Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any Bouncers on Boards.ie?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

I did it about 6 years ago. Much like the customers, you get your good and bad bouncers. If I were to generalise about the customers like they do about bouncers I'd probably never speak to anyone. People that I met doing it where full time at it or trainee professionals such as barristers/solicitors/accountants etc.

Like a previous poster said, you generally have someone (usually a manager/promoter) on the other end of your radio saying yay or nay to people so you're just relaying that to them.

A manager once told me to refuse 2 guys approaching. I spoke with them and asked them where they were coming from etc etc (usual bouncer gibberish that is not to see if you're living in Dublin 4 but to see if you're too drunk) and I think they said Ballyfermot/Ballymun. So I let them in, they seemed grand. Manager almost lost the plot. They went in, had a few pints and left. No trouble. I doubt the manager learned anything from it though.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

Was heading into a club there during the weekend, All my friends are let in with no problems, Then i get asked for ID, The conversation went like this...

"Whats your date of birth there mate?" I tell him my date of birth
    "Sorry I'm going to need some ID there"
    *Quick Glance at the bouncer for approval that its me in the photo*
    "WILL YOU LOOK AT ME?" He gets really angry, So i do what he says
    "Sorry mate, Have you got any other form of identification?"
    *I browse my pockets and hand him my bankcard*
    "Whats your date of birth?" He asks again

So i get pretty frustrated and have to think something up fast, Because there's no way I'm going home, So i think like a bouncer :rolleyes:

"MY STAR SIGN IS LIBRA FOR GODS SAKE!"
    To which the bouncer replies "Go ahead there mate"

• Registered Users Posts: 323 ✭✭MariMel

Daroxtar wrote: »
    How would there be any bouncers on Boards? If you cant read you can hardly use a computer.

daroxtar not all door security personal are like your opinion, thick and unable to read. door security personal, now have to sit a course and pass an exam in order to get their licence, so they have to be able to read,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,oh i am a door person,,,,,,,,,,,,,can read,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,oh and i am able to use a computer.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭indough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

MariMel wrote: »
    daroxtar not all door security personal are like your opinion, thick and unable to read. door security personnel now have to sit a course and pass an exam in order to get their licence, so they have to be able to read,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,oh i am a door person,,,,,,,,,,,,,can read,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,oh and i am able to use a computer.

FYP;)

FYP;)

I'm only rippin the pee by the way.

I have a very healthy respect for all security personnel, rarely have i had any distasteful interactions with them and when i have had it was for bloody good reason and they were more than civil.

Yay for bouncers that don't try and kill me!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

I'm only ripping the pee by the way.

I have a very healthy respect for all security personnel, rarely have i I had any distasteful interactions with them and when i I have had it was for bloody good reason and they were more than civil.

Yay for bouncers that don't try and kill me!!
    FYP;)

you're supposed to delete the 'i' when replacing it with an 'I' in the fix :pac:

indough wrote: »
    you're supposed to delete the 'i' when replacing it with an 'I' in the fix :pac:
    It has a strike through it, look closely before you :pac:

You fail.

FYP;)

Pedantic* Bastard

* Here ya go Raze it's the second definition....:):P:P

http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/pedantic

no it doesn't, look again

oh, and :pac:

It clearly does

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Voltwad wrote: »
    First thing said to us was 'Never seen you lads around here before'. When we explained we were in town for a birthhday one lad was refused because he only had his passport and no 'College ID' even though he expressed he wasn't in college as he was taking a year out. We didn't do anything that would have remotely suggested that we were there to cause trouble and that's the god honest truth. I stated already that I know not all bouncers are like this, clearly. But there's a high enough percentage of them to make me curious about things like why exactly they get the job and is there more to it than being a 6'5 tank.

I actually rarely have trouble with bouncers, the reason I started the thread with 'another week....' is because I hear all too often of the same thing.

In that case, it sounds like the guy was maybe just being a bit of a dick....too be honest, i can't say. I've turned away groups of lads from my doors simply because of the vibe i get off one or two of them. Sure, it's not much to go on but after a while you tend to be able to spot the people that might cause trouble. I am not saying this was the case here you...i am just saying that i have turned people away before for no "obvious" reason. You never know if you are right or wrong...sometimes the lads end up saying something to you after and it proves your point.

If you stop lads and they instantly tell you to **** yourself, you know you made the right call. If they will get up in your face they'll do it to anyone else too. It's when you stop someone and they are real nice and mannerly about it that you feel like a dick, and i would nearly always change my mind and just say "Ah **** it mate, i may have read you completely wrong here, get in there, enjoy yourself".

