Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Regarding recent unfortunate events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Lads, can we not get into a big discussion with Theadydal here, do that in Feedback as she correctly points out. She is perfectly entitled to her opinions, she's not an admin and therefore her opinions had no bearing whatsoever on what went on, or what will be happening here in future. She is entitled to have her own modding style, we are entitled to ours, we always have tried and always will obey overall Site rules, mistakes were made in the past and they won't be repeated.

Ste05

• Subscribers Posts: 32,872 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Attempt number 2 but while I'm here I'll add more to it. Too me it seems that some of the admins don't like the poker forum/bbv/the poker mods. Everytime a major issue was brought up over the modding of the soccer forum all the admins circled around and defended that person to the last, despite the majority of soccer users disagreeing. Yet the reverse happens with the poker forum. As soon as 1 poker mod makes a mistake while 3 of the other mods weren't even online the admins jump at the chance to kick the poker forum in the teeth and remove the delete the BBV straight away. Tbh I'd be shocked if because of a tiny handful of posters in the Noctorunal chat thread trolled that count thread that the whole thread would of been put in recelye bin. This stinks of admins who already have a issue with the bbv thread taking there chance to **** it in the ass.

The reason I think so many of the poker users have such a bad taste in their mouth is because if the admins are willing to treat the mods is such a ****ty way then what hope do us lowly users have? As I said in the mega feedback thread not once did I see an admin praise the poker mods for what the job they have done through the years, instead they all get hung out to dry because one of the Mods made a small boo-boo.

This post to me highlights the complete lack of respect given to the poker mods.

For someone whom I'm sure is popular with the admins and Dev judging by all the forums she mods I was hugely pissed off the admins and Dev let her second comment slid. Considering, as I point out to her that 3 of the forums she mods didn't even have a FAQ visilble, I found it bizarre she had the check to come out a take such a petty and childish swipe at the poker mods. Why didn't an admin or you Dev bring her up on it and tell her that the site FAQ doesn't have to be in the charter or anywhere else on a forum so the poker mods aren't to blame at all there? Throughout the whole thread it was happening, and while I accept you were away for it the rest of the admins weren't. Even when the lads resigned I didn't see one thank you post for the admins for all the time an effort the lads have put in, especially Ste and 5star who have been modding for years.

If the mods have all agreed to comeback then fair play to them, I presume some of the behind the scenes discussions must of been epic.

Chucky, for the first half of your post, I think I have covered it in an earlier post. I am not going to sugarcoat things, but if you really think admins are going to come here and vilify people directly then that is not going to happen. DeV has said that he is not happy with how some opinions were expressed, and he says the admins are dealing with it. These are things, like it or not, that happen between admins and the feedback posters themselves.

As for your points about what you say are double standards, that is for the person who posted, and in fairness, she did reply on that thread to the point you are making above.

If you have other points that you really think were not answered so far (goes for you too Steve) then post them or PM if you wish to have a different avenue to talk.

We had a 300 post discussion between poker mods and admins only. That is besides all the feedback stuff. This shows how much back and forth there was on this, and I'm sure you can appreciate that some of that stuff is staying private, and the rest we will answer here as best we can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Thaedydal wrote: »
    I think that is fair and tbh as if those who have an issue with any of my posts to report them instead of having a go here, thanks.

I am glad this forum is getting it's BBV thread back and that the mods were able to come to an agreement with the admins re enforcing the site rules and are staying on.

There's nothing in you're post to report in a charter breaking sense to it's pointless. And to be honest you're entitled to express you're opinion on the poker mods and I have no problem with that. What did bother me is seeing that all the admins and Dev were willing to go bend over backwards to protect a soccer mod after she got some slagged in a whole different website but when it comes to the 4 poker mods getting abuse they do absolutly nothing to defend the poker mods or come out and thank them for the job they've done. Too me it seems all the admins were more then happy to throw them all under the bus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

5starpool wrote: »

We had a 300 post discussion between poker mods and admins only.

Poker Mods: Can we have the BBV back please

Admins: Yes of course you can, we obviously overreacted and made a huge mistaked and dragged people through the sh1t

Poker Mods: Thats excellent we can all move on from here

It should have been 3

Its tuesday today 4 days after the "incident" happened and the thread is still locked and the trust of many posters lost, mainly due to the time frame and the bashing of the poker community by numerous admins/mods who have all of a sudden gone quiet

Anyway im not taking a swipe at the poker moderators with the above if it comes across that way.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,186 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

First off I will just say that I know and trust Dev and the poker mods enough to accept what they say. Despite that I'm still angry. I may post something in the feedback thread in more detail when I can but I will just say that when I don't know a mod I assume they are a decent, respected member of the community and treat them as such until proven otherwise. Unfortunately some admins seem to take the opposite approach.

