Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Work??? Feck that.

14567810»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

peanuthead wrote: »
    Yes indeed there is something wrong with the system when people can earn a better living off the dole than they can in paid employment. My sister is one of those cases. She works, but I have to say OP, being a part time teacher, I don't get paid for my summers off. I could get a job for these three months if I wanted to, but the reality is that I will earn more on the dole. So guess what I'm going to do?... I'm going to go on the dole till September. And I really don't care what any of you lot think about that, the reality is that I have paid tax since I was 17, 18, and have been in employment since I was 15. I think I'm entitled to a few months off.:D
    Fair play, enjoy yourself :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Puddleduck

Overheal wrote: »
    ^ See, Duck?

Yes, but there are those at the start of the thread that were willing to jump on a job knowing that they would earn the same on the dole.

I think some companies are now using the recession as an excuse to offer a seriously pitiful wage that they know would be turned down if people werent so desperate to work. I know of one company that is offering below whats on the dole, yet a few months ago were offering higher.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭RaverRo808

Reminds of a time when I needed to go on the dole,I was living at home and been fired recently,and when I finally got my labour they were giving me 85 euro a week!!!,I went over in a huff and appealed it and asked why I was getting so little,considering that my parents had a tiny income,and I had loads and bills to pay,it was apparently because my parents own the house,but the neighbours who rent their houses and have two brand new cars in their driveways and houses with brand new extensions and were like places inside,and themselves and their kids were getting the full whack of 200 and more(that was max at time) a week,but even though my folks hadnt a bean,but thet owned their house I got 85 quid a week,I swore Id never end up on dole again,Id do anything to stay off it,ANYTHING LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

As this thread has shown: no they aren't.

LOL - You're kidding right? 100's of jobs were lost in my city in one week alone in Waterford Crystal.. 2000 jobs lost in Limerick in the blink of an eye in Dell.

Thousands of people are without work, and for you to suggest that there is sufficient jobs out there is absolutely laughable, but also sad. Small businesses are closing down everywhere, medium-sized businesses are cutting back staff, multi-nationals are moving jobs to foreign countries for a cheaper workforce.

You have absolutely no idea what you are talking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

As this thread has shown: no they aren't.

Well the 450,000 people on social welfare state otherwise... are you saying that they are all wrong and there are jobs for the majority of these people are out there?

How exactly has this thread shown that people are not struggling for jobs. One job? Look at the amount of people that asked and PMd the OP about the job. IF anything this thread shows that people are desperate...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I don't know what to think of this woman. Yes, it's lazy of her to be cool with sitting at home all day when she doesn't have kids - I don't know how she can stick it. I got let go from a fairly well paying job quite recently and then started a 40-hour-a-week job with sh1t hours and pay that's only slightly over minimum wage (took an enormous pay-cut) but it majorly beats having nothing to do and barely anyone to interact with all day. I've been there - it is soul-destroying, and it's not as if she doesn't know this, seeing as she was unemployed long-term (according to the OP).

That said though, welfare benefits are way too much in this country and if she is able to take advantage of them, well I'd be more inclined to blame the system that deems her eligible. What's to be expected when there are people with her attitude and wages are only the same as the dole plus associated benefits? And it's not theft, she is entitled to these benefits (I know she isn't in principle but according to the Social she is) - if she's deemed eligible, then that suffices (although maybe things will change now that the OP phoned the Social, but it seems they should be more pro-active in investigating people). OP, what you did seems quite petty and personal. Was it outrage at the ride tax-payers are being taken on... or was it revenge? Plus, can you not afford to pay more than the dole and its associated benefits? I'm not liking how employers are exploiting the recession and paying people crap wages just because they can use the recession as an excuse. Not saying you're one of them OP - maybe the wage you offer is a fair whack out of your pocket - but such employers are out there.
    And she also actually applied for the job and worked for a while and appeared competent, so I don't think she comes across as a totally useless scrounger - just someone on the lookout for a job that pays better than the dole. She's probably back looking for jobs if the above pattern is anything to go by, just better paying ones. Not a great attitude, I agree.

As for people saying there's no employment crisis in this country and ALL those on the dole are scroungers (including people who paid their taxes for years and are now out of work through no fault of their own) - please, don't be stupid.

