Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why would you vote Fianna Fail?

• 23-11-2008 3:41am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭

Right, seen as the latest poll shows that Fianna Fail have 30% of the electorate, there must be a fair few supporters on here.

Why do you support this corrupt, failure of a party?

Is it because your parents supported it and you feel you must?

Is it because you support the politics which have led us to where we are today?

Why is it?

My problem is that it is so sad that a party that has failed a country so much can still garner so much support, that at this stage in political life ONE party could actually turn to anything and still get support.

I'm worried and if your an Irish citizen so should you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

My problem is that it is so sad that a party that has failed a country so much can still garner so much support, that at this stage in political life ONE party could actually turn to anything and still get support.
    Because it's the only party that seems to have a plan. One that is failing, but a plan netherless. FG moans about FF all the time, how bad it is, how bad some plan failed after it has failed. How they would have done it right. They don't seem to have a plan, though, other than saying that they'll do a better job than FF.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

move to politics i reckon....after hours is for a bit of a laugh...not this SH1T

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭MadPatrick

That always confused me too. Charles Haughy(sp) bought an island and bought his son a helicopter while Ireland was in a crippling economic crisis in the 80s and that party stills holds power to this day.

Could someone please explain?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Aerb

I want to take an active part in the destructive quickening of this country as much as possible!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Mezcita

the_syco wrote: »
    Because it's the only party that seems to have a plan. One that is failing, but a plan netherless. FG moans about FF all the time, how bad it is, how bad some plan failed after it has failed. How they would have done it right. They don't seem to have a plan, though, other than saying that they'll do a better job than FF.

Spot on. If there was an election in the morning, FF would get in again.

Think that Ireland is crying out a party led by someone with real charisma. Rather that the usual suspects all trying to slag off each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Given the chance, I'd definitely vote for Fail!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

MadPatrick wrote: »
    That always confused me too. Charles Haughy(sp) bought an island and bought his son a helicopter while Ireland was in a crippling economic crisis in the 80s and that party stills holds power to this day.

Um, because Charlie Haughey is no longer involved in FF? Or, indeed, in politics in general (y'know, him being dead and all)
    I don't think Cowen should have to pay for Haughey's actions.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,858 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Better that that Indakinny being Taoiseach

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

MadPatrick wrote: »

At least he had the respect for the people of the country not to try and hide everything.

TBH the whole buying the island thing is one of the only things I can say I liked about Haughey, he was obviously up for a laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭Raphael

I voted Fianna Fáil based on the candidate, rather than the party. It just happened that the candiate I felt would actually represent me was Fianna Fáil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭jane86

I wouldn't vote for them, pile of cowboys! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭ec18

no decent alternative?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

ec18 wrote: »
    no decent alternative?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Because Bertie was lovely

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

I'd be more worried that you even expected a semi-informed, half literate response in AH :D

Throw in a poll to amuses the monkeys, some hookers (gigolo's if available) and some coke and we could start a revolution!

Or we could just resurect Charlie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

ec18 wrote: »
    no decent alternative?

+2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

themadchef wrote: »
    Throw in a poll to amuses the monkeys, some hookers (gigolo's if available) and some coke and we could start a revolution!

Are you looking for a sexy time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Is this now the AH/FF forum? What happened to Polotics.

This is like the opening line of all the socer threads that pop up here "I'm not allowed post in soccer so............" or "I feel this'll get a better/more damning response here................."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,154 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Politicians are only figure heads. The departments are always there and the ideas and the work are done by the respective departments so its matters little who is running them because they will listen to the aids/professionals in those respective departments.

FG have given me little to believe they would do a better job, however, they are feeding on my hatred for the FF party and the Greens.

I would vote for a party with a carismatic leader. We need an Obama, Clinton, Kennedy carachter to make us all feed good about ourselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Stekelly wrote: »
    This is like the opening line of all the socer threads that pop up here "I'm not allowed post in soccer so............"

They've realy died off, haven't seen one in ages and there used to be loads.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Um, because Charlie Haughey is no longer involved in FF? Or, indeed, in politics in general (y'know, him being dead and all)
    I don't think Cowen should have to pay for Haughey's actions.
    we don't know yet if cowen is as corrupt as all the FF leaders since Haughey

BUT you can tell a lot about some one by the company they keep

What I don't understand is the voters. FF will offer them anything to keep in power but the party faithful are ok with corruption, brown envelopes, subsidising the very rich at the expense of the poor, ignoring public transport for the masses and generally proving that "a rising tide lifts all boats" need not apply to the celtic tiger,

over the lat generation we've seen the worst economic policies since Maggie squandered £650 Bn of north sea oil revenue in attempt to increase the value of her hubbies investments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Because all the people in this thread seem to think that politics is about personality and people, rather than policies and ideology.
    /emigrates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Right, seen as the latest poll shows that Fianna Fail have 30% of the electorate, there must be a fair few supporters on here.

Why do you support this corrupt, failure of a party?

Is it because your parents supported it and you feel you must?

Is it because you support the politics which have led us to where we are today?

Why is it?