Also since I doubt they will get a mention I feel I have to say that 2 of the banned posters apologised in the prison forum and the responses they got were to say the least petty. When a long time poster acknowledges they were wrong rubbing salt in the wound is unecessary imo. I'm not saying they shouldn't be banned. I'm just very concerned about some admins on this site but yes thats a discussion for another thread in another forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

AdMMM wrote: »
    For the record, I've not paid anyone off.

Careful, we all agreed it was non-refundable.:pac:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,186 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

I have one question for the returned mods actually. Have you been asked to make any changes in the way you moderate the poker forum(s)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,525 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

tm2204 wrote: »
    Kev, that's complete BS. From what I've read on Boards and the new poker forum this Kinetic guy has contributed by his clueless actions, more than anyone, to the 'almost' demise of the poker forum on Boards.

Surely if you are going to get a temporary mod to stand in and mod the poker forum then you should get one who has some level of understanding for the job in hand.

Tm - We didnt get anyone in. We werent poker mods at the time.

Kinetic is Games category mod. Now as you and I know poker while in games isnt typical of most games type forums on boards. Not being used to the forum and considering the highly emotional state of things it wasnt an easy job and I do thank him for doing it

Kev, that's complete BS. From what I've read on Boards and the new poker forum this Kinetic guy has contributed by his clueless actions, more than anyone, to the 'almost' demise of the poker forum on Boards.

Surely if you are going to get a temporary mod to stand in and mod the poker forum then you should get one who has some level of understanding for the job in hand.

As regards Kinetic, he was the only person apart from the admins with the existing powers to mod the forum. His main objective I think would have been to stop talk of an ongoing process. While poker mods/admins went away to talk, we left him with all fingers and toes in a dam and he did what he thought right.

If there are things that need addressing from that time we will address them with him and, if necessary, the admins. Whatever people think of his actions in the last few days here, some of the abuse he got was not on, and it still is not. I had never previously had dealings with kinetic apart from the occasional small or passing thing, and there is no reason to think that his role in the poker forum from now on will not be the same as it wsaa before, i.e. practically invisible.

musician wrote: »
    I have one question for the returned mods actually. Have you been asked to make any changes in the way you moderate the poker forum(s)?

We have been asked to ensure that the poker community shows more respect for the other communities on boards and we have agreed that this is really what should have been done in the first instance.

I think to be fair no one is ever going to propose a raid on other forums from here again, but if it happens it will be nipped in the bud quickly. Likewise if there is abuse of posters from a different forum to poker

and there is no reason to think that his role in the poker forum from now on will not be the same as it wsaa before, i.e. practically invisible.

I'd say he'd rather jam forks in his eyes then mod this forum again and I wouldn't really blame him.

nuxxx wrote: »
    Poker Mods: Can we have the BBV back please

Admins: Yes of course you can, we obviously overreacted and made a huge mistaked and dragged people through the sh1t

Poker Mods: Thats excellent we can all move on from here

It should have been 3

Its tuesday today 4 days after the "incident" happened and the thread is still locked and the trust of many posters lost, mainly due to the time frame and the bashing of the poker community by numerous admins/mods who have all of a sudden gone quiet

Anyway im not taking a swipe at the poker moderators with the above if it comes across that way.
    It didn't come across as that at all, but as the lads have said the last 3 days were incredibly gruelling, the 200+ post thread covered a myriad of concerns from both sides, as myself and the guys have said we're happy with the outcome, the Admins are happy with the outcome, but it certainly wasn't anywhere near as simple as can we have the BBV back...

This is the 3rd straight night we've all pulled all nighters for this forum, and trust me, we didn't do that for nothing or to come to a non satisfactory conclusion, we can only ask that you trust us, even if you don't trust the Admins, we trust them otherwise we wouldn't be here, hopefully you'll only be dealing with us in future, so the Admins shouldn't really affect how you should view this forum. Although they're not as bad as people think they are, they made mistakes, we made mistakes, hopefully we can put it all behind us now and move forward.

