Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda vs Integra

• Registered Users Posts: 28,118 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

flyton5 wrote: »
    no the chasing cars were experiencing something known to members of AGS as the 3pm slump....and decided that they'd chase the first car that drove into sight.....that integra was actually being driven by a pensioner who had in fact done nothing wrong.....

Much like they do to me when I pass them in my Subaru, tbh i've given up stopping for them, I just put the foot down these days and pray to god they dont cath my reg before I get round the next corner....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭Relevant

Much like they do to me when I pass them in my Subaru, tbh i've given up stopping for them, I just put the foot down these days and pray to god they dont cath my reg before I get round the next corner....

Another keyboard warrior :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭flyton5

ahhh yes.....i see your problem....god complex....that and u drive a Subaru....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

This thread has managed to attract an inordinate amount of dross to the forum, quel surprise :rolleyes:

flyton5 wrote: »
    ahhh yes.....i see your problem....god complex....that and u drive a Subaru....

Do they pick on fast cars of Japaneese origin.....why I don't know because it's pointless trying to catch one in a Mondeo.....

I pass a garda car, I could be doing 50mph and the garda car will swing round and follow me...it's stupid and makes me loose respect for people I normally respect..... I've no penatly points but I must get pulled at least once a weeks because of the car I drive...
    Wish I was a copper i'd be pulling mondeo and avensis drivers for sport..:)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,931 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Nothing out of the ordinary about this pursuit in my opinion. Ive been in many pursuits and have seen alot worse.

This happened in Dublin so most of the Garda drivers if not all of them (unlike the country) would have at least the standard car course done. The drivers would know the capabilities of their cars.

The corner is not blind, so as you enter it you have a clear view around it. The black mondeo driver probably took it the safest.

The public generally dont like pursuits and they deem the speed excessive and wouldnt themselves travel that often at that speed. However they have not experienced advanced courses or the speed you are trained to drive at.

As for it being a housing estate, there was no other traffic and all patrol cars had sirens on to alert pedestrians.

Garda motorbike = useless, unless chasing another bike. Nearly every criminal who takes a pursuit (in dublin anyway) would actually aim to ram the biker. They dont care at all in the heat of a purusit.

Helicopter is used alot but they have air traffic control issues and weather issues alot.

Do they pick on fast cars of Japaneese origin.....why I don't know because it's pointless trying to catch one in a Mondeo.....

2L mondeo being driven by a trained driver would keep up with any of them. Might outrun it on a motorway at top speed but a motorway is an excellent chance for other units to get in position up ahead.

As for the imported cars, aot of them are stolen, i presume as soon as they realise its your car and all your tax ins and nct are up to date you are sent on your way. They are only doing their job doing random traffic stops.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

TheNog wrote: »
    If memory serves me correctly over all the years and all the chases there has not been a fatality associated with a chase since two Gardai crashed and killed in their unmarked car in North Dublin back in the 1990's.

I remember that, stolen car, down around Griffith ave, towards the Malahide road, lost control on the entrance too the corner, then went into the tree, the tree actully has a large portion of bark missing from it. Always bless myself, when I go around that bend, in respect.

Chief--- wrote: »
    2L mondeo being driven by a trained driver would keep up with any of them. Might outrun it on a motorway at top speed but a motorway is an excellent chance for other units to get in position up ahead.

And a 2L Turbo Evolution/Impreza being driven by a trained driver?

Its my option too that, traffic should be giving proper top end cars for crap like this, and nip it in the bud straight away. Instead of having 5-6 Mondeo cars trying too keep up with it on cornering, flat speed, acceleration.

You could be the best jocky in the world, but if your gave a pony, your not going to win the race.

These cars arent being driven by trained drivers, they are being driven by tracksuit wearing teenagers who are tanked up on dutch gold and diazpam.

The likes of major criminals dont steal cars and risk getting caught with them. They get young criminals to do their dirty work.

