Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The dole is too much!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭sunnyside

Its a struggle my ins is 30e on a monthly dd. The tax is paid up til Dec so dreading the bill for that. I buy tolieteries when their on offer. On the up side Im not eating crisps and chocolate anymore;) As for phone credit I put on 20 a month, get the free texts and not really ring anybody unless its job related. Its not easy like, and I know theres loads in the same boat as me and yes its tough but were not starving but some of the people on this thread really need to stop judging and bitching at people, and I`ll state again Im well paid up on my stamps so wont be judged be anyone on here and wouldnt consider ditching my car.

Thanks for noticing though sunnyside that its not a great life. Some people think people on the dole should be given a cardboard box and fuk off for theirself.

See I totally understand the living on a budget thing, my circumstances are different, I pay a mortgage on my own and live like a poor student a lot of the time as a result.

People saying the dole is too much should read your budget. I'm not sure why they are so anti-car. You are spending all your money on that while others spend it on drink and cigarettes but nobody moans about that much.

There is so much inequality in the sort of bills people have it's impossible to say how much people need.

I know someone on the dole living at home who spends most of it on clothes shopping because she doesn't have a single bill to her name, not even one. She doesn't even need phone credit, uses the parents landline.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Johnnnybravo

sunnyside wrote: »
    See I totally understand the living on a budget thing, my circumstances are different, I pay a mortgage on my own and live like a poor student a lot of the time as a result.

People saying the dole is too much should read your budget. I'm not sure why they are so anti-car. You are spending all your money on that while others spend it on drink and cigarettes but nobody moans about that much.

There is so much inequality in the sort of bills people have it's impossible to say how much people need.

I know someone on the dole living at home who spends most of it on clothes shopping because she doesn't have a single bill to her name, not even one. She doesn't even need phone credit, uses the parents landline.

I think most people have a perception that people on the dole have nixers and the rent paid for them. The reality is that if you tell the truth you do not get any help with the rent and the thought of nixers down here is laughable, theres absolutely nothing going. Yes there are people who have never done anything with their life bar claim dole but for people who had a life and why shouldnt they, going from a weeks wage to the dole and still meeting the bills is a crippler. My rent isnt going to go down until lease renewal so that 80 cant be changed, its not my house cant bring in a 3rd person and not in a position to loose my deposit by moving. My loan is for my night college as well as the car Ive no regrets with taking it out, I wanted an education and I got one( even though some people here also think thats free, Griffith have a different theory lads). So then 44 left for food etc.............Id be really drunk on that ;)

The dole for me is well Im hoping a very short term thing, I like nice clothes and well having a life in general and I miss having that so hopefully 2010 will be a better year:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭sunnyside

My loan is for my night college as well as the car Ive no regrets with taking it out, I wanted an education and I got one( even though some people here also think thats free, Griffith have a different theory lads). So then 44 left for food etc.............Id be really drunk on that ;)

This annoys me too, part of the reason people like you are living way below the poverty line is that you have paid/borrowed to train for a professional job. If you needed to do basic computers or other FAS type course the government would be paying for that but they won't pay for your part time short-term course even though it would cost them nothing more than a FAS place costs.

I also don't object to people on dole socialising a bit, not €100 on drink nights out but maybe a €30-50 night out once, maybe twice a month, the odd daytime trip to the cinema, a football match, a coffee in Starbucks, whatever you're into.... (not every day, before people attack me here). I just think that for mental health reasons everyone needs to spash out a bit every now and then. It is possible to socialise on a tight budget but Johnnybravo's budget is too tight for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭feb09

The dole is obviously too much.

It is not so long ago in this county that even people with jobs could not afford a car.

But now people who are not working think they should be able to afford a car on the dole.

Unbelievable

• Registered Users Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Fol20

thethedev wrote: »
    Agreed.

On a seperate note, I was on the the 204 a week a while back and found it very easy to live on. But only because I was living at home with no rent ESB gas or groceries.
    Reduce it for people who live at home and send the money saved on to the people with mortages etc

still hard as people can just say they have moved out,produce a few spoof receipts,say you live with a friend and you get full dole

feb09 wrote: »

It is not so long ago in this county that even people with jobs could not afford a car.

But now people who are not working think they should be able to afford a car on the dole.

Unbelievable

Get a grip of yourself! This is not the horse and cart days anymore. You think people on dole should have nothing?? If you took 2 minutes to read my posts youd read most of that loan was educational,next youl be telling me Im not entitled to that either! Me hole Im not!

Feb 09 Dont dare put me in the same category as some scrote that never even looked for a job. Not that i need justify myself to you anyway. working since I was 16 one bit of bad luck an youve the nerve to look down on me like Im something you stood in. Get over yerself! I hope yer let go yerself some day and post up here then an Ill be here to say to you what you did me that I should barely be allowed to breathe. Thank god people off here have nothing to do with the running of the country bar judge people from behind their keyboard. You make me sick Feb 09!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

feb09 wrote: »

Unbelievable

Let me guess, you live in a city and can't imagine a world where your nearest shop is 5km away and people don't have buses every 20 minutes on their main road.
    If you live in a rural area with one bus a week to collect the pensioners as the local post office was shut down, a person needs a car!

And that's another point, our nearest Post office is 10km away and that's where you have to collect your entitlements. The rural post offices were closed in the last few years

Well I suppose going on the dole and selling your car and cycling everywhere would get you superfit at least :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

sunnyside wrote: »
    This annoys me too, part of the reason people like you are living way below the poverty line is that you have paid/borrowed to train for a professional job. If you needed to do basic computers or other FAS type course the government would be paying for that but they won't pay for your part time short-term course even though it would cost them nothing more than a FAS place costs.

Fas provide part time night classes free to the unemployed. They cover a wide range of subjects. They also provide cheap training for the employed. I very much doubt the cost to Fas is the same as privately run night course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭nouveau_4.0

Rent 80e
    Loan 80e
    Groceries 15e
    Petrol 10e
    Tough situation agreed.

You could find a place in most towns around the country for less than 80e rent.

Also what car do you drive. 80e seems like a hefty loan. Could you see the car, downsize and pay off the loan.

This could free up half the dole to be spent on other things. (80e loan + 20e rent deduction)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Dan Chipowski

Tis more than some deserve, and not nearly enough for some others.

I think the Jobseekers benefit is fine at 204, given the fact it's mostly for good honest people who have worked in the past (i.e they qualify for jb) and are just victims of circumstance.

The jobseekers allowance needs to be controlled a bit tighter, physically and mentally able people who have never worked in this country should get fu*k all if you ask me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

mikemac wrote: »
    Well I suppose going on the dole and selling your car and cycling everywhere would get you superfit at least :cool:

Well it's not like ya have anything else to do..

Tough situation agreed.

You could find a place in most towns around the country for less than 80e rent.

Also what car do you drive. 80e seems like a hefty loan. Could you see the car, downsize and pay off the loan.

This could free up half the dole to be spent on other things. (80e loan + 20e rent deduction)

Its a 10 year old peugeot 206, the loans are mostly for my Griffith fees to get my ACCA exams.

Ah flip it something will turn up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

well theres no comparison, its not even the same currency, I believe it to be a stupid argument. No comparison between the costs of living here or the UK so Im amazed at people using it as part of an argument.

the dole here is 300% of what it is in the uk , the cost of living in ireland is about 130% and at most 150% of what it is in the uk

irish_bob wrote: »
    the dole here is 300% of what it is in the uk , the cost of living in ireland is about 130% and at most 150% of what it is in the uk

Im done fighting over this, I got some sh%tty news this morning so in the grand scheme of things I dont really care about this argument anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

Im done fighting over this, I got some sh%tty news this morning so in the grand scheme of things I dont really care about this argument anymore.

why bother quoting my post when you didnt adress a single part of it

irish_bob wrote: »
    why bother quoting my post when you didnt adress a single part of it

Im done fighting over it. Quote me whatever you want statistics, I dont care, youve no say over what money I get. Quote what ya want believe what ya want do what ya want I dont care. I get 200 quid so what, Im sick a justifying meself. I dont have to Im a decnt person with a great education and well paid up on me stamps. What anyone else does has no impact on my life so my 200e should have no impact on yours so who cares. Some say its too much others say its not honestly I no longer care. Im in the course of speaking with the enterptise boards about setting up my own company yay for me, begrudgers and stats wont be holding me back.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Fol20

. What anyone else does has no impact on my life so my 200e should have no impact on yours so who cares. Some say its too much others say its not honestly I no longer care. Im in the course of speaking with the enterptise boards about setting up my own company yay for me, begrudgers and stats wont be holding me back.

What other people do definitely affects you,,who do you think is paying for your dole?Who are the voters who affect what politicians can/cannot do to the dole.Everything is interlinked whether you like it or not.

Good for you for applying to the enterprise boards,they can be very helpful if you have the right ideas,and i wish you all the best in your plans

Fol20 wrote: »
    What other people do definitely affects you,,who do you think is paying for your dole?Who are the voters who affect what politicians can/cannot do to the dole.Everything is interlinked whether you like it or not.

Good for you for applying to the enterprise boards,they can be very helpful if you have the right ideas,and i wish you all the best in your plans

Cheers Fol. Also I paid for my own dole when I paid my taxes for 10 years and only claimed on them this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,030 ✭✭✭angel01

No I don't think it is too much, my OH is on the dole and we have barely enough to live on , every month it is a big struggle but we get by (just about), to be honest, if I didn't have the job I do have, we would have sunk by now :(

angel01 wrote: »
    No I don't think it is too much, my OH is on the dole and we have barely enough to live on , every month it is a big struggle but we get by (just about), to be honest, if I didn't have the job I do have, we would have sunk by now :(

God angel I know exactly what you mean by big struggle, even reading it I was like yep theres someone who knows what a pain month end is!! Hope your OH finds something soon:) I know not that easy but staying positive helps.

Thank you. It has been a long time now and there isn't much out there, just have to keep going. Every month is a struggle but we have a roof over our head and we keep going. I hope you find something soon :)

Cheers Angel! None of us are down and out yet so we may keep positive and hopefully meself and your lad may have a new job for xmas :)

All going well :)

• Registered Users Posts: 952 ✭✭✭Fiii

Fol20 wrote: »

I tried my best not to reply to this thread until now, but this comment really peed me right off.
    You think YOU pay for MY dole??? I think not dear. I paid my tax and PRSI in full for 10 straight years. I paid for my own dole thank you very much. If I didn't, I wouldn't be entitled to it. Try to educate yourself before you spout out a load of rubbish like that.

I, like MANY others, was put in a very awkward position this year and was let go from my job that I had worked very hard to get.
    I worked my tail off through 4 years of college, got my dream job and worked my tail off in that also.

Do you actually think that we all WANT to be on Job Seekers benefit? (Oh, and for the record, the clue is in the title...Job Seekers. You have to prove you are actively seeking work).
    I do not get my rent paid for, I do not get a medical card, I do not get free public transport as some uneducated people seem to think I do.
    I get 204 a week, and that is it.
    I am living away from home, paying rent, bills etc. Now I am fortunately one of the lucky ones who doesn't have a mortgage or loans or children to pay for, so 204 a week did me just fine, but it was not by any means easy!
    I feel terribly sorry for anyone with a family to support living on those benefits.

There is a HUGE difference between scroungers who have never worked a day in their lives and do not intend to, and those who lost their jobs this year due to the economy and would like nothing more than to be back working.

So climb down off your high horse, because I can safely say that nothing you have done effects my benefits that I worked bloody hard all these years to earn.

I, very luckily, got a phonecall today, telling me I have a job, after only 3months of being without one.
    To any of you out there still looking, I wish you all the luck in the world, and I hope you are managing on what you do get. I know it's not easy. Try to keep your heads up.

Fi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 lisa2002

The dole might be too high compared to some countries, but to put id down now would be an absolute disgrace to the people that have worked and paid taxes for years and now find themselves out of work and no options due to the recession. Yes people that have been scrounging for years when there was plenty of work do not deserve the 200 euro but to take it from the others would be very unfair

Fiii wrote: »
    I tried my best not to reply to this thread until now, but this comment really peed me right off.
    You think YOU pay for MY dole??? I think not dear. I paid my tax and PRSI in full for 10 straight years. I paid for my own dole thank you very much. If I didn't, I wouldn't be entitled to it. Try to educate yourself before you spout out a load of rubbish like that.

I, like MANY others, was put in a very awkward position this year and was let go from my job that I had worked very hard to get.
    I worked my tail off through 4 years of college, got my dream job and worked my tail off in that also.

Do you actually think that we all WANT to be on Job Seekers benefit? (Oh, and for the record, the clue is in the title...Job Seekers. You have to prove you are actively seeking work).
    I do not get my rent paid for, I do not get a medical card, I do not get free public transport as some uneducated people seem to think I do.
    I get 204 a week, and that is it.
    I am living away from home, paying rent, bills etc. Now I am fortunately one of the lucky ones who doesn't have a mortgage or loans or children to pay for, so 204 a week did me just fine, but it was not by any means easy!
    I feel terribly sorry for anyone with a family to support living on those benefits.

There is a HUGE difference between scroungers who have never worked a day in their lives and do not intend to, and those who lost their jobs this year due to the economy and would like nothing more than to be back working.

So climb down off your high horse, because I can safely say that nothing you have done effects my benefits that I worked bloody hard all these years to earn.

I, very luckily, got a phonecall today, telling me I have a job, after only 3months of being without one.
    To any of you out there still looking, I wish you all the luck in the world, and I hope you are managing on what you do get. I know it's not easy. Try to keep your heads up.

Fi

Well done on the job Fii! Delighted for you:)!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Too many dumbo's in this thread that don't know what PRSI is TBH :-/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

The kind of people that are all high and mighty about the dole are also the same ones who have dad standing behind them with a big wallet if they can't find a job. These are the same people who have been screwing the rest of us during the boom and now want us to suffer again to bail them out. You know who you are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

professore wrote: »
    The kind of people that are all high and mighty about the dole are also the same ones who have dad standing behind them with a big wallet if they can't find a job. These are the same people who have been screwing the rest of us during the boom and now want us to suffer again to bail them out. You know who you are.

No the aren't, my parents could easily bail me out so to speak and I have a degree but I'm not for cutting the dole. Nor do I accept money from my parents or am I on the dole because I don't believe I need it ATM.

I can survive off my savings for the moment though not for much longer.