Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do you perceive the overall work of the Gardai

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

CRS FTW. Them boyos don't take prisoners, at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

CRS don't f*ck about.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭Traumadoc

I find the Garda generally to be very professional, but I believe the Mayday riot a few year ago, and the carryon in Donegal has eroded a lot of peoples confidence in the Gardai.
    The setting up of the the ombudsman was driven by public disquiet about the rare occasions where dicipline seemed to be lacking.
    In my dealings with the ombudsman I feel that things may have gone too far the otherway though.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

We all know what manpower is being put into speeders. The teams of Gardai who go to music festivals to try to infiltrate student types smoking cannabis.
    They are there mainly for public order reasons, just like at matches etc. Tackling drug dealers who attend the festivals is a priority for Gardai, no?

I can't think of the last time I have seen community Gardai on foot. The only place I've seen them on foot is Dublin city centre. Even then, Grafton Street seems to be patrolled mainly by a Mondeo which I'm sure the occupants are more concerned in getting the pedestrians to move over.
    I live close to an area of Limerick that is in the papers regurarly because of the actions of a few scumbags. I can tell you Community Gardai make a big difference down here. They are changing attitudes. I also see countless squad cars, as well as RSU patrols, all over the city on a regular basis. However, I also see several squad cars outside the courthouse because so many Gardai are tied up in court. I'd imagine Dublin is no different.

No idea what the helicopter does. Horses? Only ever seen them on Henry Street. And what would happen if someone snatched a bag and ran into the Ilac? Break into a canter through the mall?
    Besides following known criminal gang members regurarly, assisting in chase's, following suspects, providing air support in public order incidents and traffic management. . ya they do nothing.:rolleyes:
    The force is failing the majority of law abiding people and letting the criminals get away with it.
    Proof of this?
    As I've said, the normally law-abiding will come quietly, be more compliant, show remorse, plead guilty and give a crime-solved statistic.
    You think Gardai would rather chase down some 17 y/o from D4 rather than chase down subversive's and criminals?? Get real.

Pathetic.
    Pathetic? Nice to see you can engage in debate without insulting an entire organisation and it's personnel.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Nope, they don't but what about the examples I have given about junkies selling heroin with immunity along the quays?

What about people begging in the streets?

What about stone-throwers and people setting bonfires?

I have experience of a Garda being so disinterested in dealing with a crime that he invented a murder. I agreed with him that my broken-into car was unimportant and let him get on his way. Lo and behold, no murders in the news.

We all know what manpower is being put into speeders. The teams of Gardai who go to music festivals to try to infiltrate student types smoking cannabis.

I can't think of the last time I have seen community Gardai on foot. The only place I've seen them on foot is Dublin city centre. Even then, Grafton Street seems to be patrolled mainly by a Mondeo which I'm sure the occupants are more concerned in getting the pedestrians to move over.

No idea what the helicopter does. Horses? Only ever seen them on Henry Street. And what would happen if someone snatched a bag and ran into the Ilac? Break into a canter through the mall?

The force is failing the majority of law abiding people and letting the criminals get away with it.

As I've said, the normally law-abiding will come quietly, be more compliant, show remorse, plead guilty and give a crime-solved statistic.

Pathetic.

A, As I said already, People in hoodies passing items to eachother isnt always drug dealing. The media and passerby say it is but they are either guessing or just going by general perception. Besides, you cant know its heroin for a fact. Most drug dealing on the quays are not 'illegal drugs' as per the Misuse of drugs Act 77/84. But prescription drugs used as uppers and downers for which they cannot be arrested. Of course it happens but lets be honest, out of every 24 hours how much of it are you actually watching? Yo dont know that these people arent being arrested or that some of the buyers arent drug unit Gardai.

B, Thats not a crime so what is it you expect? I dont believe nor would I impliment, facist rounding up of people simple because we dont like how they look.

C, I dont know where this is coming from, what stone throwers? Bonfires, I presume you mean Holloween. Surely fires are for firemen? And come on, your not that old are you? Only a minor amount go bad most are supervised, peaceful, controled and enjoyed by members of the community.

