Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,511 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Clare now in front
    44 mins Sligo 0-10 Clare 1-08

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,138 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

The double is on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Great stuff from Clare. Completely on top in the 2nd half. 2-17 to 1-13 in added time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,511 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

So the footballers have now beaten Limerick, Laois and Connacht opposition.

The hurlers have beaten Limerick, Laois and face Connacht opposition....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭Boots234

Great win for the footballers, playing again next Saturday against either Tipp, Galway or Roscommon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭Gael85

Great win today for footballers. Will game be in Croker? I'd say Davy be delighted with the win today :D Not possible for Podge to play 2 big games next week

Was this lad on bench today for Clare?

http://westcorktimes.com/home/archives/34367

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,540 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Given how there was no talk about football on this thread I thought no one from Clare would be at the match at all, seemed to be a decent hardcore turn out.

Sligo were the better team in the first half and should have been 5/6 points up at half time, but for Aidan Devanney stupidly coming out and trying to catch that high ball which led to the penalty and kept Clare in it and then Sligo deciding to kick the ball long in the second half and being cleaned out at midfield, another turning point was when Sligo were a point up and Kyle Cawley hit the post and Clare equalised straight away, if that went over I think it would have stemmed the flow and killed Clare's momentum, but instead Clare grew and Sligo fell apart after that.

Ye have a fair shout against whoever gets pulled out of the hat next week.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

There'd be a fairly hardcore football following in Clare, a friend of mine's parents haven't missed a match yet league or championship.

Great result and a great opportunity for the lads, in a way I'd prefer them to avoid Tipp in the next round as there'd be a bit too much familiarity between the teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,517 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Given how there was no talk about football on this thread I thought no one from Clare would be at the match at all, seemed to be a decent hardcore turn out.

Sligo were the better team in the first half and should have been 5/6 points up at half time, but for Aidan Devanney stupidly coming out and trying to catch that high ball which led to the penalty and kept Clare in it and then Sligo deciding to kick the ball long in the second half and being cleaned out at midfield, another turning point was when Sligo were a point up and Kyle Cawley hit the post and Clare equalised straight away, if that went over I think it would have stemmed the flow and killed Clare's momentum, but instead Clare grew and Sligo fell apart after that.

Ye have a fair shout against whoever gets pulled out of the hat next week.

we lived a charmed life in the first half making several errors , and missing some easy chances , the penalty kept us in the game until half time , and it was a very flattering lead at half time .

in the second i was surprised with the sligo line for not changing the tactic or making a change sooner , niall carew has came up against us several times in the past with both waterford and sligo , we had nearly out scored sligo by 10 points before he started to make a few changes , had ye chipped away with a few scores earlier in the half it would have made for a nervous finish after the goal , if there were only 4 points in the game with 4 minutes of added time remaining anything could have happened ,

they are probably two reasons for there been little talk all week in regards the footballers ,

1 : A nut job of a hurling manager playing mind games with his own supporters and media !!!

2 : clare are bad favorites , especially in football , plus markievcz park is a tough place to go for any team in a qualifier , and lets just say our qualifier record is not the greatest up to recently

personally i hope we avoid tipperary , they are fairly descent and have had a break for the last 3 weeks while we have had two hard games under the belt, we have played them enough times lately so hopefully we get a crack at galway or rosscommon

i imagine this could be the end of the road for the sligo management ? a tough job for anyone to take over with such a small pick in the county and the resurgence of rosscommon and galway is there any one lined up to take over, or will carew stay on

Gael85 wrote: »
    Was this lad on bench today for Clare?

http://westcorktimes.com/home/archives/34367

he was yes but didnt come on , has been on the panel all year but only played a championship game for doora/barefield to make him eligible to play after a club transfer

kevin has been doing runner duty and water carrier since the start of the league and training all along , was expecting to see him come on today but didnt

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

The Clare Management are a very intelligent bunch in fairness, they don't panic and take stock of the opposition and are able to adjust very quickly, David O'Brien was on analysis for the hurlers for years and is regarded extremely well, DoB runs a great bar as well, I must take a spin back during the week :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭Hibrasil

Clareman wrote: »
    DoB runs a great bar as well, I must take a spin back during the week :D

Would it be too much to ask WHERE???:):):)

Hibrasil wrote: »
    Would it be too much to ask WHERE???:):):)

Sorry, I'm sure there's no harm in giving a plug to Michael A's in Miltown, they should be restocked after Wicked Willie by now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭bluestone

Great win alright. Next match on croke park?

bluestone wrote: »
    Great win alright. Next match on croke park?