These cars arent being driven by trained drivers, they are being driven by tracksuit wearing teenagers who are tanked up on dutch gold and diazpam.

And that's why I keep getting pulled for no good reason. Drugged up teenagers are more than likley to be driving a mondeo than an impreza, for the simple reason nobody under 30 can get insurance on one but it's no bother get insurance on a mondeo.....

msg11 wrote: »
    And a 2L Turbo Evolution/Impreza being driven by a trained driver?

lol:) Not much you can say to that...

• Registered Users Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

And that's why I keep getting pulled for no good reason. Drugged up teenagers are more than likley to be driving a mondeo than an impreza, for the simple reason nobody under 30 can get insurance on one but it's no bother get insurance on a mondeo.....

You might be right but consider this.

Say there's 20 drugged up teens driving at any one time and only 1 of them is driving an impreza and the rest are in Mondeos. If a Garda can pull only 1 car and has to choose between a Mondeo and an Impreza, which should he pull?

Answer: The Impreza because there's more than 20 times as many Mondeos as Imprezas. It's just a more efficient use of resources.

Im on about stolen cars being driven by these people, not like yourself who owns the car.

The likes of major criminals dont steal cars and risk getting caught with them. They get young criminals to do their dirty work.

Chief, I ment, if the Garda where given them in the Traffic Corps. Actully, Times have changed chief, they are now in BORA's PASSATS, MONDEOS, OPELS.

javaboy wrote: »

Say there's 20 drugged up teens driving at any one time and only 1 of them is driving an impreza and the rest are in Mondeos. If a Garda can pull only 1 car and has to choose between a Mondeo and an Impreza, which should he pull?

Get out of the garden, are you trying to tell me drugged up teens are more likely to be driving 300bhp supercars than mondeos, come on a bit of reality here for a second....

No I am in fact admitting the opposite may be true. That more scumbags are driving Mondeos.

What I am saying is that the chances of finding a scumbag if a Garda pulls over an integra or whatever are probably higher than when they pull over a Mondeo. It's a subtle difference.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Typical bloody guards, trying to stop a car. If he doesn't want to stop, what's the biggie?
    And he was in an Integra.
    Typical cops picking on a young male driver, that's racialist, that is.
    Just 'cos he was in a "supercar".

Yawn...........

javaboy wrote: »
    more scumbags are driving Mondeos.

you better hope a garda dosen't hear you say that:D

2265465354_16fe5788f9.jpg?v=0

• Registered Users Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

msg11 wrote: »
    Chief, I ment, if the Garda where given them in the Traffic Corps. Actully, Times have changed chief, they are now in BORA's PASSATS, MONDEOS, OPELS.

Traffic Corps are most of the time not involved in chases, unless on motorways maybe. Reason being; the majority of Garda units are not Traffic Corps. So what if you tool up the Traffic Corps with Impreza's etc, odds are it will still be units driving Mondeo's, Avensis' etc involved in the chase.

As for that poster who said he puts the boot down when Gardai try to pull him. You have lost all credibility in this debate. Just be careful you don't kill someone, or yourself for that matter, next time you don't want to be 'discriminated' against, and hopefully the Gardai trying to pursue wont come to any harm either.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

Well people it would appear to me that ye are shocked by the level of driving from the patrol cars and I suppose if ye had never seen it before then I wouldn't really blame ye.

Thing is this kind of high speed chase is common throughout the country from Dublin to Meath to Offaly to Cork so there is really no need to be shocked at all. Yes it is dangerous for us and for the public but the reality is in this video if an innocent driver or pediastrian was crossing the road in front of the patrol cars, then the Garda driver would probably have put his car into a wall or a tree or whatever to prevent the innocent person being injured. When we say do a dangerous job we mean it and this is just a small visual aid to show ye.