From my years on the doors, you normally get a few architypal bouncers. The Second Jobber, the Gent and the Tool and the Temp. The Second Jobber has normally been in it for a while, has a wife and kids and might be in the army or something similar. A guy who is fairly handy, normally fairly level headed but has other things that get stress him out and lead to making bad decisions.

The Gent is that bouncer that everyone speaks well of, has plenty of manners but won't get pushed either. I've worked with a few and always tried to be one.

The Temp is the guy who won't be a bouncer forever, he is in there for a reason. I have worked with countless lads who were in college and using doorwork to pay their way. I always liked working with these lads because they were eager to a do a good job and normally couldn't afford to **** up and no show, they needed the money.

Finally, you have the Tool. I have sadly worked, and walked from doors worked by, plenty of these guys. Even having worked with them you can't explain why they need to power trip, or try to escalate situations. Seriously, i honestly couldn't tell you what any of them were trying to prove, only tell you that even when i was doorman i had a sense enough to not even work with them, let alone drink in a pub they worked in. There reasons for being a cock are as individual are fingerprints. The attraction would normally be the same though, decent enough money for the hours worked, some power and a chance of aggro.

Pedantic* Bastard

* Here ya go Raze it's the second definition....:):P:P

http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/pedantic
    Lol that actually gave me a chuckle!

:eek: Wow.....just wow.

hmm, must be showing up wrong on my screen or something

:eek: Wow.....just wow.

feck me, i didnt realize i was speaking to the leader of the over reaction society

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 grmel

i am a door security personal for the last few years,,,,,,,i have never felt up females. the town i work in, the clubs and pubs ring each other, if they have trouble with any individuals or groups. yes i have been in other clubs around ireland and unfortunately some of the door persons are on power trips. please believe me when i say we are not all ''b*****ds or are on power trips''.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

bret69 wrote: »
    My friend and I were refused from Capitol a few weeks ago for no apparent reason, despite being REGULARS!

Just got the 'not tonight' line! Couldn't believe it, we were dressed well and sober!!!!

Have heard it from a lot of people since then, they must have changed their door policy recently.

Happened to me too recently. My girlfriend and I were going in and her mate was coming too. Girlfriends mate went up first and got in. We went up in hand and the bouncer asks us for our id's. I'm 21 and she's 23, they let her in... check my ID and say "Not tonight".

Hadn't even been drinking or causing trouble.

grmel wrote: »
    i am a door security personal for the last few years,,,,,,,i have never felt up females. the town i work in, the clubs and pubs ring each other, if they have trouble with any individuals or groups. yes i have been in other clubs around ireland and unfortunately some of the door persons are on power trips. please believe me when i say we are not all ''b*****ds or are on power trips''.

jesus it's an epidemic

Jesus it's an epidemic.
    Do we have to keep doing this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭NickNolte

Is this where all the spoilt, pissed-up Tiger Cubs from the country with the highest consumption of alcohol in the world come when they sober up and want to vent their bile because of how victimised they are?

Don't blame bouncers, kids. I'd recommend an AA meeting followed by a few lessons in how to behave like civilised human beings. Once in a blue moon I'll encounter a doorman with an attitude problem. Every night that I'm out I see the drunken scum of this country falling around the place... and they aren't bouncers. They're the type of people who post on After Hours, complaining about bouncers.

I'm amazed all bouncers in this country aren't overtly arseholes considering how the drinking public behaves and what they have to deal with every night they go to work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

jesus it's an epidemic

Jesus. It's an epidemic.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

Dragan wrote: »

Finally, you have the Tool. I have sadly worked, and walked from doors worked by, plenty of these guys. Even having worked with them you can't explain why they need to power trip, or try to escalate situations. Seriously, i honestly couldn't tell you what any of them were trying to prove, only tell you that even when i was doorman i had a sense enough to not even work with them, let alone drink in a pub they worked in. There reasons for being a cock are as individual are fingerprints. The attraction would normally be the same though, decent enough money for the hours worked, some power and a chance of aggro.

That's what I've been on about from the start. Like I said, I know not all bouncers are like that and I acknowledge that there are good and bad people in all walks of life and indeed all professions. The kind of bouncer that you talk about here, The Tool is the one that I was having a go at. I thought I'd made that clear in my choice of words in my OP though, perhaps I should've gone into more detail about the night itself in that particular post.

