Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Grapevine (OFF TOPIC CHAT)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

--LOS-- wrote: »
    Someone say astrophysics ^_^

Yep I do physics with astronomy, it's mostly general physics but way cooler sounding with lots more astronomy in the 2nd half of the course and astronomy related project work and labs, if it was an american system it would be a major in physics and a minor in astronomy.

This me:

astronomy.jpg

This not me:

astrology.jpg

There's an observatory there in Buenos Aires, your sister's going to be working there?

The technicians in those observatories are so qualified and don't get paid a whole lot in comparison, still seems like a cool job.

I'm not sure what she's doing tbh. She's only there for a week or so, so she'll either be at the observatory or at a conference etc. She's based in France atm but she's always travelling different places. She also has the same gripe about astrology. Whenever she tells people what she does they always ask her about their star sign ><

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Jim wrote: »
    I'm not sure what she's doing tbh. She's only there for a week or so, so she'll either be at the observatory or at a conference etc. She's based in France atm but she's always travelling different places. She also has the same gripe about astrology. Whenever she tells people what she does they always ask her about their star sign ><

The astrology confusion is a bit head-wrecking, would you really be studying physics and star signs, would you even say you were 'studying' astrology, think people think :mad:

A guard goes to me other day physics wow, so...what's that all about anyways, it really hurts to have to answer that. I'll take a look at their palm the next time maybe, might be easier.

The astrology confusion is a bit head-wrecking, would you really be studying physics and star signs, would you even say you were 'studying' astrology, think people think :mad:

A guard goes to me other day physics wow, so...what's that all about anyways, it really hurts to have to answer that. I'll take a look at their palm the next time maybe, might be easier.
    Just throw something at them and run away shouting "YOU CAN'T HURT ME! IT'S PHYSICS!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Looks like I missed a conversation here tonight, I'll be back with a mega quote tomorrow :p

Off to bed with me!

Night all:D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,116 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Just finished 19 hours of work today, made presentation and poster for dissertation. YESSSS

well done on los reaching 3000 posts, posting anime and metal all at once!

I'd like something more than brown sauce, excuse me, CHEF brown sauce, gravy and love hearts in my diet :/ :pac:

It's just not right what that boy does to condiments
    Lovely diet! Cherry mmmm.

I won't say what my first thought was. But I'm sure you can imagine. >_< I'm sure he also likes ketchup.

Em maybe you could give him a list of things to buy? Then he just has to go there, read the list, look for all the stuff and bring them back to you. It'd appease his sense of manliness because he wouldn't be forced to linger in the supermarket looking at stuff. Just in, out, and the deed is done.

<_<

Or maybe you could go to Tesco yourself. It might be easier.
    I dun wait around in supermarkets, you strap yourself in and feel the G's.
    It's wimmin with those lists, gaw just buy it as you see it. Preferably little yellow price and BJ written on it too.Just in, out, and the deed is done.

>_>
    Ye well the ketchup was a given, didn't think I needed to mention :pac: Normally I'd have something like ketchup in the press for months. Also how can you mix gravy AND brown sauce, is that not just wrong. Can you even taste that or is just satisfaction from knowing it's there :confused:

Think maybe going myself, make him wait outside and just carry stuff else would need to be blind-folded and cuffed in the supermarket so he couldn't pick up stuff or see offers on Ben and Jerrys >_>

I think I might start killing some partitions on my laptop tomorrow :) I just went over to windows to do something and it left me very :mad:
    Gravy and brown sauce are a mixture of the two obv, brown sauce overpowers most things, gravy less so. I used to mix oxtail soup and ketchup too, mmm. Just the satisfaction know it is there - lol

read cuffs, blindfold, Ben and Jerrys, skim reading triumphs again. See you later.

Hmm might need some hand holding for that one.
    I do like brown sauce and chef is above the rest after having it again recently >_> and it does smell amazing but it just ruins the flavour of the rest of your food and I just can't buy stuff like that that you could possibly put on every meal or I would.