I'm worried and if your an Irish citizen so should you.
    You could always try to get elected yourself and sort things out from the inside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

People saying that FG haven't shown that they'd be any better:

Logic would suggest they couldn't do it any worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Most fianna fail voters i know do so because mammy and daddy told them to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,951 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Ah yes another thread which seeems to think its Fianna Fails's fault that everything is going wrong financial... you gotta love you people. the reason for the state of the economy in ireland is the people's greed and nothing else.

People is this counrty thought that money grew on trees and the spending it would make no difference, now that we are in a recession, people have no savings, are up to their necks in debt and are trying to blame someone so they choose the government.

What would any other government do different. The government need to raise money/cut spending - no matter what section they choose, there is going to be uproar - so come on you anti Fianna Fail supporters - tell me what areas that spending cuts should be made in? and i'll bet you anything whatever the first person says - someone will disagree with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭KhanTheMan

Why would you vote Fianna Fail?

hmmm.

Good question. I guess if you felt you need to pay more tax, you might vote for them :)

Time for the opposition here to **** or get off the pot. Get organized and listen to the country.

Ace2007 wrote: »
    What would any other government do different. The government need to raise money/cut spending - no matter what section they choose, there is going to be uproar - so come on you anti Fianna Fail supporters - tell me what areas that spending cuts should be made in? and i'll bet you anything whatever the first person says - someone will disagree with.

Cut the number of TD's, Senators.
    Cull the excess of non productive pen pushers.
    Stop wasting money on e-voting, we're still paying massive storage costs for it.
    Stop paying bonus to top earners in the HSE when clearly their management is not working.
    Get rid of most of the Quangos, most of them were created by FF.
    Close the loopholes that help very rich people avoid tax.
    Appoint people who can manage projects properly, eg, Dublin Port Tunnel,who the hell was accountable for the massive over-run on the cost? I expect those idiots got a pay bonus as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

People seem to vote for these people because it's traditional, like the ones heading off to church on a Sunday. They also assume, for some odd reason, that the descendant some guy with a gun in 1922 must be a great politician because his ancestor was in the right place at the right time.

I remember some local electioneering wannabe knocking on my door, then telling me to vote for him because his father was a councillor.

"So fucking what!" was my reply.

Would our current Finance Minister have been elected, were he not a member of some political dynasty? (he's supposedly the 2nd worst finance minister in Europe, only being ahead of the Portuguese guy.)

How many more of these dynasties are there, and are any of the present contenders any good? I'm not just referring to FF, the same situation exists within the other parties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

I think that if Richard Bruton was leader of Fine Gael they would have more chance of being seen as a viable alternative.

Enda Kenny is a joke tbh.

galwayrush wrote: »
    Cut the number of TD's, Senators.
    Cull the excess of non productive pen pushers.
    Stop wasting money on e-voting, we're still paying massive storage costs for it.
    Stop paying bonus to top earners in the HSE when clearly their management is not working.
    Get rid of most of the Quangos, most of them were created by FF.
    Close the loopholes that help very rich people avoid tax.
    Appoint people who can manage projects properly, eg, Dublin Port Tunnel,who the hell was accountable for the massive over-run on the cost? I expect those idiots got a pay bonus as well.

Well lets give this a quick run down, due to Workers Unions in this country - Cutting the numbers of people will mean paying them huge sums of money - money which is not there at the moment so thats not really an option

e-voting may have been a disaster - but whats the solution - are you sayin to just dump them somewhere - think of the backlash then.

Why don't we just scrap the national pay packages which have this country on its knees - O wait didn't FG purpose this and it was shot down - of course it would be shot down - the greedy public don't want to lose money. It probably one of the few FG purposals that i would support.

I also love the way all the above doesn't really affect the general public, as each of the above sections have their own budgets which hardly affect the average joe.

bigkev49 wrote: »
    I think that if Richard Bruton was leader of Fine Gael they would have more chance of being seen as a viable alternative.

Enda Kenny is a joke tbh.

Can't figure out the Enda hating-he's liked by his party, he's a nice guy,he took over from an actual joke (noonan) and helped the party win 20 extra seats in the last election from a position where everyone thought the party was about to die. But people can't see past their five second analysis to something more solid.
    Its nearly always people from Dublin who want to bash Kenny in my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭DmanDmythDledge

I would vote Fianna Fail if I was an idiot.

Can't figure out the Enda hating-he's liked by his party, he's a nice guy,he took over from an actual joke (noonan) and helped the party win 20 extra seats in the last election from a position where everyone thought the party was about to die. But people can't see past their five second analysis to something more solid.

lol are you serious about "everyone thought the party was about to die" - cause i remember about a week before the election everyone said that FF wasn't going to get re-elected - now if that was the case who other than FG was going to get in.

Cop on people from dublin want to bash kenny - what planet are you people living on - do you agree with his "scrap the wage package agreement" - come on do you?

betafrog wrote: »

The only ones with any real notion of whats going on are FF, if they could cull half the party and bring in fresh blood it would be a very strong party.

Bloody hell, look how long it took them to realise the economy was going down the drain? :eek:They were in total denial despite the warnings for at least 18 months.

lol are you serious about "everyone thought the party was about to die" - cause i remember about a week before the election everyone said that FF wasn't going to get re-elected - now if that was the case who other than FG was going to get in.