Chucky, for the first half of your post, I think I have covered it in an earlier post. I am not going to sugarcoat things, but if you really think admins are going to come here and vilify people directly then that is not going to happen. DeV has said that he is not happy with how some opinions were expressed, and he says the admins are dealing with it. These are things, like it or not, that happen between admins and the feedback posters themselves.

As for your points about what you say are double standards, that is for the person who posted, and in fairness, she did reply on that thread to the point you are making above.

If you have other points that you really think were not answered so far (goes for you too Steve) then post them or PM if you wish to have a different avenue to talk.

We had a 300 post discussion between poker mods and admins only. That is besides all the feedback stuff. This shows how much back and forth there was on this, and I'm sure you can appreciate that some of that stuff is staying private, and the rest we will answer here as best we can.

Fair enough, I'll be interested to see if an admin reads it and comments on any of it. Although if obviously a lot of was dealt and kept in private I won't expect too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭tm2204

KevIRL wrote: »
    Tm - We didnt get anyone in. We werent poker mods at the time.

Kinetic is Games category mod. Now as you and I know poker while in games isnt typical of most games type forums on boards. Not being used to the forum and considering the highly emotional state of things it wasnt an easy job and I do thank him for doing it

Fair enough you guys were not mods at that point and did not get 'him in' but my point is that whoever was responsible for appointing stand in poker mods should have gotten in someone with some level of understanding for the job in hand.

It strikes me (and I have spoken to people on this) that this guys actions fanned the flames greatly to an already unfortunate situation.

Nothing personal against this person, and I won't be posting any more on it, but i'm far from the only person who feels this way on this situation.

Basically a lot of the damage after the 'main event' could have been avoided if a suitable poker mod had been put in place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭tm2204

As regards Kinetic, he was the only person apart from the admins with the existing powers to mod the forum. His main objective I think would have been to stop talk of an ongoing process. While poker mods/admins went away to talk, we left him with all fingers and toes in a dam and he did what he thought right.

If there are things that need addressing from that time we will address them with him and, if necessary, the admins. Whatever people think of his actions in the last few days here, some of the abuse he got was not on, and it still is not. I had never previously had dealings with kinetic apart from the occasional small or passing thing, and there is no reason to think that his role in the poker forum from now on will not be the same as it wsaa before, i.e. practically invisible.

Just to clarify that my posts are nothing personal against this guy and I would never be abusive in any way towards anyone here; I am simply reporting what a lot of poker forum users are saying and I hope my comments help with the internal Boards dissection & repair of this unfortunate situation.

That's my lot, I've nothing else to say on this.

The best part (and real reason for, honestly) of this furore is that my thanks count has rocketed after all this. Thanks lads :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Icarus152

Fair enough you guys were not mods at that point and did not get 'him in' but my point is that whoever was responsible for appointing stand in poker mods should have gotten in someone with some level of understanding for the job in hand.

It strikes me (and I have spoken to people on this) that this guys actions fanned the flames greatly to an already unfortunate situation.

Nothing personal against this person and I won't be posting any more on it but i'm far from the only person who feels this way on this situation.

Basically a lot of the damage after the 'main event' could have been avoided if a suitable poker mod has been put in place.

I doubt there was anyone left on boards that we would consider qualified.All the good ones were on "strike".Give the guy some slack.

Look,bear in mind that it was some members of the BBV started this whole mess in the first place.

We've achieved our objectives,BBV is back,stop being such drama queens.It's the internet afterall,serious business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Ste05 wrote: »
    wrote..

Ye i understand man. I might be coming across abit strongly in some of my posts, i have nothing but admiration for the poker moderators, who i see as fair and friendly, even when i was a poker n00b ( i still am ;) ) i wrote some silly threads or what not and you guys never disrepected me. When y`all got attacked and the poker community attacked by so many people/mods from other forums it just totally reminded of some of the sh1t that goes on at the helpdesk/prison/feedback forums where i rarely see a fair trial. Note i say "some".

Im sure ye worked hard to get to the present standing and im grateful for that and wish you and the forum the best. Its actually a nice thing to see a bad decision being turned around.

When are the 3 banned posters due to be unbanned now that this is all over and done with?

Nothing personal against this person and I won't be posting any more on it but i'm far from the only person who feels this way on this situation.

