Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Labour Saving and General Guntering

• Registered Users Posts: 11,194 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

When you lose the spring and cover off your strimmer, but really really need to finish tonight...

http://imgur.com/pD8DY2S

• Registered Users Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    When you lose the spring and cover off your strimmer, but really real

Might get a lad out of a pinch haha

• Registered Users Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

Bullocks wrote: »
    Where are ye getting oxygen and acetalyne for brazing or cutting ?
    The father is looking but reckons its not a case of going in and getting a refill anymore

I presume you're on about bottles not rented?

• Registered Users Posts: 227 ✭✭fastrac94

For occasional use get a cylinder of propane and local motor factors do a half size bottle of oxygen,refundable 100 euro for bottle and think its about 50 to fill..cheap way to get heating and cutting,not the best if uve a lot of brazing to do but it will get ya outs a spot all the same...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,970 ✭✭✭emaherx

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    When you lose the spring and cover off your strimmer, but really really need to finish tonight...

http://www.thegardenshop.ie/brushcutter-strimmer-head/

This is the strimmer head I prefer, pretty much designed to be used the way you guntered yours.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,689 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Anyone ever repair a Karcher (model K2.35) power washer?.
    It's pulsing on/off and leaking water from inside the unit. I stripped it down and think that the high pressure seals are leaking.

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,624 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

It's pulsing on/off and leaking water from inside the unit. I stripped it down and think that the high pressure seals are leaking.

I haven't done a karcher, try changing the O-rings, there's a youtube video on it

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Mines the same. If ya get a vario nozzle it'll work fine. Just not on the turbo one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Good star for guntering goes to...

https://twitter.com/Cropnuts/status/861473035060228096

• Registered Users Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Great piece of guntering here, is it based on an old rotavator? https://youtu.be/gJmejLzOw5k

• Registered Users Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Great piece of guntering here, is it based on an old rotavator? https://youtu.be/gJmejLzOw5k

https://youtu.be/yNbO4t1JQXc

Not bad but this one trumps it in my opinion. So simple. No moving parts (apart from quad)

• Registered Users Posts: 24,368 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Muckit wrote: »

Not bad but this one trumps it in my opinion. So simple. No moving parts (apart from quad)

If that appeared on our bank the father would shoot the driver

The turf would want to be in good order. Ideal in a year like this when could be nearly saved off the flat.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

I await the day when they invent a machine that'll wreckle the turf!

• Registered Users Posts: 145 ✭✭moll3

I await the day when they invent a machine that'll wreckle the turf!

What is wreckleing turf we down in kerry foot it and may refoot in a bad year

• Registered Users Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Muckit wrote: »

A good job indeed but that looks like a silage field he's working on, couldn't see it working on our bog, not even sure if one of the chain turners would.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Any bright ideas?

34666957832_e1089c6908_c.jpg

Oh sh1*e!! :(

• Registered Users Posts: 24,368 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

kowtow wrote: »
    Any bright ideas?

34666957832_e1089c6908_c.jpg

Jaysus

300 amp welder.
    Cut an access hole and weld inside as well as outside.
    Plate anywhere you can fit them on!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭Grueller

I think I see your problem

Nekarsulm wrote:
    300 amp welder. Cut an access hole and weld inside as well as outside. Plate anywhere you can fit them on!

Worth getting a mobile welder guy in? Or take it up to a machine shop?

He'd want go be good, used to more than sticking a gate hinge to an RSJ in a calf house!
    Good "old school" machine shop either.
    Cheaper than a new dipper anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭visatorro

What machine is it? It's gonna have to be taken off to weld anyway so ring around dealers and breakers, you'd be surprised there might be a boom of a yoke that got cab damage and was written off.

Job for a good welder. Grind in a decent chamfer all around and a good deep weld. Weld plate across the divide then.

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

visatorro wrote:
    What machine is it? It's gonna have to be taken off to weld anyway so ring around dealers and breakers, you'd be surprised there might be a boom of a yoke that got cab damage and was written off.

It's a takeuchi 125.. just under 3 tonnes.

Any guesses as to what a new dipper would cost?

A machine I'd love to get. What's it like to operate?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭visatorro

Try mcsharrys or gaynors. Think they're both in roscommon afaik they both dismantle and sell parts for diggers.
    Like that not saying a good lad wouldn't weld it but I'd get it hard to trust it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

I dont know what the cost would be, but it might be possible to get one from a breakers yard. I know of a crowd in Galway that break machines, but I'm sure there's breakers closer to home.

• Registered Users Posts: 831 ✭✭✭satstheway

Plenty of welders around who could leave that stronger than new. Just grind nicely and paint after. Hate looking at uneven offcut plates welded everywhere and rusting.
    Right man will plate this and make it look original.