Nope, quarter finals are in Croke Park, could be a double header with the hurlers if we get Galway and there's a big of a rejig for TV (so there won't be)

he was yes but didnt come on , has been on the panel all year but only played a championship game for doora/barefield to make him eligible to play after a club transfer

kevin has been doing runner duty and water carrier since the start of the league and training all along , was expecting to see him come on today but didnt

I looked at teamsheet on twitter and saw the name was wondering who he was :)

Nope, quarter finals are in Croke Park, could be a double header with the hurlers if we get Galway and there's a big of a rejig for TV (so there won't be)

you sure games not in Croker? I thought round 4 Qualifiers in Croker last year

There's nothing down yet anyway, I can't imagine them bringing Clare, Tipp, Galway/Roscommon all the way to Dublin, I'd image Limerick will be the most likely venue.

https://crokepark.ie/match-day/2016-season-fixtures

The Clare Management are a very intelligent bunch in fairness, they don't panic and take stock of the opposition and are able to adjust very quickly, David O'Brien was on analysis for the hurlers for years and is regarded extremely well, DoB runs a great bar as well, I must take a spin back during the week :D

Did David O'Brien manage Clare ladies a couple team years ago?

Yup, another great reason to visit his pub, most of the Clare Lady Footballers visit there. I could tell a tale or 2 about sessions back there, you can even have the craic pronouncing the name of the pubs (Michael Aaa'a, Michael Ahhh's)

i taught himself and peter o'connell had put there differences to one side after a 10 page interview in the clare champion at old ground last year, dunphy is not from connelly and not "west" clare of course so it makes him a more credible journalist ,

joe o'muircheartaigh is the son of probably the most famous gaa commentators/reporters in the history of the game , but as stated by joe cooney , he is a dub with kerry parents so obviously knows nothing about the game

what interest's me the most is pat donnellon's views on cooney's comments , of course he is entitled to have no say either , i wonder if they meet each other in kilkishen over the week how would the conversation go

Haven't got this week Champion. Did O'Connell mention anything about Davy Fitz interview? I presume the "no hurling background" was aimed at him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Congrats to the footballers on a terrific 2nd half performance.
    The management and players deserve a huge amount of credit and nice to see all the hard work paying off.

On another note, say we are drawn to play Galway in football, is there any chance they would move our hurling game to make it a double header?? I presume not anyway.

Congrats to the footballers on a terrific 2nd half performance.
    The management and players deserve a huge amount of credit and nice to see all the hard work paying off.

On another note, say we are drawn to play Galway in football, is there any chance they would move our hurling game to make it a double header?? I presume not anyway.

Wouldn't think so as 3 games in Thurles next weekend

Sunday 24 July

All-Ireland SHC quarter-finals
    Wexford v Waterford, Semple Stadium, 2pm
    Clare v Galway, Semple Stadium, 4pm

All-Ireland MHC quarter-final
    Wexford v Limerick, Semple Stadium, 12noon

Haven't got this week Champion. Did O'Connell mention anything about Davy Fitz interview? I presume the "no hurling background" was aimed at him?

i didnt see it either , but it is aimed at both him and joe o'muirehertaigh ( who has a famous father but of course no hurling backround) its a complete joke of a situation where fitz is trying to counter act ger loughnans comments about galway by rallying his own troops by saying everyone bar the loyal few are against us , believe it or not it worked in 2013 , in two games early in the championship that year against cork in munster and more so in the next game against laois in the qualifiers both he and the team recived , lets just say hot headed resistance to the game plan used at the time from supporters and media

its counter motivation to drive players on , not sure is there much need for it

one reason i like following the footballers is there is a certain level of honesty around the camp , no one looks for unwanted attention everyone gets on with there job , in the kerry game in munster , goalkeeper joe hayes had a game to forget , in the interview afterwards collins made it clear that what happened was unforgivable and could not happen again , it didnt , and today joe hayes had a fine game pulling off 3 great saves , unlike fitz no one was hung out to dry , no one out side the camp was to blame , everyone just got on with there job

scorers from todays game keelan sexton deserves serious praise after being dropped last week after an off day against laois he came on for podge's black card and kicked 3 great points . eoin cleary, david tubridy cathal o'connor and cian o'dea were excellent as was sean collins at wing back

D Tubridy 1-3, ,
    E Cleary 0-5
    C O’Connor 0-4,
    K Sexton 0-3,
    G Brennan 1-0,
    S McGrath 0-1,
    P Lillis 0-1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭Figerty

i didnt see it either , but it is aimed at both him and joe o'muirehertaigh ( who has a famous father but of course no hurling backround) its a complete joke of a situation where fitz is trying to counter act ger loughnans comments about galway by rallying his own troops by saying everyone bar the loyal few are against us , believe it or not it worked in 2013 , in two games early in the championship that year against cork in munster and more so in the next game against laois in the qualifiers both he and the team recived , lets just say hot headed resistance to the game plan used at the time from supporters and media

its counter motivation to drive players on , not sure is there much need for it

one reason i like following the footballers is there is a certain level of honesty around the camp , no one looks for unwanted attention everyone gets on with there job , in the kerry game in munster , goalkeeper joe hayes had a game to forget , in the interview afterwards collins made it clear that what happened was unforgivable and could not happen again , it didnt , and today joe hayes had a fine game pulling off 3 great saves , unlike fitz no one was hung out to dry , no one out side the camp was to blame , everyone just got on with there job

Davy has always needed an enemy. Loughnane and others provide him with that opportunity to follow that narrow track.
    In 2013 the Mi Widi meeting was more to sort out the tactics than Davy rally the troops... but who called the meeting of the 13 or 14 players..

There are hurlers there that want to do their best and they are big enough men to see through this smokescreen of blaming the media. I expect them to beat Galway, but if Galway have any pride in themselves as players they will come out like tigers, regardless of Loughnanes comments.

Figerty wrote: »
    Davy has always needed an enemy. Loughnane and others provide him with that opportunity to follow that narrow track.
    In 2013 the Mi Widi meeting was more to sort out the tactics than Davy rally the troops... but who called the meeting of the 13 or 14 players..

There are hurlers there that want to do their best and they are big enough men to see through this smokescreen of blaming the media. I expect them to beat Galway, but if Galway have any pride in themselves as players they will come out like tigers, regardless of Loughnanes comments.

Davy always has to be the center of attention, be it when he was a player on doing his own thing with puck outs or trying to start strikes to being a manager. This is the guy who told players a year after training them that they have "f**k all".

I'd imagine there'll be big hassle next week over Podge, both teams need him and the hurlers probably need him more but with the footballers up first I'd imagine they will have him on for the full 70 minutes. Looking at the fixture lists for next week I'm stuggling to see anywhere but Croke Park to bring Derry, Roscommon/Galway, Clare and Tipp. They might split it into 2 games, Clare v. Galway could be a coin toss for home venue otherwise I'd say Limerick, Clare v. Roscommon will probably be Galway, Clare v. Tipp will be Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭roashter

Great win for Clare yesterday.
    There was a very strong wind and Clare did well to go in 2 points down at half time. Clare's midfield completely dominated the 2nd half with Cathal O'Connell outstanding. I think the final scoreline was a true reflection of Clare's dominance.

That's the 2nd championship game this year that Podge has got a black card. Both came in first half and both were for very petulant tackling after he gave the ball away. He needs to get this out of his game as he can be a very influential footballer. It will be interesting to see if will play for the footballers next week.
    Sexton did very well when he came on for him