Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Times/directions for Friday night's passes of the ISS and Space Shuttle

• Registered Users Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

Great view out on the Curragh again tonight. Saw, I'd say, 80% of the orbit across the sky. Clouds co-operated mostly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭suzieb

Seen it in Balbriggan really clearly! Wow again.

Moved a lot slower than launch night imo. I could see it clearly for about 4.5 mins until it disappeared. Found it went towards south east like other night than just straight in easterly direction.Got 7 photos and a video but none of them show the light from shuttle and iss in it :(

Must be my shi**y camera.

Wow,thanks a mill for all the tip offs,its amazing to think there are 13 people up there!

• Registered Users Posts: 166 ✭✭sneem-man

Me too,In North County Dublin...

Dusty87 wrote: »
    The one night i have them all out and the path its takin is covered with clouds! Typical! Everywhere clear apart from the path. Thats it is it? No tomo or anythin? When is it coming back to earth!

I'll post a new thread with tomorrow nights viewing times in a few min.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

suzieb wrote: »
    Moved a lot slower than launch night imo.

Remember that when you saw the shuttle, it was probably at around 160-200Km's up. The ISS is at around 400Km's so while still booting it (17,500Mph or so) it would look slower.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

I'll post a new thread with tomorrow nights viewing times in a few min.
    Tomorrow night's passes are fairly poor compared to what we've been getting for most of the week though. :(

Jammy, did you think the ISS was going faster than usual tonight? Or am I just thinking that because I couldn't see it for 1/2 it's pass with the clouds...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,049 ✭✭✭Cloud

Managed to get a faint dot on a picture with crappy Nokia phone :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,281 ✭✭✭Ricky91t

jumpguy wrote: »
    Tomorrow night's passes are fairly poor compared to what we've been getting for most of the week though. :(

Jammy, did you think the ISS was going faster than usual tonight? Or am I just thinking that because I couldn't see it for 1/2 it's pass with the clouds...

Can i answer that,If it was going quick it was only barely quicker but as far as i know it was still doing 17,200 mph or near that..

• Registered Users Posts: 422 ✭✭loup

Nice sighting here in Ballycullen. Definitely appeared to be going slower than Wednesday night launch night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,281 ✭✭✭Ricky91t

Also i think on wensday it was more directly overhead,Today it was south or Ireland by quite a bit

• Registered Users Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Blasted clouds! Saw it for maybe 20 seconds.

• Registered Users Posts: 351 ✭✭Tyler MacDurden

Got a great view here (Westmeath), pretty much unbroken from horizon to horizon. Most definitely the highlight of my day. :D

For those of ye who didn't see it, remember there's another pass at 00:26 (read the original post.) Although it's not as good and more difficult to see, if the clouds are beginning to let up in the West, you have a chance! For those of ye lucky feckers with clear skies...I envy ye. :(

jumpguy wrote: »
    Tomorrow night's passes are fairly poor compared to what we've been getting for most of the week though.

Yah, it'll only reach 30 degrees and it'll be ~half as bright as tonight's pass.

I didn't see it at all so I couldn't say, too much cloud cover! According to Heavens Above it was travelling at its normal speed, anyway.
    Cloud wrote: »
    Managed to get a faint dot on a picture with crappy Nokia phone :D

There'll be lots more photo opportunities anyway!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

Can anybody advise a site or formula to work out the times for other countries?

FuzzyLogic wrote: »
    Can anybody advise a site or formula to work out the times for other countries?
    No formulae or anything needed. Go to www.heavens-above.com and enter your co-ordinates (by going to configuration, I think, or you may set up an account so it will remember your co-ordinates, which is the easiest so you won't have to keep entering them). You can then get the list of ISS times you need, or times for many satellites.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 twalsh

Just a thank you again to JammyD. for all the info and times for tonights pass. Unfortunately too cloudy here in Westport to see anything. But there's always tomorrow night. :-)

Nighty nite.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 tantalum

Great view tonight in Westmeath - clear skies all the way. Saw a slight flare when it reached approximately max altitude too.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,805 ✭✭✭Calibos

I thought I'd post in here as this is where most of the newcomers will be looking.

Previous ISS and Shuttle Flyovers images by Dutch Dude Ralf Vandebourg

http://tinyurl.com/ney6uv

Endeavour on Thursday Night with the camera arm extended and checking the underside for Heat Shield damage.

http://tinyurl.com/lfbny2

ISS last Night

http://www.astrokraai.nl/dump/20090716_ISS_Animation.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

twalsh wrote: »
    Just a thank you again to JammyD. for all the info and times for tonights pass. Unfortunately too cloudy here in Westport to see anything. But there's always tomorrow night. :-)

Nighty nite.......

Yep, a big fair play to him and everyone for all the help for us not so experienced guys:):P. And thanks for makin everyone feel welcome. Fair play guys.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,514 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

For anyone who are interested, that's Jupiter away to the south east, low on the horizon. Can't miss it; it's the brightest light in that direction.

http://www.nasa.gov/worldbook/jupiter_worldbook.html

http://www.jpl.nasa.gov/jupiterflyby/gallery/gallery_index.html

Sleipnir wrote: »
    For anyone who are interested, that's Jupiter away to the south east, low on the horizon. Can't miss it; it's the brightest light in that direction.

http://www.nasa.gov/worldbook/jupiter_worldbook.html

http://www.jpl.nasa.gov/jupiterflyby/gallery/gallery_index.html

Thanks wil have a gawk now:)

• Registered Users Posts: 351 ✭✭Tyler MacDurden

tantalum wrote: »
    Great view tonight in Westmeath - clear skies all the way. Saw a slight flare when it reached approximately max altitude too.

Likewise, pretty decent flare alright. Couldn't see a thing on the second pass however, has clouded up a bit.

Amazing how huge it looks even from this distance.

Ah, this is what I was looking for!
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:790106-0203_Voyager_58M_to_31M_reduced.gif

Seen it again in Balbriggan at 12.27 but only caught 30 seconds of it with cloud coverage blocking it. Still delighted 3 times in as many days!

Sleipnir wrote: »
    Amazing how huge it looks even from this distance.

Ah, this is what I was looking for!
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:790106-0203_Voyager_58M_to_31M_reduced.gif

Wil she be there tomorrow night. The bino's are in the home place. The eyesight isnt great ha

suzieb wrote: »
    Seen it again in Balbriggan at 12.27 but only caught 30 seconds of it with cloud coverage blocking it. Still delighted 3 times in as many days!

Seen it wednesday and thursday. Comin out of town tonight and there wasn a cloud in the sky. 2 hours later the path was full of clouds.

Wil she be there tomorrow night. The bino's are in the home place. The eyesight isnt great ha

It certainly will, around the same time too. You can really see the size of it even through a pair of good binoculars. Would be even better if you had a tripod or even if you stabilise them against something.

Check out http://www.stellarium.org/ and you can see for yourself what's around.

Seen it wednesday and thursday. Comin out of town tonight and there wasn a cloud in the sky. 2 hours later the path was full of clouds.

Ah thats a pity,these sleepless nights are a killer when waiting up for the next sighting!

so bid you all good night til tomorrow.
    suzie

Was having a gaze at Jupiter, came in, looked at Stellarium for 10 minutes and realised the moons may be visible. Go outside, and as luck would have it, clouds came in and blocked it. Are the moons visible or are they not this time of year?
    Also spotted Andromeda for the first time. :D