Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

M20 - Cork to Limerick [preferred route chosen; in design - phase 3]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭KCAccidental

cocobear wrote: »
    Its a sad reflection on the TDs in limerick / cork not to have secured and pushed this through

and a sad indictment on our political system, that that is what it would take to get this built.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Irish and Proud

If I was the minister for transport, the M20 and M18 motorways would be top priority - of course these roads should be built. Then again, of course the DART Underground in Dublin should be built. However, with the joke of a parliament that supposedly runs (or is 'ruins' the word I'm looking for?) this country, there's little hope ATM for either the M20 or Dart Underground - these are no brainers IMO. We'll be lucky to have the M18 completed at this rate...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭AugustusMinimus

cocobear wrote: »
    It's a disaster of a road And dangerous in its current layout.
    Motorway for sure is long over due, as the route has been forgotten about.
    All other major cities are connected via motorway except limerick to cork.
    Its a sad reflection on the TDs in limerick / cork not to have secured and pushed this through

Define major city.

Waterford isn't connected to Cork or Limerick.

It's this sort of thinking that lets Waterford lag behind the likes of Limerick and Galway when only 70 years ago it was bigger than both.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭nordydan

and a sad indictment on our political system, that that is what it would take to get this built.

Indeed. Kilkenny to Waterford ahead of even half of this scheme?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭veryangryman

nordydan wrote: »

Indeed. Kilkenny to Waterford ahead of even half of this scheme?
    Dublin dublin dublin. Aggregate population of any dublin facing route out does the other inter cities. Makes perfect sense in my opinion. That said of course the m20 should come next.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Just been looking at some logistics.

Long term obviously but...

When M18 and M20 is complete, the distance between Athlone and Cork being ~250km, you could conceivaby do the journey in 2 hours. Athlone-Oranmore-Limerick Tunnel-Cork

Pretty sweet. I guess ill be alot greyer before it happens though :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

Its now seems that Gort to Tuam motorway is a priority over Cork to Limerick motorway.Just WTF??:mad::mad:

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/green-light-for-first-major-road-plan-since-downturn-29099795.html

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,969 Mod ✭✭✭✭spacetweek

That's been the case all along.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭antoobrien

Its now seems that Gort to Tuam motorway is a priority over Cork to Limerick motorway.Just WTF??:mad::mad:

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/green-light-for-first-major-road-plan-since-downturn-29099795.html

M20 has never been in the PPP process, M17/18, N11/NX, New Ross & Enniscorthy & GCOB are the 4 projects part of the programme.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,269 ✭✭✭source

In fairness it's a project that was already underway when the crap hit the fan. We always knew it's these projects that would get priority.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

Its now seems that Gort to Tuam motorway is a priority over Cork to Limerick motorway.Just WTF??mad.pngmad.png

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news...-29099795.html

One word "West" need we say anymore.....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭pigtown

Jamie2k9 wrote: »
    Yes...

• Registered Users Posts: 846 ✭✭✭Gambas

Well you could say something about the funding structure.

Or the last line in the article
    "Land for the motorway project has already been purchased."

Gambas wrote: »
    Well you could say something about the funding structure.

Or the last line in the article
    "Land for the motorway project has already been purchased."

Or the fact that the road if it started on time is supposed to be finished in about 18 months.

Look lads we're calling a spade a spade here...location was key in this decision.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

Ye elected Ned O Keefe and Batt O Keefe for all those years. The best pair of Taoiseachs we never had, what!??! :D

The only county outside of Dublin Louth Kildare Laois Offaly and Meath where the Primary road network is complete is Clare. Clare is in Munster not in the West, ta!

Look lads we're calling a spade a spade here...location was key in this decision.

Limerick has a bypass, Waterford has a bypass, Ennis has a bypass, Cork as a full ring road including a tunnel & 2h rail service to Dublin.

Galway has a court case over some rocks and a road that lets us get out of Dublin quickly after losing again in the hurling.

Could just be that Munster has seen all the money it's going for a while and it's time to start spending some elsewhere and the west is next on the list.

Just calling a spade a spade.

antoobrien wrote: »
    Limerick has a bypass, Waterford has a bypass, Ennis has a bypass, Cork as a full ring road including a tunnel & 2h rail service to Dublin.

Galway has a court case over some rocks and a road that lets us get out of Dublin quickly after losing again in the hurling.

Could just be that Munster has seen all the money it's going for a while and it's time to start spending some elsewhere and the west is next on the list.

Just calling a spade a spade.

Cork-Dublin by train in 2 hours.....more like Galway-Dublin.
    The only county outside of Dublin Louth Kildare Laois Offaly and Meath where the Primary road network is complete is Clare. Clare is in Munster not in the West, ta!

Clare is still the West, just because it has a different province name doesn't mean its in the South. Its West or if you want Mid West. Still has the word West which makes a big difference when decisions are made. What about the Political Rail Corridor which was build and losing millions per year and now a motorway along the route will increase the losses and of course because its a political line it will remain open and have every other rail user paying for it.

Cork-Dublin by train in 2 hours.....more like Galway-Dublin.

My apologies it's 2 1/2 hours, Galway Dublin is scheduled for 2 1/2, but more often closer to 3 (from many years grim experience).

Interests in Cork and Limerick simply did not stand up to the plate in time. Why is the Primary road network in Kerry nearing completion ....bar a bit around and north of Killarney. ???

