Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wierdo flatmates?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

/gets Night Vision Goggles

I seen the Paris Hilton video in these colours so itll do :pac:

I think I speak for myself and Anna Molly when I say we feel terribly violated!!! :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

barakus wrote: »
    Used to live with a fairly eccentric guy before, bit of a character.

He fancied himself as a bit of a suave sophisticated chap, with a good nose for wine and a palate for fine cheeses. These notions only came on him after 9 or 10 pints of Guinness though, I used to come home and find him completely steamed with his feet sticking into the fire, boots smouldering away, bottle of centra wine and cheeseboard with a load of cut up bits of calvita on it.

He loved a good fire and used to burn all the furniture if we were stuck for firewood, even stuff he had bought only weeks previously, I remember being in the pub with a few friends one time and he walked in twisted, casually picked up a full bucket of coal and jumped into a taxi with it.

The other thing he loved was a good flick, but he would watch favourite scenes over and over even if it was 3 in the morning, I used to have girlfriends over and wake up in the middle of the night to SAY HELLO TO MY LIL FRIEND *machine gun blast* maybe 6 times in a row.

All in all still the best landlord I ever had though:)

Wish i had a Housemate like that, we would get on like a house on fire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭barakus

Wish i had a Housemate like that, we would get on like a house on fire.

Well the house nearly was on fire plenty of times:)

Yeah he was a legend though

• Registered Users Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Novella wrote: »
    I think I speak for myself and Anna Molly when I say we feel terribly violated!!! :p

Well if youd just fought in the 1st place none of this woulda happened :p

• Registered Users Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Well if youd just fought in the 1st place none of this woulda happened :p

Fighting isn't as fun! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭waitinforatrain

boogle wrote: »
    Also, I want to hear about other peoples wierd housemates, not debate the oddness or non-oddness of mine...

C'mon, dish it!

Lynch him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 HomeAccount

I have a weirdo housemate right now.. where do I even begin with how odd he is?

Firstly, he moved in completely without me being aware. Went to work and came back and there he was. Ever since then, it's just been one series of weird events.

1) He's always there. And I mean always. I like my space, especially after a busy day of work, so I like nothing better than making a cup of tea and relaxing by myself. But he's always in the kitchen, or the sitting room.

2) There's a perfectly good double room en-suite upstairs that is his room. Yet for some reason he usually and regularly sleeps in a box room right beside mine that can barely fit a single bed. It doesn't make much sense to me!

3) In the sitting room there are unbelievably comfortable couches, with NTL, However he usually sits in the kitchen on really uncomfortable kitchen chairs and watches a small portable TV on bunny ears that can only pick up 2 channels - if you're lucky

4) I've often come home from work and he is sitting in the kitchen completely in the dark just staring at the wall

5) When he talks to you, he doesn't look at you at all. He talks to the wall!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,027 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

Firstly, he moved in completely without me being aware. Went to work and came back and there he was.
    are you sure the landlord actually knows he's there? he might have just escaped from a mental hospital

• Closed Accounts Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Mayoegian

I had this weirdo flat-mate before. She kept insisting on using cheap washing-up liquid, would freak out when I'd do her a favour and fold up her clothes and when I cracked a joke after my Dad and I put a new carpet in the front room, she walked away with a weird look on her face..........

I could go on.......

Just as well I'm a cool guy, 'bow-chika-bow-bow!'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I'd like to meet him ^^^

I currently live with an alcoholic. She rarely makes it into work on time. Spends all her money on alcohol. Gets hammered every night. Has nearly set the house on fire on more than one occasion. She has puked up red wine on our white couch and then fell asleep in it. She has come home and left the front door wide open at 3am. Knocked over a potted plant in the room and left a soil trail all over the house. Steals other peoples drink. Uses a bizarre amount of loo roll and is very loud when she's drinking (and everyone else is sleeping) and when she's being ploughed by her bf.

• Registered Users Posts: 777 ✭✭✭boogle

Nightwish wrote: »
    I'd like to meet him ^^^

I currently live with an alcoholic. She rarely makes it into work on time. Spends all her money on alcohol. Gets hammered every night. Has nearly set the house on fire on more than one occasion. She has puked up red wine on our white couch and then fell asleep in it. She has come home and left the front door wide open at 3am. Knocked over a potted plant in the room and left a soil trail all over the house. Steals other peoples drink. Uses a bizarre amount of loo roll and is very loud when she's drinking (and everyone else is sleeping) and when she's being ploughed by her bf.

Sounds like a real hoot...
    Maybe you should put her out of her misery?

Give her a bottle of Dreamy Sleepy Nighty Snoozy Snooze.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Spore

barakus wrote: »
    Used to live with a fairly eccentric guy before, bit of a character.

[...]