D, Again, how much time do you spend watching? Unless your driving around your estate all day and night you cant say how many there are or arent however I would concede that some areas dont have sufficient community Gardai and some Gardai go into areas when they dont have any real interest in it but see it as a step towards their untilimate goal. Please also remember that community Gardai spend a lot of time at community meetings, in peoples houses, in schools and other community events and amenities.Personally I think gardai going into specialist units should be required to serve a minimum in that area therefore only those genuinely interested would apply for them.

E, Theres 2 Mondeos in Pearse Street compared to about 20 beats. Its rare both cars would be out at the same time.

F, I wont dignify your comment about the helicopter because its a simple ignorant statement. As for horses, they are used for crowd control primarily but seeing as they arent used daily for crowds they go walking, sure just above your complaining that all you see are cars, now your complaining about horses. You want all Gardai on foot with no other options?

G, Letting the criminals get away with what? You think we simple ignore crime? Look at the stats, theres thousands upon thousands of arrests every year. Theres people being convicted of serious crimes every day. The problem here is your ignoring pesky things like evidence and facts, due process and legality believing that fair treatment and legal rights should only apply to you but I know in my heart that if we stepped over the law to get a major criminal you would cry foul.

H, Actually no. Its the middle class or upper class that will kick up and fight the case the most. Serious offenders know fighting will only get them in more trouble and accept their faith. Upper class believe Gardai cant or shouldnt arrest them and fight to clear their supposed good name. In fact it was a rich kid using daddy's money that you can thank for begging now being perfectly legal.

Your comments appear to be pure prejudiced guess work and awash with arrogance. You make comments about subjects you dont know about, make accusations you cant backup and state opinion as fact when you cant possible do so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

donvito99 wrote: »
    As far as I am aware there is a public order unit, but it is more along the
    lines of this...66068.jpg.

This is not a proper public order unit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/39/104208275_697af46b1b.jpg?v=0

This is public order unit.

(sorry pic wont post for me)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

you do a thankless job with little or no job satisfaction

This is a comment I find bandied about a bit.

I find my job gives me great satisfaction. TBH if you good spent a day or two in the job you will see we are not all miserable, nor do get abused every minute of our working day. Granted as part of the ES we see the most horrendous things that most people would not but we also see the most brilliant things.
    One example of this 2 of my colleagues were at a RTA with a pregnant woman and 2 children in the car. The kids were seriously injured and taken to hospital when the woman went into labour at the scene. There was no other ambulance available so the lads bundled her into the patrol car and tore to the hospital just in time for her to give birth to a healthy baby. The woman rang the station the week after when I was working. She wanted to say thanks for potentially saving her and her baby's life. She started to cry on the phone and I nearly started to cry listening to her story (imagine a 6ft 1, 16 stone man in a Garda uniform blubbering in the station;)). It was a great feeling for everyone in the station to hear the story.
    Or the time when a child who ran away from home and came into the station at 1am, cold, hungry and soaked. I thought I was seeing things. Rang his parents 60 miles away and to hear the joy in their voices that he was safe. By the time they arrived to pick him up he was seating with me in the public office, both of us watching a film and he helping me eat my Chinese.

Also in this job we have some great craic, see some of the most amazing and mad things that ye wouldn't believe. I was always told that you will make friends for life. I know even though I'm in the job a year that I have some great friends that will be life.

I have had many jobs before joining from general labourer to sales rep to painter and decorator to supervisor working the office life but this is by far the best and most satisfying job I have ever had. Tbh I could spent the day writing about good experiences but I need to go to bed after a night shift and I'm back in at 2pm!!!!!
    tallaght01 wrote: »
    I don't know all the details. But most people I know would (I presume) think that if 30 hoods rioted in front of 50 gardai, then most of them should have been caught. Not just 1/3.
    But 50 gardai? Catching just 10 rioters?

Now, in fairness, I know nothing about policing. I'm just commenting on the way that comes across.

In fairness if all 30 were rioting then all 30 would have been arrested but the members there decided that 10 people were the ones who needed to be lifted. No one here can give us a full picture of what happened there that night.
    Nope, they don't but what about the examples I have given about junkies selling heroin with immunity along the quays?

What about people begging in the streets?

What about stone-throwers and people setting bonfires?

