Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do you perceive the overall work of the Gardai

• Registered Users Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

A, As I said already, People in hoodies passing items to eachother isnt always drug dealing. The media and passerby say it is but they are either guessing or just going by general perception. Besides, you cant know its heroin for a fact. Most drug dealing on the quays are not 'illegal drugs' as per the Misuse of drugs Act 77/84. But prescription drugs used as uppers and downers for which they cannot be arrested. Of course it happens but lets be honest, out of every 24 hours how much of it are you actually watching? Yo dont know that these people arent being arrested or that some of the buyers arent drug unit Gardai.

As a point of interest I'm a tad confused by your post, I'm aware of how difficult it is to actually get evidence of a person dealing, I spend my day working in a meth clinic. The biggest problem for us is the abuse of the various forms of benzos that you are talking about.

My understanding is that POM prescription only materials which benzos are are covered by the Misue of Drugs Act. I know that it can be difficult to prove on the street that the benzos in the persons pocket wheren't prescribed to them. But for example can you not lift and charge somebody with a possession charge if you found a ten loose Valium in the pocket? Is it a case of you having to prove that they where not prescribed to the person or a case of the person having to prove that they were if you get my drift.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

TheNog wrote: »
    Maybe its just me but this is about as clear as mud to me.

I have taken high level crime as to be murder, drugs smuggling etc. or are talking about crime that occurs everyday such as theft, criminal damage etc? :confused:

As for a zero tolerance approach, we do operate that sort of approach with people who continuously break the law such as shoplifters, unauthorised taking, to murder etc. We do not have zero tolerance across the board, and this is where discretion is used, simply because honest decent people would be prosecuted for a minor indiscretion whether it was meant or not. I don't see how that can help society tbh.

There is a huge difference between these professions but we do share some comparisions such as high stress levels when attempting to save lives and long working hours at times (sometimes for us).

However doctors/nurse although are faced with violent people do not have to tackle violent people, nor do doctors/nurses come after you when you don't pay a bill nor do they take away a persons freedom nor do they investigate people or prosecute.

So again do doctors and nurses perform well while under pressure and still remain polite? Yes they do. Do Gardai operate the same way? Yes most do but we operate in situations where we have violent people, if first to a RTC we have no support until EMT or FB arrive etc

I wasn't talking about scrotes at all. I was talking about people who never or rarely have any contact with us.

I brought up the discourteous bit being one of our biggest problem. It is and I don't think anyone will argue with that but on occasion even I have had difficulty remaining courteous to someone on occasion when you see a person risk their own and others lives for a stupid reason.

A case in point would be traffic related such as one fella I stopped when he overtook 7 cars all at once (the last two cars on a bend). It is very hard to remain polite when you see that when you have seen bad RTCs.

Read over the posts, and maybe you can try to work out what I was talkiong about. karlito was arguing about one poster's logic, when it was his own logic that was at faulty, regardless of who's point was right in substance.

Back to the comparison. Horrible people are nasty to the gardai and the gardai are nasty back. I don't agree with that way of working, but I understand it.

But the people we're talking about are normal people. Normal people are exposed to doctors and nurses all the time. Sometimes we win, and sometimes we loose. Often we are shouted at and abused, and sometimes assaulted. Yet there is very much a culture within medicine that you keep your cool and stay friendly at all times. That seems to be as culture that's not seen in the gardai. If I shouted at a patient, one of my colleagues would be likely enough to say something to me, or even report me. If I was very junior, there would most definitely be a quiet word from my senior. It happened to a guy in work last week.

Doctors and nurses just tend to be friendlier to people. Some are not frinedly to, say, the junkies. I hate that, but I accept it's a problem.

But look at the people who are not rude or aggressive. Normal everyday punters. Normal everyday punters tend to have a good opinon of their healthcare workers, whether things go right or wrong (with many exceptions of course).
    But when normal everyday people have an experience with the gardai (ie when the gardai aren't arresting them or investigating them) they seem to come away with negative feelings a LOT.

I don't buy the generalisations that get made about a lot of professions. BUt too many people I know have had bad experiences with the gardai. Too many good people. I, myself, have had too many bad experiences with the gardai.

I'm not an authority on the gardai, but I do wonder why so many people have a negative opinion of them, when compared with other professions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

tallaght01 wrote: »
    Read over the posts, and maybe you can try to work out what I was talkiong about. karlito was arguing about one poster's logic, when it was his own logic that was at faulty, regardless of who's point was right in substance.