He loved a good fire and used to burn all the furniture if we were stuck for firewood, even stuff he had bought only weeks previously, I remember being in the pub with a few friends one time and he walked in twisted, casually picked up a full bucket of coal and jumped into a taxi with it.

All in all still the best landlord I ever had though:)

Seriously, that's something out of Withnail & I, classic! (I logged in just to thank you)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Spore

I have a weirdo housemate right now.. where do I even begin with how odd he is?

Firstly, he moved in completely without me being aware. Went to work and came back and there he was. Ever since then, it's just been one series of weird events.

1) He's always there. And I mean always. I like my space, especially after a busy day of work, so I like nothing better than making a cup of tea and relaxing by myself. But he's always in the kitchen, or the sitting room.

2) There's a perfectly good double room en-suite upstairs that is his room. Yet for some reason he usually and regularly sleeps in a box room right beside mine that can barely fit a single bed. It doesn't make much sense to me!

3) In the sitting room there are unbelievably comfortable couches, with NTL, However he usually sits in the kitchen on really uncomfortable kitchen chairs and watches a small portable TV on bunny ears that can only pick up 2 channels - if you're lucky

4) I've often come home from work and he is sitting in the kitchen completely in the dark just staring at the wall

5) When he talks to you, he doesn't look at you at all. He talks to the wall!

Er... maybe he's just blind? Shame on you for slagging the blind.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

I lived with this woman last year who was 15 years older than me. I'm 25 and we got on well enough at first. But she started trying it on with me a couple of times when she was drunk. I did not fancy her one bit. She sat down on my lap one nite and to tell you the truth i was just a little bit repulsed. I had to move out after a few months cos the age gap was too much, we had nothing much in common and i didn't feel all that comfortable around her.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Bob Z

Bono Vox wrote: »
    Try living with someone who will openly watch porn with a sitting room full of people.

Must be awkward if you are holding a prayer meeting

• Registered Users Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

grenache wrote: »
    I lived with this woman last year who was 15 years older than me. I'm 25 and we got on well enough at first. But she started trying it on with me a couple of times when she was drunk. I did not fancy her one bit. She sat down on my lap one nite and to tell you the truth i was just a little bit repulsed. I had to move out after a few months cos the age gap was too much, we had nothing much in common and i didn't feel all that comfortable around her.

Does that mean she's looking for a new tenent?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭mel.b

I lived with a truly weird flatmate for about 18months. Have no idea how I managed to put up with him for that long. I should have twigged after he'd only been there for a few days and I came home from work to go out the back and find a chalk outline of a body with tomato sauce smeared in the heart and head region! Apparently he was 'bored'

Then there was the time he went on a baked bean diet. Went shopping and brought in from a car a slab of baked beans. Went back out to the car and in comes another slab. And another slab. 5 slabs of baked beans!! Thankfully the diet only lasted a couple of days but I had to put up with all these stuipd baked bean cans in my cupboards until he moved out.

Then there was the fried rice diet. Hello! Don't you understand what the word 'fried' means? I'm pretty sure it's incompatiable with the word 'diet'

He worked in a petrol station so would only have very brief contact with customers. (lucky them!) However what he would do is start a conversation with one customer and then continue that same conversation with all the other customers that came in afterwards and they had no idea what he was talking about!

Then he would by milk (like any normal person) and add chocolate flavouring to the whole 2 lts. When his girlfriend would come around and he would offer her a cup of tea and then use the chocolate flavoured milk to make her tea. And he did this on a regular basis even though she complained about it every time. I've no idea how she managed to put up with him.

I could go on and on...

• Registered Users Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

3. His dad owned the house, and the front room needed a new carpet so he ordered one. I came home one evening with a couple of friends and he was lying on the floor and the carpet was a cream shag-pile job like a footballers mansion. He then said "Like the new carpet?" and made that bow-chika-bow-bow porno music noise.

Did you break in the new carpet?

• Registered Users Posts: 381 ✭✭Repolho

I was on a bad run of weirdo housemates that finally promptet me to ove out on my own.

1) The Sleep talker / walker:
    Woke me up 1 night telling me my parents were in the sitting room. Obviously thinnking the worst I jumped out of bed and ran in to find him standing there scrathing his head saying "must have dreamt it, could have sworn they were there"

2) The noise maker:
    She would come thundering down the stairs giving out about the volume of the TV to the rest of us, but herself would make more noise than a hurricane when getting up & ready for work

3) The couple:
    Never live with a couple. Shared a rented house with a couple. There was 3 of everything in the house (cups, plates, bowls etc etc) they would keep 2 of each in their press. Obviously I wasn't supposed to have guests over.
    Both were teachers and would regularly have big parties during mid terms etc but would not even tell me, never mind consider the fact that not all of us are on holidays!