I have experience of a Garda being so disinterested in dealing with a crime that he invented a murder. I agreed with him that my broken-into car was unimportant and let him get on his way. Lo and behold, no murders in the news.

Pathetic.

Unless you are unemployed and walk the streets of Dublin all day then I can't see how you can say there is never Gardai on foot. Even if you walk/drive to and from work you would maybe spend 1 hour each way and possibly pop out of your house once or twice in the evening. You also must remember that especially in the country we have big districts to cover so although one person may not see a guard for a week or two or if ever, our car is on the road about 20 hours a day. We actually travel nearly 1000 kms a day in the car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭petergfiffin

Have to say I don't really envy the Guards in a lot of cases I mean it must be pretty depressing to risk getting stabbed or worse (stabbed with a needle) only to finally see the scumbag get off on some technicality or even if they do get convicted it'll probably be suspended or so short it's meaningless.
    The problem I see in this country is that we (the public) are all talk when it comes getting tough on crime but when it actually comes down to it we don't have the balls to carry it through. As I've said before I really admire the French CRS and would love nothing more than to see some of the guys here on the receiving end of them but if it happened Joe Duffy would be totally flooded with calls from people saying their poor little Johnny was just standing there and "never did something or nothing". I remember a while back an armed robber was shot by the Guards while carrying out a robbery and the questions in the media were "why wasn't he shot in the arm?":eek:.....seriously!!??? So all in all we seem to be talking out of both sides of our mouth when it comes to the Guards.

That having been said...the Guards don't exactly help their case. My own personal experience of the Guards has been (largely), that they seem arrogant, disinterested an unprofessional. You can have a go at me for saying it all you like but this has been my personal experience. If the Guards are seeing that people don't trust/respect them then surely it's time the Guards started looking inwards and asking some hard questions.

Have to say I don't really envy the Guards in a lot of cases I mean it must be pretty depressing to risk getting stabbed or worse (stabbed with a needle) only to finally see the scumbag get off on some technicality or even if they do get convicted it'll probably be suspended or so short it's meaningless.

Not true in my case. I don't worry about something that may or may not happen. If a fella pulled a knife or syringe on me then I would do everything I could to leave the fella on the ground with little or no chance of getting up without help.
    That having been said...the Guards don't exactly help their case. My own personal experience of the Guards has been (largely), that they seem arrogant, disinterested an unprofessional. You can have a go at me for saying it all you like but this has been my personal experience. If the Guards are seeing that people don't trust/respect them then surely it's time the Guards started looking inwards and asking some hard questions.

In the college we were told the number one complaint against Gardai is discourtesy and I reckon I speak for everyone, members or not, it doesn't help us at all. So if anyone is on the receiving end of an unprofessional Garda then report, report, report. We have shoulders numbers and now an independent body who can investigate it. Also within the job there is a big drive to clamp out this discourtesy which is not before its time.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,888 ✭✭✭Terrontress

My comment about the helicopter was that I have no idea what they do. I think it is supposed to be that way. I certainly can't ascertain who owns a helicopter when it flies over and I don't spend much time looking.

What I was questioning the efficiency of in terms of fighting crime.

I concede that I am not always in a position to see Gardai out "on the beat" but in Donabate, where I live, there are never Gardai out and about. You see the odd patrol car from time to time but they never get out of the cars.

The town is overrun with kids misbehaving, throwing fireworks, underage drinking. There are people begging out the back of SuperValu and regular attacks on the train station.

I will repeat what I have said before:

I have been the victim of enough crime and seen enough lawlessness on the streets to have no faith in the Gardai to protect me.

I am aware of many people, both known to me and through the media, that have been prosecuted for offences that would appear trivial given what is going on around us. This is enough to make me feel that were I to transgress in a minor way that I would not be treated fairly by the Gardai if detected. And let's be fair, most people break minor laws here and there. I don't set out to break the law although have done on occasions in the past such as trying cannabis in my student days or urinating up an alleyway when caught short. I expect that if this were to be detected I would have the book thrown at me rather than be cautioned.

People may come on here and point to God knows what and I may not have the statistics or experiences to counter them but if the question is asked if I trust the Gardai in the performance of their duties, I don't. And having spoken to other people, I think there are many who feel the same.