Back to the comparison. Horrible people are nasty to the gardai and the gardai are nasty back. I don't agree with that way of working, but I understand it.

But the people we're talking about are normal people. Normal people are exposed to doctors and nurses all the time. Sometimes we win, and sometimes we loose. Often we are shouted at and abused, and sometimes assaulted. Yet there is very much a culture within medicine that you keep your cool and stay friendly at all times. That seems to be as culture that's not seen in the gardai. If I shouted at a patient, one of my colleagues would be likely enough to say something to me, or even report me. If I was very junior, there would most definitely be a quiet word from my senior. It happened to a guy in work last week.

Doctors and nurses just tend to be friendlier to people. Some are not frinedly to, say, the junkies. I hate that, but I accept it's a problem.

But look at the people who are not rude or aggressive. Normal everyday punters. Normal everyday punters tend to have a good opinon of their healthcare workers, whether things go right or wrong (with many exceptions of course).
    But when normal everyday people have an experience with the gardai (ie when the gardai aren't arresting them or investigating them) they seem to come away with negative feelings a LOT.

I don't buy the generalisations that get made about a lot of professions. BUt too many people I know have had bad experiences with the gardai. Too many good people. I, myself, have had too many bad experiences with the gardai.

I'm not an authority on the gardai, but I do wonder why so many people have a negative opinion of them, when compared with other professions.

Simple put, Doctors make people better, firemen put out fires, gardai give tickets.

As for the original, I was merely pointing out that Gardai DO tackle serious crime therefore the posters opinion that we ONLY deal with minor things was incorrect and following on from that, his view of zero tolerance at work.

In regards doctors dealing with people, doctors get complaints, they act out of line, commit crimes, negligence and are commonly refered to as some of the most arrogant, abnoxious people known so please, off the high horse.

Now personally, I like my local GP and the docs that have treated me in hospital have been very nice as well but I did have to look around before I found a GP I felt comfortable with and liked. I have also had negative dealings with medical staff while escorting a prisoner.

I have been left sitting for hours with someone that was trying to kill himself, sitting for hours with someone that wasnt a prisoner but I had kindly escorted at the request of the ambulance crew and lo and behold, when I announced I was now leaving, suddenly hes next up.

On another occasion we were put in a room, left there with a screaming prisoner who had attacked a dfb ambo man. I went to close the door because I figured his antics were annoying and distressing other patients, guess what the nurse said? "Dont want anyone to see you beating him again just hear the screams?" Now, how do you think that made me feel? The other side is a doctor came in, saw us trying to hold the guy down (while he spat blood at us) and apologised that we had been left there. He then fixed the guy up and let us get the guy back to a cell.

So please, we could vent at your profession. We could allow murmers and whispers to become truth about doctors but we dont. We go by evidence, facts and above all, understanding of the job and what you deal with.

Also, small matter but when someone is abusive to you, you dont have to be aggressive, you call us to do it for you as per my signature.

Odysseus,
    I will PM you with that one as I dont want to go off topic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

Simple put, Doctors make people better, firemen put out fires, gardai give tickets.

As for the original, I was merely pointing out that Gardai DO tackle serious crime therefore the posters opinion that we ONLY deal with minor things was incorrect and following on from that, his view of zero tolerance at work.

In regards doctors dealing with people, doctors get complaints, they act out of line, commit crimes, negligence and are commonly refered to as some of the most arrogant, abnoxious people known so please, off the high horse.

Now personally, I like my local GP and the docs that have treated me in hospital have been very nice as well but I did have to look around before I found a GP I felt comfortable with and liked. I have also had negative dealings with medical staff while escorting a prisoner.

I have been left sitting for hours with someone that was trying to kill himself, sitting for hours with someone that wasnt a prisoner but I had kindly escorted at the request of the ambulance crew and lo and behold, when I announced I was now leaving, suddenly hes next up.

On another occasion we were put in a room, left there with a screaming prisoner who had attacked a dfb ambo man. I went to close the door because I figured his antics were annoying and distressing other patients, guess what the nurse said? "Dont want anyone to see you beating him again just hear the screams?" Now, how do you think that made me feel? The other side is a doctor came in, saw us trying to hold the guy down (while he spat blood at us) and apologised that we had been left there. He then fixed the guy up and let us get the guy back to a cell.

So please, we could vent at your profession. We could allow murmers and whispers to become truth about doctors but we dont. We go by evidence, facts and above all, understanding of the job and what you deal with.

