Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tomorrow's Irish Independent

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

PCPhoto wrote: »
    had a google at "Claire Tully" .... all I could get was a topless glamour model ...dont think she did the leaving cert.

Ps. can just imagine how many LC students will be in town watching the match later ?

She is an immunologist with a masters from trinity.

I think it's safe to assume she did the leaving cert.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭mandysmithers

is_that_so wrote: »
    They do deserve credit for their hard work and praise for their results although the irony is that many will have to unlearn all that rote learning to achieve anything at third-level.

No matter how they learned it, anyone who can memorise enough information on 9 topics to get an A1 in each has something going for them!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

I say fair play to them, after all these are more than likely the doctors etc of the future that could save your life one day I like the fact that they have put in the time to study and got the results they deserve.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

JupiterKid wrote: »
    So what if they got 9 A1s? Isn't that better than if they were drug addled and banged up for their third babby?

I really hate the way success is dissed on in this country. Begrudgery, jealousy and bitterness is alive and well in this little benighted isle of ours...:(

I don't like people who get 9 A1's.
    AND, I hate drug addled and banged up for their third babby ignorant fools.

I sat beside a complete, geekface wan*bag in school. He was in the local paper, with his glasses and tight grin holding his results in a tight scrawny fist. His name was Eoin.

He was as rude as anyone could be. His folks kept him at home all week to study, never having any friends. Maybe he will become the next Sean Fitzpatrick and destroy more lives than a 'doler'.

Don't assume that these geeks who surpass the rest of us mere mortals, have a conscience. And they certainly don't need your sympathy.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Irishcrx wrote: »
    I say fair play to them, after all these are more than likely the doctors etc of the future that could save your life one day I like the fact that they have put in the time to study and got the results they deserve.

Yawwwwwwnnnnnnn.

Another scenario is, they might become scientists and invent a super dooper Nuclear bomb made smaller. Then it'll inevitably get into the wrong hands, etc. . . .

They don't become doctors just to save lives. I hear the money is ok??? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

PCPhoto wrote: »
    had a google at "Claire Tully" .... all I could get was a topless glamour model ...dont think she did the leaving cert.

Ps. can just imagine how many LC students will be in town watching the match later ?

She's the owner of the perfect Leaving alright, those As are the only kind of As she has had for a long time!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭Mr.Obvious

I did next to no work for the leaving, I had better things to do with my life. The course I wanted didn't require high points so why should i be bothered studying?
    Yes, I would have loved to get 600 points, but there's no way i could ever see myself giving up such a huge amount of my time.

What really annoys is is the fact these people think they are better than me because they scored higher in the leaving cert than me. Thickos who think leaving cert results are a measure of intelligence and think I am dumb because I did not get 500 points (trust me, there are actually a lot of people out there who honestly think like that).

The leaving cert is not a measure of intelligence, it is not even a measure of proper understanding of the subject and as a means of educating people it completely fails (You'd be suprised at how little of that knowledge your average A1er actually remembers after a few years).

Am i being petty for giving a rats ass what these fools think?

yes, a bit. But not as petty as the people who care so much about their image that they spend up to 4 hours a night slogging it out for the sake of a number on a piece of paper that measures absolutely nothing except their willingness to spend hundreds of hours rote-learning information to regurgitate during an exam for the sake of a number on a piece of paper.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Yawwwwwwnnnnnnn.

Another scenario is, they might become scientists and invent a super dooper Nuclear bomb made smaller. Then it'll inevitably get into the wrong hands, etc. . . .

They don't become doctors just to save lives. I hear the money is ok??? ;)

Yeah and??If I got the points i'd have done it for mainly the money aswell..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

I hope there's someone from the independent reading this, and I hope they search up and down the country for some over-achiever called Aoife.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

The Leaving Cert results are a good barometer for how much of a joyless, awkward dullard you were as a teenager.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

I prefer 'Grammar Nazi' myself - less words to misspell.

http://xkcd.com/326/

• Registered Users Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

The leaving cert results mean nothing, I've seen people get loads of points and do nothing afterwards, a lad that was in my brother's class got 590 and went on to do some camera course and fair play to him but it's hard not to see that it was a bit of a waste considering he could have gone anywhere else and done something useful like medicine etc... My brother on the otherhand, with his 370 went to NUI Maynooth and ended up in QUB. The real test is after the leaving and if you do anything useful or even get through your degree, that's the true test of intelligence it's one thing rote learning it's another thing actually possessing and developing true depth, breadth and knowledge of a subject. That chap with the 9A1s, well done (even if he was a bit smug, who wouldn't be) but more to the point well done on him doing medicine. Only thing would be if I got those kind of points I wouldn't stay in Ireland, I'd probably try and go here or here or here! Ah well, each to his own!;)

• Registered Users Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I don't understand why they're on the front pages of newspapers though. Page 4 or something maybe, but page 1 should be for real news.

Also, why do some 600 pointers get on the news and some don't? Poor ugly nerds.

phasers wrote: »
    I don't understand why they're on the front pages of newspapers though. Page 4 or something maybe, but page 1 should be for real news.

Slow news day maybe? Well look what happened over the english exam fiasco, paper was on the desk for 25 seconds, some little Louth bollocks tells his mother and boom! All over the newspapers for a week!

