then you know there's a problem. I don't know a county where the local media isn't, on the whole, supportive of the county teams so I can't imagine it's much different in Clare. There's a fine line between over sensitivity and paranoia and not sure Davy has ever found the right side of it.

I understand the whole siege mentality but reports are there's major hassle in the camp after some of the players questioned the use of subs, there's a lot of cliques forming with groups not talking to each other, Fitz is probably a lot more annoyed with the rumours than the press, ffs the main news website is ran by his own media man and the main sports writer for the Champion is not only a county board officer (well PRO for his club I think) who's son is on the football team.

It sounds like Davy has more problems to deal with than media.. of course the media is then an easy scapegoat.
    Siege mentalities rarely bring returns. I think most players are smart enough and educated enough to look beyond 'the world is against us' idea. Loughnane used it in 98, with some justification, but it didn't end well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Ah yeah, only lookin in from the outside really that's only an impression I get. Issues with media don't always have to mean all that much unless they're just manifestations of deeper lying problems which sounds like may be the case there. Anyway..Clare are definitely still a big threat in my book when it comes down to it just having to come right on 1 or 2 days....especially if Davy gets the miwadi out again between now and september ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭bluestone

Big day for the footballers, they don't seem to do well as favourites and Markovitz Park isn't any easy venue to get a result but if they win today they're up against Tipp or Galway/Roscommon for a spot in the quarter finals, this is a brilliant opportunity for us
    Is there anyone missing for this match. I presume podge will be a sub if needed?

A siege mentality of "they're all out to get us so go out and get them first" is an extremely valuable tactic for management, but you have to base it off something, some gripe that the manager has with local journalists isn't a valid base.

Davy has had the media out to get him (a few times), the refs out to get him, if he'd just concentrate on getting the team playing as well as possible rather than looking to the outside he'd have nothing to worry about.

bluestone wrote: »
    Is there anyone missing for this match. I presume podge will be a sub if needed?

I haven't heard any team actually, I'd be surprised if Podge didn't start though, 6 day turn around means we'll need to get as good a start as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭Boots234

Clare losing 1-4 to 9 points at half time, Podge off with a black card for a trip