Basically a lot of the damage after the 'main event' could have been avoided if a suitable poker mod has been put in place.
    tm,

TBH I'd be highly doubtful if anyone that knows about Poker would have agreed to step in here, can you see any of the Poker regs willing to mod this while we were gone?? There really was no alternative, admins were dealing with us so their time was used up with that and all the other many general admin duties that come up.

I can't imagine the job he had to do TBH, the more I think about it now that this is over, the more I respect what he had to do, I probably wouldn't even have stepped up to that plate. We were very much not approachable while we were not modding so he was completely on his own in a strange world with strange people :p alone. Try to think about it from his perspective.

Ste05

Just to clarify that my posts are nothing personal against this guy and I would never be abusive in any way towards anyone here; I am simply reporting what a lot of poker forum users are saying and I hope my comments help with the internal Boards dissection & repair of this unfortunate situation.

That's my lot, I've nothing else to say on this.

That wasn't aimed at you at all. However as Kev said, he is mod of the category, which is the games dropdown menu. All the rest of the things in there are totally different to poker, and he is I'm sure, a perfect choice for that. However, when the situation arose that he was the only person actually willing to do mod stuff in here, it was at the absolute worst possible time. His actions were not perfect I;m sure, but we can address consequesnces/outcomes with him in a manner that will hopefully meet all our satisfactions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,102 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

seems that if it took over 300 posts to srt out, there was still a lot to argue about and the above statements must be a bit forced.

musician wrote: »
    When are the 3 banned posters due to be unbanned now that this is all over and done with?

Hey Musician, I assume you are referring to the 3 posters who have been sitebanned. That question is for the Admins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭tylerdurden94

Im just delighted that the mods have stayed on :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

My general feelings are bbv is back to normal. The mods seem happy so that is good enough for me.
    While I understand people "taking a stand" I don't really see the need for it myself. It's really not that important. It's only a message board hence my earlier post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

82907.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

Well played the mods and dev (it takes alot to admit a public mistake/misjudgement).

Poker community showed its colours by all standing together wp all, mods showed their commitment to the way the forum works by taking a stance on the issue. Everyone should probably take note that the rest of boards isnt like the poker forum and what goes as banter when more or less everyone knows everyone else in the poker forum is looked on quite unfavourably by other forums where your just viewed as causing trouble.

Is it any surprise that the posters here in a logically based numbers and actions forum dont see eye to eye with the mods of the emotional/paganistic/culturally unusual forums? hmm id think not, tbh if I started believing in ghosts and wanting to help people with their issues and stuff Id probably require a labotomy, so leave them at it I say dont be taking it personal if they dont like the poker forum posters, poker by definition is a independent activity allthough this is an active community we are insular and tribalistic by our nature, it shouldnt surprise us if we are viewed as not partaking fully in the boards philosophy (which I think is an admirable one but just not suited to me or most of the poker regs it seems).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

Are all the poker Mods behind this decision ? If so are you all behind it 100% or to varying degrees ? I am asking since neither Laf or lloyd have said anything yet.

Opr

nuxxx wrote: »
    Ye i understand man. I might be coming across abit strongly in some of my posts, i have nothing but admiration for the poker moderators, who i see as fair and friendly, even when i was a poker n00b ( i still am ;) ) i wrote some silly threads or what not and you guys never disrepected me. When y`all got attacked and the poker community attacked by so many people/mods from other forums it just totally reminded of some of the sh1t that goes on at the helpdesk/prison/feedback forums where i rarely see a fair trial. Note i say "some".

Im sure ye worked hard to get to the present standing and im grateful for that and wish you and the forum the best. Its actually a nice thing to see a bad decision being turned around.
    TBH, we don't care what anyone thinks of us, apart from you guys and the Admins, everyone else can attack me all they want, they can think I'm a baby eating, serial-killer for all I care. You guys should do the same, we need to build some bridges here not set up fences.

All we ask is you guys trust us and let us deal with any of that other stuff that comes up, just try and enjoy this forum and others too, don't let grudges develop or feel hard done by, we've put this behind us, now we're trying to convince you guys to do the same.

BBV is back... \o/ yay!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

opr wrote: »
    Are all the poker Mods behind this decision ? If so are you all behind it 100% or to varying degrees ? I am asking since neither Laf or lloyd have said anything yet.

Opr
    I've been less active than the 4 other lads in the past few months, and I'll be less active also in the future.
    I'll still be a mod in name and will sort spammers etc if I'm online, but I'll more like the musty old grandad in the corner shaking his stick at ppl than anything else.