Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Grapevine (OFF TOPIC CHAT)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,116 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Dun need jars opened, just one length done at a time thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Trip to Cornucopia in order so
    Woooooooo! Moar food!:D
    Wonder if there's a point in sleeping now, considering that I'm meant to be up at 8...

I'm not sure how honest I'm expected to be in relation to those boots.
    Hmmmmm....no point nope:)

Do you like those wellies?
    Feu wrote: »
    wow, i'd love you to get your hands on me!!! one of the places i worked in Sydney was a big office, and there was a masseuse on staff who used to just wander around and give people massages at their desk! Ah, Australasia!

Your course sounds great MoN, would it be similar to physio? OT is great I love it! I actually love it so much that you can't really ask me about it as i just go off gushing about for about 2 hours! I did Economics/sociology first time around in trinners too, which was my first choice but, well, it didn't take. I much prefer working with and helping people and i'm really lucky that i knew what i wanted to and was able to do it. Still, 2 undergrads, bit ridiculous! Still, i'm quite excited about being a BSc. A qualified card carrying SCIENTIST. It's always been the dream!

aw college buddy sounds really nice, think there is something like that in Trinity for maturies just tho. Good luck with it! We're not back til 27th :D

yeh, the old HSE is a bit of a mess, but there are loads of jobs for OTs in public and private, and tbh i'm hoping the fact that i'm a maturie will kind of stand to me, like your cousin. Unfortunately tho i'll be 30 when i'm qualified!
    Well a getting on of hands can be arranged you know...

We would be dealing specifically with skeletal and muscle injury, kinesiology and movement patterns of the body, and all the A&P that goes with it...from what I gather so far :)

Its good that you are so into your course and love it so much! I'm sure we could have a good aul chat about all this type of stuff at some point...possibly at a next meet up? 2 hours flies by when having fun :D 2 undergrads is grand tbh, you didnt like the first one so changed paths and had another shot, fair play! Btw I'll be older than that when I finish up...no worries about it :)

Card-carrying scientist...lol I wonder if that'll hold up in an argument like being a card-carrying culchie (where is Moonbaby when you need her):pac:
    S'all about the BEng! Msc in two wees hopefully:p

Jeez they are not boots city people, they are wellies.
    Would you believe me if I said I knew they were wellies?
    --LOS-- wrote: »
    yes pwease!

Wellies! I could do with those now for cutting the grass.

This is my first time ever to cut the grass! Nearly done, need a break before I try to start it again, the thing cuts out if you let the handle go at all. But my hands smell lovely now :)

And Feu nothing wrong with multiple degrees, sounds like something you'd never do when you start college but then so many people leaving the course half way through etc to do other stuff. I don't mind college, I would happily stay there, repeating is not fun though :/
    Seriously....you've never cut grass? I love that! so relaxing and if people annoy you, you can turn the mower on them :p

And there was me thinking you would hate to be a lifetime student...
    /pwoud

Yes it should do that for safety, blades shootin out etc :p

mmmm fresh cut grass smell and petrol and hands :pac:
    T'is a good smell that, fills the nostrils and leaves ya wantin more :p
    Jim wrote: »
    Hawt stuff. My checkered floor lino requires almost no maintaince.

I'll be up in Maynooth tomorrow taking photos of the SU for what I presume is the website / mag. My only worry is ending up in the pub afterward. Srsly need to save money for my trip to London.
    Just like our nice wooden floor, all it needs is a quick wash with a mop...so lucky haha!

Save that cash, you know you wanna...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Absurdum wrote: »
    ahehehehheheheh hehhehehheheheh
    Dun need jars opened, just one length done at a time thanks.

---_---
    Woooooooo! Moar food!:D

Seriously....you've never cut grass? I love that! so relaxing and if people annoy you, you can turn the mower on them :p

And there was me thinking you would hate to be a lifetime student...

food plans are in order so!

It's just something that we were never allowed to do as kids, partly due to our dodgy lawnmower and I carried it with me since, even since living in the house, usually it's let go to the stage where you need a strimmer to get through it, I may have also had fear of not being able to start it >_> but was grand.

stop sniggering you lot!

naww if college was all I had to worry about I'd love it, can't wait to get back into things if everything goes to plan.