• Registered Users Posts: 46 kosmo

I recently had a long conversation with a friend of mine who lost his job. He was in a reasonably good job and after a little bit of overtime was earning a gross salary of EUR35,000 per year.

So I asked him the obvious question of how he was going to cope now with four children to feed and, I have to be honest, the answer startled me.
    He was actually a lot better off and now in a position to go out golfing every day while his children are at school.
    Frankly, I did not believe him until I sat down and did the sums. On a salary of EUR35,000, his annual net income after the mini Budget was EUR28,854, after all deductions.
    Now he is on the supplementary welfare allowance which -- with a wife and four children -- gives you EUR443.90 per week, or EUR23,083 annually.
    As he also has a mortgage, he is entitled to mortgage interest supplement which pays all the interest on your mortgage. In his case, this was EUR1,200 per month of his EUR1,500 mortgage, or EUR14,400 per annum.
    He is also entitled to back-to-school and footwear payment of EUR905 per year for four children, a medical card which is worth, on average, say EUR500 per year (probably more) and a heating supplement which I cannot quantify.
    In total, he now has tax-free income of EUR38,888, an increase in his net income of EUR10,034 per year for working on his golf handicap.
    Based on the calculations after the mini-Budget, you would need to earn more than EUR47,000 per year if you have four children to justify continuing to work.
    This is even before taking into account the costs of working, such as petrol, car maintenance, tolls, lunches and so on.

Now in any civilised society, and especially in a society in a deep recession with a huge welfare bill, surely the government must give people an incentive to go out and work

Making the child benefit taxable or means tested later this year is just going to make the situation worse and encourage more people to give up work and rely on the State to live.

It could even drive our small economy to collapse as the welfare bill gets bigger and bigger as more people, including myself, ask: why should I bother to go out to work when it is basically costing me money to work?

Unless something radically changes, I will be joining my mate on the golf course very soon.

Andy McNamara
    Drogheda, Co Louth

This is an email i received not too long ago and i thought I'd share with you all. does it make sense to you???

• Registered Users Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

CiaranC wrote: »
    You should still sign on and not make a benefit claim.

If you sign on, you get your PRSI stamps, which you may need if necessity means you have to claim the dole down the road.

I agree 100% with this.

I didn't sign on for anything (stupidly - I should have made sure to get my stamps) because I had savings and was content enough living on what I had saved while looking for work, supporting myself. I got a job, and towards the end of the year I got rogered for tax based on the shorter year when our christmas bonus came through. Out of close to a grand I got my €250 of vouchers tax free, and €12.50 in my wages.

Even if you claim nothing, sign on for your stamps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Dudess wrote: »
    She's probably back looking for jobs if the above pattern is anything to go by, just better paying ones. Not a great attitude, I agree.

Actually, i'd disagree, it's a fairly rational attitude to have, the time spent earning 50Quid extra a week could be better spent looking for a job that pays a hell of a lot more.

Frankly, if she feels she's worth more than what was being given then she should go out and get it. She's in a pretty strong position, she might as well go for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

They say it's easier to get a job when you have a job, and to a large degree I agree with that, having seen recruitment done where I work recently.

I'd rather have a ****ty job than a gap on my CV. Personal preference, I know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Blush_01 wrote: »
    They say it's easier to get a job when you have a job, and to a large degree I agree with that, having seen recruitment done where I work recently.

true, and that's part of the risk, but be this woman real or imagined (this *is* the internet after all) and she wants to do better than just above minimum wage then i say more power to her.

• Registered Users Posts: 46 kosmo

Blush_01 wrote: »

totally disagree. all you do is bouncing from a s**ty job to another and never get the break you might deserve.
    unemployed gap... so what? what did you do all that time matters. are you up to date with what's going on because you had so much time to read and study or you're up to date with pitt-jolie news???
    it's all in the attitude.
    i don't know what this girl was up for but if she could afford to say no to a job based on principles: more power to you girl

tough for the employer that trained her and saw her go. if she was so good could have fight for her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

I'd like to throw this job out there. At the bottom it states "Excellent Salary" yet the salary offered is €21k. Me thinks some employers are taking the piss a little.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Actually, i'd disagree, it's a fairly rational attitude to have, the time spent earning 50Quid extra a week could be better spent looking for a job that pays a hell of a lot more.