Finally, this is not a slight on individual members, many of whom do the best job they can as per their orders and given objectives, but on the management of the entire force.

I have been the victim of enough crime and seen enough lawlessness on the streets to have no faith in the Gardai to protect me.

Have you ever a reported or offered yourself as a witness to a crime and if so how did you get on? How were you treated - good or bad and in what way?

When I had just moved to Dublin, to Ireland for the first time, I was living in Charlotte's Quay and borrowed my mother's car to move my stuff down. Someone broke into the car by bending the door frame. It set the alarm off. They opened the bonnet and disconnected the battery to stop the alarm. They wiped their hands on the car to get the oil off.

I phoned the Gardai in Ringsend and was told they'd make a note of it. I said that the fingerprints would be all over the outside of the car. They weren't interested. They wouldn't come out. The UK insurer wouldn't pay out without a crime number and report, which I couldn't get. Had to pay for the repair myself.

Another time, still at Charlotte's Quay I heard a commotion out the window and saw a ten year oldish child extremely distressed trying to get away from an older, scruffy looking man in an anorak. It would have taken me five minutes to get to them given my location so I shouted a warning to the man, telling him I would phone the Gardai. Told them that I saw a situation where a child appeared to be in danger. I then headed round to see what was going on. It transpired that the man in question owned a boat and had caught the child inside vandalising it and he was restraining him untill the Gardai I said I would call arrived. In spite of my reporting what I had erroneously thought as an extremely serious incident, it took over 40 minutes for the Gardai to arrive.

Another time I had my car broken into in Portobello. A window had been broken to gain access. On the other side of the road another person had had their car broken into and had a guard with him. The other victim's plea to the guard was that this had happened several times and he wanted some action taken. The guard said that there had been a murder that morning and it would be difficult to get anyone to deal with it and he had to go. There was no murder.

Yet more car crime, I had a car parking space paid for by my work in Middle Abbey St. Car got broken into so often that I ended up leaving the door open to prevent them doing damage. The car park had video cameras. The property management company would only release them to the Gardai. The Gardai would not request them. I was not the only person getting my car broken into either. I stopped reporting it. I'd get into my car and when the back seats had been taken down I'd think "O, the car thieves have been in again" and get about my business, happy in the knowledge that I had left nothing of value in there.

Have had intruders in the house. Gardai came, told us to get a better door lock. That was that. No follow up.

On the other hand, I stupidly left a mobile in the car in Belfast with the door open. The phone, which belonged to work, was stolen. They sent two police men round who took a report which I had to sign and I got post from a victim support agency if I needed counselling several weeks later!

Now that may be seen to be excessive but at least I felt the police there took my situation seriously and that the theft itself entered the system rather than either being ignored or else having someone talk to you about it but do no further.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 misnomer

I was in work appro 2 weeks ago talking to 2 guards from the business watch team when suddenly they ran out of the store and grabbed a guy.

They proceeded to arrest him but the guy resisted and they had to hold him down.
    In seconds the were surrounded by people shouting at them all with thier mobile phones taking photos and shouting at them telling them they had thier photos and were going to report them them for abuse.
    When they returned to store later I asked what happened, the man had been dealing heroin on the street.
    I wonder if these bystanders cared that heroin was been sold in the middle of the day in a busy retail area where school children frequent.
    I think the majority of Guards do a great job. I know its not something I would ever have the courage to do.

misnomer wrote: »
    I was in work appro 2 weeks ago talking to 2 guards from the business watch team when suddenly they ran out of the store and grabbed a guy.

They proceeded to arrest him but the guy resisted and they had to hold him down.
    In seconds the were surrounded by people shouting at them all with thier mobile phones taking photos and shouting at them telling them they had thier photos and were going to report them them for abuse.
    When they returned to store later I asked what happened, the man had been dealing heroin on the street.
    I wonder if these bystanders cared that heroin was been sold in the middle of the day in a busy retail area where school children frequent.
    I think the majority of Guards do a great job. I know its not something I would ever have the courage to do.

Is heroin frequently dealt in retail streets? Are we talking about the likes of Grafton Street?