Also, small matter but when someone is abusive to you, you dont have to be aggressive, you call us to do it for you as per my signature.

I don't know what kind of response times you have, but I have never once in my career called a copper. I've used in-house security a few times. But we just get on with it.

The point it, some people don't like doctors and nurses. That's fine. Of coursethat's true. There are some tools in every job.

But if you look at public surveys, healthcare professionals come out top in a lot of them with regard to public trust.

But too many people I know don't trust the gardai. These are not people getting tickets. These are people who have more mundane experiences with the gardai. These are my very quiet shy sister who was kindly driving me into town, when some copper pulled us over and absoloutely roasted her for ignoring some sign. When she timidly pointed out in her shocked voice that the sign was no longer there, he just said "ah go on with you, then", still being pretty rude.

It's my best mate who was driving me home from a mate's house one night when we were randomly pulled over. He was told to get out of the car,a nd questioned aggressively "how much were you drinking tonight?". When he denied drinking they were all "ahh come on, just tell us". Aggression aggression aggression. These are 2 random examples. I gave more in an earlier thread. Both really sensible drivers. Both never been in trouble before with anyone.

Maybe I've just been unlucky, but when these things happen again and again it just makes you think.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

After work last night, could I just make a suggestion for any Gardai here doing public order at matches? SMILE, please!! The older Gardai are sound and approachable, and are chatty. But some of the younger Gardai looked like they had just been told off and were sulking!! Maybe they were GAA heads who didn't want to be at a rugby match! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭IRISH RAIL

I just wanted to mention most people here will have had both good and bad views of the gardai, while people will always remember the bad and forget the good.
    I voted no because of the images from corrib of a gaurd pushing a guy into a ditch way out of line. on the other hand I know how tied up they can get three squad cars were called to a shop yesterday after the panic alarm was set off turned out it was a guy who was barred from the shop the security gaurd didnt even do anything. a simple call to the station would have been a lot more useful. I think a lot of people dont know the enormous amount of stupid calls the gaurds still get now I have occasionaly listened to the gaurds radios and i find it amazing that they still get called for kids playing football on the street. I dont blame the individuals for my lack of trust I blame the management.
    what happened to the donegal gaurds who planted a bomb to make themselves look good ?
    what would happen to me if I did it ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

IRISH RAIL wrote: »
    what happened to the donegal gaurds who planted a bomb to make themselves look good ?
    what would happen to me if I did it ?
    Well, if your username reflects your occupation, it wouldn't have gone off in time!

jpg.gif
    Ooops. Wrong meeting. Sorry!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,888 ✭✭✭Terrontress

I went to close the door because I figured his antics were annoying and distressing other patients, guess what the nurse said? "Dont want anyone to see you beating him again just hear the screams?"

You repeatedly miss the point. The topic is not called "Do the Gardai do a good job?" or "Are the Gardai unnecessarily aggressive". It's about whether people have faith in the Gardai. You are repeatedly supporting the argument that the public have little or no faith. The healthcare professional in question obviously didn't. This is someone who one would expect to be educated and professional yet she still behaved that way to someone who was trying to do their best in a difficult situation. The lack of trust is widespread. Everyone deserves a police service that they can trust, including habitual criminals. The serving members here have pointed to reasons why this trust is absent. It's a mistrust of the force as a whole. Not the individuals in it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

First things first HOORRRAAAHHHH this is now the highest posted thread in the ES forum :pac::D;):rolleyes:confused::eek::cool::P:(:mad::o:p:)

Now for serious business.

We can all agree that there are people out there who distrust us in general through bad experiences they have had. Fair enough. Some people have genuine and direct reasons or involvement, some have heard from a friend of a friend, some have heard stories in pubs and being unable to make up their own minds, follow the opinions of others and lastly there are people who have been prosecuted etc etc and feel hard done by.

So the question is: going forward how do those who don't trust us believe we can overcome this?
    Also what avenue would you prefer to take in combatting these bad experiences?

Discourteousy (sp??) is one aspect we need to tackle.

What else is there?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,888 ✭✭✭Terrontress

The "closed shop" mindset. In another thread, someone asked where the camera control centre is and got the response "that's for us to know, not you". The centre which I am familiar with is on O'Connell Street and has a big glass window so people can get to see that work is being done in there to keep them safe.

Also, I think that peoples' concerns need to be taken more seriously. Budget constraints permitting, if someone wants a guard to come out to them, regardless of how minor the guard thinks the crime is then someone should come out.