You get what you vote for, Taoiseach Ned and Tánaiste Batt would have sorted everything....but it is too late now. Please stop this undignified complaining about the west. :D

My apologies it's 2 1/2 hours, Galway Dublin is scheduled for 2 1/2, but more often closer to 3 (from many years grim experience).

Have you viewed the new Galway rail timetable that came into affect last month. Some good changes.

until you can't get past glasaun

You mean you've a spade in your hand and figure it has nothing to do with the hole you now find yourself in.

Location had nothing to do with it. In the eyes of the NRA they are in effect two sections of the same road. Beyond that, as you've been shown by numerous posters, the two projects aren't comparable.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭D.L.R.

Sponge Bob wrote: »
    Clare is in Munster not in the West, ta!

In what universe is Clare not in the west of Ireland :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,528 ✭✭✭kub

Cork does not have a full ring road, the south of the city does but the Northside most certainly does not.

kub wrote: »
    Cork does not have a full ring road, the south of the city does but the Northside most certainly does not.

Really, you could fool me looking at a map, but then the M50 isn't a full ring road
    either.

It's a bit like saying the "circular road" in Galway is a bypass when it's only a neighbourhood road through Rahoon & Newcastle.

kub wrote: »

So you want TWO ring roads now? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭KCAccidental

Really, you could fool me looking at a map, but then the M50 isn't a full ring road
    either.

It's a bit like saying the "circular road" in Galway is a bypass when it's only a neighbourhood road through Rahoon & Newcastle.

*looks at the map*

that's a very funny looking ring!

I posted MOST OF this elsewhere earlier this week but it is particularly applicable to the Limerick Cork Road so I'll restate it a bit.

Were it not for the interminable legalistic nit picking that characterises the Irish planning process we might have been able to save a few quid on previous projects but the cost of revisiting any aspect of a PLANNED project is much too high and it must therefore proceed as designed.

Far too much weight is given to the rights of the few to obstruct the Irish process and at great cost to the ordinary taxpayer and similarly far too little weight is given to the rights of the majority to travel reliably and safely using a variety of modes.

We have a right of freedom of movement within the state, which when expressed collectively, should entitle us not to bounce around on a dangerous goat track because some drive by objector wants to bluster through planning enquiry after planning enquiry and yet these people are indulged to a huge extent by the system.

The remaining sections of the 'Atlantic Corridor' outside of Donegal and including the Limerick - Waterford goat track should proceed largely as continual 2+2 designs for the same reason, perhaps with a few HQDC sections near Sligo Limerick and Waterford and of course HQDC/Motorway from Limerick to Cork. The secondary network and roads like the N21 N22 and N5 are of insufficient overall import to count as Primary to my mind. Thats not to say that Macroom should not be bypassed but Cork - Tralee is of insufficient 'nationa;' importance to my mind whereas Cork and Derry are the third and fourth largest towns on the Island and the 5th and 6th are between them...just saying. :)

Safety and predictablily are the least we can ask for when designing PRIMARY roads for the future. We built extensive but sub optimal wide s2 for many years and had to bypass more or less all of it 30 years afterwards.

While much of this network could be expeditiously progressed by constructing 2+2 on a HQDC alignment and with future land take to HQDC widths protected on either side ( but not purchased or developed as such unless required) the fact remains that serial objectors will simply set out to derail every sensible proposal and we have no alternative for now but to proceed with the projects through planning as designed as well as overspec much of the balance. We do have a window with EG Cork - Limerick to perhaps build a 2+2 in the middle and bookend it with Motorway from Croom north and Twopothouse north of Mallow South.

Arguably Motorway near the main towns tapering to offline S1 on the midland sections is how we should have developed the network all along but that is done. At least a Type 1 S2 with a motorway alingment and grade separation can become a motorway rather easily in future with extra land take on one side and the construction of the second pair of lanes. The case is made that the price difference between doing an offline Type 1 Sc ( eg the Knock bypass) and a full dual of 2+2 or HQDC/Motorway does not add hugely to the cost...and of course the usual suspects would screech loudly anyway.

Same between Tipp Town west and Clonmel east where the second lane can come in rather easily.

We do not wish to revisit that situation with our quite recent but suboptimal s2 network again by building a third parallel national road network AND within 60 years, in effect.

It is incumbent upon us to do it properly this time. If proper means safely overspecced that is fine with me but can we save a few quid for now and get cracking on the still large deficit of decent primary roads in Ireland

The only scheme back at the starting gates and worth a 'look' is Limerick - Cork inc Adare and the Cork NRR.

Interestingly and in parallel a lot of commentary on governments hacking their capital budgets thereby CAUSING a recession is coming out of the UK...I strongly suggest that people read this article below. In Irelands case the overall budget may not change much but money can be clipped off farming and social welfare subventions and transferred across to more productive uses.

Furthermore the PPP logjam is starting to clear across Europe and some of these operations mentioned are in funds.

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2013-03-05/britain-s-missing-infrastructure-billions-blamed-on-government.html

• Registered Users Posts: 371 ✭✭larchill

2 + 1 is probably really only an option when upgrading an existing secondary or less significant 2 way road. When going to the trouble, effort & expense of environment impact assessment, public enquiry, acquiring land, & finally construction, it does not make sense to go for 2 + 1 only. So even if traffic volumes are low, go for at least DC 2 +2.