However, I do appreciate your acknowledgement of the existence of such bouncers and you even said it yourself, there are plenty.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,963 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Another bloody bouncer bashing thread, go complain to your parents for god sake.
    Im a bouncer, i dont feel up girls and i dont let fecking arsholes in.

I'm guessing you meant "Im a bouncer, i don't feel up arseholes and i dont let fecking girls in", am I right!?:p

• Registered Users Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Antisocialiser

The reason that there is so many issues with bouncers acting the pricks is because a lot of them are and thats because its the type of job where you get to exercise almost unquestionable power over people wishing to enter.

There is a certain type of person that gravitates towards these positions and that is people with issues like daddy never told me he loved me and i wasnt cool in school but im big and brash now. The reason these threads pop up all the time is because a higher proportion of people who do the job of a bouncer are asshole than say someone who works in the cornershop.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Next person to take it personal or fix somebody's post gets banned or hit over the head with a long dead sea lion or both.

• Registered Users Posts: 990 ✭✭✭SuperGrover

Some years back I decided I just wouldn't be going to nightclubs any more. Pain in the balls, those places.

****e music, ****e beer, crowds, skangers and worst of all, some monkeyman thinking I gave a fvck what he thought of me. People making excuses, bargaining, etc. Ask my hole.

There was a time after this decision where people would still try to get me to go to them but soon gave up. I just don't go.

It's not the solution for everybody but works for me and may well work for some of you who haven't really considered it before...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭oeb

I worked in a couple of pubs and clubs in Kerry for a few years.
    Another week gone by, another ****ty experience with a bouncer for no good reason. 'Sorry not tonight lads'.
    In my experience there someone is never stopped for 'no good reason'

Are there any bouncers online here? If so could any of ye explain the mentality that a large percentage seem to operate on (God given powers to ruin a random bloke's evening)? Also, if any of ye are brave enough to post will you admit to 'copping a feel' of passing females?
    Just doing a job like anyone else. Sexual harrasment is a pretty serious complaint to be making about someone. I suggest you either contact the pub management or the head doorman. That is unprofessional (and potentially illegal) behavior.

It shouldn't matter if I'm from Meath, Donaghmeade, Sandymount, Donnybrook or the Moon. If I've adhered to the dress code, have valid ID and am on my best behaviour then I should be allowed in. I am posting here not only to openly state my hatrid for these kind of bouncers (I'm not suggesting you are all like this) but also to try and see if there's anything to be learnt from the shoes of a regualr club goer. For example, it seems to improve our chances if we go up in 3 x groups of 2 instead of a group of 6. Is that true?

Maybe it's different up the country. Personally, I can see why some lads might be prejudced against large groups of lads, but where I worked they were never a problem. Bouncers really have to work a door with snap judgement. If they see a big bunch of lads who may be acting a bit roudy at the door, then they will stop them. They might be the nicest lads in the world, and not cause a bit of trouble for the night, but if there is the slightest inkling in the doormans mind that the might cause trouble, they will be refused. Why? Because it is an absolute nightmare to try and remove a large group from a premises when they do not want to be moved. Far easier to stop them at the door.

Large groups of lads often come off as stag parties too, and alot of bars have strict no stag parties rules.

A doormans job is to keep the people he works with (both door and bar staff) and the other customers safe. If there is the slightest doubt in his mind about you, then you will probably be stopped. If you have an issue with the way he is doing his job pop back during the day and speak to the manager, or try and arrange to speak to that doorman at the start of the night (When the place is empty and before you have been drinking).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

raven136 wrote: »
    Everyone has a problem when they cant get in and bouncers are on power trips yada yada,yet nobody seems to have any problems asking the bouncers to help you or your friends if there is hassle.The bouncer is your best mate then

Are you actually serious?

Yes, when you do your job and prevent hassle in the pub/club, the thing you are there for, the thing you get paid for, well and professionally, people appreciate it and respect you.

When you are a powerhungry prick refusing normal people for no reasonable reason on the door, people dont like it and dont respect you.

Wow, I mean its a crazy ole world alright.. who wouldve ever thought..

:confused::rolleyes:

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 21,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭entropi

Anytime i've gone to a pub/club i've not been refused since i was 18 and looked like a little skanger:pac: Thats 10 years now and the reasons are the very ones that Zohan posted back on the first page.

Adhere to them and you shouldnt have any problems whatsoever.