Your story shows the lack of faith from the bystanders that they all assumed that the Gardai were up to no good and tried to get evidence to prove same.

Too be honest, I have stopped believing a lot of whats being said here, sounds like stories to back a losing case.

Your still harping on about a subjects thats been answered. not happy that you live in an area without its own Garda station? then complain to your TD. Your covered by Swords, do you realise they dont have the manpower to cover Swords nevermind Donabate as well?

Middle Abbey Street? I cant remember the last time a car was broken into there and evidently you work in Arnotts as its the only parking there. Last time I checked there are security guards at the entrance, what are they doing about this? What type of CCTV? How long does it record for? You dont know but I do because I have tried without success to get footage from there. Its still on tape with no time stamp!

Fingerprints with oil? Cant be taken, the oil smudges the prints beyond use. However maybe you should support the national database but something tells me your dead against it.

Beggers? Still not a crime since it was last posted about it but yet your still demanding action for some reason.

No murder? Where? On that street that day? Possible not but what about the rest of the country? What about the rest of the city? Folks, you dont know 10% of whats going on.

As for not being cautioned, well which is it? Tough or easy? Tough on serial offenders means tough on you. Urinating in laneways isnt so great for the poor sod that has to clean your rotten piss of his bin and/or door and its still a crime!

I cannot, simple cannot believe that people are still posting having completely ignored what has been said in previous posts. Your still acting as if your above the law, "arrest them but not me because Im too good!"

You all need to waddle down to the courts and spend a few days there listening to the cases. Heres a list of some criminal cases in court TODAY.

Before Her Honour Judge Ryan
    in Court No. 24 at 10:00 (Trial)
    1. DU 00817/2007 DARREN DOODY
    DU 00817/2007 AIDAN BYRNE
    2. DU 01234/2007 GERARD KANE
    3. DU 00384/2008 DECLAN DARCY
    4. DU 00786/2008 MYKOLAS DOCKEVICIUS
    DU 00786/2008 MARIUS BARDAUSKAS
    5. DU 00941/2008 EIMANTAS KADZEVICIUS

Before Her Honour Judge Delahunt
    in Court No. 8 at 10:30 (For Mention)
    6. DU 01260/2007 DAMIEN GIFFORD
    DU 01260/2007 STEPHEN DOLAN
    7. DU 00288/2008 WILLIAM QUINN
    8. DU 00329/2008 MR. JUN JIE ZHENG
    9. DU 00346/2008 GARETH MARLOWE
    10. DU 00555/2008 DARREN KEARNS
    11. DU 00556/2008 KEITH DEEGAN
    12. DU 00559/2008 DES FOLEY
    13. DU 00564/2008 DOMINIC DUIGNAN
    14. DU 00568/2008 Michael Byrne
    15. DU 00573/2008 AARON RYAN
    16. DU 00579/2008 PAUL SMITH
    17. DU 00586/2008 ADAM MICHALSKI
    18. DU 00588/2008 ANTHONY COOMBES
    19. DU 00589/2008 DAVID MOONEY
    20. DU 00590/2008 PAUL MEEHAN
    21. DU 00599/2008 EUGENE MC DONAGH
    22. DU 00657/2008 ANDREW SMITH
    DU 00657/2008 MAURICE SMITH
    23. DU 00722/2008 RICHARD DOYLE
    24. DU 00807/2008 MAXINE WILSON
    25. DU 01001/2008 KEITH DEEGAN
    26. FJ 04014/2008 JOSEPH O' CONNOR

in Court No. 8 at 10:30 (Arraignment)
    27. DU 00306/2008 DAVID KAVANAGH
    28. DU 00402/2008 LEE BLACK
    29. DU 00403/2008 LEE BLACK
    30. DU 00404/2008 LEE BOYLAN
    31. DU 00405/2008 LEE BOYLAN
    32. DU 00457/2008 GEORGE FINGLAS
    33. DU 00622/2008 LEE BLACK
    34. DU 01082/2008 GLEN HOGAN
    35. DU 01087/2008 JAMES DALY

in Court No. 8 at 11:00 (Sentence)
    36. DU 00560/2007 THOMAS MC DONNELL
    37. DU 00615/2007 VIVIENNE HOGG
    DU 00615/2007 LIAM FULLARD
    38. DU 00708/2007 VIVIENNE HOGG
    39. DU 00072/2008 JOSEPH GRIFFITHS
    40. DU 00096/2008 THOMAS MC DONNELL
    41. DU 00440/2008 JAKE MC LOUGHLIN
    42. DU 00580/2008 DAVID CARROLL