4) The Scrooge:
    Every time we shared a taxi when it came to paying for it he would say "I've only a €50 and I dont want to break it" or would often run into a shop for a mars and ask me to pay for it as he didn't want to break a €50. I'm beginning to think this was the same €50! Whats worse is, when a few of us sat him down and told him he was a miser he seemd quite proud of it!

I should say, that all of these are over about a 10 year period and I have had some great housemates too who are still good friends. Swings & roundabouts I suppose.

The worse are the Knobs that put on the hot water immersion on to bath when they needed water for a shower. There was one guy who would do this before he feck off to gaelic football training in UL. He'll come back after an hour or more, have his shower, but would never turn off the immersion afterwards.

One time he came down for training during break over Christmas. Did the same as above. I came back to the house a few days later from my folks place and the cúnting thing was on.

Oh yeah, he had this airfan heater on a timer in his room during the Christmas break as well. It would be clicking on for about 4 hours everyday for the 3 weeks or so.

God the bill was huge. At least it was split amoung 6 of us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭d1975

I had this flat mate who's dad owned this 4 bedroom house we where renting in, with £50 a month I wasn't complaining but he surffered from schizophrenia, and every time he gets home he'd be ringing his mother complaining about his job, then he'd be moaning to me about it he says people are talking about him etc..

then when phone bills came in I'd sort out my calls etc.. and he said I can't owe that much and would spend days to figure out who he calls etc....

when we were watching tv I'd say if there's anything you want to watch feel free to watch it, I had heard from a friend of his saying to me stop hogging the tv and allow others to watch it, I mean how rude was that I always asked if he wanted to watch something,

when it came to cleaning ie hovering etc.. he'd get up at 1pm and gets ready to go out and turns to me is there anything you need me to do? eh hello!!! hovering he just leaves

how I put up with him for 2 years is unknown he's now living in the granny flat beside his parents

• Registered Users Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Leftyflip wrote: »
    Finally! A practical use for KY Jelly!

You're doing it wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 458 ✭✭grundie

I once shared ahouse with the living embodiment of Millie Tant from Viz.

It took so little to offend her and she was a right pain because of it.

She found the wrappings of a McDonalds takeaway I had got in the bin once and left me a note asking if I was proud to be contributing to the destruction of the environment. I replied "Yes, yes I am ".

She had the Che Guevara poster and the clenched fist "Unity is Strength" poster as well. Depsite her "right on-ness", she was quite happy to drive a BMW and shop in Tesco. She really did not like me pointing out the hypocritical nature of this.

YFlyer wrote: »
    Did you break in the new carpet?

Mmmm polyester carpet burn.

thats a cheap nite

YFlyer wrote: »
    thats a cheap nite

F*ck off, that's dead classy that.

• Registered Users Posts: 155 ✭✭hudsonriver

grundie wrote: »
    Depsite her "right on-ness", she was quite happy to drive a BMW and shop in Tesco.

sounds like she was quite lefty ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭marko91

I just got a text from a guy I used to share a house with a few years ago, and it brought back memories of what an absolute wierdo he was. For example:

1. He insisted on only using Fairy washing-up l iquid on the dishes. I bought some other (inferior) brand one time and he nearly threw a fit, saying that he could taste the difference when he was eating out of the dishes....

2. We had a clothes horse thingy in the house for drying clothes, and he would often fold up my dried clothes and leave them in a neat pile on my bed.

3. His dad owned the house, and the front room needed a new carpet so he ordered one. I came home one evening with a couple of friends and he was lying on the floor and the carpet was a cream shag-pile job like a footballers mansion. He then said "Like the new carpet?" and made that bow-chika-bow-bow porno music noise.

I could go on.

One of my college friends also had a roommate who actually stole her clothes and shoes all the time. Not borrow without asking, she actually took stuff and never gave it back.

Any of you people ever share with a complete crackpot?

someone who folds your clothes up perfect on your bed for you and buys new swanky carpet and dont ask you to pay a bit off....he sounds like such a weirdo:eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Repolho wrote: »
    I was on a bad run of weirdo housemates that finally promptet me to ove out on my own.

4) The Scrooge:
    Every time we shared a taxi when it came to paying for it he would say "I've only a €50 and I dont want to break it" or would often run into a shop for a mars and ask me to pay for it as he didn't want to break a €50. I'm beginning to think this was the same €50! Whats worse is, when a few of us sat him down and told him he was a miser he seemd quite proud of it!quote]

And i thought we got on well enough?

• Registered Users Posts: 226 ✭✭Holopimp

I shared a flat with a Chinese couple who used to flush food down the toilet. I'd go in to the loo and would often find spring onions, carrots, oil and stuff. They had an ensuite too, but decided to use the toilet my other flatmate and I had to use. When challenged, they began doing it late at night instead. I even caught the girl running from the loo with saucepan in hand, but still they didn't stop it.

They also insisted on storing bags of rice and potatos in the shared living-room.