Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shane Lowry - 2019 Champion Golfer of The Year (note first post please for posting guidance)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

Well done Shane Lowry, almost 2 years to the day he turned Pro he passes the one million euro won in prize money.

card secured for next year....
    hopefully does the business too today !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

soundsham wrote: »

Fair play to him, delighted now, I have been harsh on him but what a finish he put in yesterday birdie,birdie, eagle..................stunning stuff!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Adiaga 2

soundsham wrote: »

On the tour card, he mentioned in an interview yesterday that he was delighted to have secured his card too. I thought his card was secure for this season from his exemption for winning the Irish Open(2 full seasons?)

Great finish yesterday and hopefully he can go from strength to strength now this season. 2 top-5s and 4 top-15s on the trot.

Adiaga 2 wrote: »

On the tour card, he mentioned in an interview yesterday that he was delighted to have secured his card too. I thought his card was secure for this season from his exemption for winning the Irish Open(2 full seasons?)

Great finish yesterday and hopefully he can go from strength to strength now this season. 2 top-5s and 4 top-15s on the trot.

Ya this seasons card is fine, however he has secured his card for next year on the basis of his finish in the flagship event.

Ah gotcha.. His card was safe only until the end of this season but obviously still needs to be in the top 115. Monday mornings...:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

He's scheduled to play the next two weeks in Wales then followed by Italy, hopefully he can
    push on from here with a win. His game definitely seems to have improved greatly over the
    last month or so. Would be great to see him win again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,773 ✭✭✭Speak Now

U.S open bound now, wonder if he'll change plans and take week off after Wales now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

He shot rounds of 69 and 67 at Walton Heath to finish on 8 under. Great stuff!

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

rte.ie:
    "The Offaly man, fresh from a career best finish of joint fourth place at the PGA Championship, comfortably claimed one of the 11 qualifying spots on offer at the 36-hole event at Walton Heath."

Career best of "joint 4th" or career best of "4th at the PGA"??
    Even conno would rank his European Tour win ahead of a 4th place at the PGA (probably).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

super stuff ....
    pints tonight I'd say !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭neckedit

Licksy wrote: »
    rte.ie:
    "The Offaly man, fresh from a career best finish of joint fourth place at the PGA Championship, comfortably claimed one of the 11 qualifying spots on offer at the 36-hole event at Walton Heath."

Career best of "joint 4th" or career best of "4th at the PGA"??
    Even conno would rank his European Tour win ahead of a 4th place at the PGA
    (probably).

I'd say they mean Professional Career.

U.S open bound now, wonder if he'll change plans and take week off after Wales now.

I reckon he has a serious chance of winning in Italy on this form so I don't think he will take the week off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭Trampas

I think he has to take Italy off now.

He would be playing the 3 previous weeks going into the us open.

He should stay off the sauce and prepare hard for the us open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭endabob1

Colin Byrne article in the times has some nice words about Shane's progress

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2011/0531/1224298143824.html

Anyone who teed off around two over par or better, had a chance to win. We played with the fast-maturing Shane Lowry, who found himself as leader in the clubhouse after his four-under-par finish for the final three holes.
    Encouraging to the most recent course designer who has been much criticised for the changes, suggesting the finish is not as alluring to the top pros as the old West Course used to be, until the Westwood incident occurred that is. The young Offaly man finished birdie, birdie, eagle to end up two under par for the tournament .
    With ball striking and a short game befitting a world-class player Lowry controlled his ball in the strong wind on Sunday afternoon.
    If he missed a green he displayed delicate dexterity in chipping close to the pin and a steady hand in holing his putts.
    He would appear to have become a more complete golfer after a couple of years learning a more professional approach to playing golf on tour. With an exceptionally smooth rhythm for a big man he is, at the tender age of 24, ready to establish himself as a serious contender on the European Tour.
    A new status has been established for us caddies with Players’ Awards invitations. A new world number one established and there is another young Irish player getting ready to establish himself as a top contender after a fourth place finish in the prestigious BMW PGA Championship.

Didn't qualify for the open today.

he'll need to play well in the Scottish open to get a spot.

he has pulled out of the italian open. right decision imo

Trampas wrote: »
    Didn't qualify for the open today.

he'll need to play well in the Scottish open to get a spot.

he has pulled out of the italian open. right decision imo

He had a top in ten in last years Scottish Open if I remember correctly......prob needs a break in advance of the US Open.

I am sure if he has a top ten in the US Open, he is automatically exempt too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Only one Keano

I think he may be top of a mini order of merit for those non exempt for the Open that started at Wentworth. From memory there are a few spots available from this so another good few weeks and he could get in to the Open yet.

Personally think he would be worth an outside bet for the Open if he does qualify as he seems a big game player who has more recent links experience than any of the current players!

Yeah I remember from previous years there was a mini oom that ran from the PGA for a couple of Open spots. His high finish at Wentworth would definitely have him up there. Some good results at the US Open, French and Scottish Opens could seal it if this is still in effect - can't find any info on it though.

top 5 in french or scottish open will do him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Pretty good +1 72 for him today.

Form has collapsed in the last few weeks since the PGA;

Hope he goes well this weekend in France, decent field with Kaymer & Bubba Watson playing

Another disastrous round on Thursday, not much point being -2 on Friday when you were 7 over on Thursday. I Can't understand how he can go from shooting the lowest score of the weekend at the PGA a month ago to missing 4 cuts in a row :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

endabob1 wrote: »
    Another disastrous round on Thursday, not much point being -2 on Friday when you were 7 over on Thursday. I Can't understand how he can go from shooting the lowest score of the weekend at the PGA a month ago to missing 4 cuts in a row :-(

"That's golf..." - no better sport/pursuit for cutting you off at the knees when you least expect it, whether you're a pro or a 26 handicapper...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭Poker Face

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    "That's golf..." - no better sport/pursuit for cutting you off at the knees when you least expect it, whether you're a pro or a 26 handicapper...

Thats for sure. My 2nd last game went round Dromoland in 78. Played in Ballybunion Cashen course on Wednesday. I was lucky to finish with 94. At least tomorrow is another day :D

WHIP IT! wrote: »

For the likes of me as a hacker (lowest ever handicap 17) I'm well aware, but as a pro, his form seems.....how to put it politey....more volatile thanmost!

It's clear the talent is there and by his own admission he is a "streaky" putter but he is a bit too gung ho for my liking, lke Mclroy was, maybe he'll mature out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

so...
    hows the big man doing?
    is he still golfing for a living?

the fall outside coppers seems to have derailed his career.
    might he become the gazza of golf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

conno16 wrote: »
    the fall outside coppers seems to have derailed his career.
    might he become the gazza of golf?

Welcome back Conno :rolleyes: There were those of you who were fearful that your boards career had been derailed although I would imagine you are more of a Krystle bloke.

i'm sorry, but i dont understand

do you have an update for me on big shane lowry?
    where is he hiding?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭golfbgud

conno16 wrote: »
    i'm sorry, but i dont understand

do you have an update for me on big shane lowry?
    where is he hiding?

He just shot 6 under in Portugal today with no bogies!

golfbgud wrote: »
    He just shot 6 under in Portugal today with no bogies!

is he away with the lads for a weekend?
    is Bord na Mona closed for a few weeks or something