Before His Honour Judge Hogan
    in Court No. 29 at 10:30 (Trial Continuing)
    43. DU 01406/2006 DEREK MC DERMOTT

Before His Honour Judge Hunt
    in Court No. 15 at 10:30 (Sentence)
    44. DU 00728/2007 THOMAS DONAGHUE

in Court No. 15 at 10:30 (Trial Continuing)
    45. DU 00209/2002 SEAN HARAN

Before His Honour Judge McCartan
    in Court No. 23 at 10:30 (For Mention)
    46. DU 00365/2008 STEPHEN MAHER

in Court No. 23 at 10:30 (Sentence)
    47. DU 00884/2007 JAMES MC CARTAN

And thats just the Dublin circuit criminal cour. Its not even a small portion of the criminal cases going on. How do you think these cases made to it trial if Gardai dont take reports, investigate and prosecute cases?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 misnomer

Is heroin frequently dealt in retail streets? Are we talking about the likes of Grafton Street?

Your story shows the lack of faith from the bystanders that they all assumed that the Gardai were up to no good and tried to get evidence to prove same.

actually surprisingly enough no not grafton street but Waterford. you may be right about bystanders lack of faith but I think this has more to do with the media highlighting the faults of the services and never the good work that the majority of them carry out everyday

It wasn't Arnott's. It was under a property company called Keenan Property Management. The entrance was on the back of a set of apartments whose name I don't know. Very close to Capel St.

You are saying that Swords don't have the resources to police Swords. Are you using that to suggest that people should have faith and trust in the Gardai?

I don't regularly relieve myself in public, it has most likely been over three years, but I was trying to put forward the point that we all break laws from time to time. I have lived in a place in Ranelagh which was regularly used as a toilet for passing merry makers and I know how unpleasant it is but I don't want to come all high and mighty as I am sure most people break the law at some point or another. And I'm sure I have broken many laws since.

I fully believe that were these transgressions detected, I'd be in deep trouble although the consequences to society are minor. Nevertheless, people can break into houses at their leisure. The Gardai will advise you how to make sure it doesn't happen again but that is all.

There is no point in listing those cases without understanding what they are for. How many are for breaking into cars? How many cars are broken into daily in Dublin? And how many are reported?

It's the little things which count in dealing with crime. We all remember Guiliani's zero tolerance policy. People felt better because when their car was broken into, their window smashed, kids threw fireworks; it was dealt with.

I'd have no problem with being hauled over the coals using the full vigour of the law for my misdemeanour if I thought the law was evenly applied to everyone and that people were encouraged to report crime, no matter how serious, and were assured of receiving a reasonable response to their report. The Gardai just see no point in pursuing some people as they see them as a lost cause. Better to pursue those who actually have something to lose.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

As for not being cautioned, well which is it? Tough or easy? Tough on serial offenders means tough on you. Urinating in laneways isnt so great for the poor sod that has to clean your rotten piss of his bin and/or door and its still a crime!

I remember talking to off duty garda in a pub down in the sticks once, very nice fella too. Anyway outside he was waving goodbye while taking a slash up against the wall. :pac:

Terra,
    Im not sure what your point is. That we should ignore legality and simple convict people and maybe some kangaroo court can help us out, then hey how, onto the gas chamber? Again, one rule for all and as Blackstone once said "Better one thousand guilty men go free than one innocent convicted".

As for court, well its the circuit court, they aint there for stealing a few sweeties! It still proves that people are being arrested for crime ona regular basis. For gods sake, on the way to the shops I heard that a woman is in custody after 300 grand of drugs was found. What do you think happened? She wandered into the station with a rucksack of coke or whatever and confessed then forced the lazy Gardai to arrest her?