I normally just access windows through wine but I couldn't find something so I just restarted into windows to make it easier, just freezing all over the place and being insanely slow and so many pop-ups arrrrrr so I'm gona kill it and all the other weird partitions that I have.
    the smell she is amazing, and you are addicted. First person I know that loves it too! Doesn't ruin for me, cos it just makes them taste more like brown sauce while retaining a bit of their essence and all their texture, s'great.

/mixes brown sauce and bisto and drinks

Just finished 19 hours of work today, made presentation and poster for dissertation. YESSSS

well done on los reaching 3000 posts, posting anime and metal all at once!

Lovely diet! Cherry mmmm.

I dun wait around in supermarkets, you strap yourself in and feel the G's.
    It's wimmin with those lists, gaw just buy it as you see it. Preferably little yellow price and BJ written on it too.Just in, out, and the deed is done.

>_>

Gravy and brown sauce are a mixture of the two obv, brown sauce overpowers most things, gravy less so. I used to mix oxtail soup and ketchup too, mmm. Just the satisfaction know it is there - lol

read cuffs, blindfold, Ben and Jerrys, skim reading triumphs again. See you later.

Hmm might need some hand holding for that one.

the smell she is amazing, and you are addicted. First person I know that loves it too! Doesn't ruin for me, cos it just makes them taste more like brown sauce while retaining a bit of their essence and all their texture, s'great.

/mixes brown sauce and bisto and drinks

3000!! Didn't notice >_>
    Was gona hold onto it a bit longer but feck it.
    The anime was the only non live vid!! I swears
    /trys to stay away from stuff you like

little yellow price and BJ, them tescos are really cutting street corners

Dissertation that way
    >

<
    me that way

:P

Dammit knew shouldn't have mentioned it here, ah I probably won't sort it till I get something to shift all my crap from this lappy onto.

If you smell it strongly it catches on your breath or something mmmm
    I'm never buying it again though, I returned to the press so many times to top up my potatoes earlier, I might keep the empty bottle for the smell though, almost as good as horses, almost.

I've just stocked up on soya butter in tesco jervis!! :):):)

I've been looking for it for ages in the local one, only €0.99 in tesco whereas €2.75 in nourish yessss

Also veggie haribo in tesco for anyone that's interested!

I've been looking for it for ages in the local one, only €0.99 in tesco whereas €2.75 in nourish yessss

Also veggie haribo in tesco for anyone that's interested!
    Pfft on the Haribo...seen them 3 weeks ago beat ya:p

Forgot to mention to you about that soya butter >.< seen it last week in Jervis Tesco.

I'm not gonna go with a mega quote as planned, I'll just shorten it to:

B...they're nice names tbh, better than mine I think!

L...you really need to try some other food combos, stuff you'll never believe could be combined:D

P...keep up the good stuff, and nice one on finishing slot of that college work:)

Jim...that would be so funny to say that, I'd lol myself into somehow being arrested:p

Had a great day today: met up with best friend and we got some food in Cornucopia, she and I had a good laugh and then I went home for more food...and here I am, for now:)

Hope ye all had a nice time too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Pure? It's in Super Valu and Superquinn too ;)

it's good stuff yo

now I'm hungry

Pfft on the Haribo...seen them 3 weeks ago beat ya:p

K, just y'all seem to be so obsessed with them in here, they're rotten imo :/
    Had a great day today: met up with best friend and we got some food in Cornucopia, she and I had a good laugh and then I went home for more food...and here I am, for now:)

Still never been to cornucopia! Is it expensive?

I am trying to move stuff from upstairs room to downstairs room, I can't bare to look at the floor now and think I have to still go through all that stuff :/
    Old housemate moved out today, new housemates moving in tomorrow, sick of this house now, been here way long.