The image of the Gardai is taking a terrible knock by having speed checks on roads where few accidents occur and where road speed limits are too low. Shooting fish in a barrel. If they are being that underhand in speed checks then this lack of trustworthyness probably carries through to other areas.

The "closed shop" mindset. In another thread, someone asked where the camera control centre is and got the response "that's for us to know, not you". The centre which I am familiar with is on O'Connell Street and has a big glass window so people can get to see that work is being done in there to keep them safe.

Ok so we are going for Accountability and Transparency (to a certain extent). Big buzzword around the AGS for the past year or so but if I'm honest will take awhile to implement properly. Tbh I don't think management have a full idea of how accountable we need to be yet but we will get there. Garda Inspectorate are pushing it along with the Mahon Report too.

Kudos to the Inspectorate. They have done more for the AGS in the last 2-3 years than the AGS has done for itself in 10 years.

Also, I think that peoples' concerns need to be taken more seriously. Budget constraints permitting, if someone wants a guard to come out to them, regardless of how minor the guard thinks the crime is then someone should come out.

I have seen this happen before in my 1yr service but honestly it happened maybe twice. Mix up more than anything else but those calls were received with fullest apologises and attended to straight away.
    The image of the Gardai is taking a terrible knock by having speed checks on roads where few accidents occur and where road speed limits are too low. Shooting fish in a barrel. If they are being that underhand in speed checks then this lack of trustworthyness probably carries through to other areas.

NNNNNNOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!

There was me having respect for you, maybe even liking you a bit. Until now. I truly hate that comment above because it shows people contradict themselves. You say don't do speed checks on roads where there is a low speed limit or no accidents but when there is an accident you will ask where were the Gardai and why weren't they conducting speed checks there.

This is called Proactive Policing.

Even though there may have never been an accident on a particular road, we would like to keep it that way. Also we do get residents calling us due to speeding cars by their house and of course there are accidents on roads but most people don't see these accidents even if it happens outside their house.

I can also dispel the myth that Gardai are revenue generators. If you ask you will find out that most Gardai don't give a continental f00k if the government get money out of it or not. When I prosecute someone for speeding I am hoping that person will slow down to an acceptable level so as not to be a cause of a RTC.
    Simple as, no conspiracy here.

Now for serious business.

So the question is: going forward....

What else is there?
    Stop using phrases like "going forward":D.
    Good thread. Well done on not letting it descend into a bashing.

deadwood wrote: »
    Stop using phrases like "going forward":D.
    Good thread. Well done on not letting it descend into a bashing.

stop moving the goal posts :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

In some jurisdictions police officers are already in agreement with you on this idea, and I don't think its a bad thing personally.

• Registered Users Posts: 588 ✭✭✭andrewh5

I can also dispel the myth that Gardai are revenue generators. If you ask you will find out that most Gardai don't give a continental f00k if the government get money out of it or not. When I prosecute someone for speeding I am hoping that person will slow down to an acceptable level so as not to be a cause of a RTC.
    Simple as, no conspiracy here.
    So explain then why the speed traps in Stepaside are ALWAYS on the way OUT of the village NOT the way IN? If that isn't geared up to revenue generating then I am a dutchman. Furthermore speed per-se does NOT cause accidents. Inappropriate speed does however and that can mean driving at the legal limit past a school as the kids come out.

BTW, when are the Gardaí going to clamp down on illegal use of front fog lights and unaccompanied L drivers? I have seen no evidence of either.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

andrewh5 wrote: »
    Furthermore speed per-se does NOT cause accidents.
    You're kidding right?
    Speed does not cause accidents?
    Of course it does, driving too fast for road conditions (whether it be a bad road surface or bad weather) causes accidents
    Flying down a bad road at 120km per hour and a dog runs across the road in front of you you swerve to avoid and hit the ditch... that's an accident caused by speeding, if speeding doesn't cause accidents why do the RSA and AGS spend so much time trying to reduce speed on our roads

Certainly there are other factors that cause accidents including driver fatigue, driving under the influence, careless driving but speed is a massive factor in RTA's in ireland

So explain then why the speed traps in Stepaside are ALWAYS on the way OUT of the village NOT the way IN? If that isn't geared up to revenue generating then I am a dutchman. Furthermore speed per-se does NOT cause accidents. Inappropriate speed does however and that can mean driving at the legal limit past a school as the kids come out.