That's exactly it, they're just that ugly! But be careful of the quiet, not good looking one's (e.g. this fella) they're the people that get you in the end (look what he invented!)!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

El Siglo wrote: »
    The leaving cert results mean nothing, I've seen people get loads of points and do nothing afterwards, a lad that was in my brother's class got 590 and went on to do some camera course and fair play to him but it's hard not to see that it was a bit of a waste considering he could have gone anywhere else and done something useful like medicine etc... My brother on the otherhand, with his 370 went to NUI Maynooth and ended up in QUB. The real test is after the leaving and if you do anything useful or even get through your degree, that's the true test of intelligence it's one thing rote learning it's another thing actually possessing and developing true depth, breadth and knowledge of a subject. That chap with the 9A1s, well done (even if he was a bit smug, who wouldn't be) but more to the point well done on him doing medicine. Only thing would be if I got those kind of points I wouldn't stay in Ireland, I'd probably try and go here or here or here! Ah well, each to his own!;)

Good post, I know one person who dropped out of college having
    built up quite a quota of repeats through simple laziness.

Shame, because that said person done very, very well in the LC.
    I would never take the LC too seriously.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

I'm not being anti-intellectual, i actually see myself as somewhat of an intellectual ;)

I'm anti smugness, I'm anti-Irish Independent, I'm anti-leaving cert, I'm anti-kids spending the year getting stressed and depressed about an exam, which, despite what the Leaving Cert Propagandists will tell them, is not the "be all and end all".

And I'm anti-Aoife from Cork.

Very well said. The amount of humourless eejits on this forum beats the band. I'd love to say I'm anti-intellectual just to spite them but I'd rather just remain opposed to smug, frosty-faced plebs who yatter on obsequiously about "success". If they'd achieved any "success" themselves well they'd hardly be here in the middle of the day, would they. That's perspective.

What passes as 'begrudgery' is one of the best Irish character traits. It keeps (or is intended to keep) all those people with notions about themselves a bit more grounded. It also testifies to the existence in society of all those who have not been as successful; success is a social phenomenon and it obviously has two sides. Proper order and a proper context. Anybody who has been begrudged sufficiently can testify that it is an art form, particularly when they arrive home in a big car and with plenty of money only to be told by an old classmate "I remember you when you hadn't an arse in your britches." If somebody is offended rather than entertained by that, then they have unresolved issues.

Just listening to old biddies of Mammys and aunties going on about how well their kin did in the Leaving brings it home to me that these people have achieved so little in their own lives that they have to live 'success' through attaching themselves to somebody else. Then there is that long line of absolute muppets who want us to address them as "Doctor" because they did a tiny specialisation in a world of countless possible specialisations.

Pathetic really. I have no time for braggers, never had and never will. They are the most insecure people I have ever known. The day Irish people abandon a healthy scepticism about "successful" people - particularly rich and powerful people- will be a bad day.

When it comes to respect and admiration, give me the humble musician, philosopher, writer or artist any day. Humility is a good value, and a very very wise one.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

What are you doing on boards?

Should you not be drinking?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

vinylmesh wrote: »
    What are you doing on boards?

Should you not be drinking?
    I've been drinking since 10 AM

I've just never been able to get drunk :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

I've been drinking since 10 AM

I've just never been able to get drunk :(

lol genius. Post of the year that one.

Rebelheart wrote: »
    Humility is a good value, and a very very wise one.

Now that's worth 900 points!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭994

Just listening to old biddies of Mammys and aunties going on about how well their kin did in the Leaving brings it home to me that these people have achieved so little in their own lives that they have to live 'success' through attaching themselves to somebody else. Then there is that long line of absolute muppets who want us to address them as "Doctor" because they did a tiny specialisation in a world of countless possible specialisations.
    Or maybe those mammies and aunties raised them from babyhood and nursed their childhood wounds and worried about them and supported them for years, and now hope to see them enter adulthood as successful people?
    When it comes to respect and admiration, give me the humble musician, philosopher, writer or artist any day. Humility is a good value, and a very very wise one.
    Looking for a humble writer? You'll be looking a long time. ;)

994 wrote: »
    Looking for a humble writer? You'll be looking a long time. ;)

Yes because we'll know that the humble hospital consultant and humble barrister are "two a penny"...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

lala stone wrote: »
    These A1ers always seem to be from Cork? anyone notice that?!

Well we are the best county after all ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

OneArt wrote: »
    For once, I'd love to see someone get 570+ and proudly tell the newspapers that they're doing Business in Tallaght IT (only 100 points!). Would make my day so it would!

Not quite the same, but I got over 500 points and did an IT Business Studies course that only required 280 points. I just finished in June, loved the course and have been offered an absolutely kick-ass job out of it. Never regretted choosing it over Law or Medicine etc. (I took a year out so didn't have to worry about order of choices on CAO before getting my results.)

Buy that man a pint.

I'm a girl but thank you ;)

Fierce impressive! ;)

You're being sarcastic aren't you?

It's hard to tell on this interweb yoke!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

Pathetic really. I have no time for braggers, never had and never will. They are the most insecure people I have ever known.

Haven't seen anybody come in here bragging? Lots of angry and insecure stupids, though ( And no, I didnt get 600 points in the LC, nor over 500). i did respectab le.

Jesus, what if the freaking musician, philosopher, writer or artist were not humble, or did well in music, English, or Art in the leaving cert. You'd hate them then.

Humility is largely over-rated. A good sportsman should be proud of his abilities, as a good musician should, as a good artist should, as a leaving cert success story should be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

The only thing I would agree with is that the leaving cert is not a big predictor of very much success in later life ( neither is IQ). Most people who are top smarts are a bit socially inept ( which is far from being proud) and/or intelligent but not creative. They have drive for the leaving cert, and for the degree, and that gets you a good job in medicine.

But lets face it - medicine is rote learning, mostly. And comfortable, not rich.

The A students often work for the B students, the real talent someone could have is smarts and entrepreneurialism.