---_---

It's just something that we were never allowed to do as kids, partly due to our dodgy lawnmower and I carried it with me since, even since living in the house, usually it's let go to the stage where you need a strimmer to get through it, I may have also had fear of not being able to start it >_> but was grand.

stop sniggering you lot!

naww if college was all I had to worry about I'd love it, can't wait to get back into things if everything goes to plan.
    Woooo! Go food:D

Must have been a pain carrying that lawnmower everywhere...do DCU let you bring it on campus?

/strong shoulders and arms >_>

Live there, work there, get paid there...it would be nice :p

Lol!

In DCU now, schtealing their net :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

what brings you to London?

New housemates! More importantly they have a husky puppy \o/ Cutest thing ever.

mmm dcu net

I was originally heading over for a gig (The Mountain Goats) for one night, but due to flight costs I'm now heading over for 4 days. Staying with my mate whom, despite moving to London over 4 years ago, I've never visited. So I'm staying with her which should be awesome. Wolverhampton are playing Fulham the weekend I'm there so I might go to that match as well. But more importantly THE MOUNTAIN GOATSTSTSTSTSTSTS

YEEEESSSSSSSS

Are you living on res in DCU? Used to live down the road from it myself.

Anyone know where I can get 100% Rye Bread in town? Looked in loads of places but nnnngggggghhhhhhhh.

vid not doing much to help me understand your enthusiasm :P

I wish, Res is very expensive to live in, my area is a little more authentic northside than that :/

Not a clue about the bread, assume you've already tried the health shops, maybe somewhere could order it in?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,116 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

tesco?

authentic northside :/

Ha! I grew up in that area. My secondary school was Aidan's right beside DCU.

I went to all the usual supermarkets, health food stores, bakerys etc and none of them do pure rye bread :/ Gonna hit up some of the markets this weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Feu

I went to all the usual supermarkets, health food stores, bakerys etc and none of them do pure rye bread :/ Gonna hit up some of the markets this weekend.

http://www.bretzel.ie/

not been in a while, but last time they had super delish all real, all kosher rye :D

tesco?

how much >_>

I always see people from that school floating about DCU during the year, still not a clue where they come from.

Could stock up and freeze it I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Feu

---_---

Well a getting on of hands can be arranged you know...
    don't tease me!
    We would be dealing specifically with skeletal and muscle injury, kinesiology and movement patterns of the body, and all the A&P that goes with it...from what I gather so far :)
    The A is fine, interesting even, but my god the P stands for pain!! sounds a lot like some of our courses :D
    Its good that you are so into your course and love it so much! I'm sure we could have a good aul chat about all this type of stuff at some point...possibly at a next meet up? 2 hours flies by when having fun :D
    agreed!
    2 undergrads is grand tbh, you didnt like the first one so changed paths and had another shot, fair play! Btw I'll be older than that when I finish up...no worries about it :)
    go on the matures!

Card-carrying scientist...lol I wonder if that'll hold up in an argument like being a card-carrying culchie (where is Moonbaby when you need her):pac:
    well, really i just want to wear a white coat, use a pipette, and use a pointer to point things out on a flip chart. Preferrably simultaneously....

Lol!

good work!

I see what ya did there
    /eyebrow
    well, really i just want to wear a white coat, use a pipette, and use a pointer to point things out on a flip chart. Preferrably simultaneously....

christ keep your voice down

nothing to be seen here guys, back to work :pac:

really I just want to say that I do physics

'physics?.....wow'

s'great, go ahead people, makes your assumptions
    /clears throat
    yeahhhhh

Lol!

Noice!:D
    Anyone know where I can get 100% Rye Bread in town? Looked in loads of places but nnnngggggghhhhhhhh.
    If I find it I'll post it up or just send you a vm...enjoy that gig btw, love acoustic sets I do:)

don't tease me!

The A is fine, interesting even, but my god the P stands for pain!! sounds a lot like some of our courses :D

agreed!

go on the matures!

good work!
    I am soooooo not a tease:p

The A is grand yeah, the P is well...like pain, definitely fits into the description anyway:pac: Its interesting though, very much so! And would sound pretty similar yeah, sure I've been doing similar stuff for 3 years nearly it should be a bit easier than expected for 1st year:D

+1 and matures are pretty awesome people, if I do say so myself hehe!