BTW, when are the Gardaí going to clamp down on illegal use of front fog lights and unaccompanied L drivers? I have seen no evidence of either.

Andrew this has been done to death on the Motors forum and if I remember correctly you contributed to those discussions but seemingly not learned from I have said in those discussions about safety of the guard and other road users, knowing the collision hotspots etc. If you want a reasonable answer then you are going to have to understand the reasons why checks are done where they are.

Tbh I don't know Stepaside at all so I cannot comment on why speed checks are done where they are and your post does not give me anything to work with.

Lastly I agree with ye that inappropriate speed is one of the biggest killer but inappropriate speed for a bad driver may not be inappropriate for a good driver. But how are Gardai supposed to know the bad drivers from the good drivers?

As with foglights - they are one of my pet hates but I can't imagine many judges putting up with Gardai bringing people to court over its use. If it was classed as a fixed penalty offence then happy days.
    angelfire9 wrote: »
    You're kidding right?
    Speed does not cause accidents?
    Of course it does, driving too fast for road conditions (whether it be a bad road surface or bad weather) causes accidents
    Flying down a bad road at 120km per hour and a dog runs across the road in front of you you swerve to avoid and hit the ditch... that's an accident caused by speeding, if speeding doesn't cause accidents why do the RSA and AGS spend so much time trying to reduce speed on our roads

Certainly there are other factors that cause accidents including driver fatigue, driving under the influence, careless driving but speed is a massive factor in RTA's in ireland

No need for people to be "Government Donators".

Goede middag.
    Flogged to death on motors threads.

A Garda stopped a driver for speeding. The disgruntled driver complained about the Garda singling him out while other drivers were zooming past.

"Ever gone fishing?" asked the guard.

"A few times, why?" replied the driver.

"Ever caught all the fish?"

• Registered Users Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

How can views be changed? Imo, make it so that Community Gardai don't just work mostly in 'trouble spots'. If they get involved with everyone, they can change views. I've seen Community Gardai bringing busloads of kids to 'fun camps' etc. Why not do this across the board, rather than for kids just in 'disadvantaged' areas?

eroo wrote: »
    How can views be changed? Imo, make it so that Community Gardai don't just work mostly in 'trouble spots'. If they get involved with everyone, they can change views. I've seen Community Gardai bringing busloads of kids to 'fun camps' etc. Why not do this across the board, rather than for kids just in 'disadvantaged' areas?

I work as a local officer, my remit, aside from regular 999 response, is to address local issues and be accountable to the people living in the area I look after. I don't take kids to fun camps, and I don't know any officers who do. As far as I'm concerned that has nothing to do with police work, and if there are cops doing that, then maybe they need to take a closer look at their role and the services available to them.

As a 'community officer' police officers should be looking at crime reduction strategy, often this means getting locals engaged, and more often than not this means engaging local youths. As a community copper the role is to facilitate this, i.e utilise local services to do so. It is not the role of the police to personally entertain local kids....well not where I am anyways.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

Since the traffic enforcement can of worms has been opened, I'd like to weigh in with my gripe. There is a whole slew of illegal (or just bad) behaviour which is essentially undetectable for a static checkpoint or a marked traffic corps car. While the situation may be better in Dublin than in Limerick, I have never seen (or heard of) an unmarked car pulling somebody over for acting the tw*t.

In summary, I'd like to see that dangerous driving OTHER than speeding/drinking is being enforced:
    -Failure to indicate
    -Failure to yield
    -Poor Lane Discipline/'Cutting Up'
    -Tailgating
    -Dangerous Overtaking
    -Driving without consideration
    etc ad nauseum

Since the traffic enforcement can of worms has been opened, I'd like to weigh in with my gripe. There is a whole slew of illegal (or just bad) behaviour which is essentially undetectable for a static checkpoint or a marked traffic corps car. While the situation may be better in Dublin than in Limerick, I have never seen (or heard of) an unmarked car pulling somebody over for acting the tw*t.

In summary, I'd like to see that dangerous driving OTHER than speeding/drinking is being enforced:
    -Failure to indicate
    -Failure to yield
    -Tailgating
    -Dangerous Overtaking
    etc ad nauseum

Dave, every serving copper would agree with you. We all want more dedicated traffic cops on the roads. That's the only way you can tackle the issues you raise. No gatso cam can detect generally sh*t driving or inconsiderate driving. Its a quality of life issue is it not? More than that it can lead to accidents. However the powers that be will pay lip service to the issues you raise, but will they allocate cash for training and equipment? If you feel strongly enough about this I would encourage you to speak to your local TD. This is the only way AGS will be allocated more funding.

