Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kerry GAA Discussion Thread Mod Warning Post #4167

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Lads lay off Michael Geaney some of the criticism on here is over the top.
    It's only March and we are getting experience into the panel.
    At the end of the Day Eamon knows what he's doing so trust he is doing the best for the team.

I'm concerned about Colms injury, considering the word out of the camp was that he was well on track now that's delayed.
    That's what's playing on my mind if I'm honest.

I wouldnt be too worried about the Gooch,as long as he is back in contention for the championship that is the main thing,hopefully we might get to the latter stages of the league which would be ideal for him to get game time,

But the queue for lads looking for game time is getting longer.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Lads lay off Michael Geaney some of the criticism on here is over the top.
    It's only March and we are getting experience into the panel.
    At the end of the Day Eamon knows what he's doing so trust he is doing the best for the team.

over the top? go on then, tell us why...tell us what he brings to this team and why he deserves to start games for the all ireland champions.

did you see his performance last sunday?

The Kerry Senior Football Team to play Cork in Round 4 of the Allianz Football League in Páirc Uí Rinn on Sunday shows one change in personnel from the side that started in the defeat of Dublin in Round 3; Barry John Keane is named at corner forward in place of Paul Geaney. Shane O’Callaghan comes back into the Panel after club championship duty with Austin Stacks.

The team, captained by Kieran Donaghy is as follows:

1. Brendan Kealy Kilcummin

2. Pa Kilkenny Glenbeigh/Glencar

3. Mark Griffin St Michaels/Foilmore

4. Fionn Fitzgerald Dr Crokes

5. Jonathan Lyne Killarney Legion

6. Jack Sherwood Firies

7. Paul Murphy Rathmore

8. Anthony Maher Duagh

9. David Moran Kerins O’Rahillys

10. Michael Geaney Dingle

11. Bryan Sheehan St Marys

12. Johnny Buckley Dr Crokes

13. Stephen O’Brien Kenmare

14. Kieran Donaghy (C) Austin Stacks

15. Barry John Keane Kerina O'Rahillys

Substitutes:

16 Brian Kelly Killarney Legion

17 Tommy Walsh Kerins O’Rahillys

18. Killian Young Renard

19. Alan Fitzgerald Castlegregory

20. Peter Crowley Laune Rangers

21. Shane Enright Tarbert

22 Philip O’Connor Cordal

23. Paul O’Donoghue St Marys

24 Padraig O’Connor Killarney Legion

25. Kieran O’Leary Dr Crokes

26. Shane O'Callaghan Austin Stacks

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭Kerryfootball

over the top? go on then, tell us why...tell us what he brings to this team and why he deserves to start games for the all ireland champions.

He's dogged and works hard, he scored a lovely point in Sunday.
    He probably won't be in the 15 come the summer given who has to come back but he could do a workman like job off the bench.

Eamon is picking the team based on what's infront of him in training and I think he knows best.

He's dogged and works hard, he scored a lovely point in Sunday.
    He probably won't be in the 15 come the summer given who has to come back but he could do a workman like job off the bench.

Eamon is picking the team based on what's infront of him in training and I think he knows best.

One more thing I heard the same thing years ago about Donnacha and look what a player he has turned into.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,745 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

The roughest fcukin animal is right:D Not so long ago Moran and Buckley were useless too. Maybe the management see something in him over the course of 150 training and games a year that you cant see on the telly.

Mikey couldnt make the panel for the last round of the league in 2014 yet came on at half time in the all ireland final having started both semi finals. Shows that in the absence of Gooch and injury to Declan O Sullivan Kerry needed something different in the half forward line last summer and he was a part of that. Needs to improve his end product but is on the way there.

• Registered Users Posts: 272 ✭✭0028673

One more thing I heard the same thing years ago about Donnacha and look what a player he has turned into.

I feel the same. He covers an amount of ground in a match. He is very aggressive in the tackle, very good defensively as well.

I know he has made some poor errors in games but he does contribute to the team. I think he will struggle to get a look in with the talent we have at our disposal but I won't be hanging him out to dry.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,363 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Geaney was poor last Sunday, however a heavy wet pitch doesnt suit him. He was spinning the tyres while Johnny Cooper seemed to cope with the conditions much better and get across the pitch with greater ease. He was pretty much destroyed. On top of that his foot passing was abysmal.

However the Mikey Geaney we saw on the hard dry pitches at the end of last year was a different animal. He was quick, hard into tackles and a fabulous foot passer. His diagonal outside of the right pass into Geaney in the Galway game was one of the best foot passes I've seen in Croke Park.

He serves a purpose, but has been off form so far in the league. The Anti-Declan Quill perhaps, or maybe just had a few good games last year and won't hit those heights again. Who knows.

Just on the team. Great to see such continuity in the backs and a deserved recall for BJK. He's unfortunate in a way to have developed such a reputation as a supersub now, so it's great to see him start some games. Wasn't long ago that people were saying he wasn't good enough for Kerry.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

We need to remember that non Kerry people look at this thread as well so we need to dumb it down a bit folks.