I first moved in here with a hiking bag, now I don't know where to put everything, so much college shoite that can be fecked out soon hopefully.
    Absurdum wrote: »
    Pure? It's in Super Valu and Superquinn too ;)

it's good stuff yo

now I'm hungry

SuperValu or Superquinn, may as well be across the water :eek:
    It's always in the one in jervis, just never in Phibsboro, I'm always in town, just never get round to getting it. It's yummy, I'd prefer it to real butter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Feu

AW so cheerful and nice. I did, and glad you had a nice one too
    pricey but tasty. "Mains" can be like €10-12. [someone can correct me if i'm wrong, ii haven't been in for about a year as i can't afford it :( The soup is always good and reasonable enough, ie, same as anywhere else in town, but proper veggie :D

I first moved in here with a hiking bag, now I don't know where to put everything, so much college shoite that can be fecked out soon hopefully.
    when will you be finished? I'll be finished in April, can't bleedin wait!

Feu wrote: »
    pricey but tasty. "Mains" can be like €10-12. [someone can correct me if i'm wrong, ii haven't been in for about a year as i can't afford it :( The soup is always good and reasonable enough, ie, same as anywhere else in town, but proper veggie :D

That's not too bad an odd time. Soup is one of those things that is always stupidly overpriced, least the soup in govindas is reasonable, get loads and good filling bread with it.

I've another year :( What are you doing?

mmmm govindas! ah you're right it's not bad the odd time, and the food is truly good!

Where's your superphysics on at? and you're at masters i think someone said somewhere :) ? i'm on my second undergrad :rolleyes: doing occupational therapy in trin. [would actually be interested to hear more about MoN's course, sounds a wee bit like physio or sports massage?]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Ms. Koi

hey guys!!
    Sorry I haven't been posting in so long, been insanely busy!!

You all sound in good form! We're all up to our tonsils at the mo, so when things settle down and we're back into our normal routines etc we should all go out again!

After what seems like months of searching, my "computer" is now complete. Got the monitor and mouse from my auntie. Got the wireless (woo) keyboard from my boyfriend. It looks lovely and works exactly how I had hoped! I'm very happy!
    Thanks for all the help while I was frantically searching though!!

I'm really exhausted, so I'm hitting the hay. Up at half seven in the morning cos I have College Buddy Training at 9.30 in the college! Could sleep until 8 but I want to get a proper breakfast!

When are you all back in college? Lectures for me start on the 20th, but I'm going to be in college every day now until they start, helping out in the SU. I'm loving working there! So interesting and learning loads about how it all works!!

Talk to you all soon!!

kellief xx

Absurdum wrote: »
    now I'm hungry
    Just like me man, I'm always hungry :D
    K, just y'all seem to be so obsessed with them in here, they're rotten imo :/

I am trying to move stuff from upstairs room to downstairs room, I can't bare to look at the floor now and think I have to still go through all that stuff :/
    Old housemate moved out today, new housemates moving in tomorrow, sick of this house now, been here way long.

SuperValu or Superquinn, may as well be across the water :eek:
    It's always in the one in jervis, just never in Phibsboro, I'm always in town, just never get round to getting it. It's yummy, I'd prefer it to real butter.
    They are really sweet...waaaay too sweet for me I've only bought two packs and thats it :pac:

Its not that bad, little bit more than Govindas but my main today cost e12:45 and it was really nice and all mains come with 2 salads free:) Aaaand its a really bright and lovely place to eat:D

Ahh Crouching Tiger, Hidden Housemate...steal the room fast :p

Dont talk to me about college crap! I've 3 years of folders and handouts here, could re-plant a small park with it all!
    AW so cheerful and nice. I did, and glad you had a nice one too

I sure did thanks glad you did too!

Very tasty yessssss!:) Soup is nice, cant remember what it was today...but I CAN remember garlic potatoes omnomnomnomnom!!
    mmmm govindas! ah you're right it's not bad the odd time, and the food is truly good!