Cop on people from dublin want to bash kenny - what planet are you people living on - do you agree with his "scrap the wage package agreement" - come on do you?

I'm saying that after the failed election with noonan at the helm people thought the party would die. So yeah I am serious. Why should I have to agree with a plan from Kenny to realise the senseless bashing that's going on here? I'm not a FG supporter and even if I was I don't have to defend their policies.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Enda Kenny comes across as being completely devoid of personality or charisma. He's so dull that people switch off after five seconds rather than listen to him any longer, so even if he's full of great ideas nobody ever gets to hear them. Richard Bruton, on the other hand, is articulate and has a personality, so people give him more of a chance. Kenny's dullness is genuinely harming his party's chance of winning the next election.

As for why I'd vote FF, for the brown envelopes, of course. Unfortunately they've gotten a bit smaller of late. Damn recession!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 KingSitric

With the current shower of cowboys running (ruining) Fianna Fail how could anyone in their right mind vote for them? They have sullied the names of the great politicians of the past who fought for Irish freedom. And as the party is steeped in corruption how can we trust them with our country, especially during this crisis?

Zaph wrote: »
    Enda Kenny comes across as being completely devoid of personality or charisma. He's so dull that people switch off after five seconds rather than listen to him any longer, so even if he's full of great ideas nobody ever gets to hear them. Richard Bruton, on the other hand, is articulate and has a personality, so people give him more of a chance. Kenny's dullness is genuinely harming his party's chance of winning the next election.

This just doesn't tally with the twenty seats they won in the last election! Show me where voters said they didn't pick FG cause he is boring and you might have an argument.
    I think Bruton is interesting too, but I haven't heard of any dissent in the party, or plans for a coup to install him as leader-everyone is happy with their roles at the minute and they should be. I've seen Kenny speak and while he's no great orator, he's no slouch either. Again people are just seeing what they want to see, he's well capable of ripping into the government when he feels like it.

Bloody hell, look how long it took them to realise the economy was going down the drain? :eek:They were in total denial despite the warnings for at least 18 months.

If it was sooo obvious that the economy was going down the drain for the last 18 months - why are soooooo many people complaining, there was a guy on tv there about 2 weeks ago - which really sums it all up.

He lost his job and was being interviewed, he stated "i've been working for this company for over 10 years,i've got a wife and kids, my main aim is to get on the dole quickly to put food on the table for them" like wtf planet was he living on - 10 years working with a company - anyone who saves money would be able to support themselves for period of time - ever hear of the saying, put money aside for a rainy day.

Well guess what its just drizzling atm, 6/7 months down the line its going to be bucketing down and guess what all you guys are going to be on there again complaining about it being the governemnets fault.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

This just doesn't tally with the twenty seats they won in the last election!

Most of those seats were picked up at the expense of the PDs and independents, not FF, so that suggests that people had less of an issue with FF than was thought at the last election. If there was an election now however, FF would struggle badly and probably lose seats to FG.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

People get what they voted for.
    Most TDs are former teachers, accountants, social workers - not exactly the most progressive thinking and smartest of people.
    No wonder this country ends up in a mess.

Nolanger wrote: »
    Most TDs are former teachers, accountants, social workers - not exactly the most progressive thinking and smartest of people.

and what type of people should be running the country...
    accountants - not smart - hmm i'd love to hear what you job is

Nolanger wrote: »

Our Education Minister is a Pig Farmer, who once tried to have the movie Babe banned because he thought it might affect the pork industry here.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭Phototoxin

historically its nearly always been FF since the beginning. People have these misconceptions 'oh the fine gale are blueshirt nazis' 'oh 40 years ago labor did this wrong' etc. Thing is if there was a decent 2 non fianna fail part coalition it might actually work.

Wont be voting ff or the green party next year (sell outs!). Wont be voting any party. Just for the right PERSON. If there were no parties in government it might actually work better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Political positions should be filled in the same way that football teams are put together. Professional politicians should be valued on performance and their services retained by those countries willing to pay the going rate. Unfortunately, poorer countries will end up with complete **** running their systems. Oh......................wait a minute................scrap that, I'll think of something else. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Zaph wrote: »
    Enda Kenny comes across as being completely devoid of personality or charisma.......

I don't give a flying f-you-know-what HOW devoid of personality he is, if he can do a better job than the extrovert entertaining clowns we have now, I'd vote for him,

As for the 'brown envolopes' - this makes sense. The only way ANYONE could logically vote FF right now is if they were on the take.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

What exactly are you unhappy about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

What exactly are you unhappy about?

Who, me? Gob****es who moan about FF and then votre them in again. I'd have thought it was obvious...?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

Our Education Minister is a Pig Farmer, who once tried to have the movie Babe banned because he thought it might affect the pork industry here.:D

batt o keefe is the one goverment minister who is doing a half decent job at the moment

as for why people vote FF , FF voters are by nature an incurious and obediant bunch , seriously though , most people in ireland voted based on who thier family tree votes for , which is why breaking the country has never done FF much harm in the past and will probably not kill them in the future