Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kerry GAA Discussion Thread Mod Warning Post #4167

• Registered Users Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭davegrohl48

What are the reservations people have over Sherwood? He looks like a physical no-nonsense centre back to me?
    I think Kerry won't return to having Bryan Sheehan at midfield. He looked a bit gassed the last day after 20 minutes. Sheehan has a great football brain and we all know him as a dead ball specialist. I think he can do a lot of damage in terms of assists. He's well able to deliver long accurate handpasses which put people through on goal and quickly picks out the correct option.
    Sheehan seems to play the game at a different speed to other players. Always unhurried, head up, never runs in straight lines, avoids unnecessary contact. A lot of forwards could learn from studying him.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

What are the reservations people have over Sherwood? He looks like a physical no-nonsense centre back to me?
    I think Kerry won't return to having Bryan Sheehan at midfield. He looked a bit gassed the last day after 20 minutes. Sheehan has a great football brain and we all know him as a dead ball specialist. I think he can do a lot of damage in terms of assists. He's well able to deliver long accurate handpasses which put people through on goal and quickly picks out the correct option.
    Sheehan seems to play the game at a different speed to other players. Always unhurried, head up, never runs in straight lines, avoids unnecessary contact. A lot of forwards could learn from studying him.

Sherwood has not yet consistently performed for Kerry on a regular basis so I'd imagine that is a reservation that people would have.
    This is his chance to prove himself at this level.

I agree with you on Sheenhan- he is a bit of a Pirlo type GAA player

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

New AIB ad featuring Brian Sheehan,all about the famous frees he took against the Crokes

• Registered Users Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Love the last line of commentary from the lads 'D'you know, if you saw a hurler doing that you'd praise him' :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,440 ✭✭✭wonga77

The height in those kicks are unbelievable, id say very few footballers could kick that far off their hands let alone off the ground

• Registered Users Posts: 3,343 ✭✭✭buyer95

Sheehan is overweight atm simple as. He has always been a man who winters well, and I think it's fair to say he is just playing his way back to fitness. I would agree that his days being our starting midfield are probably over, with the likes of Moran, Maher and Tommy Walsh fighting for places.
    As regards Jack Sherwood, as someone else alluded to he is unproven. Your comments on him strike me as a bit strange. I would be slow to heap too much praise on him until he consistently proves his worth. He did well against Mayo though infairness to him

• Registered Users Posts: 10,363 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Up in Derry now. Ready for tomorrow. Really important to win so we don't end up in a hole again like the last year's.

Worried about our small backs verses their big forwards.

Good win today. 1-17 is a fine score up in Derry.
    Geaney was on fire, some brilliant scores.

Much sharper this week. Tommy was quiet, but got good game time. Buckley was brilliant, especially in his defensive work.

Playing teams with a sweeper really suits us as we could get the big bodies behind th ball. Buckley was able to guide the Derry runners into the middle to run into Moran and Maher when he came on.

BJK was excellent until he got tired.

I've heard people say that the red card was harsh, but it wasn't really. Don't think it was massively malicious, but an elbow to the face is always going to be a Red card. It was very similar to John Hayes on Declan in the Munster Final last year, but less intentional.

Both black cards were odd. 2 foot trips, but neither, especially Fionns looked intentional. Fionn was pulling on the ball that broke lose, and the Derry player came from his blindside. Yellow card but not a Black.

Brian McIvor was roaring at the ref after every Kerry free. Was kind of comical really, considering how blatant some of the frees were. Pure mind games.

Edit: Sheehan was brilliant, especially from Frees. Someone made the comparison with Pirlo for Italy. Plays at his on pace, great playmaker, great free kicks. 7 points today including a great score from play.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Good win today. 1-17 is a fine score up in Derry.
    Geaney was on fire, some brilliant scores.

Much sharper this week. Tommy was quiet, but got good game time. Buckley was brilliant, especially in his defensive work.