-Failure to indicate
    -Failure to yield
    -Tailgating
    -Dangerous Overtaking
    etc ad nauseum

Maybe some sort of phone number which is available to public to ring and report traffic violations that they watch everyday
    Traffic Watch Goes Nationwide on Lo-Call 1890 205 805

On Wednesday 18th February 2004, Garda 'Traffic Watch' went Nationwide. Initially established as a pilot scheme in the South Eastern Region in November 2001, it is now extended to cover the whole of the State.

Traffic Watch is an initiative established by An Garda Síochána to empower road users to play a proactive role in the enforcement of traffic legislation.

It allows road users to contact the Gardaí by using a lo-cost telephone number when they witness aberrant behaviour by other road users. It focuses on the traffic offences that are related to road safety such as speeding, dangerous or careless driving and driving while intoxicated.

Since the establishment of the Pilot Scheme, 3,800 calls have been received from the Public. Arising from these and subsequent investigations over 1,000 drivers have been formally cautioned in relation to their behaviour on the roads. There have also been 30 prosecutions in the courts.

The Scheme is supported by the National Roads Authority who have provided traffic Watch signs on all national roads. The signs indicate the Lo-Call telephone number.

Call centres have now been established in Dublin, Thomastown, Tuam, Birr, Mallow and Carrick-on-Shannon.

Callers are requested to make statements to Gardaí at a later stage. If a complainant declines to make a statement the Gardaí may alternatively caution and issue appropriate adice to the driver who is the subject of the complaint.

The Traffic Watch Number is 1890 205 805.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,931 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

-Failure to indicate
    -Failure to yield
    -Tailgating
    -Dangerous Overtaking
    etc ad nauseum

As far as i know alll traffic corps units have unmarked cars. All of the stations i have worked in anyway or visited have unamrked cars.

Regular gardai also have access to detective branch cars (unmarked).

All of your above points are actually already enforced and come under the remit of the fixed penalty notice. Not "failing to indicate" though.

metman wrote: »
    As a 'community officer' police officers should be looking at crime reduction strategy, often this means getting locals engaged, and more often than not this means engaging local youths. As a community copper the role is to facilitate this, i.e utilise local services to do so. It is not the role of the police to personally entertain local kids....well not where I am anyways.
    It's quite common for gardai here to take groups of kids on day trips or to visit them at their schools for a bit of crack with the sirens and cynbins. Student Gardai also do placements where this is common - summer camps, youthreach and others. Enjoyable for all involved.

Eroos' suggestion, above, that kids from all backgrounds be accommodated is a good one.

However, the Ross O'Carroll Kellys and Lorraine "Red Kye-sythe-bynde-rynde-abytes" Keanes of this world aren't too willing to let little Fiachla and Ocras share a bus with children who live in estates rather then own one.

It's quite common for gardai here to take groups of kids on day trips or to visit them at their schools for a bit of crack with the sirens and cynbins. Student Gardai also do placements where this is common - summer camps, youthreach and others. Enjoyable for all involved.

Police here do school visits and do everything from sirens to gun talks from members of armed response.

However I fail to see the point in police officers actually taking kids on day trips. There's a multitude of local services, local authority/civil servants available to do that. IMO not really the job of police to be taking kids on day trips.

As for student placements; again, am all for probationers getting involved, but ultimately they're not training to be youthreach workers, or summer-camp workers.

The public pay us to enforce the law and to tackle crime and criminals. As a community copper, local people want me to tackle crime and as a result I spend my time on uniform patrol, or executing warrants for drugs etc. I doubt people would be too happy were I to start leading school tours to Butlins.

eroo wrote: »
    There's a similar train of thought in schools. Principals and teachers spend a huge amount of their time disciplining and controlling a few unruly pupils.
    The majority, who are there to learn and get somewhere in life, get little attention. (Let's not go down a corporal punishment debate)

Not fair, but that's democracy.

metman wrote: »
    There's a multitude of local services, local authority/civil servants available to do that.
    Yeah, here they're called Guards!:D

Nonsense. I'm sure you have access to the same limited services we have access to here.

It is not the role of the Police to be taking kiddies on day trips. I doubt any tax payer wants the police to spend their time doing this. Similarly I doubt any police officer joined up to take kids on day trips.

Or maybe I'm a cop that's completely un-pc....:rolleyes: