Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,402 ✭✭✭naughto

Well done fellas great win for ye

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Fantastic result, if we could take our scores we would have won by well over 10 points, 6 point hammering I think PC said on the TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,517 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

great win , probably made very hard work in the second half great to see a big crowed up in salthill for it too , from the word go you could see roscommon were struggling from last week but in truth we would have won by more had the game management been better on our part ,

great to be going back to croke park again next week with the footballers hopefully the fitness levels hold up giving the tough few games over the last couple of weeks

kerry it is next sunday in croke park , was hoping for a derry win would have been a much closer game , expect tipp to go very close to beating galway now aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭Gael85

Well done Clare. Great first half. Anytime ran at Roscommon defence caused havoc. Martin McMahon had a great game throughout and Gary Brennan had a brilliant first half. A big difference with footballers this year is the bench. Shane McGrath got a big point when pressure was on and Podge made a big impact too. I hope Cathal O'Connor red card is appealed. 2 Rosccommon lads done exact same and and received yellows. Anyway well done Clare. Hon the Banner!:)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Looking to next Sunday, 4 games in 4 weeks is a MASSIVE ask, I fear that we'll be opened up in the last 20 minutes, O'Connor would be a massive loss to us, I hope this gets overturned on appeal.

Promotion, divisional champions and quarter final in Croke Park WHAT A F**KING YEAR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭Gael85

Clareman wrote: »
    Looking to next Sunday, 4 games in 4 weeks is a MASSIVE ask, I fear that we'll be opened up in the last 20 minutes, O'Connor would be a massive loss to us, I hope this gets overturned on appeal.

Promotion, divisional champions and quarter final in Croke Park WHAT A F**KING YEAR

if there is justice in GAA that red card will be overturned . No way it was a red

Hurling Team for tomorrow

Andrew Fahy
    Óisin O'Brien Partick O'Connor Cian Dillion
    Jack Browne Conor Cleary Brendan Bugler
    David McInerney David Reidy
    Colm Galvin Podge Collins Tony Kelly
    John Conlon Shane O'Donnell Aaron Shanagher

On initial review that's disappointing, I assume David Mc will be in front of full back, Tony Kelly and Galvin will be midfield and Conlon will be wing forward, if we're more than 4 players in the Galway half I'll be surprised.

Gael85 wrote: »
    if there is justice in GAA that red card will be overturned . No way it was a red

To me he got the ball and it didn't strike or hold the opponent, should be a no-brainer overturn but it depends on the ref report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Great to see Clare in a quarter finals :D

i wouldnt worry too much about that if we did lose by a big score next week , it almost seems acceptable in other provinces at the moment for it to happen on a weekly basis

if cork beat donegal next week 4 of the 8 teams in the last 8 will be from munster , but we did look tired late on , and the defensive strategy didnt exactly save energy , infact i think we gave rosscommon a little too much respect in the end

one player it was good to see make his return form injury was damien burke, he was on the 21s and extended senior panel last year and had been injured all year , he would be a great option to come off the bench the next day or even start for cathal o'connor ( i highly doubt he will get his card overturned) he probably has not played enough though

2-12 scored again today good spread of scorers but if truth was told we were poor at times in front of goal , the hope next week would we put up a descent score like we did in killarney and look after the house a bit better then what we did the last day against them especially what we did in the first 10 or 15 minutes anyway

Being a man down was a massive impact for us in the second half, players had to put in a proper shift and Brennan wasn't able to keep it up, the man isn't a machine but we'll need him for the full 70 next week if we've to have any hope.

The lads won't be frightened of Croke Park and won't have any nerves against Kerry, if we cut out the stupid wides we have a home. #daretodream

Well done Clare. Great first half. Anytime ran at Roscommon defence caused havoc. Martin McMahon had a great game throughout and Gary Brennan had a brilliant first half. A big difference with footballers this year is the bench. Shane McGrath got a big point when pressure was on and Podge made a big impact too. I hope Cathal O'Connor red card is appealed. 2 Rosccommon lads done exact same and and received yellows. Anyway well done Clare. Hon the Banner!:)

big dublin influence has helped though , felt a little sorry for pat burke , he played most of the year but has not featured much in the last few weeks the tactics have mick bohans stamp written all over it he has improved the style of play 10 fold since coming on board , and shane mcgrath who is likely to start next week for cathal , has been driving down twice a week for the last 4 years , there has been some fairly dark days since then , especially a 15 point hammering to laois 3 years ago , it will be great for him to finally run out in croker for a championship match too

the novelty factor of the footballers good run of late , fits's health problems have all over shadowed ger loughnanes comments after the leinster final , galway are no doubt up for this , the second you hit south galway there is nearly two flags to a house supporting the tribesmen

galway will be seriously up for this as there character has been questioned , the perfect response for us tomorrow will be to meet fire with fire , we were poor at times against limerick , but there is no doubt there is more at stake from a clare point of view , yes we are league champions but with one of our best teams we have under preformed in the last few championships ,management a side tomorrow is a day a number of players really need to stand up and be counted

the inclusion of shanagher is on merit , but i feel if we are going to opt for a two man full forward line i would like to see john conlon beside shanagher
    kelly reidy podge and galvin will all have to take on there men more offten then they did against limerick , on too many occasions they were caught up in possession against limerick , from the puck out stratigy i would rather patch and dillon look for the likes of podge kelly or reidy in mid field rather then pumping high ball down on two double marked men again ,

i feel there is a real chance for us to have another crack at an all ireland this year but getting over this hurdle will be difficult

rAMdRD.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

As a neutral I thought it was harsh, and very harsh that he may now miss Clare's biggest game in over 20 years.

Very unfortunate that ye're running into Kerry now though, I'm sure Clare would have preferred just about anyone else. Against Galway (my own county) I think ye would have had a fighting chance. But against Kerry? I'm afraid not.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 890 ✭✭✭audi12

kerry it is next sunday in croke park , was hoping for a derry win would have been a much closer game , expect tipp to go very close to beating galway now aswell

Tipp are poor dont see any reason why they should win beat a poor Derry team. Were exposed by a Kerry team that played in first gear in the Munster final.

audi12 wrote: »
    Tipp are poor dont see any reason why they should win beat a poor Derry team. Were exposed by a Kerry team that played in first gear in the Munster final.

Not that the Clare GAA thread is hte place to defend Tipp football, but that Tipp team were All Ireland minor champions in 2011 and Munster Champions in 2012 as well as under 21 Munster champions in 2010 and 2015, that's a good Tipp team they won't fear Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

big dublin influence has helped though , felt a little sorry for pat burke , he played most of the year but has not featured much in the last few weeks the tactics have mick bohans stamp written all over it he has improved the style of play 10 fold since coming on board , and shane mcgrath who is likely to start next week for cathal , has been driving down twice a week for the last 4 years , there has been some fairly dark days since then , especially a 15 point hammering to laois 3 years ago , it will be great for him to finally run out in croker for a championship match too

Mick's father, also Mick (RIP) was a true gentleman from Feakle and brother of Fr Harry Bohan.

He was a principal in my secondary school in Dublin and a big GAA fan.

Mick Junior did some great stuff with the Dubs as skills coach.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 890 ✭✭✭audi12

Not that the Clare GAA thread is hte place to defend Tipp football, but that Tipp team were All Ireland minor champions in 2011 and Munster Champions in 2012 as well as under 21 Munster champions in 2010 and 2015, that's a good Tipp team they won't fear Galway.

Looked like a u21 team that was out against kerry totally outclassed just because they wont fear a county doesn't mean they will win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

Usual crap from Clare so far. Just watched Galvin play a pass into a double marked O'Donnell. Shanagher fouls the Galway man that wins it of course, results in a Galway 65. Can't see how Clare are getting back into this game. Getting sick of this to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭Reputable Rog

Time for Lucy Ewing to shuffle along, this is dreadful stuff from Clare.

Both halves started with Johnny Coen winning posession from the throw in and sprinting towards Clare's goal. There's no fight in this team anymore, only nonsensical and useless tactics and systems.

If that marks the end of Davy Fitz as manager then it's a great result. Hopefully someone will come in and let these guys play to their potential. If I never see Shane O'Donnell play for Clare again I'll be a happy man. No where near inter county standard, the most ineffective full forward for one of the big hurling sides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,245 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Can we please dump the sweeper for next year.

It's not working. We had no full forward line today. Shane o donnell was playing half forward with a 14 Jersey on and nobody to support him when he got the ball

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,138 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

If that marks the end of Davy Fitz as manager then it's a great result. Hopefully someone will come in and let these guys play to their potential. If I never see Shane O'Donnell play for Clare again I'll be a happy man. No where near inter county standard, the most ineffective full forward for one of the big hurling sides.

Great to win a ball but a bit clueless then. I think you are being harsh on him. The sweeper system has ruined the full forward

niallo27 wrote: »
    Great to win a ball but a bit clueless then. I think you are being harsh on him. The sweeper system has ruined the full forward

Just not a ball which involves a strength or height contest, because he won't win them. Any ball he does win is one sent in low where he is sprinting away from the opposition goal. He'll most likely end up on his hands and knees and try and hand pass it off under pressure. Hardly a great system for getting scores is it?

To be fair, he did catch a high ball in the first half and played it out wide to Galvin I think for a score. I was pleasantly surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭claresmurf

Davy has to be gone after today's result, galways goal in the second half was a killer blow for us. I just don't understand why he leaves Seadna Morey on the bench, he's a brillaint player who deserves more game time, it's sad to see such a great talent wasting away on the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭Figerty

Just not a ball which involves a strength or height contest, because he won't win them. Any ball he does win is one sent in low where he is sprinting away from the opposition goal. He'll most likely end up on his hands and knees and try and hand pass it off under pressure. Hardly a great system for getting scores is it?

To be fair, he did catch a high ball in the first half and played it out wide to Galvin I think for a score. I was pleasantly surprised.

Rubbish,
    O'Donnell gets on more dirty ball than most forwards. He has lightning hands and distributes well. IF he had a full forward to work off he would be lethal, instead he is playing the 'fight the lost' cause game. How many frees did he win today while marking 2 men?
    Don't go making a scape goat out of a guy who isn't being used to his best.

Figerty wrote: »
    O'Donnell gets on more dirty ball than most forwards.

Because most team's forwards can win clean ball, and don't use a system whereby they isolate a player with the frame of a teenager against 2 or 3 grown men.
    He has lightning hands and distributes well.

And that's about it. A lot more required to play in the full forward line for an inter county side.
    IF he had a full forward to work off he would be lethal

Debatable. If my aunt had balls she'd be my uncle.
    How many frees did he win today while marking 2 men?

How many balls that were sent in to him came straight back out?
    How many scores did he get himself?

Do you think Kilkenny, Tipp, or Galway pick forwards that might win them frees or forwards that will get them scores?
    Don't go making a scape goat out of a guy who isn't being used to his best.

I think Davy is most to blame. But I really don't understand how a small, weak guy who would and has struggled at U-21 level is getting into this side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭Figerty

Because most team's forwards can win clean ball, and don't use a system whereby they isolate a player with the frame of a teenager against 2 or 3 grown men.

And that's about it. A lot more required to play in the full forward line for an inter county side.

Debatable. If my aunt had balls she'd be my uncle.

How many balls that were sent in to him came straight back out?
    How many scores did he get himself?

Do you think Kilkenny, Tipp, or Galway pick forwards that might win them frees or forwards that will get them scores?

I think Davy is most to blame. But I really don't understand how a small, weak guy who would and has struggled at U-21 level is getting into this side.

I'll only agree with you on one point and that is the setup is wrong. That's the reason the ball comes straight out. If you cant see that then you should be on the sideline with Davy...
    Double marking makes it difficult to score,, I'm sure you get that.. that's why he is double marked..

If your Aunt was a cross-dresser she would still be your Aunt.. Asking Shane O'Donnell to play against two will leave him exposed to having to go out the field to hunt. He is a poacher, always will be.