You're not the only one around these parts with a simliar dream
    /looks around for her...mmmmm labcoats >_>
    I see what ya did there
    /eyebrow

christ keep your voice down

nothing to be seen here guys, back to work :pac:

really I just want to say that I do physics

'physics?.....wow'

s'great, go ahead people, makes your assumptions
    /clears throat
    yeahhhhh
    I dunno why, but I burst out laughing at that :p

how much >_>

I always see people from that school floating about DCU during the year, still not a clue where they come from.

Could stock up and freeze it I suppose.
    So i made you go to Tesco now ye.

don't tease me!

agreed!

go on the matures!

good work!
    Oh hello, pipe up there, ignore that los :cool:
    How white, how pointy...simultaneously you say...I hear there is a naked lab coat day in DCU...

Not the only pointer around here :pac:

Did I hear a --teacher-- clearing her throat there /hides

Mmm supervalue, crunchy nut 1e instead of 3e
    4 tins of beans 1e
    10 penguin bars 1e
    chips 1e
    etc

I'm all set with my student buys :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,541 ✭✭✭anothernight

Do you like those wellies?

I thought you knew me better than that. You've been demoted from being Tar's substitute in futurehusbandness. :mad:
    go on the matures!
    +1 and matures are pretty awesome people, if I do say so myself hehe!

They took our college places!!!

>_>

<_<

*Sits in a corner... weeps a little*

At least I'm not old.

Kitty's bringing over her other cat friends. I'm considering writing a book on how to be a not-cat-owning cat lady before hitting 20. >_>

Also, I hear LOS actually went to Tesco. Wow
    I need to improve my skimming-through-text skills, instead of just ignoring half of what is there..

Mmm supervalue, crunchy nut 1e instead of 3e
    4 tins of beans 1e
    10 penguin bars 1e
    chips 1e
    etc

I'm all set with my student buys :D

Get any food? -_-
    I need to improve my skimming-through-text skills, instead of just ignoring half of what is there..

I never said I went! skimming fail! Ok I did pop in on my way home from DCU, lettuce, avocado, hoummous :confused:

I only saw my new housemates when they were moving in and when I got home from college and I don't like them :/
    Yes I'm a judgmental yoke.
    Earlier they re-hoovered the whole house even though I just did it yesterday, place smells like a swimming pool now, they fussy fussy, yes they're girls :/
    Puppy also not so cute when it's yelping the whole time :mad:
    /packs bags

/locks door

you staying with the lesbian puppy masters :D

Get any real food yourself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Earlier they re-hoovered the whole house even though I just did it yesterday, place smells like a swimming pool now, they fussy fussy, yes they're girls :/

you should do it properly the next time

when you're free can you please come over and mess up the place!

I had bread to go with it, I had food earlier!

Amen brother. This one time she didn't fold my tshirt. Got a pair of irish sunglasses outta that one.
    when you're free can you please come over and mess up the place!

I had bread to go with it, I had food earlier!
    My specialty, finally a use for my particular talents :D

Shureee you did heeee, says the guy that just had breakfast an hour ago

feck ya!

cleaning products grate on me, hate people that think polluting the place with chemicals is cleaning
    /ranty rant

I only saw my new housemates when they were moving in and when I got home from college and I don't like them :/
    /packs bags

You got voluntary cleaners and you're complaining?! o_O

Awww the poor puppy must be all nervous! Animals don't like moving places. Also I forget that a puppy isn't a kitten.
    Dogs smell =/

I thought you knew me better than that. You've been demoted from being Tar's substitute in futurehusbandness. :mad:

They took our college places!!!

>_>

<_<

*Sits in a corner... weeps a little*

At least I'm not old.

Kitty's bringing over her other cat friends. I'm considering writing a book on how to be a not-cat-owning cat lady before hitting 20. >_>

All I did was ask :p

All? are you calling me fat? :pac: I'm not old, not yet :D

She's creating a little kitty harem, without the tomcat presiding over things...
    Get any food? -_-
    LOL! I had to single this one out because it's proper funny lol!
    I never said I went! skimming fail! Ok I did pop in on my way home from DCU, lettuce, avocado, hoummous :confused:

/packs bags
    At least you got some nice foods there...