And the NYPD have a **** load of cops, cars and equipment. New York city has a population of 8 million and the NYPD have 37 thousand officers, 3000 cars and 10.000 support staff. Ignoring the support staff thats 1 cop per 216 civilians. AGS has 14000 officers with an average of less than 2 patrol cars per station. This is just 1 Garda to about 400 civilians and less than 1000 cars but yet we cover more ground and out of those 14000 officers we do the work that support staff do in NYC.

And that management company is still there, theres a gate on the carpark and its UPPER Abbey Street not Middle. I would have thought you knew the address of your own company.

And do you blame the DART and bus driver because Ireland has poor public transport? DO you lack faith is his abilities and dedication because we dont have an underground? Then why blame the poor sod Garda because we dont have adequate resources?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭petergfiffin

...Blackstone once said "Better one thousand guilty men go free than one innocent convicted".

I prefer Chief Wiggum's version "I'd rather let a thousand guilty men go free than chase after them" :p

APB, car heading towards.....that place that sells donuts......a red one.....with lights......something in the registration.......driver is hackless, I repeat hackless! :)

(Presume mods will delete our posts)

Terra,
    Im not sure what your point is. That we should ignore legality and simple convict people and maybe some kangaroo court can help us out, then hey how, onto the gas chamber? Again, one rule for all and as Blackstone once said "Better one thousand guilty men go free than one innocent convicted".

As for court, well its the circuit court, they aint there for stealing a few sweeties!

And that management company is still there, theres a gate on the carpark and its UPPER Abbey Street not Middle. I would have thought you knew the address of your own company.

I wasn't working for KPM. I was working in the bank in a sales role. I was claiming so much in expenses for parking in Arnotts that it was less expensive for the bank to pay for that car parking space. I'd often leave the car overnight and this is when the attacks occur.

This thread arose after another person claimed that many people have no faith in the work of the Gardai.

My response is that I neither have faith in them based on the responses when I have reported crime and their use of resources in pursuing crime which is of little or no consequence when nefarious activities go unpunished.

Your arguments seem to either corroborate what I am saying or else descend into pedantic points scoring about the names of streets and location of car parks.

It's the little things which count in dealing with crime. We all remember Guiliani's zero tolerance policy.

My response is that I neither have faith in them based on the responses when I have reported crime and their use of resources in pursuing crime which is of little or no consequence when nefarious activities go unpunished.

No point in me posting anymore, you cant even agree with yourself

You are being deliberately obtuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

The poster can still advocate a zero tolerance approach as being superior to a system where small crimes are punished and big ones aren't. That's the point he's making. Not saying it's true, but it hardly invalidates his arguments.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

One of the biggest waste in the gardai as far as i can see looking in is that of court, the court service is so inefficent. Gardai driving patrol cars to court is one problem, they end up being parked there for the day, but also gardai being in court for half ten or so, but their case might not be heard until 3 o clock or later, depending on the surname of the defendant, then itll probably be adjurned anyway!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭FGR

Surname of the defendant..and by the alphabetical order of your station, too.

It's not uncommon to be waiting for five hours to have one matter dealt with in Traffic Court.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

The_nog is right. Discourtesy is people's biggets problem with gardai. If people liked them, you wouldn't be here explaining about how you have to spend5 hours int he courts, rather than the cop shop.

People like nurses and junior doctors, for example. That's because they have a rep of being friendly to people when they're at their most vulnerable, as oposed to the gardai who have a tendency towards rudeness.

People accept mistakes from junior docs/nurses. They get annoyed at the conditions they work under.

If the gardai were nicer to people, the public would be more tolerant, and owuld be more sympathetic regarding issues of poor management.

That's my take on it anyway.

The poster can still advocate a zero tolerance approach as being superior to a system where small crimes are punished and big ones aren't. That's the point he's making. Not saying it's true, but it hardly invalidates his arguments.

Thanks.

And as I have stated previously, I don't have much experience on being on the wrong side of the law so my views are based on media reports, anecdotal evidence and supposition.

I do have experience about being a victim / witness of crime which nobody can tell me was properly dealt with.

And finally, I am only giving my opinion. I could be a million miles off the mark but I think my opinions are not uncommon. But the question is why do I think like this?