Where's your superphysics on at? and you're at masters i think someone said somewhere :) ? i'm on my second undergrad :rolleyes: doing occupational therapy in trin. [would actually be interested to hear more about MoN's course, sounds a wee bit like physio or sports massage?]
    Govindas is nice every now and again aye, its just different which makes it have a certain appeal.

The LOS one is an undergrad hehe, cant wait to see the back of college lol!

Occupational Therapy sounds pretty cool, what was the first undergrad....and do you like this one?

As for my course, it's Sports Rehabilitation and Athletic Therapy, I start on the 8th:) I'm already a trained holistic, on-site and sports masseur and reflexologist.

kellief wrote: »
    hey guys!!

You all sound in good form! We're all up to our tonsils at the mo, so when things settle down and we're back into our normal routines etc we should all go out again!

After what seems like months of searching, my "computer" is now complete. Got the monitor and mouse from my auntie. Got the wireless (woo) keyboard from my boyfriend. It looks lovely and works exactly how I had hoped! I'm very happy!

I'm really exhausted, so I'm hitting the hay. Up at half seven in the morning cos I have College Buddy Training at 9.30 in the college! Could sleep until 8 but I want to get a proper breakfast!

When are you all back in college? Lectures for me start on the 20th, but I'm going to be in college every day now until they start, helping out in the SU. I'm loving working there! So interesting and learning loads about how it all works!!

Talk to you all soon!!

kellief xx
    There's been a drought of posts in here lately, I think its the up and coming college season that's doing it to us haha!:pac:

Good to hear you finally got the computer sorted, and that you're still doing grand:)

College buddy training? never heard of it lol:p I start on the 8th myself, I've heard some are starting back later than the 20th:eek:

Hope you're having fun anyway, take it easy:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Ms. Koi

There's been a drought of posts in here lately, I think its the up and coming college season that's doing it to us haha!:pac:

Good to hear you finally got the computer sorted, and that you're still doing grand:)

College buddy training? never heard of it lol:p I start on the 8th myself, I've heard some are starting back later than the 20th:eek:

Hope you're having fun anyway, take it easy:)

I'm doing ok Darren, thanks! Been better, but then again, I've been a gazillion trillion billion times worse!! :D

College Buddy: basically it's for people who don't know anyone in the college and is a way of making the transition from school to college easier!!!

register online 9 Sept, Lectures start 20th! Hair falls out from stress 21st!! Haha!!!

Night world!!

The desserts in Cornucopia are great, or at least they were last time I was there which was years ago

In DCU, just undergrad, way too many years behind me. My cousin works as an OT, she studied up north though, she loves it, got such a good promotion recently since they put the cap on hiring new people, she spent quite a while getting there herself, did a course up in Carlow first before heading north but she has just built a whopper of a house in the last year just for herself and she's still in her 20's, she's well sorted now.

hey guys!!

Talk to you all soon!!

kellief xx

Hello! Yep everyone busy busy, bit of running around to do tomorrow, trying to sort this place for the new people moving in, there's hardly any storage in this new room, everyting just on the floor, it'll be staying there for a while, so not bothered to go near it today.

wireless keyboard, fanceh! So this is all set up to your netbook now?

What's buddy training? Is it like a mentoring system?

DCU is back on 29th I think.

Just like me man, I'm always hungry :D

They are really sweet...waaaay too sweet for me I've only bought two packs and thats it :pac:

Its not that bad, little bit more than Govindas but my main today cost e12:45 and it was really nice and all mains come with 2 salads free:) Aaaand its a really bright and lovely place to eat:D

Ahh Crouching Tiger, Hidden Housemate...steal the room fast :p

Dont talk to me about college crap! I've 3 years of folders and handouts here, could re-plant a small park with it all!

Damn you lot on here, brainwashed me into buying them earlier, had about 3 and left rest there, yucky.