I request that you unclean it a little >_>

/smells a puppy...puppies smell horrible >.<
    Amen brother. This one time she didn't fold my tshirt. Got a pair of irish sunglasses outta that one.

My specialty, finally a use for my particular talents :D

Shureee you did heeee, says the guy that just had breakfast an hour ago
    You go use that talent...mess that place up good!:D
    feck ya!

cleaning products grate on me, hate people that think polluting the place with chemicals is cleaning
    /ranty rant
    Why cant they just crack open a few windows, get a sweeping brush, some water and start dusting things like aul biddies?

Awww the poor puppy must be all nervous! Animals don't like moving places. Also I forget that a puppy isn't a kitten.
    Dogs smell =/
    Voluntary for now...next they'll be asking can they have free rent in return:p

Aye animals hate new places, but puppies do smell, terrible :(

All I did was ask :p

All? are you calling me fat? :pac: I'm not old, not yet :D
    You don't ask when the answer is obvious! Unless you're really not sure at all, but then you should be sure in this case.

Old, yes. Very. (Damn you and your oddly young looks)
    How old is too old?

Why cant they just crack open a few windows, get a sweeping brush, some water and start dusting things like aul biddies?

Because water only leaves streaks on most things. You need a surfactant or it doesn't work. Also because if there's any sort of smell absorbed into the materials, it won't go away with water.

/packs bags

Can we wreck the gaff? I'm really good at that stuff since I'm authentic northside.

You don't ask when the answer is obvious! Unless you're really not sure at all, but then you should be sure in this case.

Old, yes. Very. (Damn you and your oddly young looks)
    How old is too old?

Because water only leaves streaks on most things. You need a surfactant or it doesn't work. Also because if there's any sort of smell absorbed into the materials, it won't go away with water.
    Yup, should have never answered in this case >.<

Hehe:pac: You only get old when you complain about being older...or so I hear!

I was just trying to inject a little old people smell into her house...now she will know the trickery I was about to unfurl upon her housemates:p

It wont matter anyways, Peas is gonna head over there and cause some "creative mess" :p
    Can we wreck the gaff? I'm really good at that stuff since I'm authentic northside.
    You've been beaten to it already! I bet he's there now throwing clothes all over the floors:)

And seeing as you went to Aidans, you can claim to be from Ballymun if you want, that'll help with the authentic Northside thing lol!

Tonight is gonna be the same as last night I foresee...there are MORE roadworks going on outside my window stupid feckers paving the quays with fresh tar once again :( It'll be going on all night and I'll not sleep until 7am again :(:(

Dogs smell =/
    A house that clean makes a person uneasy :pac:
    Don't you be giving it the girl power! It's not like I'm really messy or anything but I really don't want to be made think about things being in their rightful place in the fridge or w/e

Yes it feckin smells!
    LOL! I had to single this one out because it's proper funny lol!

amirite or amirite :cool:

/smells a puppy...puppies smell horrible >.<

They do, I had forgotten about the peeing everywhere, the cuteness can only get them so far.

I caught one of my old housemates bleaching her saucepans after I had used them :eek:
    I think it's a really selfish thing using stuff like that, I know you can't avoid it elsewhere but in my own home I'd rather not be choking on fumes.

ah there are milder alternatives and plenty of natural alternatives, some people are really obsessed with germs too, nothing wrong with a bit of muck >_>

/approves northside termage
    you're in!

Yup, should have never answered in this case >.<

Hehe:pac: You only get old when you complain about being older...or so I hear!
    I think I'm too old =(
    Oh wait… you're older! :p
    /cheap shot

Tonight is gonna be the same as last night I foresee...there are MORE roadworks going on outside my window stupid feckers paving the quays with fresh tar once again :( It'll be going on all night and I'll not sleep until 7am again :(:(
    So you can't watch the buses? I wonder if that should be called busspotting. Hmmm.
    Fresh tar lol… I'm not sure he'll be happy about that. Or about the mental image I got.

ah there are milder alternatives and plenty of natural alternatives, some people are really obsessed with germs too, nothing wrong with a bit of muck >_>

That's very true. I never said antibacterial! (and even then, some tea tree oil would work) I only said surfactant.
    And bleaching pans is a bit much. =/ At least we can rest safely in the knowledge that their children won't ever develop an immune system.

Fresh tar for everyone ^_^