Playing teams with a sweeper really suits us as we could get the big bodies behind th ball. Buckley was able to guide the Derry runners into the middle to run into Moran and Maher when he came on.

BJK was excellent until he got tired.

I've heard people say that the red card was harsh, but it wasn't really. Don't think it was massively malicious, but an elbow to the face is always going to be a Red card. It was very similar to John Hayes on Declan in the Munster Final last year, but less intentional.

Both black cards were odd. 2 foot trips, but neither, especially Fionns looked intentional. Fionn was pulling on the ball that broke lose, and the Derry player came from his blindside. Yellow card but not a Black.

Brian McIvor was roaring at the ref after every Kerry free. Was kind of comical really, considering how blatant some of the frees were. Pure mind games.

With 2 loses Derry look to be battling relegation - what sort of chances would you give them of staying up?

How did the fringe player get on ? Kilkenny, Griffin, Lyne, Sherwood, M Geaney, S O'Brien. Cheers

Boom__Boom wrote: »
    With 2 loses Derry look to be battling relegation - what sort of chances would you give them of staying up?

How did the fringe player get on ? Kilkenny, Griffin, Lyne, Sherwood, M Geaney, S O'Brien. Cheers

Little to none. Looked very poor up front even with Bradley. They have to work so hard to get a score, because they have to work it out from a short kick out every single time. They tire themselves out and make errors that lead to chances like the Kerry goal. Missing Mark Lynch for the next game will be very tough.

Fringe lads did fairly well. Kilkenny was a free man and did well.

Sherwood mixed good with bad. Read some long balls and cut them out well, scored a good point, but looked clueless as a center back, getting turned easily and leaving some massive gaps.

Lyne was solid, but made two big mistakes, trying to make big plays, which lead to Derry getting in behind.

Griffin was better then last week. Relished the battle with Bradley in the second half and marshalled him well. Gave away 1 free, but Bradley really conned the referee. Griffin beat him to several balls.

M.Geaney was tired looking. Fouled quite a bit, and was very physical in the tackle. Kicked a comical attempt at goal that didn't even go wide it was that bad. Failed to make a significant impact in attack really.

O'Brien was interesting. Played a bit deeper then usual, so got on a good bit of ball. Made a few runs, but McQuillan allowed a lot of physical stuff which didn't suit him. Has a nice chemistry with Heaney, as does BJK.

Maher came on and looked good.
    Killian made a good block and ran around a bit.
    Donnacha was way off the pace, needs a few more games.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭ciarriaithuaidh

Good man DDC. Good to get a reliable eyewitness account. 1 lad on the Kerry GAA forum was on about David Moran being MOM..and when questioned further it turned out he listened to the game on the radio!

Anyway, good to get a win, especially on a long away trip like that.

Dublin at home in 3 weeks followed by Cork away. 2 interesting games there.

Good man DDC. Good to get a reliable eyewitness account. 1 lad on the Kerry GAA forum was on about David Moran being MOM..and when questioned further it turned out he listened to the game on the radio!

Anyway, good to get a win, especially on a long away trip like that.

Dublin a home in 3 weeks followed by Cork away. 2 interesting games there.

Moran wasn't bad, but the pitch seemed to take a bit out of him. He was tired looking in the second half. A few nice catches. A bit lucky not to get the line at one stage. He was fouled, but the ref didn't give it, and the ball was on the ground and he drew on it and got man and ball. Got a yellow. As he was retreating a Derry guy ran in behind, and he stuck out the leg and tripped him up. Ref brought the ball forward, but it really should have been a second yellow, or more accurately a Black card.

As for Man of the Match. Geaney had to win it with 1-5.

Sheahan played well in open play and slotted some lovely long range frees.

Buckley mightnt have contributed to the scoreboard but he was brilliant in his defensive work. His body movement is superb, it's so hard to get past him.

BJK won all his own ball, up till the last ball that went into him, where he couldn't get off the ground, fouled his man and got a yellow. He set up a load of scoring chances, won frees and if Geaney was a little more on his wavelength Barry played a lovely ball over the top of the defender as he came in along the endline, but Geaney went towards the ball instead of drifting back.