Why I have so many notes confuses me, I used to throw everything out at the end of every year, I seem to have accumulated books even though I never buy them, should really feck a lot of those back to trinity. I had the lend of a classmates notes here which managed to stay perfectly crisp till I got my hands on them. The tea stains on mine could flood your park there ah ah ah ah

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,116 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Trip to Cornucopia in order so

on another note

Wellies1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,541 ✭✭✭anothernight

Wonder if there's a point in sleeping now, considering that I'm meant to be up at 8...

I'm not sure how honest I'm expected to be in relation to those boots.

uhh huh

The LOS one is an undergrad hehe, cant wait to see the back of college lol!

Occupational Therapy sounds pretty cool, what was the first undergrad....and do you like this one?

As for my course, it's Sports Rehabilitation and Athletic Therapy, I start on the 8th:) I'm already a trained holistic, on-site and sports masseur and reflexologist.

wow, i'd love you to get your hands on me!!! one of the places i worked in Sydney was a big office, and there was a masseuse on staff who used to just wander around and give people massages at their desk! Ah, Australasia!

Your course sounds great MoN, would it be similar to physio? OT is great I love it! I actually love it so much that you can't really ask me about it as i just go off gushing about for about 2 hours! I did Economics/sociology first time around in trinners too, which was my first choice but, well, it didn't take. I much prefer working with and helping people and i'm really lucky that i knew what i wanted to and was able to do it. Still, 2 undergrads, bit ridiculous! Still, i'm quite excited about being a BSc. A qualified card carrying SCIENTIST. It's always been the dream!
    College Buddy: basically it's for people who don't know anyone in the college and is a way of making the transition from school to college easier!!!

register online 9 Sept, Lectures start 20th! Hair falls out from stress 21st!! Haha!!!

Night world!!

aw college buddy sounds really nice, think there is something like that in Trinity for maturies just tho. Good luck with it! We're not back til 27th :D
    In DCU, just undergrad, way too many years behind me. My cousin works as an OT, she studied up north though, she loves it, got such a good promotion recently since they put the cap on hiring new people, she spent quite a while getting there herself, did a course up in Carlow first before heading north but she has just built a whopper of a house in the last year just for herself and she's still in her 20's, she's well sorted now.

yeh, the old HSE is a bit of a mess, but there are loads of jobs for OTs in public and private, and tbh i'm hoping the fact that i'm a maturie will kind of stand to me, like your cousin. Unfortunately tho i'll be 30 when i'm qualified!

S'all about the BEng! Msc in two wees hopefully:p

Jeez they are not boots city people, they are wellies.

Trip to Cornucopia in order so

on another note

Wellies1.jpg

yes pwease!

Wellies! I could do with those now for cutting the grass.

This is my first time ever to cut the grass! Nearly done, need a break before I try to start it again, the thing cuts out if you let the handle go at all. But my hands smell lovely now :)

And Feu nothing wrong with multiple degrees, sounds like something you'd never do when you start college but then so many people leaving the course half way through etc to do other stuff. I don't mind college, I would happily stay there, repeating is not fun though :/

/pwoud

Yes it should do that for safety, blades shootin out etc :p

mmmm fresh cut grass smell and petrol and hands :pac:

/pwoud

mmmm fresh cut grass smell and petrol and hands :pac:
    Hawt stuff. My checkered floor lino requires almost no maintaince.

I'll be up in Maynooth tomorrow taking photos of the SU for what I presume is the website / mag. My only worry is ending up in the pub afterward. Srsly need to save money for my trip to London.

Nah there should be a rest for the lever thing so that you don't have to restart it every time you empty the grass, I only got one length done at a time before having to restart so anybody needs any jars opened....
    Jim wrote: »
    Hawt stuff. My checkered floor lino requires almost no maintaince.

I'll be up in Maynooth tomorrow taking photos of the SU for what I presume is the website / mag. My only worry is ending up in the pub afterward. Srsly need to save money for my trip to London.

what brings you to London?

New housemates! More importantly they have a husky puppy \o/ Cutest thing ever.

mmm dcu net

I only got one length done at a time before having to restart so anybody needs any jars opened....

ahehehehheheheh hehhehehheheheh