End of the day that driver had to be stopped but not stopped at any cost. Risks were taken but they were calculated risks which worked out well. If memory serves me correctly over all the years and all the chases there has not been a fatality associated with a chase since two Gardai crashed and killed in their unmarked car in North Dublin back in the 1990's.

This is one of the most intelligent posts on this topic!

I have a major problem with those on here who see something like this and immediately jump on the "criticise the Gardai" bandwagon :confused:

The Gardai are trained to drive at these kinds of speeds
    I would be fairly confident that they wouldn't have chased this guy/gal around the estate in such large numbers if it wasn't for something SERIOUS
    As The Nog Says if a pedestrian had walked out in front of one of the squads the Gardai would swerve to avoid and crash rather than run over an innocent civilian which is probably more than can be said for the Integra driver!

Also, the fact that an arrest was made kinda shows that the Gardai knew what they were doing doesn't it?? :confused:

Last but not least, a tiny little observation which no one here has made so far, it was the driver of the Integra who chose to drive through a residential estate to escape the Gardai it wasn't like the Gardai said to themselves "ah lads i'm bored... lets go for a high speed chase through a housing estate for a laugh"

The ones who complain loudest would be the first ones to whinge and moan if their car got stolen and the Gardai didn't do everything possible to recover the vehicle

And for the record i'm a civilian not a Garda!

i'm not shocked at all by the Garda driving, I'm from the same place the Garda learn to drive in the first place, A speeding Mondeo is nothing new to me......i'm a bit annoyed at the Integra driver for giving us Jap drivers a bad reputation....I hope they locked away the little toe rag....

dm goes off to get a bucket of paint.....:)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HpHN9diNE64

The greatest garda, if not world chase of all time, Santry circa 1998.
    Good down to earth policing:p, and the criminal gets his comeupence in the end, go on the guards...

Thats fookin SAS stuff lads, what a hero...:confused:

donvito99 wrote: »

Good down to earth policing:p, and the criminal gets his comeupence in the end, go on the guards...

Is that Santry? I don't know the area well enough to say. The date on the video says 02 but the caption says 98. Something a bit fishy about the whole thing.

Didnt see that, sorry. Video is cool though. Its the only garda chase footage from the actual vehicle that I know of, so it is rare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭BeardyGit

nevf wrote: »
    In Order of Malta/Mountain Rescue - it's operational command unit... <snip>...

Not in MR it's not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,067 ✭✭✭tallaghtoutlaws

Me dont thinks thats Ireland. The reg plate on the truck looks nothing like an Irish EU reg plates we use nor does it look british.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭BeardyGit

.....If memory serves me correctly over all the years and all the chases there has not been a fatality associated with a chase since two Gardai crashed and killed in their unmarked car in North Dublin back in the 1990's.

2002, Garda Tighe and Padden in a collision with a stolen vehicle on the Stillorgan dual carriageway.

Rest in peace.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭Keith186

Didnt see that, sorry. Video is cool though. Its the only garda chase footage from the actual vehicle that I know of, so it is rare.

Yeah that's Santry alright!

Garda driving in the first video post was grand, possibly could have thrown a power slide in for effect and extra points. The sirens were on so people know they're coming.

There's a limit to how safe they can drive if they want to actually catch anybody. I'd hope they are all trained if they're going to be in car chases, I have seen some crap Garda drivers before (and some very good ones to be fair).

One time I seen 4 Garda bikes taking a right from a red light. They all took off at the same time (2 rows of 2) and the one on the front left dropped the bike mid turn. They all stopped and it turned out it was a woman who dropped it and the other guy who was probably in charge went mad at her calling her a stupid this and that! It was fairly funny to see!

Me dont thinks thats Ireland. The reg plate on the truck looks nothing like an Irish EU reg plates we use nor does it look british.

The pickups reg could be an old one, road markings are similar, they drive on the left, that narrows it down to Ireland and Great Britain, and at that time I would have thought that Britain had marked ARVs, open to correction from Metman/Jon Anderton.