• Registered Users Posts: 223 ✭✭Jippo

Sherwood has not yet consistently performed for Kerry on a regular basis so I'd imagine that is a reservation that people would have.
    This is his chance to prove himself at this level.

Sherwood has started THREE games for Kerry. Not much hope of him performing consistently.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭ciarriaithuaidh

Jippo wrote: »
    Sherwood has started THREE games for Kerry. Not much hope of him performing consistently.

Whatever about starting, he has made around a dozen appearances. Anybody who has attended Junior or U-21 games would have seen plenty of his in the last 3/4 years also. This is his 3rd year on the Kerry panel aswell. This is not some knee-jerk reaction to a rookie.
    I think in fairness to Sherwood he is not a bad player. He spent the majority of his underage career at midfield or in the half-forward line though and didn't really impress me when he was switched to the backs at U-21 level. Fitzmaurice clearly rates him somewhat as he threw him on in the Dublin semi final 2 years ago (a crazy decision in my view) and is giving him a start in this years league. Maybe he'll surprise me and if there's one manager who could turn a guy into a 6, it's Fitz in fairness. I'd be hoping that Crowley will be our 6 for a long time to come though.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

Jippo wrote: »

Yeah exactly- read back through the discussion for godsake.

Also I stated that this is his chance to prove himself ( implying that he hasn't had a chance before)- nothing too negative so dont get overly excited

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Just seen clips of the game on TG4,some lovely scores taken by Geaney,

http://gfycat.com/EdibleBarrenIndri

Here is the Lynch Red Card.

Looks a bit more innocious from this angle, but I was close enough in the stand to see the connection that the elbow made, and I'd stand by my reasoning that it was a deserved Red Card.

He may go to shoulder Lyne, but as Lyne steps out, Lynch's elbow comes out and catches him in the face. Its high, reckless and targets the face area. No matter what he was trying to do I think the red was deserved. Kerry would have won regardless, but a few sources are making a holy show over it, and claiming that Derry were hard done by.

It wasn't as blatant as John Hayes in the Munster Final, but it was a nasty enough blow to the face.

Lyne is a tough lad. Did no rolling around or whinging. Wanted to play on. Fair play.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,095 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Well done to both Brosna and Ardfert for winning All Irelands today.

Stacks could make it a clean sweep.

A lot of gutted Stacks fans here in Portlaoise.

Good atmosphere, though I wish they would have given the drums a rest for the opposition frees. Pretty poor form.

I'd have to watch it back but I felt that the Stacks were pretty hard done by the referee despite the two pretty clear cut penalties.

Gough really had it in for Donaghy in particular, giving several frees against him where I felt it could have gone the other way.

Slaughtneill were dominant in the first half despite the goals from the Stacks and I feared for the Stacks at half time but Stacks fought well in the second, and in the end the bounce of the ball just didn't go in their favour.

• Registered Users Posts: 752 ✭✭✭JFlah

A lot of gutted Stacks fans here in Portlaoise.

Good atmosphere, though I wish they would have given the drums a rest for the opposition frees. Pretty poor form.

I'd have to watch it back but I felt that the Stacks were pretty hard done by the referee despite the two pretty clear cut penalties.

Gough really had it in for Donaghy in particular, giving several frees against him where I felt it could have gone the other way.

Slaughtneill were dominant in the first half despite the goals from the Stacks and I feared for the Stacks at half time but Stacks fought well in the second, and in the end the bounce of the ball just didn't go in their favour.

Some extremely strange decisions.. it'd be so refreshing to hear a referee explain their thought process behind their decisions, because sometimes it is just baffling.

Disappointed but great effort from both teams , particularly in tough conditions..

• Registered Users Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Best team won but on another day, there would have been two yellows or even a black card for the two pens For their CB and there could have been two straight reds For a kick and a head high challenge also, which only resulted in yellows.

Very fine margins and Stacks got no break at all, though as I said i think the better team won and congrats to Slaughtneil

Best team won but on another day, there would have been two yellows or even a black card for the two pens For their CB and there could have been two straight reds For a kick and a head high challenge also, which only resulted in yellows.

Very fine margins and Stacks got no break at all, though as I said i think the better team won and congrats to Slaughtneil
    Absolutely. Stacks were blessed to be in it at half time. Slaughtneil dominated the breaks and played a far cleverer game.

Great second half from Stacks, as they upped their game, but the scores wouldn't come.

Was the challenge to Greg Horan's head shown on TV? At the time I thought it should have been a straight Red. The kick not so much, I though the ball was there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Axel Lamp

Any sign of Keano2097? Is he too busy out celebrating the Stacks loss?

• Registered Users Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Was the challenge to Greg Horan's head shown on TV? At the time I thought it should have been a straight Red. The kick not so much, I though the ball was there.

The stack player had the ball in his hands for the kick no??? It was exactly like the Cillian O Connor red card in the semi for me.

They didn't show the replay of the head high challenge but commentators were expecting a red.

The stack player had the ball in his hands for the kick no??? It was exactly like the Cillian O Connor red card in the semi for me.

They didn't show the replay of the head high challenge but commentators were expecting a red.

Really was it that late? At the Match it seemed to be a much quicker reaction.

I wonder what the free count was.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Axel Lamp wrote: »
    Any sign of Keano2097? Is he too busy out celebrating the Stacks loss?

While I can't share his views on a club rivalry situation I have to admit I was not a fan of the rockies street parade / fancy dress stuff, while they did bring a bit of noise and colour to there games, Wigs funny hats and eyeliner are not for me,

Well done though to the 3 kerry clubs this weekend, Stephen stack did a great job getting the Stacks so far with maybe a slightly limited side Also to brosna and ardfert on there all irelands

Doubt many outside the county would understand the significance of ardferts success given the level of interest in hurling in the area, it was obviously a big thing for them to win kerry alone not to mention an all Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭wallywhittle

I taught the booing from some of the Stacks fans at the end of the match was absolutely rotten, take your beating and don't be whinging.

Aimed at the referee rather then Slaughtneil but I kind of agree.

I have no problem with the parade and the dressing up and the songs before the Match, and chanting to support your team during the Match, but the bang the drums and boo as the opposition are kicking frees is terrible form.

Slaughtneill weren't exactly respectful of the free kicks either especially the last one, and some of the bile spouted at Donaghy was,nothing short of a disgrace.

It seems to come out a good bit more with games like this where you'd get crowds of people that would come for the day out. Some auld woman was turning around and screeching at me and jumping up and down as it it was me that she was playing whenever there was a free or a foul. I had to explain to her that Stacks weren't my club, and that while her antics were irritating, they didn't rile me up in any way. She didn't bother much after that but refused a handshake at the final whistle.

In contrast there was a man sitting beside me who's brother was playing and he was very respectful, calm, fair on his analysis and looked overwhelmed with joy at full time.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭Always_Running

Considering the amount senior All Irelands won by Kerry it's hard to believe it's almost 20 years since a Kerry club last won senior All Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,440 ✭✭✭wonga77

It seems to come out a good bit more with games like this where you'd get crowds of people that would come for the day out. Some auld woman was turning around and screeching at me and jumping up and down as it it was me that she was playing whenever there was a free or a foul. I had to explain to her that Stacks weren't my club, and that while her antics were irritating, they didn't rile me up in any way. She didn't bother much after that but refused a handshake at the final whistle.

In contrast there was a man sitting beside me who's brother was playing and he was very respectful, calm, fair on his analysis and looked overwhelmed with joy at full time.

Don't you get that at all the big club games though? people who havent a fooking notion who turn up for the day and get completely carried away with themselves. They wont be seen again untill the final or the next big games, they certainly wont be there for an ole county league game in the rain yet consider themselves experts.
    Every club has them