Frankly, if she feels she's worth more than what was being given then she should go out and get it. She's in a pretty strong position, she might as well go for it.
    Nah, able-bodied people with a job and during tough economic times simply choosing not to work, just because they can... I've no time for that attitude. I know she's eligible - doesn't mean I've to give her kudos though.

If she was trained in something where there were no jobs, just a nixer here and there, then I'd see nothing wrong with her doing that and getting whatever dole she was entitled to, but in my opinion, the dole should only be a means to an end, a last resort. In her case it's not.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

As i said much earlier, she had experience (lots) in this job and as far as i'm aware no other experience. She will not earn more than 9.50per hr in another position relevant to her experience.

What pissed me off was someone choosing dole over a job, there are no other factors, she's not waiting for a better job, she's not taking a job below her skils etc.
    Of course not all people on the dole are like her, the vast majority ARE looking for work, but there has to be a better system than the one we currently have, food stamps, supplements to bills etc. Giving everyone money to be spent as they see fit is open to too much abuse.

Also as i said earlier, this is not the first time i've seen people passing up jobs just to stay on the dole, its just the first time i done anything about it. I used to get people coming in asking me if they could put down that i interview them for a position but they did not get hired, just so they could pretend they were looking for a job but just wanted to stay on the dole.

there are too many pages on this thread so i've only read the last

• Registered Users Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭bobmalooka

didnt read the whole thread.what type of job is it??:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Kinetic^ wrote: »
    I'd like to throw this job out there. At the bottom it states "Excellent Salary" yet the salary offered is €21k. Me thinks some employers are taking the piss a little.

Yea sucks alright, but I wouldn't turn my nose up at it, it's twice the amount I am getting now :P

WTF is a "Admin & Accounts executive" anyway?

Huge problem with jobseekers is the titles of the job. I go through them most days ignoring a massive portion of them as I don't have a bloody clue what they are, yet the wage is only 18-22K a year. Hardly very skilled labour. The majority of jobs want you to have experience of some sort, without it makes it impossible to get that job.

A lot of people are over qualified for a lot of the jobs and lack the experience for others. While there are jobs out there, the competition and the pickiness of employers makes it extremely difficult to land a job.

• Registered Users Posts: 416 ✭✭Hamiltonion

People do whats best for themselves, problem is the system is unable to moderate. Best thing for her is the dole and nixers esp when travel expenses/lunch/childcare is taken into account. Best thing for you is to report her so less is payed out on social welfare and you might sae .000002 cents in tax a week. Blame the system, not the individual, capitalist economies are built on greed, socialist upon naivety

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

theres alot of left wing sillybillies in AH, i now remember why I don't browse. I'm shocked that so many people support this parasites actions. The dole is not afree ride til your dream job... you can work to make ends meet whilst still looking for another job...

• Registered Users Posts: 9,955 ✭✭✭Degag

Senna wrote: »
    As i said much earlier, she had experience (lots) in this job and as far as i'm aware no other experience. She will not earn more than 9.50per hr in another position relevant to her experience.

What pissed me off was someone choosing dole over a job, there are no other factors, she's not waiting for a better job, she's not taking a job below her skils etc.
    Of course not all people on the dole are like her, the vast majority ARE looking for work, but there has to be a better system than the one we currently have, food stamps, supplements to bills etc. Giving everyone money to be spent as they see fit is open to too much abuse.

Also as i said earlier, this is not the first time i've seen people passing up jobs just to stay on the dole, its just the first time i done anything about it. I used to get people coming in asking me if they could put down that i interview them for a position but they did not get hired, just so they could pretend they were looking for a job but just wanted to stay on the dole.

there are too many pages on this thread so i've only read the last

You can't blame her if she doesn't take a job than pays less than any benifits she would receive. Not many people would. Blame the system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭nitrogen

Kinetic^ wrote: »

It's a basic office admin job dressed up with a wanky title and filled with the usual meaningless corporate buzzwords. The level of skill required probably matches the salary, it's the requirements required that insure people slightly more qualified.
    Some evenings and Weekend work is required
    Basically they'll milk you for peanuts.

What annoys me is there is someone out there more than capable of doing this clerical job. He/She unfortunately didn't get a shot at third level education but is probably smart enough not to have wasted income on pointless certificates while being computer literate in standard office admin software.