Less talking about strength in the squad

More talk about

- Team in Transition
    - Loss of quality players this season ie Declan O Sullivan
    - Very hard to win it 2 years in a row
    - Dublins great squad
    - Cooper/James O Donoghue wont be as good after their inj
    - Cork wont be as bad
    - Mayos year
    - Team a year older

Yera yera ye know yerselves ...:cool::cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,343 ✭✭✭buyer95

yayamark wrote: »
    We need to remember that non Kerry people look at this thread as well so we need to dumb it down a bit folks.

Less talking about strength in the squad

More talk about

- Team in Transition
    - Loss of quality players this season ie Declan O Sullivan
    - Very hard to win it 2 years in a row
    - Dublins great squad
    - Cooper/James O Donoghue wont be as good after their inj
    - Cork wont be as bad
    - Mayos year
    - Team a year older

Year yera ye know yerselves ...:cool::cool:
    You'd have to say the fact the team is a year older is a plus, that was a very young team, on the whole last yea.

thats grand, for every Donnacha theres several players who got their chance and werent good enough.

not sure why people are getting so wound up over critisim of M Geaney, the man is not a Kerry player.

could he improve? yes he could. but the fact that Mayo were willing to play double up on JOD and leave him free, speaks volumes. when they were down to 14, it was like nothing had changed as Geaney was so ineffective and useless that we were playing with 14 also.

5 points down after 6 minutes, 2 goals conceded.

Cork wing back doing a pile of damage and has set up 2 goals.

Edit : as i type Donaghy has scored a goal...

1-2 to 2-1 already.

we were 3-4 to 1-2 behind but its 3-4 to 2-5 now.

crazy game, 5 goals in first 24 minutes, Kerry have lost Murphy to another Black card and Sherwood and Sheehan have been taken off.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭zetecescort

are ye trying to set us up for a big beating in the summer like last year? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,541 ✭✭✭FourFourRED

That was awful. Donaghy & BJ Keane the only positives we can take from today.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,363 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Need a wash after that. We were absolutely shìt.

Let Cork stroll through us time and time again.

Cork should have won by more.

Sherwood, Fitzgerald and Sheehan we're especially poor and had to overtaken off before they caused more damage.

BJK really laid down a marker in terms of starting team.

Cowardly strike on Tommy Walsh from behind at one of the melees. Hopefully will be punished in retrospect. Missed the number but things like that cannot go unpunished.

Everything Cork kicked seemed to go over. They were very fit, strong and totally outpaced us all over.

The boys on the radio were saying our lads looked tired today,must have been doing some heavy training during the week,

• Registered Users Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭davegrohl48

I don't know where that came from with Cork. Vastly improved from the Donegal game.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,765 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

I don't know where that came from with Cork. Vastly improved from the Donegal game.

Form very difficult to read in league. Depends on what's being done in training and when a squad is doing some heavy work.

Two home games for Kerry should see them safe. Hopefully!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,765 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

DDC1990 wrote: »

Cowardly strike on Tommy Walsh from behind at one of the melees. Hopefully will be punished in retrospect. Missed the number but things like that cannot go unpunished.

Michael Shields tried to punch Tommy Walsh from behind and everybody piled in after that. Didn't see any other digs thrown, just fellas pushing and pulling. Shields, Donaghy and BJK got cards after it, so Shields is ok as they can't revisit something the ref dealt with.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭davegrohl48

Only seen replay of it once but he might argue case was goin for a quick wraparound arm lock around his neck. Either way I'v no sympathy whatever his intentions, both dangerous. Neck lock from behind is dangerous and obviously so is any attempt at a strike.

Hurlers lost as well today to Westmeath,Carlow now next week is a must win game if we have any chance of getting to the final,big ask as the team aren't moving as well as last season.

Kerry 0-12 Westmeath 3-18

• Registered Users Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭ciarriaithuaidh

Result aside, there were a few hard lessons dished out today. Sherwood had been doing ok prior to this but was way off the pace today. Lyne got cleaned out, Fionn Fitz needs to take the finger out, Griffin was again hung out to dry by management a bit..which I don't understand. I also don't understand what exactly Mikey Geaney brings to the table, but won't go into it again. Good few lads way off the level of fitness required, understandably enough in fairness. Moran for example wasn't even able to solo the ball before being withdrawn.

One of the few positives was the form of BJK, who was outstanding and has been in good form since the start of the league.

Not going to read a whole lot into it either way, never nice to get beaten like that but was fairly obvious that Cork were showing their hand a lot more than we were...I hope! That being said Cork were impressive and 3-17 is serious scoring any day of the week. Colm O'Neill is a class act. As good a forward as any in the game right now.

Kerry will be looking to win the 2 upcoming home games I imagine and 8 points will probably do for a semi final spot.

Back down to earth with a bump.

Look the where incredibly flat today, We know that the team are better than that.

Gooch & JOD will make some difference when they get back

Back down to earth with a bump.

Look the where incredibly flat today, We know that the team are better than that.

Gooch & JOD will make some difference when they get back

As Billy O Shea said today,"its no harm to get a kick up the backside now and again"

100% agreed no harm at all, no complacency come July 7th.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

5th

yayamark wrote: »
    5th

My mistake.

i actually feel sick when i think about the performance but looking at the positive side, its a huge kick up the arse that we need and will hopefully put a bit of hunger back into this team. it will lessen expectations a little bit and put a few lads back in their box within the panel.

wouldnt like to be training on Tuesday!!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,087 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

June 14th you mean ?